Attorney Docket Number: 211011-013801/US
Filling Date: 06/09/23
Inventor: Suryakumar
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Refai-Ahmed et al (US 2012/0075807 A1, Ahmed hereinafter) in view of Peng et al (US 2021/0343650 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ahmed discloses a device package (Fig. 1) comprising: a first component 35 (Para. 23) having a first thermal regulation surface 75 (Para. 26, top surface); a second component 15 (Para. 28) having a second thermal regulation surface 80 (Para. 28, bottom surface); wherein the second component 15 is mounted on the first component 35 such that the second thermal regulation surface 80 is opposite the first thermal regulation surface 75.
Ahmed does not explicitly disclose at least one vertical connection for delivering power between the first component and the second component.
However, Peng discloses at least one vertical connection (Fig. 1Cb, elements V, BSPD1, Para. 54) for delivering power between the first component D1 (Para. 63) and the second component D2 (Paras. 24-25).
Peng teaches the above modification is used to distribute power of the device (Para. 59). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ahmed structure with Peng structure as suggested above to distribute power of the device (Para. 59).
Regarding claim 2, Ahmed discloses the device package of claim 1, further comprising a third component 30 (Para. 23) mounted between the first component 35 and the second component 15.
Regarding claim 6, Ahmed discloses the device package of claim 2, wherein the third component 30 corresponds to a memory (Para. 23).
Regarding claim 7, Ahmed discloses the device package of claim 1, further comprising a thermal management device 75 (bottom fins) mounted on the first thermal regulation surface 75 (top portion).
Regarding claim 8, Ahmed discloses the device package of claim 1, wherein the first component 35 corresponds to a processing unit (Para. 23).
Regarding claim 9, Peng further discloses the device package of claim 1, wherein the second component corresponds to a voltage regulator of a power delivery circuit (Paras. 24-25, D1 is an IC and includes voltage regulator) and is directly connected to the at least one vertical connection (elements V, BSPD1).
Regarding claim 10, Ahmed discloses a system (Fig. 1) comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) 85 (Para. 29) having a hole 75; and a device package 10 mounted on the PCB 85 and comprising: a first component 35 (Para. 23) having a first thermal regulation surface 75 (Para. 26, bottom surface, between fins); a second component 15 (Para. 28) having a second thermal regulation surface 80 (Para. 28, bottom surface); wherein the second component 15 is mounted on the first component 35 such that the second thermal regulation surface 80 is opposite the first thermal regulation surface 75, and the first thermal regulation surface 75 (surface between the fins) is exposed through the hole (between the fins).
Ahmed does not explicitly disclose at least one vertical connection for delivering power between the first component and the second component.
However, Peng discloses at least one vertical connection (Fig. 1Cb, elements V, BSPD1, Para. 54) for delivering power between the first component D1 (Para. 63) and the second component D2 (Paras. 24-25).
Peng teaches the above modification is used to distribute power of the device (Para. 59). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ahmed structure with Peng structure as suggested above to distribute power of the device (Para. 59).
Regarding claim 11, Ahmed discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the device package further comprises a third component 30 (Para. 23) mounted between the first component 35 and the second component 15.
Regarding claim 15, Ahmed discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the third component 30 corresponds to a memory (Para. 23).
Regarding claim 16, Ahmed discloses the system of claim 10, further comprising a thermal management device 75 (bottom fins) mounted on the first thermal regulation surface 75 (bottom surface of the fins hole) through the hole (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Ahmed discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the first component 35 corresponds to a processing unit (Para. 23).
Regarding claim 18, Peng further discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the second component corresponds to a voltage regulator of a power delivery circuit (Paras. 24-25, D1 is an IC and includes voltage regulator) and is directly connected to the at least one vertical connection (elements V, BSPD1).
Claim(s) 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Refai-Ahmed et al (US 2012/0075807 A1, Ahmed hereinafter) in view of Yu et al (US 2022/0384374 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ahmed discloses a device package (Fig. 1) comprising: a first component 35 (Para. 23) having a first thermal regulation surface 75 (Para. 26, top surface); a second component 15 (Para. 28) having a second thermal regulation surface 80 (Para. 28, bottom surface); wherein the second component 15 is mounted on the first component 35 such that the second thermal regulation surface 80 is opposite the first thermal regulation surface 75.
Ahmed does not explicitly disclose at least one vertical connection for delivering power between the first component and the second component.
However, Yu discloses at least one vertical connection (Fig. 15, element 30, Para. 15) for delivering power between the first component 22 (Para. 17) and the second component 68 (Para. 42).
Peng teaches the above modification is used to regulate voltage of the device (Para. 17). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ahmed structure with Yu structure as suggested above to regulate voltage of the device (Para. 17).
Regarding claim 10, Ahmed discloses a system (Fig. 1) comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) 85 (Para. 29) having a hole 75; and a device package 10 mounted on the PCB 85 and comprising: a first component 35 (Para. 23) having a first thermal regulation surface 75 (Para. 26, bottom surface, between fins); a second component 15 (Para. 28) having a second thermal regulation surface 80 (Para. 28, bottom surface); wherein the second component 15 is mounted on the first component 35 such that the second thermal regulation surface 80 is opposite the first thermal regulation surface 75, and the first thermal regulation surface 75 (surface between the fins) is exposed through the hole (between the fins).
Ahmed does not explicitly disclose at least one vertical connection for delivering power between the first component and the second component.
However, Yu discloses at least one vertical connection (Fig. 15, element 30, Para. 15) for delivering power between the first component 22 (Para. 17) and the second component 68 (Para. 42).
Peng teaches the above modification is used to regulate voltage of the device (Para. 17). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ahmed structure with Yu structure as suggested above to regulate voltage of the device (Para. 17).
Claim(s) 3-5 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Refai-Ahmed et al (US 2012/0075807 A1, Ahmed hereinafter) in view of Peng et al (US 2021/0343650 A1) and further in view of Chen et al (US 2022/0367306 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ahmed in view of Peng does not explicitly disclose the device package of claim 2, wherein the third component comprises a package mold having a through mold via (TMV) coupling the first component to the second component.
However, Chen discloses the third component 30 (Fig. 1, Para. 26) comprises a package mold 36 (Para. 34) having a through mold via (TMV) 32 (Para. 37) coupling the first component 70 (Para. 28) to the second component (Ahmed). Chen teaches the above modification is used to make connection of the device (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ahmed in view of Peng structure with Chen through mold via as suggested above to make connection of the device (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Ahmed discloses the device package of claim 3, further comprising a passive component (Para. 23) for the first component 35 or the second component that includes the TMV 65 (Para. 25).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the device package of claim 4, wherein the passive component 70 comprises the TMV 32 encapsulated in a magnetic medium or a high dielectric medium 36.
Regarding claim 12, Ahmed in view of Peng does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the third component comprises a package mold having a through mold via (TMV) coupling the first component to the second component.
However, Chen discloses the third component 30 (Fig. 1, Para. 26) comprises a package mold 36 (Para. 34) having a through mold via (TMV) 32 (Para. 37) coupling the first component 70 (Para. 28) to the second component (Ahmed). Chen teaches the above modification is used to make connection of the device (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ahmed in view of Peng structure with Chen through mold via as suggested above to make connection of the device (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Ahmed discloses the system of claim 12, further comprising a passive component (Para. 23) for the first component 35 or the second component that includes the TMV 65 (Para. 25).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the passive component 70 comprises the TMV 32 encapsulated in a magnetic medium or a high dielectric medium 36.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817