Response to Arguments
The examiner is maintaining the rejections in the previous Office Action because the Applicant's arguments are not persuasive. Accordingly, This Action Is Made Final.
The Applicant has argued that “At most, Schmidlin discloses two layers, namely the first carrier 301 and the second carrier 303 bonded to one another by the central adhesive layer 302. This falls well short of arriving at Applicant's claimed insulator sheet, which includes 3 layers, namely the textile layer, the polymeric film, and the fluid impervious film, with the polymeric film bonded to the textile layer via the first layer of adhesive material, and the polymeric film bonded to the fluid impervious film via the second layer of adhesive material. Nothing in Schmidlin teaches or suggests such structure. To suggest otherwise would require reading far more into Schmidlin than exists”.
The argument above is not persuasive because the Applicant is arguing about what is not claimed because the claims do not recite “3 layers”. Furthermore, the argument of “3 layers, namely the textile layer, the polymeric film, and the fluid impervious film” above does not appear to include recited “first layer of adhesive material” and “second layer of adhesive material”. The argument above also not persuasive because it appears the Applicant is also producing contradictory arguments because the Applicant also argues the claimed invention “results in a minimum of 5 layers”. As a result, Schmidlin is obvious over the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidlin et al. (US 20220275249 filed 2/25/22)
2. Regarding claims 1-20, Schmidlin teaches multilayer, flexible, impact and puncture resistant, dielectric insulator sheet for an electric vehicle battery pack (As a flexible surround, the adhesive tape is able to wrap two or more leads at the same time and to conform to the shape of the cable bundle in the installation scenario [0192]; FIG. 2a shows a hybrid vehicle 201, HEV, FIG. 2b a plug-in hybrid 201, PHEV [0202]), comprising: a textile layer having generally planar opposite first and second sides (carrier 301 of woven fabric [0206]; textile carrier [0066]; It is noted that carrier 301 as textile layer in Fig. 4a has first and second sides); and a fluid impervious film fixed to said first side with an adhesive laminate including a polymeric film (second carrier on the adhesive layer (see claim 2); second carrier, where used, are more particularly synthetic polymers…such as polyethylene terephthalate [0067]; It is noted that second carrier comprising synthetic polymers is fluid impervious film) sandwiched between opposite first and second layers of adhesive material (If there are further layers of adhesive on the exposed surfaces of the first or second carrier [0113]), said first layer of adhesive material bonded to said textile layer (adhesive coated on the carrier material [0168]; first carrier 301 protrudes, with the adhesive layer 302 applied preferably over the full area [0205]) and said second layer of adhesive material bonded to said fluid impervious film (adhesive layer bearing a second carrier (abstract); second carrier on the adhesive layer (see claim 2); second carrier 303 [0207-0208]; second carrier, where used, are more particularly…made from synthetic polymers…such as polyethylene terephthalate [0067]; It is noted that second carrier comprising synthetic polymers is fluid impervious film).
3. Regarding claims 4, 5, 8, 17, Schmidlin teaches synthetic polymers…such as polyethylene terephthalate [0067]. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). (MPEP 2112.01)
4. Regarding claim 7, Schmidlin teaches wherein said woven layer includes weft direction multifilament yarn and warp direction multifilament yarn (In the case of woven fabrics, it is possible to use individual threads made from a blended yarn. Generally speaking, the warp threads and the weft threads are each made of a single type [0068]).
5. Regarding claim 9, Schmidlin teaches wherein said weft direction multifilament yarn is air texturized, and said warp direction multifilament yarn is air texturized and twisted (The filament may be textured or smooth and may have point strengthening or no strengthening [0070]; On twisting, the filaments may in particular have a number of turns, based on one meter of length (T/m) [0073]; Where the filaments are broken up while still in liquid form by a stream of hot air [0063]).
6. Regarding claims 10 and 19, Schmidlin teaches wherein said woven layer is woven having a densely woven plain weave pattern (The woven fabric may take the form of a plain weave, twill weave or satin weave, and also in the form of ripstop [0046]).
7. Regarding claims 11 and 18, Schmidlin teaches wherein said weft direction multifilament yarn and said warp direction multifilament yarn are polyamide 6 (Further possible variants include woven polyamide fabrics [0043]; Flexural stiffness, MD: the longer side of the test specimen extends parallel to the machine direction of the material or warp direction of the woven fabric [0232]).
8. Regarding claims 12 and 20, Schmidlin further including a self-adhesive layer bonded to a side of said fluid impervious film facing away from said textile layer (The bondability of the adhesive derives from its adhesive properties, and the redetachability from its cohesive properties [0114]; a further layer of adhesive, without offset, so that the side edges of the layers finish flush [0008]).
9. Regarding claims 13, Schmidlin wherein said self-adhesive layer is a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer, and further including a release film releasably bonded to said pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (The adhesive is preferably a pressure-sensitive adhesive (PSA), in other words an adhesive which even under relatively weak applied pressure allows durable bonding to virtually all substrates and which after use can be detached from the substrate again substantially without residue [0114]).
10. Regarding claims 14 and 15, Schmidlin teaches an electric vehicle battery pack mounting arrangement (A hybrid electric vehicle is a vehicle with hybrid drive, namely an electrical vehicle which is driven by at least one electrical motor and also by a further energy converter and which draws energy both from its electrical store (battery) and from a fuel which is carried additionally [0018]; (FIG. 2a shows a hybrid vehicle 201 [0202]), comprising: a body member (see Fig. 2A); an electric vehicle battery pack (Both concepts have a high-voltage battery 204 [0203]); a metal mount bracket (inverter 203 [0203]) disposed between said body member and said electric vehicle battery pack; a fastener (motor lead harness 205 [0203]) disposed through said body member and through said metal mount bracket (inverter 203 [0203]) into fastened engagement with said electric vehicle battery pack (see Fig. below); and a multilayer insulator sheet (As a flexible surround, the adhesive tape is able to wrap two or more leads at the same time and to conform to the shape of the cable bundle in the installation scenario [0192]) comprising: a textile layer having generally planar opposite first and second sides (carrier 301 of woven fabric [0206]; textile carrier [0066]; It is noted that carrier 301 as textile layer in Fig. 4a has first and second sides); and a fluid impervious film fixed to said first side with an adhesive laminate including a polymeric film (second carrier on the adhesive layer (see claim 2); second carrier, where used, are more particularly synthetic polymers…such as polyethylene terephthalate [0067]; It is noted that second carrier comprising synthetic polymers is fluid impervious film) sandwiched between opposite first and second layers of adhesive material (If there are further layers of adhesive on the exposed surfaces of the first or second carrier [0113]), said first layer of adhesive material bonded to said textile layer (adhesive coated on the carrier material [0168]; first carrier 301 protrudes, with the adhesive layer 302 applied preferably over the full area [0205]) and said second layer of adhesive material bonded to said fluid impervious film (adhesive layer bearing a second carrier (abstract); second carrier on the adhesive layer (see claim 2); second carrier 303 [0207-0208]; second carrier, where used, are more particularly…made from synthetic polymers…such as polyethylene terephthalate [0067]; It is noted that second carrier comprising synthetic polymers is fluid impervious film).
11. Although the figures in Schmidlin do not show all the claimed component arrangements, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the arrangement of Schmidlin’s components for the benefit of safety-relevant systems in the motor vehicle [0020].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752