Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of newly incorporated prior art.
Applicant’s USC 101 argument is persuasive.
Applicant argues per USC 103 that Freide teaches merely to “decide whether to include or reject the knowledge”, but fails to “generate a feedback knowledge graph”.
Examiner argues that Friede teaches incorporating a plethora of details and feedback information on a knowledge graph, and that updating said original graph would constitute generation of a new graph. However, in the interest of expediting prosecution, Examiner has included Yu US 2023/0100501 which is more explicit in combining or merging two knowledge graphs in order to generate a new knowledge graph.
Applicant additionally argues that the feedback fails from the feedback to “extract feedback into a set of positive and negative rules”. Applicant asserts that for a rule an “instances of triples are generated”.
Examiner asserts that “rules” is broad and must be read as such. Positive feedback that associates certain links, or negative feedback that refutes links may constitute “a rule”. The language that a rule creates a new triple is absent from the claim language.
Applicant cites portions of the specification which are not recited in the independent claims as written.
Examiner asserts that the claims must be read with a broad but reasonable interpretation. Examiner may not import details from the instant specification into the claim language as stated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friede US 20220300831 in view of Newman US 12,072,918 in view of Yu US 2023/0100501.
As per claims 1, 11 Friede teaches A system comprising at least one memory for storing computer instructions and a processing circuitry in communication with the at least one memory, the processing circuitry, when executing the computer instructions, is configured to: ingest a ground-truth knowledge graph comprising a plurality of nodes and a plurality of ground-truth edges; generate a feedback knowledge graph comprising at least a subset of the plurality of nodes and a plurality of predicted edges based on the ground-truth knowledge graph and user feedback of the predicted edges; combine the ground-truth knowledge graph and the feedback knowledge graph into a training knowledge graph comprising training nodes and training edges; convert the training nodes and the training edges into a set of embedding vectors in a multi-dimensional embedding space; and generate the plurality of predicted edges using a link prediction procedure based on the set of embedding vectors in the multi-dimensional embedding space. [0015]-[0028], [0042]-[0045], [0101] (teaches construction of a knowledge graph including ground truth KG, and a feedback KG with feedback from a user, in order to iterate and create a new KG with embedded vectors that uses a link prediction procedure based on said KG)
Friede teaches wherein the user feedback comprises positive feedback and negative feedback of the predicted edges. [0021][0028] [0043][0044][0045] (significance score, positive/negative feedback, in order to improve accuracy)
Friede teaches wherein the feedback knowledge graph is generated further based on the set of positive and negative rules. [0021][0028] [0043][0044][0045] (significance score, annotations, positive/negative feedback, in order to improve accuracy)
Friede teaches the embedding vectors are obtained by gravitating each score associated with each triple derived from the plurality of training edges based on the positive and negative feedback [0019] [0090]-[0094] (teaches that each embedding is a vector that is “supervised” meaning it takes positive and negative feedback from a human operator as discussed above, to improve rules and accuracy)
Friede does not explicitly teach the difference of nodes and edges.
Newman more explicitly teaches a knowledge graph constructions of triples corresponding to nodes and edges as is well known in the art. (Column 3 lines 5-12) (Column 9 lines 1-8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Newman with the prior art because it is the well known convention of a knowledge graph.
Yu teaches ingesting a first knowledge graph. Yu teaches ingesting a second knowledge graph. Yu teaches generation of a new knowledge graph by combining using the first and second knowledge graphs where at least one of said graphs was a feedback graph. [0017] [0020][0021]
Yu teaches extracting rules based on positive and negative feedback [0025][0027][0032] (teaches assigning weight associated with confidence based on user feedback, both positive and negative)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Yu with the prior art because it more accurately improves the triple in the knowledge graph.
As per claims 2, 12. The system of claim 1, Newman teaches wherein to convert the training nodes and the training edges into the set of embedding vectors in the multi-dimensional embedding space comprises: generate a plurality of corrupted edges between the plurality of nodes other than the ground-truth edges; input a first set of triples derived from the plurality of ground-truth edges into an embedding generation layer to generate first triple scores; scale the first triple scores based on first weights using a scaling layer; input a second set of triples derived from the plurality of corrupted edges into the embedding generation layer to generate second triple scores; scale the second triple scores using the scaling layer based on second weights and according to prediction confidence level associated with the corrupted edges; and minimize a loss function constructed with the scaled first triple scores and the scaled second triple scores to generate the set of embedding vectors in the multi- dimensional embedding space. (Column 13 lines 16-30) (Column 17 lines 1-10, 24-60) (Column 18 lines 31-62) (teaches training the knowledge graph using a plurality of triples and weights, including a true triple, a generated corrupt triple and a loss function in order to improve accuracy using backpropagation and minimize loss function)
As per claims 3, 13 . The system of claim 2, Newman teaches wherein the second weights are independent of the first weights. (Column 13 lines 16-30)
As per claims 5, 15 The system of claim 4, Friede teaches wherein the processing circuitry, when executing the computer instructions, is further configured to textually extract the positive feedback and negative feedback into a set of positive and negative rules. [0021][0028] [0043][0044][0045] (significance score, annotations, positive/negative feedback, in order to improve accuracy)
As per claims 7, 17 The system of claim 5, Friede teaches wherein the scaling layer is configured to: gravitate the scores for the triples based on the plurality of ground-truth edges on a first score value; gravitate the scores for the triples based on the plurality of corrupted edges having the positive feedback towards the first score value; and gravitate scores for the triples based on the plurality of corrupted edges having the negative feedback towards a second score value distinct from the first score value. [0021][0028] [0043][0044][0045] (significance score, annotations, positive/negative feedback, in order to improve accuracy; corrupted edges would obviously have negative feedback as they are not accurate in view of human review, and ground truth would receive positive feedback as it is the most accurate)
Newman teaches the plurality of corrupted edges having the negative feedback (Column 13 lines 16-30) (Column 17 lines 1-10, 24-60) (Column 18 lines 31-62)
Claim(s) 8-10, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friede US 20220300831 in view of Newman US 12,072,918 in view of in view of Yu US 2023/0100501 in view of Burceanu US 2023/0306106
As per claims 8, 18 The system of claim 5, Burceanu teaches wherein the processing circuitry, when executing the computer instructions, is further configured to extract a set consensus from the set of positive and negative rules. [0062]-[0067] (teaches extracting a consensus based on knowledge graphs, including annotation)
Friede more explicitly teaches positive and negative rules [0021][0028] [0043][0044][0045] (significance score, annotations, positive/negative feedback, in order to improve accuracy)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Burceanu with the prior art because it improves accuracy.
As per claims 9, 19 The system of claim 8, Burceanu teaches wherein the processing circuitry, when executing the computer instructions, is further configured to generate at least a portion of the ground-truth knowledge graph based on the set of consensus. [0062]-[0067] (teaches extracting a consensus based on knowledge graphs including incorporation of reference value/expert model)
As per claims 10, 20 The system of claim 8, Burceanu teaches wherein the processing circuitry, when executing the computer instructions, is further configured to generate a warning signal based on a discrepancy between the set of consensus and the ground-truth knowledge graph. [0062]-[0067] (teaches extracting a consensus based on knowledge graphs including incorporation of reference value/expert model)
Friede more explicitly teaches generating a warning signal based on a discrepancy [0044] (seeking human attention/alert when the confidence in knowledge graph is low)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439