Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 06/12/23. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §112
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what “the ratio” refers to. For example, it is unclear whether it is the first element that is varying or increasing or decreasing. Same for the second element. Thus, for purposes of examination, this recitation is interpreted as merely meaning varying.
Further, claim 2 is rejected on related grounds. For example, claim 2 recites a feature that directly contradicts a feature in claim 1. In particular, claim 1’s recitation of “a concentration of the second element in the region decreases in a horizontal direction”, is a direct contradiction of claim 2’s recitation of “the concentration of the second element in the region increases in the horizontal direction,”
For example, applicant appears to be claiming this relationship of concentration of elements Ti vs NB, where Ti and NB are interchangeable in claim 1:
However, this office action notes that any uneven distribution (non-parity) reads on applicant’s claim feature. Does applicant wish only to exclude the scenario of exact parity distribution?
Appropriate clarification/correction is required.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20110057292 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a lower structure (the structure below layer 129 in Figure 11):
first electrodes (138) spaced apart from each other on the lower structure; a second electrode (144) on the first electrodes; and
a dielectric layer (142) between the first electrodes (138) and the second electrode (144),
wherein each of the first electrodes include a first element (Ti, par. [0026]), a second element (Nb, par. [0026], "another embodiment"), and nitrogen, N ([0026)),
a degree of stiffness of a first nitride material (134, TiN) including the first element is higher than a degree of stiffness of a second nitride material (136, NbN) including the second element (this feature merely states material properties of TIN and NbN which are known, see para [0028])1,
each of the first electrodes (138) includes a region (vertical sidewalls of the bottom electrode) in which a ratio of a concentration of the first element (Ti) in the region to a concentration of the second element (Nb) in the region decreases in a horizontal direction, away from a side surface of each of the first electrodes (this is the case for a TIN/NDN bi-layer, see para [0026] disclosing varying concentration),
and the horizontal direction is parallel to an upper surface of the lower structure (Figure 11, par. [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the concentration of the second element in the region increases in the horizontal direction, away from the side surface of each of the first electrodes(this is the case for a TIN/NDN bi-layer).
Regarding claim 3, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first element is Ti, the second element is Nb, the first nitride material including the first element is TiN, and the second nitride material including the second element is NbN (see para [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein each of the first electrodes includes: the region, which comprises a first region including the first element (see para [0026], disclosing ), the second element, and the nitrogen (N) (see para [0026] disclosing 136 having N); and a second region not including the second element (see 134 being TIN), and including the first nitride material including the first element (TIN).
Regarding claim 5, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein each of the first electrodes further includes a third region, in each of the first electrodes, the first region is between the second region and the third region, and the third region does not include the second element, and includes the first nitride material including the first element (see third region where 148 is fig 19).
Regarding claim 6, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein the second region includes a lower portion below the first region, and an upper portion on a sidewall of the first region and extending upward from an edge region of the lower portion (see 152/154 below tops of 136/134).
Regarding claim 7, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the lower structure includes: a semiconductor substrate (see 104/102); an isolation region defining active regions and on the semiconductor substrate (see 112-118); gate structures in gate trenches intersecting the active regions and extending into the isolation region (see active area under stack 104); first source/drain regions and second source/drain regions in the active regions 108; bit lines intersecting the gate structures and electrically connected to the first source/drain regions (see lines 131); and contact structures electrically connected to the second source/drain regions and on the second source/drain regions (see contacts 131’), and wherein the first electrodes are in contact with and electrically connected to pad portions of the contact structures (see fig 8 where 140 is contacting 131’).
Regarding claim 8, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the lower structure includes: a substrate 104/102; bit lines on the substrate 131; first source/drain regions on the bit lines 108; second source/drain regions on the first source/drain regions (multiple 108); channel regions between the first source/drain regions and the second source/drain regions (see gate stacks over 108); gate structures on at least one side of each of the channel regions; (see ) and contact structures on the second source/drain regions 131’, and wherein the first electrodes are electrically connected to the contact structures and on the contact structures (see fig 8 disclosing 131 contacts).
Regarding claim 9, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising: at least one supporter layer having an opening (see figs 8 and 9 disclosing 129 and 120 having opening where 131 are located), wherein the at least one supporter layer and the first electrodes are in contact with each other(see figs 8 and 9 disclosing 129 and 120 having opening where 131 are located), the second electrode is on the at least one supporter layer and the first electrodes(see figs 8 and 9 disclosing 129 and 120/130 having opening where 131 are located), and the dielectric layer 142 is between the second electrode and the at least one supporter layer and between the second electrode and the first electrodes (see 130/120/29).
Regarding claim 10, Hu discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a lower structure(the structure below layer 129 in Figure 11);
a first electrode on the lower structure (138 on layer below 129);
a second electrode on the first electrode (144 on 138); and
a dielectric layer 142 between the first electrode and the second electrode (142 between 144 and 138),
wherein the first electrode includes a first region including at least a titanium (Ti) element (Ti see para [0026]), a niobium (Nb) element, and a nitrogen (N) element (see para [0026]),2 and
in the first region of the first electrode, a concentration of the Nb element increases in a horizontal direction, away from a side surface of the first electrode(this is the case for a TIN/NDN bi-layer, see para [0028]).3
Regarding claim 11, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the first electrode further includes a second region between the first region and the side surface of the first electrode (see 148), and the second region does not include the Nb element, and includes the Ti element and the N element (see para [0026] and 136/134 having sidewalls).
Regarding claim 12, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the first electrode further includes a third region, the first region is between the second region and the third region, and the third region does not include the Nb element, and includes the Ti element and the N element(see third region where 148 is fig 19).
Regarding claim 13, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the second region includes a lower portion and an upper portion on a sidewall of the first region and extending upward from an edge region of the lower portion (see sidewalls of 136/134), and the dielectric layer includes a portion in contact with an upper surface of the first region and an upper surface of the second region (see 146 in contact with 136).
Regarding claim 14, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the first region includes: a first sub-region in which first TiN layers and first NbN layers are alternately stacked in the horizontal direction (see para [0026], figs 19 and 20 disclosing U shape 134/136); and a second sub-region in which second TiN layers and second NbN layers are alternately stacked in the horizontal direction (see fig 19 disclosing alternating stacking of 148/146/134/136), wherein each of the first TiN layers has a first horizontal thickness, wherein each of the first NbN layers has a second horizontal thickness smaller than the first horizontal thickness (see fig 19 disclosing horizontal portions), wherein each of the second NbN layers has a third horizontal thickness greater than the second horizontal thickness (see 154/156 is thicker than 136/134), and wherein the first TiN layers and the second TiN layers have substantially equal horizontal thicknesses (see fig 19).
Regarding claim 15, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the first region further includes a third sub-region in which third TiN layers and third NbN layers are alternately stacked in the horizontal direction, and the third NbN layers have a fourth horizontal thickness greater than the second horizontal thickness (see para [0026] fig 19, disclosing 136/134).
Regarding claim 16, Hu discloses the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the first electrode further includes a second region that does not include the Nb element, and includes the Ti element and the N element, and the first region is between the second region and the side surface of the first electrode (see para [0026], fig 19).
Examiner’s note
This office action notes that claims 1 and 2 modify different elements, i.e. ratios vs. concentrations. This office action recommends that concentrations be used, for clarity.
Allowable Subject Matter
The cited art do not disclose A semiconductor device comprising: a lower structure; a first electrode on the lower structure; a second electrode on the first electrode; and a dielectric layer between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the first electrode includes a first region including at least three elements, the first region of the first electrode includes a first sub-region and a second sub-region, wherein the first sub-region is between, in a horizontal direction, the second sub-region and a side surface of the first electrode, the first sub-region includes first layers and second layers alternately stacked in the horizontal direction, the second sub-region includes third layers and fourth layers alternately stacked in the horizontal direction, the first layers and the third layers include a same first material, the second layers and the fourth layers include a same second material, and a horizontal thickness of each of the second layers is smaller than a horizontal thickness of each of the fourth layers, as recited claim 17. Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDWARD CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893
1 See Han (KR 20230047970 A) disclosing The first lower electrode layer 171 may include a second material, and the second lower electrode layer 172 may include a third material that is different from the second material and has higher stiffness than the second material. For example, the second material is a metal such as ruthenium (Ru), titanium (Ti), tantalum (Ta), niobium (Nb), iridium (Ir), molybdenum (Mo), tungsten (W), titanium nitride (TiN ), conductive metal nitrides such as tantalum nitride (TaN), niobium nitride (NbN), molybdenum nitride (MoN), and tungsten nitride (WN), and iridium oxide (IrO .sub.2 ), ruthenium oxide (RuO .sub.2 ), strontium ruthenium oxide ( It includes at least one selected from conductive metal oxides such as SrRuO .sub.3 ), and the third material may include TSN (Ti-Si-N). However, the second material and the third material are not limited to the above materials and may be variously modified. In some cases, the first lower electrode layer 171 and the second lower electrode layer 172 may include a second material.
The second material includes at least one of TiN, TaN, NbN, MoN, and WN,
The first lower electrode layer includes at least one of TiN, TaN, NbN, MoN, and WN,
2 Hu at para [0026], discloses the first metal nitride material 134 is titanium nitride (TiN) and the second metal nitride material 136 is niobium nitride (NbN). In another embodiment, the first metal nitride material 134 is titanium nitride (TiN) and the second metal nitride material 136 is tantalum nitride (TaN). In another embodiment, the first metal nitride material 134 is niobium nitride (NbN) and the second metal nitride material 136 is tantalum nitride (TaN). While the bottom electrode 138 is illustrated in FIG. 8 as including two portions of first and second metal nitride materials 134, 136, the bottom electrode 138 may include three or more portions of the metal nitride materials.
3 See footnote 1.