DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 26, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are pending in the application. Applicant has submitted amendments to the claims along with other remarks. Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are still rejected by prior art references, refer to the following rejection for details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pp. 7-11 of the response, filed February 27,. 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9, and 11-20 under § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration for the amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new reference, please see the rejection for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Non-patent Literature entitled, “Authentication and Key Management for Applications (AKMA) based on 3GPP credentials in the 5G System (5GS)” - 3GPP TS 33.535 version 17.5.0 (hereinafter “TS 33.535”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0210636 (hereinafter “Gupta”).
Regarding claim 1, TS 33.535 teaches: An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (Figure 4.1-2 AUSF): transmit, by an authentication server function of a home public land mobile network (Figure 4.1-2 AUSF), PLMN, of a device (Figure 4.1-2 UE), an anchor key register request to an application security function of the home PLMN of the device (Figure 6.1-1, p. 14/27 Step 4 - After AKMA key material is generated, the AUSF selects the AAnF as defined in clause 6.7, and shall send the generated A-KID and KAKMA to the AAnF together with the SUPI of the UE using the Naanf_AKMA_KeyRegistration Request service operation. The AAnF shall store the latest information sent by the AUSF), the anchor key registration request comprising a registered serving network identifier of the device (p. 14/27 A-KID shall be in NAI format as specified in clause 2.2 of IETF RFC 7542 [6], i.e. username@realm. The username part shall include the RID and the A-TID (AKMA Temporary UE Identifier), and the realm part shall include Home Network Identifier), and transmit the registered serving network identifier of the device to the application security function based on an indication from a data repository function (p. 19/27 6.7 AAnF Discovery and Selection - The AUSF performs AAnF selection to allocate an AAnF Instance to send the AKMA key material related to the UE. The AUSF shall utilize the NRF to discover the AAnF instance(s) unless AAnF information is available by other means, e.g. locally configured on the AUSF. - The NF specified in clause 6.6 performs AAnF instance selection that handles the AKMA request. The NF shall utilize the NRF to discover the AAnF instance(s) unless AAnF information is available by other means, e.g. locally configured on the NF specified in clause 6.6).
TS 33.535 does not explicitly teach: a registered serving network identifier of the device indicative of a first visitor PLMN.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gupta teaches: a registered serving network identifier of the device indicative of a first visitor PLMN ([0089] In an embodiment, the AKMA controller (240A) receives a second AKMA indication “AKMA indication 2” from the UDM specifying whether the KAKMA and the A-KID and/or the KAF Keys need to be propagated to a Visited-PLMN, depending on operator agreements and/or AKMA support in the VPLMN.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TS 33.535 to include the feature of a visitor PLMN and a combination of TS 33.535 with Gupta renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing registered serving network identifier that is indicative of another PLMN).
Regarding claim 2, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the apparatus is further configured to: receive an authentication request from a first visitor PLMN of the device, wherein the authentication request comprises an indication of a requirement to use an application encryption key for an application session of the device (p. 13/27 AKMA Application Keys KAF shall use explicit lifetimes based on the operator's policy. The lifetime of KAF shall be sent by the AAnF as described in clauses 6.2 and 6.3. In case that a new AKMA Anchor Key KAKMA is established, the AKMA Application Key KAF can continue to be used for the duration of the current application session or until its lifetime expires, whichever comes first. When the KAF lifetime expires, a new AKMA Application Key is established based on the current AKMA Anchor Key KAKMA.), or receive the indication of the requirement to use the application encryption key for the application session of the device from a data repository function of the home PLMN; and cause forwarding of the indication of the requirement to use the application encryption key for the application session of the device to an application function of the first visitor PLMN or a second visitor PLMN (p. 14/27 Step 4. After AKMA key material is generated, the AUSF selects the AAnF as defined in clause 6.7, and shall send the generated A-KID and KAKMA to the AAnF together with the SUPI of the UE using the Naanf_AKMA_KeyRegistration Request service operation. The AAnF shall store the latest information sent by the AUSF;), wherein the application function of the first visitor PLMN or the second visitor PLMN is configured to control encryption of the application session (p. 17/27 Step 1: When the AF is about to request AKMA Application Key for the UE from the AAnF, e.g. when UE initiates application session establishment request as in clause 6.2.1, the AF discovers the HPLMN of the UE based on the A-KID and sends the request towards the AAnF via NEF service API. The request shall include the A-KID and the AF_ID and optionally UE Id not needed indication.).
Regarding claim 3, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the device is served by the first visitor PLMN (p. 13/27 Figure 6.1-1 AMF/AUSF/UDM).
Regarding claim 4, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the authentication request further comprises an identifier of the device and/or a name or an identifier of the first visitor PLMN (p. 10/27, 4.2.4 AUSF The AUSF is defined in TS 23.501 [3] with additional functions: - AUSF provides the SUPI and AKMA key material (A-KID,KAKMA) of the UE to the AAnF. - AUSF performs the AAnF selection).
Regarding claim 5, TS 33.535 inherently teaches (p. 8/27, 1 Scope - The present document specifies the security features and mechanisms to support authentication and key management aspects for applications based on subscription credential(s) in 5G system as defined in TS 33.501 [2].): wherein the authentication request is received from a security anchor function of the first visitor PLMN (3GPP TS 33.501 version 15.2.0 Release 15 teaches: Figure 6.1.2-1 p. 34/172 The SEAF may initiate an authentication with the UE during any procedure establishing a signalling connection with the UE, according to the SEAF's policy. The UE shall use SUCI or 5G-GUTI in the Registration Request.).
Regarding claim 6, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the apparatus is further configured to: forward the indication of the requirement to use the application encryption key for the application session of the device to a user data management function of the home PLMN (p. 14/27 Figure 6.1-1 Step 1. During the primary authentication procedure, the AUSF interacts with the UDM in order to fetch authentication information such as subscription credentials (e.g. AKA Authentication vectors) and the authentication method using the Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get Request service operation.).
Regarding claim 7, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the anchor key registration request further comprises at least one of: an identifier of the device, an application key identifier, or an application anchor key (p. 14/27 Figure 6.1-1 Step 4:.Naanf_AKMA_AnchorKey_Register Request (SUPI, A-KID, KAKMA)).
Regarding claim 8, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the identifier of the device comprises a subscription permanent identifier, wherein the application key identifier comprises an authentication and key management for applications, AKMA, key identifier, and/or wherein the application anchor key comprises an AKMA anchor key (p. 14/27 Figure 6.1-1 Step 4: Naanf_AKMA_AnchorKey_Register Request (SUPI, A-KID, KAKMA)).
Regarding claim 9, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the application security function comprises an AKMA anchor function (p. 14/27 Figure 6.1-1 AAnF).
Regarding claim 11, TS 33.535 teaches: A method, comprising: transmitting, by an authentication server function of a home public land mobile network, PLMN, of a device, an anchor key register request to an application security function of the home PLMN of the device (Figure 6.1-1, p. 14/27 Step 4 - After AKMA key material is generated, the AUSF selects the AAnF as defined in clause 6.7, and shall send the generated A-KID and KAKMA to the AAnF together with the SUPI of the UE using the Naanf_AKMA_KeyRegistration Request service operation. The AAnF shall store the latest information sent by the AUSF), the anchor key registration request comprising a registered serving network identifier of the device (p. 14/27 A-KID shall be in NAI format as specified in clause 2.2 of IETF RFC 7542 [6], i.e. username@realm. The username part shall include the RID and the A-TID (AKMA Temporary UE Identifier), and the realm part shall include Home Network Identifier) , and transmit the registered serving network identifier of the device to the application security function based on an indication from a data repository function (p. 19/27 6.7 AAnF Discovery and Selection - The AUSF performs AAnF selection to allocate an AAnF Instance to send the AKMA key material related to the UE. The AUSF shall utilize the NRF to discover the AAnF instance(s) unless AAnF information is available by other means, e.g. locally configured on the AUSF. - The NF specified in clause 6.6 performs AAnF instance selection that handles the AKMA request. The NF shall utilize the NRF to discover the AAnF instance(s) unless AAnF information is available by other means, e.g. locally configured on the NF specified in clause 6.6).
TS 33.535 does not explicitly teach: a registered serving network identifier of the device indicative of a first visitor PLMN.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gupta teaches: a registered serving network identifier of the device indicative of a first visitor PLMN ([0089] In an embodiment, the AKMA controller (240A) receives a second AKMA indication “AKMA indication 2” from the UDM specifying whether the KAKMA and the A-KID and/or the KAF Keys need to be propagated to a Visited-PLMN, depending on operator agreements and/or AKMA support in the VPLMN.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TS 33.535 to include the feature of a visitor PLMN and a combination of TS 33.535 with Gupta renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing registered serving network identifier that is indicative of another PLMN).
Regarding claim 12, A computer readable medium comprising program instructions stored thereon for performing at least the following: transmitting, by an authentication server function of a home public land mobile network, PLMN, of a device, an anchor key register request to an application security function of the home PLMN of the device (Figure 6.1-1, p. 14/27 Step 4 - After AKMA key material is generated, the AUSF selects the AAnF as defined in clause 6.7, and shall send the generated A-KID and KAKMA to the AAnF together with the SUPI of the UE using the Naanf_AKMA_KeyRegistration Request service operation. The AAnF shall store the latest information sent by the AUSF), the anchor key registration request comprising a registered serving network identifier of the device (p. 14/27 A-KID shall be in NAI format as specified in clause 2.2 of IETF RFC 7542 [6], i.e. username@realm. The username part shall include the RID and the A-TID (AKMA Temporary UE Identifier), and the realm part shall include Home Network Identifier), and transmit the registered serving network identifier of the device to the application security function based on an indication from a data repository function (p. 19/27 6.7 AAnF Discovery and Selection - The AUSF performs AAnF selection to allocate an AAnF Instance to send the AKMA key material related to the UE. The AUSF shall utilize the NRF to discover the AAnF instance(s) unless AAnF information is available by other means, e.g. locally configured on the AUSF. - The NF specified in clause 6.6 performs AAnF instance selection that handles the AKMA request. The NF shall utilize the NRF to discover the AAnF instance(s) unless AAnF information is available by other means, e.g. locally configured on the NF specified in clause 6.6).
TS 33.535 does not explicitly teach: a registered serving network identifier of the device indicative of a first visitor PLMN.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gupta teaches: a registered serving network identifier of the device indicative of a first visitor PLMN ([0089] In an embodiment, the AKMA controller (240A) receives a second AKMA indication “AKMA indication 2” from the UDM specifying whether the KAKMA and the A-KID and/or the KAF Keys need to be propagated to a Visited-PLMN, depending on operator agreements and/or AKMA support in the VPLMN.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TS 33.535 to include the feature of a visitor PLMN and a combination of TS 33.535 with Gupta renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing registered serving network identifier that is indicative of another PLMN).
Regarding claim 13, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the apparatus is further configured to: receive an authentication request from a first visitor PLMN of the device, wherein the authentication request comprises an indication of a requirement to use an application encryption key for an application session of the device (p. 13/27 AKMA Application Keys KAF shall use explicit lifetimes based on the operator's policy. The lifetime of KAF shall be sent by the AAnF as described in clauses 6.2 and 6.3. In case that a new AKMA Anchor Key KAKMA is established, the AKMA Application Key KAF can continue to be used for the duration of the current application session or until its lifetime expires, whichever comes first. When the KAF lifetime expires, a new AKMA Application Key is established based on the current AKMA Anchor Key KAKMA.), or receive the indication of the requirement to use the application encryption key for the application session of the device from a data repository function of the home PLMN; and cause forwarding of the indication of the requirement to use the application encryption key for the application session of the device to an application function of the first visitor PLMN or a second visitor PLMN (p. 14/27 Step 4. After AKMA key material is generated, the AUSF selects the AAnF as defined in clause 6.7, and shall send the generated A-KID and KAKMA to the AAnF together with the SUPI of the UE using the Naanf_AKMA_KeyRegistration Request service operation. The AAnF shall store the latest information sent by the AUSF;), wherein the application function of the first visitor PLMN or the second visitor PLMN is configured to control encryption of the application session (p. 17/27 Step 1: When the AF is about to request AKMA Application Key for the UE from the AAnF, e.g. when UE initiates application session establishment request as in clause 6.2.1, the AF discovers the HPLMN of the UE based on the A-KID and sends the request towards the AAnF via NEF service API. The request shall include the A-KID and the AF_ID and optionally UE Id not needed indication.).
Regarding claim 14, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the device is served by the first visitor PLMN (p. 13/27 Figure 6.1-1 AMF/AUSF/UDM).
Regarding claim 15, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the authentication request further comprises an identifier of the device and/or a name or an identifier of the first visitor PLMN (p. 10/27, 4.2.4 AUSF The AUSF is defined in TS 23.501 [3] with additional functions: - AUSF provides the SUPI and AKMA key material (A-KID,KAKMA) of the UE to the AAnF. - AUSF performs the AAnF selection).
Regarding claim 16, TS 33.535 inherently teaches (p. 8/27, 1 Scope - The present document specifies the security features and mechanisms to support authentication and key management aspects for applications based on subscription credential(s) in 5G system as defined in TS 33.501 [2].): wherein the authentication request is received from a security anchor function of the first visitor PLMN (3GPP TS 33.501 version 15.2.0 Release 15 teaches: Figure 6.1.2-1 p. 34/172 The SEAF may initiate an authentication with the UE during any procedure establishing a signalling connection with the UE, according to the SEAF's policy. The UE shall use SUCI or 5G-GUTI in the Registration Request.).
Regarding claim 17, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the apparatus is further configured to: forward the indication of the requirement to use the application encryption key for the application session of the device to a user data management function of the home PLMN (p. 14/27 Figure 6.1-1 Step 1. During the primary authentication procedure, the AUSF interacts with the UDM in order to fetch authentication information such as subscription credentials (e.g. AKA Authentication vectors) and the authentication method using the Nudm_UEAuthentication_Get Request service operation.).
Regarding claim 18, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the anchor key registration request further comprises at least one of: an identifier of the device, an application key identifier, or an application anchor key (p. 14/27 Figure 6.1-1 Step 4:.Naanf_AKMA_AnchorKey_Register Request (SUPI, A-KID, KAKMA)).
Regarding claim 19, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the identifier of the device comprises a subscription permanent identifier, wherein the application key identifier comprises an authentication and key management for applications, AKMA, key identifier, and/or wherein the application anchor key comprises an AKMA anchor key (p. 14/27 Figure 6.1-1 Step 4: Naanf_AKMA_AnchorKey_Register Request (SUPI, A-KID, KAKMA)).
Regarding claim 20, TS 33.535 teaches: wherein the application security function comprises an AKMA anchor function (p. 14/27 Figure 6.1-1 AAnF).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20220322067 (Kim) relates to a method and apparatus for configuring temporary user equipment (UE) external identifier in wireless communication system
U.S. Publication No. 20220210640 (Rajadurai) relates to a method and system for optimizing AKMA key refresh mechanism in wireless network
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643