DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210020657 (Song).
Concerning claim 1, Song discloses a memory device comprising (Figs. 2 and 3A-3D):
a plurality of first conductors (EL) aligned in a first direction (D3) separately from each other (Fig. 3C and [0031]-[0032]); a memory pillar (VS) that penetrates the plurality of first conductors in the first direction and includes a semiconductor (VP) and a film (VI) that surrounds the semiconductor (Fig. 3C and [0038]-[0039]); and a first member (CSP + SP + RR +SS) that penetrates the plurality of first conductors in the first direction (Fig. 3A) and has a first portion (rectangular region in annotated Fig. 3D above) and a plurality of second portions (circled region in annotated Fig. 3D above) the first portion extending in a second direction (D1) intersecting with the first direction, the plurality of second portions being aligned spaced apart in the second direction on an upper surface of the first portion (Fig. 3D), a length of each of the plurality of second portions in a third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction being shorter than a length of the first portion in the third direction (Figs. 3A-3D), wherein the first member further includes a bridge (SP) that is positioned on the upper surface of the first portion and between two neighboring ones of the plurality of second portions and extends on the upper surface of the first portion across both ends of the first portion (Fig. 3D).
Considering claim 13, Song discloses a memory device comprising:
a plurality of first conductors (EL) aligned in a first direction (D3) separately from each other (Fig. 3C and [0031]-[0032]); a memory pillar (VS) that penetrates the plurality of first conductors in the first direction and includes a semiconductor (VP) and a film (VI) that surrounds the semiconductor (Fig. 3C and [0038]-[0039]); and a first member (CSP + SP + RR +SS) that penetrates the plurality of first conductors in the first direction (Fig. 3A) and has a first portion (rectangular region in annotated Fig. 3D above) and a plurality of second portions (circled region in annotated Fig. 3D above), the first portion extending in a second direction (D1) intersecting with the first direction, the plurality of second portions being aligned spaced apart in the second direction on an upper surface of the first portion (Fig. 3D), a length of each of the plurality of second portions in a third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction being shorter than a length of the first portion in the third direction (Figs. 3A-3D), and the first portion and the second portions being continuous (Fig. 3D).
Continuing to claim 2, Song discloses wherein the first member comprises a plurality of the bridges (Fig. 3D, note that the structures SP are formed between the circled regions and alternate in the second direction D1), and the plurality of the bridges and the plurality of second portions are aligned to alternate with each other one at a time in the second direction (Fig. 3D, note that the structures SP are formed between the circled regions and alternate in the second direction D1).
Referring to claims 3 and 14 (with these claims being similar in scope), Song discloses wherein the first portion spans continuously in the first direction and the second direction (annotated Fig. 3D rectangular region).
Regarding claim 4, Song discloses further comprising a first insulator (111) on an upper surface of the memory pillar ([0042]), wherein the bridge includes a part of the first insulator (Fig. 3A), and the first insulator on the upper surface of the memory pillar is continuous with the part of the first insulator included in the bridge (Figs. 3A and 3D).
Pertaining to claims 5 and 15 (with these claims being similar in scope), Song discloses wherein a center position of the plurality of second portions in the third direction differs from a center position of the first portion in the third direction (Fig. 3D, note that the left most second portion has a center position that is different than the first portion).
As to claims 6 and 16 (with these claims being similar in scope), Song discloses wherein the first member includes a second conductor (CSP) and a second insulator (SS) on a surface of the second conductor (Fig. 3D and [0046]-[0047]).
Concerning claims 7 and 17 (with these claims being similar in scope), Song discloses wherein the second insulator covers a side surface of the second conductor (Figs. 3A, 3B, and 3D).
Considering claim 8, Song discloses wherein the second insulator has a portion positioned on a lower surface of the bridge and a side surface of the bridge (Fig. 3D).
Continuing to claim 9, Song discloses further comprising a first insulator (111) that is positioned on an upper surface of the memory pillar and is included in the bridge (Fig. 3A), wherein the second conductor faces the first insulator in the second portion, with the second insulator interposed therebetween (Figs. 3A and 3B).
Referring to claims 10 and 18 (with these claims being similar in scope), Song discloses wherein the second insulator is positioned continuously over a side surface of the first portion (Fig. 3A) and side surfaces of the plurality of second portions (Fig. 3D).
Regarding claim 11, Song discloses wherein the first member includes a second insulator (SS) and a third insulator (SP) on a surface of the second insulator, the third insulator contains a material differing from a material of the second insulator ([0047] and [0068]), and the second insulator faces the first insulator in the second portion, with the third insulator interposed therebetween (Figs. 3A and 3D).
Pertaining to claims 12 and 20 (with these claims being similar in scope), Song discloses wherein the second insulator has a portion positioned in a center of the first member in the third direction (Fig. 2).
As to claim 19, Song discloses wherein the second insulator (SS) has a portion positioned on an upper surface of the first portion (Fig. 3D).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art reference fails to disclose that a length of each of the plurality of second portions in a third direction intersecting with the first direction and the second direction being shorter than a length of the first portion in the third direction, as required by Claim 1. Moreover, given that the prior art reference’s D2 direction is associated with the claimed third direction, since the sidewall ESS has a tapered shape, as shown in Figure 3B, the width in the D2 direction of the portion associated with the second portions is actually larger than the width in the D2 direction of the portion associated with the first portion, which is opposite to what is required by Claim 1. However the examiner disagrees. Song discloses that the support pattern SP may have a width W1, which increases with increasing distance from the substrate 100, when measured in the second direction D2. The width of the support pattern SP in the second direction D2 may be largest at its top level ([0044]). The width of the support portion directly affects the width of the second portion. As the width of the support portion increases in D2 (third direction) the width of the second portion decreases in D2. Therefore the examiner believes that the limitation of the length of each of the plurality of second portion in the third direction (D2) is shorter than a length of the first portion in the third direction is met and the rejection stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALERIE N NEWTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2897 03/17/26
/CHAD M DICKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897