DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The 11/24/2025 "Reply" elects without traverse and identifies claims 1-9, 12-17, and 20-24 as being drawn to Species A3. Examiner notes that claim 7 requires the transfer gate electrode to have a step, consistent with unelected sub-species 5. Accordingly, Examiner has withdrawn claim 7 from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention. See, for example, 37 CFR § 1.142(b).
The 10/30/2025 restriction requirement is proper, is maintained, and is hereby made final.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the plurality of pixels includes first to fourth pixel groups, each pixel group including at least one of the plurality of pixels, wherein the second pixel group is adjacent to the first pixel group in a second direction, wherein the third pixel group is adjacent to the first pixel group in a third direction, wherein the fourth pixel group is adjacent to the second pixel group in the third direction, wherein the at least one color filter comprises a first color filter disposed on the first pixel group a second color filter disposed on the second pixel group and the third pixel group, and a third color filter disposed on the fourth pixel group, wherein the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter have different color characteristics from one another” of claim 24 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 12-17, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yi (US Pub. No. 2014/0252420).
Regarding claim 1, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses an image sensor comprising: a substrate (1, paragraph [0052]) including a first face (adjacent to 38) and a second face (adjacent to 40), the second face being opposite the first face in a first direction; a photoelectric conversion area (32, paragraph [0052]) disposed in the substrate; an active area (under TG; alternatively, FG and under TG) disposed in the substrate and on the photoelectric conversion area; an element isolation pattern (5) extending from the first face of the substrate into the substrate and defining the active area; and a transfer gate electrode (TG) including: a first portion (left/right portions of TG that extend closest to 40) extending from the first face of the substrate and extending through the element isolation pattern; and a second portion (portion of TG between the first portion extensions) disposed on the active area, wherein the first portion extends through a bottom face of the element isolation pattern, and wherein a vertical level of a bottom face of the first portion is lower than a vertical level of the bottom face of the element isolation pattern.
Regarding claim 2, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses that the first portion of the transfer gate electrode includes a first sub-portion (left portion) extending through the element isolation pattern and a second sub-portion (right portion) extending through the element isolation pattern, wherein the first portion of the transfer gate electrode extends along a first sidewall of the active area and the second portion of the transfer gate electrode extends along a second sidewall of the active area, the first sidewall being opposite the second sidewall, and wherein the second portion of the transfer gate electrode connects the first sub-portion and the second sub-portion to one another.
Regarding claim 3, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses that a vertical level of a top face of the active area is lower than a vertical level of the first face of the substrate.
Regarding claim 4, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses that a vertical level of a top face of the active area (between left and right portions) is lower than the vertical level of the bottom face of the element isolation pattern.
Regarding claim 5, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses that a sidewall of the first portion includes a first sidewall (left portion) and a second sidewall (right portion) opposite one another, wherein the first sidewall is defined in a first portion of a trench and the second sidewall is defined in a second portion of the trench, and wherein the element isolation pattern is disposed adjacent to the first portion of the trench and spaced apart from the second portion of the trench.
Regarding claim 9, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses that the photoelectric conversion area overlaps the transfer gate electrode along the first direction (e.g. vertically) and is non-overlapping with the transfer gate electrode along a second direction (e.g. horizontally) orthogonal to the first direction.
Regarding claim 12, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses an image sensor comprising: a substrate (1) including a first face (adjacent to 38) and a second face opposite (adjacent to 40) one another along a first direction (vertical); a photoelectric conversion area (32) disposed in the substrate; an active area (under TG) disposed in the substrate and on the photoelectric conversion area, wherein the active area includes a first sidewall and a second sidewall (adjacent to left/right portions of TG that extend closest to 40); an element isolation pattern (5) disposed in the substrate and surrounding the active area; and a transfer gate (TG) electrode including: a first portion (left/right portions of TG that extend closest to 40) extending from the first face of the substrate and extending through the element isolation pattern, wherein the first portion includes a first sub-portion (left portion) extending along the first sidewall and a second sub-portion (right portion) extending along the second sidewall; and a second portion (portion of TG in 38) on the active area, wherein the transfer gate electrode overlaps the photoelectric conversion area along the first direction and is non-overlapping with the photoelectric conversion area in a direction (horizontal) parallel to at least one of the first face or the second face of the substrate.
Regarding claim 13, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses that the active area includes a third sidewall (adjacent to portion of TG between the sub-portions) connecting the first sidewall and the second sidewall to one another.
Regarding claim 14, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses that the first sidewall and the second sidewall are opposite one another.
Regarding claim 15, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses that the first portion of the transfer gate electrode includes a third sub-portion (portion of TG connecting the first and second sub-portions) extending along the third sidewall and extending through the element isolation pattern.
Regarding claim 16, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses that the first sub-portion, the second sub-portion and the third sub-portion are connected to one another.
Regarding claim 17, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses that the first sidewall and the second sidewall are in contact with one another (at least electrically).
Regarding claim 20, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses an image sensor comprising: a substrate (1) including a first face (adjacent to 38) and a second face (adjacent to 40) opposite one another along a first direction; a pixel isolation pattern (7) extending from the second face of the substrate into the substrate, wherein the pixel isolation pattern defines a plurality of pixels (paragraph [0038]); at least one color filter (42, paragraph [0052]) disposed on the second face of the substrate; and at least one micro lens (44, paragraph [0052])disposed on the color filter, wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes: a photoelectric conversion area (32) disposed in the substrate; an active area (under TG) disposed in the substrate and on the photoelectric conversion area; an element isolation pattern (5) extending from the first face of the substrate into the substrate and contacting the pixel isolation pattern, wherein the element isolation pattern defines the active area; and a transfer gate (TG) electrode including: a first portion (left/right portions of TG that extend closest to 40) extending from the first face of the substrate and extending through the element isolation pattern; and a second portion (portion of TG between left/right portions) disposed on the active area, wherein the first portion extends through a bottom face of the element isolation pattern, and wherein a vertical level of a bottom face of the first portion is lower than a vertical level of the bottom face of the element isolation pattern.
Regarding claim 23, in FIGs. 5A and 7, Yi discloses that the image sensor comprises a floating diffusion area (FD) disposed in the active area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (US Pub. No. 2014/0252420) in view of Cole (US Pub. No. 2005/0279998).
Regarding claim 8, Yi appears not to explicitly disclose that the element isolation pattern includes a first film, a second film, and a third film stacked sequentially on one another, and wherein the first film and the second film do not extend along a sidewall of the first portion.
The art however well recognized (see, for example, Cole, FIG. 2) an element isolation pattern (3) including a first film (38), a second film (39), and a third film (37) stacked sequentially on one another to be suitable as an element isolation pattern in an imaging device.
According to well-established patent law precedents (see, for example, M.P.E.P. § 2144.07), therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have formed the Yi disclosed element isolation pattern to include a first film, a second film, and a third film stacked sequentially on one another for its recognized suitability as an image sensor layout. In doing so, the first film and the second film do not extend along a sidewall of the first portion (a portion of the substrate is intervening, see Yi, FIG. 7).
Claims 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (US Pub. No. 2014/0252420) in view of Mouli (US Pub. No. 2007/0014019).
Regarding claim 21, Yi appears not to explicitly disclose that the plurality of pixels includes a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel, the second pixel and the third pixel adjacent to one another, wherein the at least one micro lens includes a first micro lens disposed on the first pixel, and a second micro lens disposed on the second and third pixels.
In FIGs. 4A-4B, Mouli discloses a similar image sensor wherein a plurality of pixels includes a first pixel (B), a second pixel (225a, R), and a third pixel (225a, G), the second pixel and the third pixel adjacent to one another, wherein the at least one micro lens includes a first micro lens disposed on the first pixel (202a on the first pixel), and a second micro lens (202a on 225a) disposed on the second and third pixels. Mouli discloses that such a shared microlens better matches the shape of the sensing area of the underlying pixels in a Bayer pattern.
To arrange pixels in a Bayer pattern while also better matching the shape of the sensing area of the underlying pixels it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form the plurality of pixels to include a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel, the second pixel and the third pixel adjacent to one another, wherein the at least one micro lens includes a first micro lens disposed on the first pixel, and a second micro lens disposed on the second and third pixels.
Regarding claim 24, Yi appears not to explicitly disclose that the plurality of pixels includes first to fourth pixel groups, each pixel group including at least one of the plurality of pixels, wherein the second pixel group is adjacent to the first pixel group in a second direction, wherein the third pixel group is adjacent to the first pixel group in a third direction, wherein the fourth pixel group is adjacent to the second pixel group in the third direction, wherein the at least one color filter comprises a first color filter disposed on the first pixel group a second color filter disposed on the second pixel group and the third pixel group, and a third color filter disposed on the fourth pixel group, wherein the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter have different color characteristics from one another.
The art however well recognized (see, for example, Mouli, FIG. 1) that the Bayer pattern, comprising a plurality of pixels that includes first to fourth pixel groups, each pixel group including at least one of the plurality of pixels, wherein the second pixel group (G) is adjacent to the first pixel group (R) in a second direction, wherein the third pixel group (G) is adjacent to the first pixel group in a third direction, wherein the fourth pixel group (B) is adjacent to the second pixel group in the third direction, wherein the at least one color filter comprises a first color filter (red) disposed on the first pixel group a second color filter (green) disposed on the second pixel group and the third pixel group, and a third color filter (blue) disposed on the fourth pixel group, wherein the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter have different color characteristics from one another to be a suitable as an arrangement for obtaining color signals.
According to well-established patent law precedents (see, for example, M.P.E.P. § 2144.07), therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have formed the Yi disclosed image sensor to include the plurality of pixels such that they include first to fourth pixel groups, each pixel group including at least one of the plurality of pixels, wherein the second pixel group is adjacent to the first pixel group in a second direction, wherein the third pixel group is adjacent to the first pixel group in a third direction, wherein the fourth pixel group is adjacent to the second pixel group in the third direction, wherein the at least one color filter comprises a first color filter disposed on the first pixel group a second color filter disposed on the second pixel group and the third pixel group, and a third color filter disposed on the fourth pixel group, wherein the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter have different color characteristics from one another for its recognized suitability as an arrangement for obtaining color signals.
Claims 6 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (US Pub. No. 2014/0252420) in view of Wang (US Pub. No. 2022/0059600).
Regarding claim 6, Yi appears not to explicitly disclose that the element isolation pattern is disposed between the first portion and the active area.
However, in FIGs. 1 and 5, Wang discloses a similar image sensor comprising an element isolation pattern that includes a passivation layer 580 and an isolation layer 110. Wang discloses that the passivation layer is positioned between the transfer gate fins (230) and the floating diffusion (FD, 140/540) to reduce dark current (paragraph [0050]).
To reduce dark current it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form the element isolation pattern such that it includes a passivation layer disposed between the first portion and the active area.
Regarding claim 22, Yi appears not to explicitly disclose that the plurality of pixels includes first to fourth pixels arranged in two rows and two columns, and wherein the image sensor comprises: a shared active area disposed in the substrate and between the first to fourth pixels, the shared active area defined by the element isolation pattern; and a floating diffusion area disposed in the shared active area.
The art however well recognized (see, for example, Wang, FIG. 1) a plurality of pixels (120) that includes first to fourth pixels arranged in two rows and two columns, and wherein the image sensor comprises: a shared active area disposed in the substrate and between the first to fourth pixels, the shared active area defined by an element isolation pattern (110); and a floating diffusion area (140) disposed in the shared active area to be suitable for use as an image sensor layout.
According to well-established patent law precedents (see, for example, M.P.E.P. § 2144.07), therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have formed the Yi disclosed image sensor to include first to fourth pixels arranged in two rows and two columns, and wherein the image sensor comprises: a shared active area disposed in the substrate and between the first to fourth pixels, the shared active area defined by the element isolation pattern; and a floating diffusion area disposed in the shared active area for its recognized suitability as an image sensor layout.
Conclusion
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891