DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hitachi (WO2014024316 as cited within IDS and see attached translation).
As to claim 1, Hitachi discloses a strip defect repair device (figure 10, page 8, discussed throughout) configured to repair a coating defect of a strip (figure 10, page 8, discussed throughout), the strip defect repair device (figure 10 #231, page 8 and 9, discussed throughout) comprising: a detection module configured to detect the coating defect of the strip and feedback a position signal corresponding to the coating defect (figure 10 #232, #233, #234 and #253, page 8 and 9, ); a transfer module (figure 10 #202, #203 and #205, page 8 and 9, discussed throughout); and a repair module (figure 10 #236, page 8 and 9, discussed throughout); wherein: the transfer module is configured to respond to the position signal and drive the repair module to move to a position corresponding to the coating defect (figure 10 page 8 and 9, the rollers are moving the strip forward and thus to a position wherein the repair module will repair the strip); and the repair module is configured to add a supplementary material to the coating defect so as to repair the coating defect (figure 10, pages 8-9, but best seen in figures 8A-9A, discussed throughout).
As to claim 2, Hitachi discloses wherein, the repair module comprises: a repair mechanism configured to add the supplementary material to the coating defect (figure 10, pages 8-9, but best seen in figures 8A-9A, discussed throughout); and a leveling mechanism configured to level the supplementary material added to the coating defect (figure 10 #210 and #209, discussed throughout).
As to claim 3, Hitachi discloses wherein, the supplementary material is slurry (page 6, discusses the active material is a slurry and the added material can be an active material with a different particle size, discussed throughout), and the repair mechanism comprises: a storage bin configured to store the supplementary material; and a discharge assembly, wherein the discharge assembly is in communication with the storage bin, and the discharge assembly is configured to add the supplementary material to the coating defect (page 7, inkjet has a discharge assembly and stores the slurry, discussed throughout).
As to claim 5, Hitachi discloses wherein, the leveling mechanism comprises: a flattening roller; a scraper; or a flattening member and a flattening driving member, the flattening driving member being configured to drive the flattening member to move in a thickness direction of the strip, so as to flatten the supplementary material added to the coating defect (figure 10 #210 and #209, page 8 and 9, discussed throughout).
As to claim 6, Hitachi discloses wherein, the repair module further comprises: a drying mechanism configured to dry the supplementary material added to the coating defect (figure 10 #204 or #208, page 8 and 9, discussed throughout).
As to claim 9, Hitachi discloses wherein, the detection module is a first detection module (figure 10 #231); the strip defect repair device (figure 10 #231 and #241, page 8-9, discussed throughout) further comprising: a second detection module (figure 10 #241, discussed throughout) located upstream of the first detection module and the repair module (figure 10 discussed throughout), wherein the second detection module is configured to detect the coating defect of the strip and transmit an area signal corresponding to the coating defect (figure 10 #246, #245, #244 and #243, page 8-9, discussed throughout); wherein the transfer module (figure 10 #206 and #207, page 8-9, discussed throughout) is configured to respond to the area signal and drive the repair module to move to an area corresponding to the coating defect (figure 10 #246, page 8-9, discussed throughout), and then respond to the position signal and drive the repair module to move to the position corresponding to the coating defect (figure 10, discussed throughout).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitachi as applied to claims 1 and 6 above.
As to claim 8, Hitachi discloses wherein, the repair mechanism (figure 10 #236, discussed throughout), the leveling mechanism (figure 10 #210 or #209, discussed throughout), and the drying mechanism (figure 10 #204 or #208). Hitachi is silent to wherein the components are arranged in sequence in a traveling direction of the strip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to add an addition press rollers (figure 10 #210 and/or #209) before entering the second defect defection system (figure 10 #241) as a mere duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04) to insure uniform thickness throughout the process.
As to claim 10, Hitachi is silent to wherein, further comprising: a marking module located downstream of the repair module; wherein: the detection module is further configured to detect whether a repaired coating defect is acceptable; and the marking module is configured to mark the strip in response to the detection module detects that the repaired coating defect is unacceptable. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to add and additionally repaired devices (figure 10 #241) as a mere duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04) to increase redundancy or in case a device needs to be taken down for maintenance.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitachi as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Amasaki (WO 2016079821 see attached translation).
As to claim 7, Hitachi is silent to wherein, the drying mechanism comprises at least one of a heat gun or an infrared lamp. Amasaki discloses a method of producing a battery (page 1 and 2) wherein, an infrared lamp is used in the drying furnace. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use an infrared lamp within the drying furnace of Hitachi from Amasaki as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724