DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/9/2025, with respect to the amended claim(s) have been considered but, are moot due to a new grounds of rejection based upon a new reference(s), SOOD et al. (US 10987440 B1), see below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11-12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over DOMBROWSKY (US 20190336628 A1) in view of SOOD et al. (US 10987440 B1).
Regarding claim 1, DOMBROWSKY discloses a medical cart [0003], comprising:
a frame (figs. 6-7; not illustrated, above wheel 50) [0003] configured to support medical equipment [0003] (not illustrated, above wheel 50);
one or more wheels (50) mounted to the frame (not illustrated, above wheel 50);
at least one wheel disinfection assembly (100a, 100b), each associated with one of the one or more wheels (50) [0065-0075],
at least one wheel disinfection assembly (100a, 100b) having one or more light sources (110a, 110b) [0068] configured to emit germicidal light [0068] onto at least part of the respective wheel (50) [0065-0075]
(figs. 6-7; housing 100a, 100b, with UV lights 110a,110b, 120a, 120b; encloses caster wheel 50 with a rotatable shaft 52; structural mounting member (cross-brace 131 and/or 132), attach housing (100a, 100b) to the rotatable shaft 52 of wheel 50, see [0066])
[0065-0075]
[0083]
[0090-0091]
[0003].
(Note concerning “caster”, applicant’s spec. [0025 Note caster 30 may include a mounting plate 32, a swivel joint 34, one or more legs 36, and/or an axel (not shown).]).
But DOMBROWSKY fails to disclose at least one status light in communication with the one or more light sources; and
a controller in communication with the at least one wheel disinfection assembly, the controller configured to store data related to maintenance notices, disinfection logs, cleaning effectiveness, biomaterial sensing, or data from general environmental sensors
SOOD, however, discloses a UV light sterilization system (abstract) (figs. 2 and 3c) having a UV light (102), having a housing (100/200/322/324) with
at least one status light (126) (col. 22, lines 8-25) in communication (col. 22, lines 8-25) with one or more light sources (UV lights 102); and
a controller (110) in communication with the disinfection assembly (100, 200, 102) (col. 5, lines 30-65), the controller configured to store data (col. 4, lines 15-40) related to maintenance notices (col. 5, lines 30-65), disinfection logs (col. 5, lines 30-65),
(figs. 2 and 3c; housing 100/200/322/324; UV light 102; visible light/status light 126 emits the visible light 148 for indicating active UV sterilization)
(col. 4, lines 15-40)
(col. 5, lines 30-65 Note operational data, diagnostics, and maintenance parameters)
(col. 12, lines 25-40)
(col. 17, lines 35-50)
(col. 22, lines 8-25)
(col. 29, lines 5-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of DOMBROWSKY, with a status light in communication with the one or more light sources configured to indicate active sterilization and a controller in communication with the disinfection assembly, the controller configured to store data related to maintenance notices, disinfection logs, or data from general environmental sensors, as taught by SOOD, to indicate active UV light emission to a user to help prevent accidental harmful UV light exposure and to provide information to a user about the disinfection system for user feedback/tracking (col. 5, lines 30-65).
Regarding claim 19, DOMBROWSKY discloses a wheel disinfection assembly (figs. 6-7; 100a, 100b) [0065-0075], comprising:
a housing (100a, 100b) forming a partially enclosed slot (internal volume 102a and/or 102b);
a light source (110a, 110b) [0068] at least partially enclosed by the housing, the light source configured to emit germicidal light [0068] into the slot (102a, 102b) [0065-0075];
wherein the housing (100a, 100b) is configured to receive a wheel caster (50, 52, 56, axel 52) [0066] [0083], at least partially, into the slot such that a wheel (50) mounted to the caster (52, 56) is at least partially enclosed by the slot (of 102a, 102b) and the germicidal light (from 110a, 110b) is emitted onto the wheel [0068].
(figs. 6-7; housing 100a, 100b, with UV lights 110a,110b, 120a, 120b; encloses caster wheel 50 with a rotatable shaft 52; structural mounting member (cross-brace 131 and/or 132), attach housing (100a, 100b) to the rotatable shaft 52 of wheel 50, see [0066])
[0065-0075]
[0083]
[0090-0091]
[0003].
(Note concerning “caster”, applicant’s spec. [0025 Note caster 30 may include a mounting plate 32, a swivel joint 34, one or more legs 36, and/or an axel (not shown).]).
But DOMBROWSKY fails to disclose a status indicator disposed on a top surface of the housing, the status indicator configured to indicate at least one of a low battery, active sterilization, charging maintenance needed, or ultraviolet-C (UVC) dosage needed.
SOOD, however, discloses a UV light sterilization system (abstract) (figs. 2 and 3c) having a UV light (102), having a housing (100/200/322/324) with
a status indicator (126) (col. 22, lines 8-25) disposed on a top surface/surface of the housing (of 100/200/322/324), the status indicator configured to indicate (via 126 emitting 148) (col. 22, lines 8-25),
(figs. 2 and 3c; housing 100/200/322/324; UV light 102; visible light/status light 126 emits the visible light 148 for indicating active UV sterilization)
(col. 22, lines 8-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of DOMBROWSKY, with a status indicator disposed on a top surface/surface of a housing, the status indicator configured to indicate active sterilization, as taught by SOOD, to indicate active UV light emission to a user to help prevent accidental harmful UV light exposure.
Regarding claim 2, DOMBROWSKY discloses that the one or more lights sources (110a, 110b) [0068] are also configured to emit the germicidal light onto a surface on which the wheels (50) are rolled [0075] (figs. 6-7, light from 110a, 110b will scatter and irradiate a floor that wheels 50 are on) .
Regarding claim 3, DOMBROWSKY discloses that the disinfection assembly further includes a housing (100a, 100b) , wherein:
the housing (100a, 100b) :
at least in part, houses the one or more light sources (110a, 110b, 120a, 120b) [0068]; and
forms a partially enclosed slot (internal volume 102a and/or 102b), and
the wheel (50) is partially enclosed by the slot (102a, 102b) [0066].
Regarding claim 4, DOMBROWSKY discloses that the germicidal light (from 110a, 110b, 120a, 120b) [0068] is emitted into at least part of the slot [0068] [0075]
Regarding claim 5, DOMBROWSKY discloses that at least one of the wheels (50) is mounted to the frame (unillustrated, above 50, 56) via a caster (52, 56) [0083]; the caster (56) allows the wheel (50) to swivel respective to the frame (unillustrated, above 50, 56) ; and the at least one wheel disinfection assembly (100a, 100b) is secured to the caster (56 via 52, 131, 132, 133, 134) .
Regarding claim 7, DOMBROWSKY discloses that the caster (52, 56) has: a mounting plate (figs. 2-3 and 9, not labelled) [0061] securing the caster (52, 56) to the frame (unillustrated, above 50, 56), an axel (52) supporting the wheel (50) and allowing the wheel to rotate thereupon; a leg (fig. 4, unlabeled, connecting wheel axel to top plate) from which the axel extends; and a swivel joint (56) (abstract) attached to the leg, and the mounting plate allowing the leg to rotate relative to the frame (abstract).
Regarding claim 8, DOMBROWSKY discloses that the at least one wheel disinfection assembly (100a, 100b) fits over the leg (56) of the caster (56, 52) such that it is substantially disposed within the slot (internal volume 102a and/or 102b).
Regarding claim 9, DOMBROWSKY discloses that the at least one wheel disinfection assembly further includes a caster interface (fig. 7; 131, 132, 134) (to axel 52, at least) on each side of the slot (internal volume 102a and/or 102b), the caster interfaces securing the at least one wheel disinfection assembly to the caster (56, 52)
(Note concerning “caster”, applicant’s spec. [0025 Note caster 30 may include a mounting plate 32, a swivel joint 34, one or more legs 36, and/or an axel (not shown).]).
Regarding claim 11, DOMBROWSKY discloses that the caster interfaces (fig. 7; 131, 132, 134) (to axel 52, at least) fit to the caster (56, 52) in alignment with the axel (52)
(Note concerning “caster”, applicant’s spec. [0025 Note caster 30 may include a mounting plate 32, a swivel joint 34, one or more legs 36, and/or an axel (not shown).]).
Regarding claim 12, DOMBROWSKY discloses a rechargeable battery [0078] that powers the one or more light sources (110a, 110b) [0068]; and a generator [0078] engaging the wheel (50) that generates power in response to rotation of the wheel; wherein the power generated by the generator recharges the battery [0078].
2. Claim(s) 6, 10, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over DOMBROWSKY (US 20190336628 A1) in view of SOOD et al. (US 10987440 B1); hereinafter “the combined references”, as applied to claim(s) 1 and/or 19 above; and further in light of Holbrook et al. (US 20020178540 A1).
Regarding claim 6, DOMBROWSKY discloses wherein the disinfection assembly (100a, 100b) is
regarding claim 10, DOMBROWSKY discloses wherein the caster interfaces (fig. 7; 131, 132, 134) (to axel 52, at least)
regarding claim 20, DOMBROWSKY discloses that the housing (100a, 100b) includes a caster (52, 56) interface (figs. 6-7; 131, 132, 133, 134) on each side of the slot (102a, 102b) [0065-0075];, the caster interfaces (fig. 7; 131, 132, 134) (to axel 52, at least) configured to
[0090 Note “attaching” 131, 132 to 52 is inclusive of “fit” attachment].
But the combined references fail to disclose assembly is snap fit into place over at least part of the caster.
Holbrook, however, discloses a wheel caster that has an assembly that is snap fit to the wheel caster [0030] [0033] [0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of the combined references, with a wheel caster that has an assembly that is snap fit to the wheel caster, as taught by Holbrook, to use as a substitution of one known assembly fit/attachment type (i.e. a snap fit) for another to obtain predictable attachment results
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881