Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Attorney Docket Number: 211011-013801/US Filling Date: 06/09/23 Inventor: Suryakumar Examiner: Bilkis Jahan DETAILED ACTION In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 9/30/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 -2, 6-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Refai-Ahmed et al (US 2012/0075807 A1, Ahmed hereinafter). Regarding claim 1, Ahmed discloses a device package (Fig. 1) comprising: a first component 35 (Para. 23) having a first thermal regulation surface 75 (Para. 26, top surface) ; and a second component 15 (Para. 28) having a second thermal regulation surface 80 (Para. 28, bottom surface) ; wherein the second component 15 is mounted on the first component 35 such that the second thermal regulation surface 80 is opposite the first thermal regulation surface 75 . Regarding claim 2, Ahmed discloses the device package of claim 1, further comprising a third component 30 (Para. 23) mounted between the first component 35 and the second component 15 . Regarding claim 6, Ahmed discloses the device package of claim 2, wherein the third component 30 corresponds to a memory (Para. 23) . Regarding claim 7, Ahmed discloses the device package of claim 1, further comprising a thermal management device 75 (bottom fins) mounted on the first thermal regulation surface 75 (top portion) . Regarding claim 8, Ahmed discloses the device package of claim 1, wherein the first component 35 corresponds to a processing unit (Para. 23) . Regarding claim 9, Ahmed discloses the device package of claim 1, wherein the second component corresponds to a power delivery circuit (Para. 25) . Regarding claim 10, Ahmed discloses a system (Fig. 1) comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) 85 (Para. 29) having a hole 75 ; and a device package 10 mounted on the PCB 85 and comprising: a first component 35 (Para. 23) having a first thermal regulation surface 75 (Para. 26, bottom surface , between fins ) ; and a second component 15 (Para. 28) having a second thermal regulation surface 80 (Para. 28, bottom surface) ; wherein the second component 15 is mounted on the first component 35 such that the second thermal regulation surface 80 is opposite the first thermal regulation surface 75 , and the first thermal regulation surface 75 (surface between the fins) is exposed through the hole (between the fins) . Regarding claim 11, Ahmed discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the device package further comprises a third component 30 (Para. 23) mounted between the first component 35 and the second component 15 . Regarding claim 15, Ahmed discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the third component 30 corresponds to a memory (Para. 23) . Regarding claim 16, Ahmed discloses the system of claim 10, further comprising a thermal management device 75 (bottom fins) mounted on the first thermal regulation surface 75 (bottom surface of the fins hole) through the hole (Fig. 1) . Regarding claim 17, Ahmed discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the first component 35 corresponds to a processing unit (Para. 23) . Regarding claim 18, Ahmed discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the second component 15 corresponds to a power delivery circuit (Para. 25) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 3-5 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Refai-Ahmed et al (US 2012/0075807 A1, Ahmed hereinafter) in view of Chen et al (US 2022/0367306 A1). Regarding claim 3, Ahmed does not explicitly disclose the device package of claim 2, wherein the third component comprises a package mold having a through mold via (TMV) coupling the first component to the second component. However, Chen discloses the third component 30 (Fig. 1, Para. 26) comprises a package mold 36 (Para. 34) having a through mold via (TMV) 32 (Para. 37) coupling the first component 70 (Para. 28) to the second component (Ahmed). Chen teaches the above modification is used to make connection of the device (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ahmed structure with Chen through mold via as suggested above to make connection of the device (Fig. 1). Regarding claim 4, Ahmed discloses the device package of claim 3, further comprising a passive component (Para. 23) for the first component 35 or the second component that includes the TMV 65 (Para. 25). Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the device package of claim 4, wherein the passive component 70 comprises the TMV 32 encapsulated in a magnetic medium or a high dielectric medium 36 . Regarding claim 12, Ahmed does not explicitly disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the third component comprises a package mold having a through mold via (TMV) coupling the first component to the second component. However, Chen discloses the third component 30 (Fig. 1, Para. 26) comprises a package mold 36 (Para. 34) having a through mold via (TMV) 32 (Para. 37) coupling the first component 70 (Para. 28) to the second component (Ahmed). Chen teaches the above modification is used to make connection of the device (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ahmed structure with Chen through mold via as suggested above to make connection of the device (Fig. 1). Regarding claim 13, Ahmed discloses the system of claim 12, further comprising a passive component (Para. 23) for the first component 35 or the second component that includes the TMV 65 (Para. 25). Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the passive component 70 comprises the TMV 32 encapsulated in a magnetic medium or a high dielectric medium 36. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT BILKIS JAHAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5022 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday, 8:00 am-5 Pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Marlon T Fletcher can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2063 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT BILKIS . JAHAN Primary Examiner Art Unit 2817 /BILKIS JAHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817