DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: L3 of the claim should recite “the negative electrode active material comprises at least one of a carbon material…” in order to be grammatically correct.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 111599984 A, cited on the IDS dated June 12, 2023, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding Claims 1-2, 5, and 11, Li discloses a lithium ion secondary battery ([0012], [0151]-[0153], Example 6), comprising:
a positive electrode for a lithium ion secondary battery comprising a positive electrode composite material for a lithium ion secondary battery ([0153]), comprising:
a positive electrode active material ([0153], lithium iron phosphate); and
a positive electrode additive, wherein the positive electrode additive comprises an oxycarbide of sodium, comprising Na2CO3 ([0153]),
and
a negative electrode ([00152], [0154]).
Regarding Claims 3-4, Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the positive electrode additive, the positive electrode additive has a content of 0.5 wt% ([0153]), which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed ranges of 0.1 wt% - 10 wt% and further 0.5 wt% - 4 wt%,
Regarding Claims 12-13, Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein:
the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode active material ([0154], [0050]); and
the negative electrode active material comprises a metal or nonmetal compound, wherein the metal or nonmetal compound is an oxide of silicon ([0154], [0050], SiOx/C, 0 <x < 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nho et al. (US PGPub 2018/0261832 A1).
Regarding Claims 6-7, Nho discloses a positive electrode for a lithium ion secondary battery ([0010], [0012]) comprising:
a positive electrode current collector ([0137]-[0138]);
a positive electrode active material layer comprising a positive electrode active material ([0137], [0146], [0050]-[0051]); and
a positive electrode additive layer comprising a positive electrode additive, wherein the positive electrode additive may be chosen to comprise an oxycarbide of sodium or potassium, such as Na2C2O4 (sodium oxalate) ([0052]-[0053], [0059], [0062]).
Specifically, Nho discloses wherein the positive electrode comprising the positive electrode additive layer has superior capacity characteristics and can exhibit superior lifetime characteristics ([0041]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose Na2C2O4 as the positive electrode additive, as disclosed by Nho, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form a positive electrode that has superior capacity characteristics and can exhibit superior lifetime characteristics, as desired by Nho.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Nho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the positive electrode additive layer is disposed on the positive electrode active material layer ([0052]-[0053], [0137], wherein the positive electrode additive layer is disposed on the positive electrode active material of the positive electrode active material layer and therefore the positive electrode additive layer is disposed on the positive electrode active material layer).
Regarding Claims 9-10, modified Nho discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein relative to a total of 100 wt% of the positive electrode active material and the positive electrode additive, the positive electrode additive has a content of 0.01 wt% to 5 wt% in order to obtain a structurally stable positive electrode additive layer that has superior thermal stability and capacity characteristics ([0063]-[0064]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed ranges of 0.1 wt% - 10 wt% and further 0.5 wt% - 4 wt%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the positive electrode additive layer to comprise the positive electrode additive in the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by modified Nho, in order to obtain a structurally stable positive electrode additive layer that has superior thermal stability and capacity characteristics, as desired by modified Nho.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 111599984 A, cited on the IDS dated June 12, 2023, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), as applied to Claims 11 and 12 above.
Regarding Claim 14, Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the metal or nonmetal compound is SiOx/C, 0 <x < 2 ([0154], [0050]), which encompasses SiO.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize SiO as the negative electrode active material of Li, as disclosed by Li, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the negative electrode desired by Li.
Regarding Claim 15, Li discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Li remains silent regarding the intended use of the lithium ion secondary battery and consequently does not disclose a power consuming device comprising the lithium ion secondary battery.
Though, Li discloses wherein lithium ion secondary batteries may be used in a power consuming device, such as an electric vehicle ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the lithium ion secondary battery of Li in a power consuming device, as disclosed by Li, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully provide power to the power consuming device.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1725