DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6 and 19 are allowable subject matter.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As now amended, Claim 2 recites the alkali metal oxide is Na6FeO4, K6FeO4, K6CoO4, Li2Na4FeO4 and Li2K4FeO4. The previously combination of Sakamoto, hang, and Zhu does not present these materials as amended (with the deletion of Na6CoO4). Additionally, further search and consideration support Applicant’s arguments that while the prior art teaches ferrate based positive electrode additives, the oxidation state of Li2K4FeO4 differs and would thereby be expected to present different results. Further, while these materials may be known as chemical compounds generally, there is no evidence of these materials being utilized within the battery arts prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As now amended, Claim 6 recites the alkali metal oxide is Na6FeO4, K6FeO4, K6CoO4, Li2Na4FeO4 and Li2K4FeO4. The previously combination of Sakamoto, hang, and Zhu does not present these materials as amended (with the deletion of Na6CoO4). Applicant’s arguments are similarly persuasive here, given Claim 2 and 6 are identical but for their dependency. Claim 19 recites the alkali metal oxide is K6FeO4, K6CoO4, Li2Na4FeO4 and Li2K4FeO4. Further search and consideration likewise support Applicant’s previous arguments that while the prior art teaches ferrate based positive electrode additives, the oxidation state of Li2K4FeO4 differs and would thereby be expected to present different results. Further, while these materials may be known as chemical compounds generally, there is no evidence of these materials being utilized within the battery arts prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 6, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto, et. al. (JP2018101638A; original included with IDS, see EPO Machine Translation for citation), in view of Zhang, et. al. (US2021234166A1) and Lee, et. al. (US2022059815A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sakamoto recites a lithium-ion secondary battery, which may have two positive electrode active materials (“[p.15] The above positive electrode active materials may be used alone or in combination of two or more”), wherein “[p.14] Alkali metal transition metal oxide systems include, LiCoO2, . . . Li2FeSiO4 . . . LiFeO2 . . . NaCoO2 . . . NaFePO4 . . . K2FeSiO4 . . . K2CoSiO4 . . . KFeO2.” Sakamoto at [p.14-15]. Consequently, Sakamoto recites a positive electrode composite material (i.e. composed of multiple components) for a lithium ion secondary battery, characterized by comprising a positive electrode active material (“a combination of two or more”) and an alkali metal oxide as shown by formula AmGOn, wherein A represents at least one element selected from Na and K and optionally Li, G represents at least one element selected from Fe, Ni, Co, Mn, Ru, Ir, Sn, Cr, Nb, Mo, V and Ti, m is 1 - 6, and n is 1 – 4, because K2FeSiO4, NaCoO2, K2FeSiO4, and K2CoSiO4 meet the formula as previously claimed (see below analysis of Lee for the newly amended requirement that m = 6 and n = 4).
However, Sakamoto is silent as to the positive electrode composite material comprising a layered lithium metal oxide and a lithium-containing olivine type positive electrode active material, and that relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the alkali metal oxide, the alkali metal oxide has a content of 0.1 wt% to 10 wt%.
Zhang teaches a “[0062] The cathode 12 includes at least one electrochemically active cathode material. The electrochemically active cathode material can include an alpha-demetallated layered nickel oxide and/or a non-stoichiometric beta-delithiated layered nickel oxide prepared according to methods of the disclosure. In embodiments, when a non-stoichiometric beta-delithiated layered nickel oxide is provided as an electrochemically active cathode material, the non-stoichiometric beta-delithiated layered nickel oxide comprises less than 5 wt. %, less than 3 wt %, less than 1 wt %, or less than 0.5 wt % residual non-stoichiometric alpha-delithiated layered nickel oxide, based on the total weight of the delithiated layered nickel oxide electrochemically active cathode material . . .the cathode may also include at least one or more additional electrochemically active cathode materials . . . [including] nickel oxide . . . [which] has been found to provide unexpectedly advantageous battery performance in both high discharge rate applications and low rate discharge applications.” Zhang at [0062 – 64].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the positive electrode composite material of Zhang, such that that one of the positive electrode active materials of Sakamoto is a layered nickel oxide, and such that the other is a separate nickel oxide having the previously claimed formula, having that relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the alkali metal oxide, the alkali metal oxide has a content of 0.1 wt% to 10 wt%, because Zhang teaches a benefit to high discharge rate and low discharge rate applications, and because Zhang provides an overlapping range, which presents a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
However, modified Sakamoto is silent as to the claimed formula AmGon wherein m = 6, and n = 4.
Lee teaches “[0053]The positive active material layer of the embodiment may further include an irreversible compensation positive electrode material. The lithium ions of the irreversible compensation additive are deintercalated during the initial charging of the lithium secondary battery to supply lithium ions on a single layer of the negative current collector, and the irreversible compensation additive from which the lithium ions are deintercalated is converted into an irreversible phase not to intercalate lithium ions. Herein, the irreversible compensation additive may be one or more selected from Li2 NiO2 , Li2 CuO2 , Li6 CoO4 , Li5 FeO4 , Li6 MnO4 , Li2 MoO3 , Li3 N, Li2 O, LiOH, and Li2 CO3 . The irreversible compensation additive may be included in the range of 1 to 50 wt % of the total weight of the positive active material, but the present invention is not limited thereto.” Lee at [0053]. Lee further indicates “[0008] The present invention provides a lithium metal battery having improved energy density and safety.” Here, Lee teaches “Li6 MnO4,” which meets the formula “the alkali metal oxide has a formula AmGOn, wherein A comprises at least one element selected from Na and K, G comprises at least one element selected from Fe, Ni, Co, Mn, Ru, Ir, Sn, Cr, Nb, Mo, V, m is 6, and n is 4.” Id. at [0008]. Further, Lee presents an overlapping range with the weight percent range of 0.1 to 10 wt% relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the alkali metal oxide because Lee teaches a “[0053] range of 1 to 50 wt % of the total weight of the positive active material.” Id. at [0053].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the positive electrode composite material of modified Sakamoto, such that “the alkali metal oxide has a formula AmGOn, wherein A comprises at least one element selected from Na and K, G comprises at least one element selected from Fe, Ni, Co, Mn, Ru, Ir, Sn, Cr, Nb, Mo, V, m is 6, and n is 4, relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the alkali metal oxide, the alkali metal oxide has a content of 0.1 wt% - 10 wt%,” as with the Li6MnO4 of Lee, because Lee teaches its irreversible compensation additive contributes to safety and energy density, and because an overlapping range presents a prima facie case of obviousness. Id. at [0008, 53], MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claim 1 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Claim 3 requires “relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the alkali metal oxide, the alkali metal oxide has a content of 0.1 wt% - 10 wt%,” which is now included within Claim 1; Claim 1 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Claim 3 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Sakamoto recites a positive electrode for a lithium ion secondary battery, characterized by comprising a positive electrode composite material according to claim 1 (“[p.20] First Embodiment - [1. Method of Manufacturing Electrode] First, as an example of this embodiment, a method of manufacturing an electrode of a lithium secondary battery will be described . . . there [is] a negative electrode and a positive electrode in the electrode”). Sakamoto at [p.20].
For the foregoing reasons, Claim 4 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 5, Sakamoto recites a lithium-ion secondary battery, which may have two positive electrode active materials (“[p.11] Further, the surface of the active material particles may be coated with a material or ceramics excellent in electronic conductivity. Two or more kinds of materials capable of reversibly occluding and releasing lithium may be used.”), wherein “[p.14] Alkali metal transition metal oxide system[s] include, for example, LiCoO2, . . . Li2FeSiO4 . . . LiFeO2 . . . NaCoO2 . . . NaFePO4 . . . K2FeSiO4 . . . K2CoSiO4 . . . KFeO2.” Sakamoto at [p.11, 14].” Sakamoto teaches a current collector for the positive electrode. Id. at [p.15]. Consequently, Sakamoto recites a positive electrode for a lithium ion secondary battery, characterized by comprising: a positive electrode current collector, a positive electrode active material layer comprising a positive electrode active material, and an alkali metal oxide layer comprising an alkali metal oxide, wherein the alkali metal oxide is shown by formula AmGOn, wherein A represents at least one element selected from Na and K and Li, G represents at least one element selected from Fe, Ni, Co, Mn, Ru, Ir, Sn, Cr, Nb, Mo, V and Ti, m is 1 - 6, and n is 1 - 4, because LiCoO2, K2FeSiO4, NaCoO2, K2FeSiO4, and K2CoSiO4 meet the formula as previously claimed (regarding the amended requirements that m=6 and n=4, see below).
Regarding the presence of a metal oxide layer, Sakamoto teaches a coating layer of a skeleton forming agent having, for example, the formula Na2 · SiO2 ·TiO2, which provides beneficial effects to cycle life. While the two materials of the positive electrode are not described as discrete layers, logically, if a coating layer of a similar material is applied and provides benefits based upon its formation of a rigid skeleton, this would at least imply a benefit if the Akali metal oxide is also formed in a layer upon the electrode active material. Further, the positive electrode material is formed as an active material layer; as such, this further implies the metal oxide forms a layer.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the positive electrode of Sakamoto, such that it comprises an alkali metal oxide layer, because Sakamoto teaches a coated, multilayer structure, which may comprise two or more positive active materials, and at least one active material layer, and teaches a benefit to the presence of a metal oxide within a coating layer.
However, Sakamoto is silent as to the positive electrode composite material comprising a layered lithium metal oxide and a lithium-containing olivine type positive electrode active material, and that relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the alkali metal oxide, the alkali metal oxide has a content of 0.1 wt% to 10 wt%.
Zhang teaches an [0062] The cathode 12 includes at least one electrochemically active cathode material. The electrochemically active cathode material can include an alpha-demetallated layered nickel oxide and/or a non-stoichiometric beta-delithiated layered nickel oxide prepared according to methods of the disclosure. In embodiments, when a non-stoichiometric beta-delithiated layered nickel oxide is provided as an electrochemically active cathode material, the non-stoichiometric beta-delithiated layered nickel oxide comprises less than 5 wt. %, less than 3 wt %, less than 1 wt %, or less than 0.5 wt % residual non-stoichiometric alpha-delithiated layered nickel oxide, based on the total weight of the delithiated layered nickel oxide electrochemically active cathode material . . .the cathode may also include at least one or more additional electrochemically active cathode materials . . . [including] nickel oxide . . . [which] has been found to provide unexpectedly advantageous battery performance in both high discharge rate applications and low rate discharge applications.” Zhang at [0062 – 64].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the positive electrode composite material of Zhang, such that that one of the positive electrode active materials of Sakamoto is a layered nickel oxide, and such that the other is a separate nickel oxide having the previously claimed formula, having that relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the alkali metal oxide, the alkali metal oxide has a content of 0.1 wt% to 10 wt%, because Zhang teaches a benefit to high discharge rate and low discharge rate applications, and because Zhang provides an overlapping range, which presents a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
However, modified Sakamoto is silent as to the claimed formula AmGon wherein m = 6, and n = 4.
Lee teaches “[0053]The positive active material layer of the embodiment may further include an irreversible compensation positive electrode material. The lithium ions of the irreversible compensation additive are deintercalated during the initial charging of the lithium secondary battery to supply lithium ions on a single layer of the negative current collector, and the irreversible compensation additive from which the lithium ions are deintercalated is converted into an irreversible phase not to intercalate lithium ions. Herein, the irreversible compensation additive may be one or more selected from Li2 NiO2 , Li2 CuO2 , Li6 CoO4 , Li5 FeO4 , Li6 MnO4 , Li2 MoO3 , Li3 N, Li2 O, LiOH, and Li2 CO3 . The irreversible compensation additive may be included in the range of 1 to 50 wt % of the total weight of the positive active material, but the present invention is not limited thereto.” Lee at [0053]. Lee further indicates “[0008] The present invention provides a lithium metal battery having improved energy density and safety.” Here, Lee teaches “Li6 MnO4,” which meets the formula “the alkali metal oxide has a formula AmGOn, wherein A comprises at least one element selected from Na and K, G comprises at least one element selected from Fe, Ni, Co, Mn, Ru, Ir, Sn, Cr, Nb, Mo, V, m is 6, and n is 4.” Id. at [0008]. Further, Lee presents an overlapping range with the weight percent range of 0.1 to 10 wt% relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the alkali metal oxide because Lee teaches a “[0053] range of 1 to 50 wt % of the total weight of the positive active material.” Id. at [0053].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the positive electrode composite material of modified Sakamoto, such that “the alkali metal oxide has a formula AmGOn, wherein A comprises at least one element selected from Na and K, G comprises at least one element selected from Fe, Ni, Co, Mn, Ru, Ir, Sn, Cr, Nb, Mo, V, m is 6, and n is 4, relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the alkali metal oxide, the alkali metal oxide has a content of 0.1 wt% - 10 wt%,” as with the Li6MnO4 of Lee, because Lee teaches its irreversible compensation additive contributes to safety and energy density, and because an overlapping range presents a prima facie case of obviousness. Id. at [0008, 53], MPEP 2144.05 (I).
For the foregoing reasons, Claim 5 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Lee and Zhang.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 5. Claim 5 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
As previously modified, modified Sakamoto alkali metal oxide layer is disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electrode active material layer, or on the positive electrode active material layer. Sakamoto at [p.1, 10-11, 14-16].
Claim 7 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Sakamoto teaches a positive electrode composite material having a two-active material structure, wherein one material is an alkali metal oxide. Sakamoto also teaches a framework / skeleton forming agent, wherein this agent comprises , for example, an alkali metal oxide such as Na 2 O · n SiO 2, wherein n = 0.5 – 5.0. Sakamoto at [p.22]. Sakamoto teaches this agent comprises alkali resistant inorganic particles which may comprise TiO2. These materials may optionally be close to the claimed AmGOn, wherein, for example, instead of Na2TiO2, the skeleton forming agent consists of Na2 · SiO2 ·TiO2. Further, this showed positive results when applied to the electrode active material, wherein “it is preferable that the framework-forming agent is contained in the range of 0.2 to 30% by mass with respect to the granules. The granulated material thus obtained not only improves the cycle life characteristics but also improves the coatability of the slurry.” Sakamoto at [p.12]. For a two active material embodiment as described within the Claim 1 analysis, this implies a benefit wherein one of the two active materials, which is the same but for the presence of additional silicon dioxide, provides a benefit to cycle life when within the same range.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to apply the range of the framework-forming agent (0.2 to 30% by mass with respect to the active material granules) to the alkali metal oxide of Sakamoto, such that relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the alkali metal oxide, the alkali metal oxide has a content of 0.1 wt% - 10 wt%, because Sakamoto teaches a benefit to cycle life when utilizing a similar material.
For the foregoing reasons, Claim 8 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 4. Claim 4 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Sakamoto recites a lithium ion secondary battery, characterized by comprising a positive electrode for a lithium ion secondary battery according to claim 4 and a negative electrode (“[p.20] First Embodiment - [1. Method of Manufacturing Electrode] First, as an example of this embodiment, a method of manufacturing an electrode of a lithium secondary battery will be described . . . there [is] a negative electrode and a positive electrode in the electrode”). Sakamoto at [p.20].
For the foregoing reasons, Claim 9 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Sakamoto teaches “the electrode has a negative electrode and a positive electrode. First, regarding the negative electrode, the negative electrode active material used for the negative electrode is not particularly limited as long as it is a material capable of reversibly adsorbing and releasing alkali metal ions (lithium ions, sodium ions, potassium ions, etc.), [including] Zn, Ga, Ge, Y, Zr, Nb, Al, Si, P, Ca, Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, At least one or more elements selected from the group consisting of Mo, Pd, Ag, Cd, In, Sn, Sb, W, Pb and Bi, alloys, complexes, oxides, chalcogenides or halogens It may be anything.” Sakamoto at [p.20]. Sakamoto recites the negative electrode may comprise a conductive auxiliary agent, which comprises “carbon material, conductive polymer, conductive glass, or the like can be used. Specifically, it is preferable to use acetylene black (AB), ketjen black (KB), furnace black (FB), thermal black, lamp black, channel black, roller black, disk black, carbon black (CB), carbon fiber Carbon nanotube (CNT), carbon nanohorn, graphite, graphene, glassy carbon, amorphous carbon.” Id. at [p.15]. This recites “the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode active material, wherein the negative electrode active material comprises at least one selected from a carbon material, a metal or a nonmetal compound and a coating of the compound and a dopant of the compound. Id.
For the foregoing reasons, Claim 10 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 relies upon Claim 10. Claim 10 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Sakamoto, in addition to the electrode described in the above analysis, teaches “From the viewpoint of energy density, Al, Si, Zn, Ge, Ag, Sn or the like is preferable as the element, and examples of the alloy include Si - Al, Al - Zn, Si - Mg, Si - La, Al - Si - V, Si - Nb, Si - Mo, Zn - Sn, Ge - Zn, Si - Zr, Si . . . As the alloy, a wholly percentage solid solution type alloy, a eutectic alloy, a hypoeutectic alloy, a hypereutectic alloy, or a peritectic type alloy may be used. Further, the surface of the active material particles may be coated with a material or ceramics excellent in electronic conductivity. Two or more kinds of materials capable of reversibly occluding and releasing lithium may be used.” Sakamoto at [p.11].
For the foregoing reasons, Claim 11 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 relies upon Claim 10. Claim 10 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Sakamoto teaches “Si, Ti, Zn . . . Sn . . . oxides using these elements are preferable.” Sakamoto at [p.11]. Sakamoto recites “the metal or nonmetal compound comprises at least one selected from SiO2, SiO, SnO2, TiO2, SiS2 and TiS2.”
For the foregoing reasons, Claim 12 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 relies upon Claim 9. Claim 9 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Sakamoto teaches “An electric device according to the present invention is characterized by comprising the battery according to claim 19.” Sakamoto at [p.19]. This recites a “power consuming device, characterized by comprising a lithium ion secondary battery.” Id.
For the foregoing reasons, Claim 13 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 relies upon Claim 10. Claim 10 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Sakamoto teaches “The electrodes such as the positive electrode and the negative electrode are composed of an active material, a conductive auxiliary agent, an organic polymer binder and a current collector. Generally, an electrode is manufactured by mixing an active material, a conductive aid, and an organic binder in a solvent to form a slurry, applying the slurry on a current collector, drying, and then rolling with a roll press or the like ..” Sakamoto at [p.1].
Zhang teaches the anode mixture comprises spun zinc particles [0111] to form a slurry. The teaching of both a slurry (which is coated upon a current collector) and a dopant meets the claim terms.
For the foregoing reasons, Claim 14 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 relies upon Claim 14. Claim 14 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Sakamoto teaches “The negative electrode is manufactured by coating an electrode material on a copper foil. First, for example, a rolled copper foil having a thickness of 10 μm is produced, and a copper foil previously wound into a roll is prepared. Also, as the electrode material of the negative electrode, artificial graphite graphitized by firing the carbon precursor is mixed with a binder, a conductive aid or the like to form a paste. In the present embodiment, PVdF is used as a binder and acetylene black (AB) is used as a conductive aid, for example. Then, an electrode material is applied to the surface of the copper foil, dried, and pressure-adjusted to complete the negative electrode main body.” Sakamoto at [p.20]. Sakamoto teaches “In the case of an electrode using a material having an irreversible capacity, it is preferable that irreversible capacity is canceled by lithium doping. There is no particular limitation on the method of lithium doping.” Id. at [p.18]. These two read upon “wherein the coating of the compound comprises: a coating obtained by coating the metal or nonmetal compound with graphite, soft carbon or hard carbon, the dopant of the compound comprises: a dopant obtained by doping the metal or nonmetal compound with at least one element selected from Mg, Ni, Co, and Mn. “
For the foregoing reasons, Claim 15 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Sakamoto and Zhang teach a nickel metal oxide which in turn teaches G comprises at least one element selected from Fe and Ni.
Claim 16 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Zhang teaches the “[0025] In embodiments, wherein the alkali metal-containing layered nickel oxide includes a metal dopant, M, the metal dopant can include a transition metal, main group metal, or both. In general, the metal dopant is a metal that can access an oxidation state of +3 or greater and has an ionic radius comparable to that of the Ni(III) (about 0.60 Å), for example, in a range of about 0.45 Å to about 0.75 Å. In embodiments, the transition metal comprises cobalt (Co3+ , Co4+ ), manganese (Mn3+ , Mn4+ , Mn7+ ), iron (Fe3+ , Fe4+ ), chromium (Cr3+ , Cr4+ , Cr5+ ), vanadium (V3+ , V5+ ), titanium (Ti3+ , Ti4+ ), niobium (Nb3+ , Nb5+ ), zirconium (Zr4+ ) or a combination thereof.” This reads upon G comprising Mn, Nb, V, or Chromium.
Claim 17 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Sakamoto teaches a sodium system within its alkali metal transition metal oxide system, such as “Na2 MnO3 --Na (Mn, Co) O2.”
Claim 18 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee.
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee, and further in view of Homma, et. al. (US 20180331390 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Claim 19 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is obvious over modified Sakamoto.
Homma teaches a composition and method for reducing the likelihood of electrode decomposition, wherein “[t]he negative electrode active material is not particularly limited and may be appropriately selected depending on the intended purpose. Examples of the negative electrode active material include lithium, lithium alloys, Li4 Ti5 O12 , LiVO3 , amorphous carbon, natural graphite, artificial graphite, TiS2 , TiO2 , and CoO2.” Homma at [006 -7, 88-90].
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to further modify the battery of Sakamoto, such that it comprises Ti S2 within its metal or nonmetal compound, because Homma teaches a benefit to reduced risk of decomposition.
Claim 19 is obvious over Sakamoto, in view of Zhang and Lee, and further in view of Homma.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 8-18, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725