DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 11-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakita et al. (US PGPub 2008/0160415 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 5, 11, and 16, Wakita discloses in Figs. 1-2 a lithium ion secondary battery ([0023]), comprising:
a positive electrode (11) comprising a positive electrode composite material (11a) ([0028]), the positive electrode composite material (11a) comprising:
a positive electrode active material ([0029], cathode active material); and
a positive electrode additive (ceramic), wherein the positive electrode additive is an oxide of sodium, and is Na2O ([0030], [0098], see Example 1-5 in Table 1); and
a negative electrode (12) ([0043]).
Regarding Claims 3-4, Wakita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein:
relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the positive electrode additive, the positive electrode additive has a content of 0.5 wt% ([0087], [0098], see Example 1-5 in Table 1), which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed ranges of 0.1 wt% - 10 wt% and further 0.5 wt% - 4 wt%.
Regarding Claims 12-13, Wakita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein:
the negative electrode (12) comprises a negative electrode active material ([0089]); and
the negative electrode active material comprises a carbon material, wherein the carbon material comprises graphite ([0089]).
Claims 6, 8, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwak et al. (US PGPub 2015/0037678 A1).
Regarding Claims 6 and 17, Kwak discloses a positive electrode for a lithium ion secondary battery ([0084]), comprising:
a positive electrode current collector ([0085]);
a positive electrode active material layer comprising a positive electrode active material ([0030], [0085], e.g. a layer comprising lithium manganese oxide); and
a positive electrode additive layer (sodium-containing coating layer) comprising a positive electrode additive, wherein the positive electrode additive comprises an oxide of sodium, and is Na2O ([0030], [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kwak discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the positive electrode additive layer (sodium-containing coating layer) is disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electrode active material layer (e.g. a layer comprising lithium manganese oxide), or on the positive electrode active material layer (e.g. a layer comprising lithium manganese oxide) ([0085], [0041]-[0042], e.g. wherein the sodium-containing coating layer is coated on the lithium manganese oxide and therefore is disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the layer of lithium manganese oxide or on the layer of lithium manganese oxide).
Regarding Claim 18, Kwak discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the positive electrode additive layer (sodium-containing coating layer) and the positive electrode active material layer (e.g. a layer comprising lithium manganese oxide) are two separate layers ([0030]), and the positive electrode additive layer is disposed between the positive electrode active material layer (e.g. a layer comprising lithium manganese oxide) and the positive electrode current collector ([0085], [0041]-[0042], e.g. wherein the sodium-containing coating layer is coated on lithium manganese oxide and therefore is disposed between the layer of lithium manganese oxide and the positive electrode current collector).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (US PGPub 2015/0037678 A1), as applied to Claim 6 above.
Regarding Claims 9-10, Kwak discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein:
relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material, the positive electrode additive, a binder, and a conductive agent, the positive electrode additive has a content of about 0.01 wt% to about 20 wt% ([0043], [0085]).
For example, Kwak discloses, based on an exemplary embodiment, wherein relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the positive electrode additive, the positive electrode additive has a content of about 0.94 wt% to about 18.8 wt% ([0043], [0116], e.g. 0.01 wt% to 20 wt% of 94 wt% of the of the positive electrode active material and the positive electrode additive), which overlaps with the instantly claimed ranges of 0.1 wt% - 10 wt% and further 0.5 wt% - 4 wt%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the positive electrode additive to have a content, relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the positive electrode additive, in the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by Kwak, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the positive electrode desired by Kwak.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakita et al. (US PGPub 2008/0160415 A1), as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (US PGPub 2006/0236528 A1).
Regarding Claims 12-14, Wakita discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein:
the negative electrode (12) comprises a negative electrode active material ([0089]); and
the negative electrode active material comprises a carbon material, wherein the carbon material comprises graphite ([0089]).
Moreover, Wakita discloses wherein the negative electrode active material may further comprise a metal or nonmetal compound, wherein the metal or nonmetal compound comprises a tin compound or a silicon compound including those which contain oxygen ([0053]-[0057]).
However, Wakita does not explicitly disclse wherein the metal or nonmetal compound comprises at least one of SiO2, SiO, SnO2, TiO2, SiS2, or TiS2.
Xu teaches a lithium ion secondary battery ([0003]) comprising a negative electrode comprising a carbon material, such as graphite ([0018]).
Xu further teaches wherein the negative electrode may further comprise an additional material, such as SiO or SnO2 ([0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further utilize a metal or nonmetal compound in the negative electrode active material of Wakita, wherein the metal or nonmetal compound comprises at least one of SiO and SnO2, as taught by Xu, as such is a known tin compound and/or silicon compound containing oxygen in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the negative electrode desired by Wakita.
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakita et al. (US PGPub 2008/0160415 A1), as applied to Claim 11 above.
Regarding Claim 15, Wakita does not disclose a power consuming device comprising the lithium ion secondary battery set forth above.
Though, Wakita discloses wherein a lithium ion secondary battery may be utilized in a power consuming device ([0003], e.g. portable telephones, laptop computers and personal digital assistants (PDAs)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the lithium ion secondary battery of Wakita in a power consuming device, as disclosed by Wakita, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully provide electrical power to the power consuming device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended Claims 1, 6, and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725