DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sabarirajan (WO 2023/129549).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Sabarirajan teaches a method comprising:
providing a porous transport layer, the porous transport layer to be a component in an electrolyzer cell [0022]; and creating features in a first surface of the porous transport layer, the features serving to increase a surface area of the first surface of the porous transport layer [0049].
Regarding claim 3, Sabarirajan teaches the porous transport layer comprises a sintered titanium powder-based porous transport layer, a titanium fiber-based porous transport layer [0027], a nickel fiber-based porous transport layer, or a stainless-steel fiber-based porous transport layer.
Regarding claim 4, Sabarirajan teaches the porous transport layer is about 100 microns to 400 microns thick [0029].
Regarding claim 5, Sabarirajan teaches the features are at a depth of about 50 microns to 100 microns in the first surface of the porous transport layer [0050].
Regarding claim 16, Sabarirajan teaches after creating features in the first surface of the porous transport layer, depositing a catalyst on the first surface [0049-0052].
Regarding claim 17, Sabarirajan teaches the catalyst is deposited on the first surface using a physical vapor deposition process (pg. 10, [0052]).
Regarding claim 18, Sabarirajan teaches the catalyst is deposited on the first surface using a physical vapor deposition process, and wherein the physical vapor deposition process is sputtering (pg. 10, [0052]).
Regarding claim 19 Sabarirajan teaches the catalyst comprises iridium, platinum, ruthenium, or mixtures thereof [0052].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabarirajan as applied to claim 1 above in view of Gorokhovsky (US 2015/0376804).
Regarding claim 2, Sabarirajan is directed to increasing surface area of the pass through layer because it will allow the use of very low catalyst loadings while maintaining or improving cell performance [0049]. It does not teach creating the features is performed using laser ablation.
Gorokhovsky teaches a cell for gas transport that teaches features are created on a layer by laser ablation to create a precisely controlled surface profile[0052].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the features of Sabarirajan by providing the features is performed using laser ablation, as taught by Gorokhovsky, because it would provide a precisely controlled surface profile [0052].
Claim 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabarirajan as applied to claim 1 above in view of Zhang (US 2023/0047374).
Regarding claim 6, Sabarirajan does not teach the features comprise a plurality of substantially parallel channels in the first surface.
Zhang the features comprise a plurality of substantially parallel channels (125, fig. 5c, [0009]) in the first surface (Fig. 5c, [0033-0035]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the features of Sabarirajan by providing a plurality of substantially parallel channels in the first surface, as taught by Zhang, because it would enhance water and gas transport in both in plane and through plane directions [0009].
Regarding claim 7, Sabarirajan does not teach a spacing between a first channel and a second channel of the substantially parallel channels is about 1 micron to 130 microns, and wherein the first channel is adjacent to the second channel.
Zhang teaches a spacing (channel wall thickness) between a first channel and a second channel of the substantially parallel channels is about 1 micron to 130 microns(25-300 microns, d4, fig. 8b), and wherein the first channel is adjacent to the second channel [0041].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the features of Sabarirajan by providing a spacing between a first channel and a second channel of the substantially parallel channels is about 1 micron to 130 microns, and wherein the first channel is adjacent to the second channel, as taught by Zhang, because it would enhance water and gas transport in both in plane and through plane directions [0009].
Regarding claim 8, Sabarirajan does not teach each of the plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 200 nanometers to 50 microns wide.
Zhang teach each of the plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 200 nanometers to 50 microns wide ([0041], d1 0 – 200 um).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the features of Sabarirajan by providing each of the plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 200 nanometers to 50 microns wide, as taught by Zhang, because it would enhance water and gas transport in both in plane and through plane directions [0009].
Regarding claim 9, Sabarirajan does not teach the features comprise a first plurality of substantially parallel channels in the first surface and a second plurality of substantially parallel channels in the first surface, and wherein the second plurality of substantially parallel channels are substantially perpendicular to the first plurality of substantially parallel channels.
Zhang teaches the features comprise a first plurality of substantially parallel channels in the first surface and a second plurality of substantially parallel channels in the first surface, and wherein the second plurality of substantially parallel channels are substantially perpendicular to the first plurality of substantially parallel channels [0042, fig. 8d-8g).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the features of Sabarirajan by providing the features comprise a first plurality of substantially parallel channels in the first surface and a second plurality of substantially parallel channels in the first surface, and wherein the second plurality of substantially parallel channels are substantially perpendicular to the first plurality of substantially parallel channels, as taught by Zhang, because it would enhance water and gas transport in both in plane and through plane directions [0009].
Regarding claim 10, Sabarirajan does not teach a spacing between a first channel and a second channel of the first plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 1 micron to 130 microns, wherein the first channel is adjacent to the second channel, wherein a spacing between a third channel and a fourth channel of the second plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 1 micron to 130 microns, and wherein the third channel is adjacent to the fourth channel.
Zhang teaches a spacing between a first channel and a second channel of the first plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 1 micron to 130 microns, wherein the first channel is adjacent to the second channel, wherein a spacing between a third channel and a fourth channel of the second plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 1 micron to 130 microns, and wherein the third channel is adjacent to the fourth channel [0041].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the features of Sabarirajan by providing a spacing between a first channel and a second channel of the first plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 1 micron to 130 microns, wherein the first channel is adjacent to the second channel, wherein a spacing between a third channel and a fourth channel of the second plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 1 micron to 130 microns, and wherein the third channel is adjacent to the fourth channel as taught by Zhang, because it would enhance water and gas transport in both in plane and through plane directions [0009].
Regarding claim 11, Sabarirajan does not teach each of the first plurality of plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 200 nanometers to 50 microns wide, and wherein each of the second plurality of plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 200 nanometers to 50 microns wide.
Zhang teach each of the first plurality of plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 200 nanometers to 50 microns wide, and wherein each of the second plurality of plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 200 nanometers to 50 microns wide [0041].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the features of Sabarirajan by providing each of the first plurality of plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 200 nanometers to 50 microns wide, and wherein each of the second plurality of plurality of substantially parallel channels is about 200 nanometers to 50 microns wide as taught by Zhang, because it would enhance water and gas transport in both in plane and through plane directions [0009].
Claim 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabarirajan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schmidt (WO 2023/227717).
Regarding claim 12, Sabarirajan does not teach creating a plurality of indentations in a second surface of the porous transport layer. However it does teach a gas transport layer within the porous transport layer.
Schmidt is directed to a gas permeable electronically conductive plate for use as porous transport layer. Schmidt teaches its plate (20, 51a, fig. 3d) creating a plurality of indentations (dimples 55a) in a second surface (20)of the porous transport layer (30, 40, 50), wherein the indentations do not pass from the second surface to the first surface, and wherein the plurality of indentations serve to improve gas transport through the porous transport layer (Fig. 3d, 4 pg. 7, ln. 18-35)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the gas transport layer of the porous transport layer of Sabarirajan by creating a plurality of indentations in a second surface of the porous transport layer, wherein the indentations do not pass from the second surface to the first surface, and wherein the plurality of indentations serve to improve gas transport through the porous transport layer, as taught by Schmidt, because it would allow for one dimensional mass transport along the thickness direction of the gas permeable electronically conductive plate optimizing the mass transport of oxygen (pg. 7, ln. 25-30).
Regarding claim 14, Schmidt teach each indentation of the plurality of the indentations passes about half-way from the second surface (52a, fig 3d) to the first surface (30, Fig. 3d).
Regarding claim 15. Schmidt teaches a center-to-center distance between two adjacent dimples is about 450 microns (300 um between margins of neighboring dimples + 150 microns radius of the dimple). This is about 0.5 mm. Therefore Schmidt teaches indentations of the plurality of indentations is about 0.5 millimeters to 1.5 millimeters (pg. 37, ln. 27-30).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabarirajan and Schmidt as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Gorokhovsky (US 2015/0376804).
Regarding claim 13, neither Sabarirajan nor Schmidt teaches the plurality of indentations are created using laser ablation.
Gorokhovsky teaches a cell for gas transport that teaches features are created on a layer by laser ablation to create a precisely controlled surface profile [0052].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the features of Sabarirajan by providing the plurality of indentations are created using laser ablation, as taught by Gorokhovsky, because it would provide a precisely controlled surface profile [0052].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabarirajan as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Li (US 2023/0366112).
Regarding claim 20, Sabarirajan is directed to increasing surface area of the pass through layer because it will allow the use of very low catalyst loadings while maintaining or improving cell performance [0049], but does not explicitly teach a catalyst loading on the porous transport layer is about 0.03 mg/cm2 to 0.4 mg/cm2.
Li directed to a porous transport layer teach a catalyst loading on the porous transport layer is about 0.03 mg/cm2 to 0.4 mg/cm2 [0040].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the features of Sabarirajan by providing teach a catalyst loading on the porous transport layer is about 0.03 mg/cm2 to 0.4 mg/cm2 because it would reduce the amount of precious metal required for catalyst loading [0018].
Conclusion
JOHN J. BRAYTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1794
/JOHN J BRAYTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794