DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, drawn to a biometric monitoring device for an ear of an animal of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 2/3/26 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/3/26.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The Specification shall include a BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a voltage” (line 5) appears that it should be “and a voltage.”
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “silicone” (line 2) appears that it should be “and silicone.”
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a short-range communications circuits” (lines 1-2) appear that it should be “a short-range communications circuit.”
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the short-range communications circuits” (line 4) appear that it should be “the short-range communications circuit.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 1, the claim language “wherein an upper portion is configured to be disposed through the ear” is ambiguous. Upper portion of what? The claim is examined as meaning “an upper portion of the protrusion.”
For claim 7, the claim term “the short-range communications circuit” lacks antecedent basis. The claim is examined as depending from claim 4.
For claim 10, the claim term “a protrusion” (line 2) is ambiguous. Claim 1, from which claim 10 depends, already recites “at least one protrusion.” Therefore, it is unclear whether the same protrusion is being referred to or whether these are different protrusions. The claim is examined under the former interpretation.
Dependent claim(s) 2-10 fail to cure the ambiguity of independent claim 1, thus claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0350168 to Shi in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0405233 to Sakkalis et al. (hereinafter “Sakkalis”).
For claim 1, Shi discloses a biometric monitoring device for an ear of an animal (Abstract) comprises:
a male portion (1) (Fig. 1) (para [0036]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) be disposed on a first side of the ear (as can be seen in Fig. 1) comprising:
a base (11) (Figs. 1 and 3) (para [0036]) having an upper surface (unlabeled, but surface that faces towards element 2 in Fig. 1) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) be disposed towards the first side of the ear (as can be seen in Fig. 1), wherein the upper surface includes a plurality of openings (181) (Fig. 3a) (para [0036]); and
at least one protrusion (3) (Figs. 1 and 3) (para [0036]) disposed upon the upper surface of the base (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3), wherein an upper portion (unlabeled, but as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) is configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) be disposed through the ear from the first side of the ear to a second side of the ear (para [0036]); and
a female portion (2) (Fig. 1) (para [0036]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) be disposed on a second side of the ear (as can be seen in Fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (21) (Fig. 2) (para [0036]) having a lower surface (unlabeled, but as can be seen in Figs 1-2) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) be disposed towards a second side of the ear (as can be seen in Fig. 1);
an internal opening (23) (Figs 1-2) (para [0036]) in the lower surface of the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2), wherein the internal opening is configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) receive the upper portion of the protrusion (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2) (also see para [0036]);
a retention portion (4) (Fig. 2) (para [0036]) disposed within the housing (as can be seen in Fig. 2) (also see para [0036]), wherein the retention portion is configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) releasably retain the upper portion of the protrusion when the first protrusion is disposed through the internal opening (para [0036]) (also see para [0035]), wherein the male portion is secured relatively to the female portion when the retention portion retains the upper portion of the protrusion (para [0036]) (also see para [0035]); and
a plurality of electronic components (Examiner’s Note: made up of the elements it includes), including a battery (16) (Fig. 2) (para [0036]), a processor (13) (Fig. 2) (para [0036]), and a temperature sensor (7) (Fig. 2) (para [0036]).
Shi does not expressly disclose that the plurality of electronic components is disposed within the housing; and a thermally conductive ring disposed upon on the lower surface of the housing, wherein the ring is configured to be disposed against the second side of the ear and wherein the thermally conductive ring is thermally coupled to the temperature sensor.
However, Sakkalis teaches a plurality of electronics components within a housing (para [0059] and [0065]-[0067]); and a thermally conductive ring disposed upon on the lower surface of the housing (para [0058]), wherein the ring is configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) be disposed against the second side of the ear (para [0058]) and wherein the thermally conductive ring is thermally coupled to a temperature sensor (para [0058] and [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Shi such that the plurality of electronic components is disposed within the housing; and a thermally conductive ring disposed upon on the lower surface of the housing, wherein the ring is configured to be disposed against the second side of the ear and wherein the thermally conductive ring is thermally coupled to the temperature sensor, in view of the teachings of Sakkalis, for the obvious advantage of providing a thermal conductive transfer surface to more efficiently transfer heat from the ear of the animal to the temperature sensor so that the temperature sensor gets a more accurate reading.
For claim 2, Shi further discloses wherein the temperature sensor is characterized by an electronic characteristic in response to a temperature of the temperature sensor; and wherein the electronic characteristic is selected from a group consisting of: an electronic resistance, a voltage (“JTD503F395D12087N-8 sensors provided by Dongguan Amycom Electronics Co.,” para [0038], which are thermistor sensors1).
For claim 3, Shi further discloses wherein the housing comprises a material selected from a group consisting of: plastic, metal, silicone (para [0036]).
For claim 4, Shi further discloses wherein the plurality of electronic components includes a short-range communications circuit selected from a group consisting of: near-field communication (NFC), ultrawide band (UWB), Radio Frequency Identification (RFID), and Bluetooth (BLE) (para [0036]).
For claim 5, Shi does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of electronic components further includes an electronic component selected from the group consisting of: an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a humidity sensor, an IR sensor, a magnetometer, a heart rate sensor, an electrocardiogram (ECG) sensor, a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor, a microphone and a pressure sensor.
However, Sakkalis teaches wherein the plurality of electronic components further includes an electronic component selected from the group consisting of: an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a humidity sensor, an IR sensor, a magnetometer, a heart rate sensor, an electrocardiogram (ECG) sensor, a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor, a microphone and a pressure sensor (para [0060] and [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Shi wherein the plurality of electronic components further includes an electronic component selected from the group consisting of: an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a humidity sensor, an IR sensor, a magnetometer, a heart rate sensor, an electrocardiogram (ECG) sensor, a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor, a microphone and a pressure sensor, in view of the teachings of Sakkalis, for the obvious advantage of measuring an additional variable so that multiple variables may be considered to ensure a more accurate temperature measurement in case one variable has artifacts or noise in its signal.
For claim 6, Shi, as modified, further discloses wherein a material for the thermally conductive ring is selected from a group consisting of: silver or silver alloy, copper or copper alloy, aluminum compound, gold, diamond, silicon nitride, silicon carbide, graphite, and graphene (para [0084]).
For claim 8, Shi further discloses wherein the device further comprises a spacer portion (portion of element 11, see Figs. 1 and 3) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) be disposed between the first side of the ear and the upper surface of the base (unlabeled, the central portion of element 11 being capable of being between the ear and the surface where reference numeral “8” points to in Fig. 1, see Figs. 1 and 3), wherein the spacer portion includes a first side (unlabeled first side, see Figs. 1-3), wherein first portions (the central of 11, see Figs. 1 and 3) of the first side are configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) be disposed against the first side of the ear (see Figs. 1-3), wherein second portions (portion of 11 distanced away from the first side of 11, which can include the unlabeled rim or lip around the periphery of 11 and distances from the central portion of 11) of the first side are configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) be disposed a distance away from the first side of the ear (see Figs. 1 and 3); and wherein the second portions are configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) allow air to flow between the spacer portion and the first side of the ear (see Figs. 1 and 3).
For claim 9, Shi further discloses wherein the spacer portion is configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) rotate relative to the at least one protrusion (see the threads in element 3, which cause it to rotate relative to element 11).
For claim 10, Shi further discloses wherein the spacer portion or the male portion includes a protrusion (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3); and wherein the male portion or the spacer portion comprises an opening (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3), wherein the opening is configured to receive and physically retain the protrusion of the spacer portion or the male portion (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Sakkalis, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0335715 to Hicks et al. (hereinafter “Hicks”).
For claim 7, Shi and Sakkalis do not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of electronic components includes a magnetic switch configured to be activated, and wherein the short-range communications circuit is configured to output data to a remote computing device in response to an activation of the magnetic switch.
However, Hicks teaches a magnetic switch configured to be activated (para [0083], and wherein a short-range communications circuit is configured to output data to a remote computing device in response to an activation of the magnetic switch (para [0085]-[0086]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Shi wherein the plurality of electronic components includes a magnetic switch configured to be activated, and wherein the short-range communications circuit is configured to output data to a remote computing device in response to an activation of the magnetic switch, in view of the teachings of Hicks, for the obvious advantage of conserving power by keeping the tag is a sleep mode until it is time to wake up and transmit data.
Conclusion
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791
1 See https://sourcing.hktdc.com/en/Product-Detail/Thermistor-Sensor-1574142; accessed 2/7/26)