DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 12/26/25 has been entered. Claims 1-13 are currently pending, with claims 12-13 being newly added. In light of the substantive claim amendments, the previous rejections are withdrawn. However, revised 103 rejections and objections are detailed below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “third leaf spring sandwiched between the first leaf spring and the second leaf spring” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). All Figures depict only two leaf springs. While the Detailed Description briefly discusses this feature as a possible embodiment, it is unclear what this “third leaf spring” would be (would it include ears, what will its length/width be, etc.). Given that no new matter should be entered, it is strongly recommended that Applicant cancel this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Molle in view of Han
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molle (GB 174066) (cited by Applicant) in view of Han et al. (KR 101783265). Molle is directed to improvements relating to semi-elliptical suspension springs for vehicles. See Abstract. Note: this is an “X” reference in the cited ISR. Han is directed to a leaf spring clip. See Abstract.
Claim 1: Molle discloses a leaf spring structure [Fig. 1], comprising: at least two leaf springs (1, 2), wherein: the at least two leaf springs overlap in a vertical direction; the at least two leaf springs decrease in length gradually from bottom up; and the at least two leaf springs comprise a first leaf spring (1) and a second leaf spring (2), the first leaf spring being longer than the second leaf spring; a leaf spring connecting component (6, 3) configured to fixedly connect body portions of the at least two leaf springs in a length direction; two first lifting ears (4) respectively disposed at two first free ends of the first leaf spring in the length direction; and two second lifting ears (5) respectively disposed at two second free ends of the second leaf spring in the length direction. See Fig. 1.
Molle discloses all the limitations of this claim except for the new limitation that connecting component is “located between a central point of the second leaf spring and one of the two second lifting ears.” Han discloses a plurality of leaf springs (101, 102, 103) with a leaf spring connecting component (110), wherein the leaf spring connecting component is located between a central point of the second leaf spring (101) and one of the two second lifting ears (ears of 101). See Fig. 7. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the location of the Molle connecting component because this would provide space for connection of the leaf spring structure via the ears of the second leaf spring. This improves the versatility of the Molle leaf spring structure.
Claim 2: Molle discloses that the at least two leaf springs have equal width. See Figs. 1, 2 (width of all springs defined by opening width of 6).
Claim 3: Molle discloses that the first leaf spring is disposed at a lowest part of the leaf spring structure. See Fig. 1.
Claim 4: Molle discloses that the second leaf spring is disposed above the first leaf spring. See Fig. 1.
Claim 5: Molle discloses that the second leaf spring and the first leaf spring are adjacent to each other. See Fig. 1.
Claim 6: Molle discloses that the second leaf spring and the first leaf spring are spaced apart from each other. See Fig. 1 (spacing between 4 and 5).
Claim 7: Molle discloses that the first lifting ear and the first leaf spring are integrally formed; and/or the second lifting ear and the second leaf spring are integrally formed. See Fig. 1.
Claim 8: Molle discloses that the first lifting ear and the second lifting ear are circularly or elliptically curved. See Fig. 1.
Claim 9: Molle discloses that in the length direction, the two second lifting ears are located between the two first lifting ears. See Fig. 1.
Claim 10: Molle discloses a suspension structure, comprising the leaf spring structure according to claim 1. See Title.
Claim 12: Molle is relied upon as in claim 1 above. Han further discloses that the leaf springs have equal width. See Fig. 7. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to ensure that the Molle leaf spring have equal width because this would prevent any transverse shifting/movement between the springs when securely placed in the connecting component. Employing springs of the same width is an intuitive design feature to avoid functionality problems. In addition, it would be obvious to try since limited possibilities exist here – either the springs are of the same width or they’re not.
Claim 13: Molle is relied upon as in claim 1 above. Han further discloses that a third leaf spring (102) is sandwiched between the first leaf spring (103) and second leaf spring (101). See Fig. 7. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a third leaf spring to further achieve the ultimate objective of providing shock absorption in the suspension assembly. See also Drawing objection above.
Molle in view of Han and Seethaler
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molle in view of Han and Seethaler et al. (CN 109070671). Seethaler is directed to a wheel guiding plate for a vehicle suspension. See Abstract.
Claim 11: Molle and Han disclose the use of the leaf spring structure in a suspension structure but do not discuss the specifics of the suspension. Seethaler discloses a leaf spring structure (41, 51) composed of a first leaf spring (41) and a second leaf spring (51), a steering knuckle assembly (21, 2.11, 2.21) and a shock absorber (31) assembly; wherein the first leaf spring is connected to the steering knuckle assembly, and the second leaf spring is connected to the shock absorber assembly. See Fig. 6. Upon combining with the Molle leaf spring structure, the use of the “ears” for connection would be appropriate. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use the Molle leaf spring structure in the Seethaler suspension because Seethaler also employ dual leaf springs for the purpose of connecting two separate assemblies typically found in a vehicle suspension.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VISHAL SAHNI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/VISHAL R SAHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 January 12, 2026