DETAILED ACTION
This Non-final action is responsive to the following communications: application filed on 06/13/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent.
Examiner Notes
A) Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification. B) MPEP 2163 guidelines teach that drawing and specification must be examined to assess whether an originally-filed claim has adequate support in the written disclosure and/or the drawings. Possession may be shown by a clear depiction of the invention in detailed drawings. C) Per MPEP 2173.04 “If the claim is too broad because it reads on the prior art, a rejection under either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be appropriate”. D) Examiner cites particular paragraphs or columns and lines in the references as applied to Applicant's claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Other passages and figures may apply as well. Per MPEP 2141.02 VI prior art must be considered in its entirety. E) Per MPEP 2112 and 2112 V, express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103.
No Priority
4. See ADS, no priority claimed.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 09/18/2023, 10/20/2023, and 09/17/2024. All IDS has been considered.
Applicant is requested to check other claim informality, language issues (e.g., antecedent issues, redundant limitation issues, grammar issues) for all claims to expedite prosecution since informality scrutiny in this office action is not exhaustive and applicant’s co-operation is sought in this regard.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-9, and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hall et al. (US 2022/0013169 A1), in view of CHANDRAMANI et al. (US 2022/0413756 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hall teaches a memory subsystem (Fig. 6: 600 “memory subsystem” with smart compute memory and adaptive memory management and control. See para [0079]) comprising:
a resistive memory array (Fig. 6: 680, para [0080]: ReRAM, RRAM, FeRAM);
an endurance management and control logic (EMCL) (Fig. 6: 672, 670, 682 combined. Para [0081]: AMMC and associated circuitry manages and controls “endurance”) coupled to the adaptive aggregation memory buffer (supported by Fig. 6 670 circuitry and buffer);
an integrated processor (Fig. 6: 660 integrated processor) coupled to the EMCL (Fig. 6: 672, 670, 682).
Hall is silent with respect to the details of functions of adaptive aggregation memory buffer and functions of endurance management control logic.
CHANDRAMANI teaches a memory system of (Fig. 10: 1000) with resistive memory array (para [0074]) with circuitry components:
an adaptive aggregation memory buffer (Fig. 17: 1730 and 1742) having configurable settings (setting for write command aggregation) for optimizing endurance, power, or performance of the memory subsystem (para [0135]-para [0138]);
an endurance management and control logic (EMCL) (para [0134], Fig. 10: 1034 firmware and associated circuitry. Para [0044], para [0107]) coupled to the adaptive aggregation memory buffer (see Fig. 17: 1730 and 1742); and
an integrated processor (Fig. 10 controller) coupled to the EMCL (para [0134], Fig. 10: 1034 firmware and associated circuitry),
wherein at least one of the integrated processor and EMCL (Fig. 10: 1034 firmware and associated circuitry) is configured to determine whether memory requests (para [0161]: write commands from host) to a particular memory region (e.g., Fig. 10: 1012) during a time window (e.g., Fig. 18: T0-T4) can be aggregated into an aggregate memory request (See Fig. 24: 2402-2404: determining unaligned write commands) and to optimize memory settings (para [0139]: improve write performance), and
to cause the aggregate memory request and memory settings to be sent to the resistive memory array to optimize parameters including memory performance and memory endurance (see Fig. 24: 2406-2420 and para [0135]-para [0139], para [0044]. See also Fig. 17).
Hall and CHANDRAMANI are in the same field of endeavor of read/ write operation improvement of resistive memory and system; and Hall and CHANDRAMANI are analogous art. An ordinary skill in the art would understand the use of CHANDRAMANI’s circuitry components into the apparatus of Hall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine CHANDRAMANI’s firmware & associated circuitry components and functionality into the memory subsystem of Hall such that claimed apparatus can be implemented in order to have benefits e.g., “…improves…unaligned write performance and increases the die utilization…” (CHANDRAMANI para [0044], para [0139]).
Regarding claim 2, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the memory subsystem of claim 1. CHANDRAMANI teaches wherein the EMCL (Fig. 10: 1034) is configured to receive input from the integrated processor (Fig. 10: controller) and to determine a configurable memory setting (Fig. 17: command aggregation function) of the adaptive aggregation memory buffer (Fig. 17: 1730, 1742) based on a memory request type, a usage pattern of an application, or an operating condition (para [0042], para [0161]: e.g., unaligned write commands. See also Fig. 24: 2404-2404).
Regarding claim 3, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the memory subsystem of claim 1. Hall teaches wherein the adaptive aggregation memory buffer, EMCL, and integrated processor are integrated with the resistive memory array (Hall’s Fig. 6 modified components with CHANDRAMANI’s teachings in context of para [0081], para [0038]: circuitry “part of a larger SOC”).
Regarding claim 4, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the memory subsystem of claim 1. Hall teaches wherein the adaptive aggregation memory buffer, EMCL, and integrated processor are directly adjacent to the resistive memory array (See Hall Fig. 6 and Fig. 1 components and arrangement in context SOC teachings of para [0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the memory subsystem of claim 1. Hall teaches wherein the memory subsystem comprises a system on chip (SoC) compute-in-memory (Hall para [0036], para [0038], para [0081] in context of Fig. 6 memory subsystem).
Regarding claim 6, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the memory subsystem of claim 1. CHANDRAMANI teaches wherein the integrated processor is configured to pre-read cells of the resistive memory array that will be written by the aggregate memory request (para [0141] and para [0042]) and to selectively write to the cells that will have a change in logic state based on the aggregate memory request without writing to cells having no change in logic state (para [0141] and para [0042] disclosure encompasses the limitation. See also para [0135], para [0146]).
Regarding claim 7, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the memory subsystem of claim 1. Hall wherein the resistive memory array comprises non-volatile random-access memory (RAM) including one or more of magnetic RAM (MRAM), resistor random access memory, phase change RAM (PCRAM), voltage-controlled magnetic anisotropy (VCMA)-MRAM, or carbon nanotube memory cells (Hall para [0080]. See also CHANDRAMANI para [0074]).
Regarding independent claim 8, Hall teaches a memory subsystem (Fig. 6: 600 “memory subsystem” with smart compute memory and adaptive memory management and control, para [0079]) comprising:
an endurance management and control logic (EMCL) (Fig. 6: 672, 670, 682 combined. See Para [0081]: AMMC and associated circuitry manages and controls “endurance”);
a ferro-electric RAM (FeRAM) memory array or embedded flash memory (Fig. 6: 680, para [0080]: ReRAM, RRAM, FeRAM) coupled to the adaptive aggregation memory buffer (supported by Fig. 6 670 circuitry and buffer).
Hall is silent with respect to the details of functions of adaptive aggregation memory buffer and functions of endurance management control logic.
CHANDRAMANI teaches a memory system of (Fig. 10: 1000) with resistive memory array (para [0074]) with circuitry components:
an adaptive aggregation memory buffer (Fig. 17: 1730 and 1742) coupled to the EMCL (para [0134], Fig. 10: 1034 firmware and associated circuitry. Para [0044], para [0107]),
wherein the adaptive aggregation memory buffer (Fig. 17: 1730 and 1742) has configurable settings for optimizing endurance, power, or performance of the memory subsystem (para [0135]-para [0138]); and
wherein the EMCL (Fig. 10: 1034 firmware and associated circuitry) is configured to determine whether memory requests (para [0161]: write commands from host. See Fig. 24) to one or more memory regions (e.g., Fig. 10: 1012) during a time window (e.g., Fig. 18: T0-T4) can be aggregated into an aggregate memory request (See Fig. 24: 2402-2404: determining unaligned write commands. See also Fig. 18, Fig. 24), and
to cause the aggregate memory request to be sent to the FeRAM memory array or the embedded flash memory to optimize parameters including memory performance and memory endurance (see Fig. 24: 2406-2420 and para [0135]-para [0139], para [0044]. See also Fig. 17 and Fig. 18).
Hall and CHANDRAMANI are in the same field of endeavor of read/ write operation improvement of resistive memory and system; and Hall and CHANDRAMANI are analogous art. An ordinary skill in the art would understand the use of CHANDRAMANI’s circuitry components into the apparatus of Hall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine CHANDRAMANI’s firmware & associated circuitry components and functionality into the memory subsystem of Hall such that claimed apparatus can be implemented in order to have benefits e.g., “…improves…unaligned write performance and increases the die utilization…” (CHANDRAMANI para [0044], para [0139]).
Regarding claim 9, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the memory subsystem of claim 8, wherein the EMCL is configured to determine a configurable setting of the adaptive aggregation memory buffer based on a memory request type, a usage pattern of an application, or an operating condition. (See Claim 2 rejection analysis)
Regarding claim 11, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the memory subsystem of claim 8, wherein the adaptive aggregation memory buffer and EMCL are integrated with the FeRAM memory array or embedded flash memory. (See Claim 3 rejection analysis)
Regarding claim 12, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the memory subsystem of claim 9, wherein the adaptive aggregation memory buffer and EMCL are directly adjacent to the FeRAM memory array or embedded flash memory. (See Claim 4 rejection analysis)
Regarding claim 13, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the memory subsystem of claim 8, wherein the memory subsystem comprises a system on chip (SoC) compute-in-memory. (See Claim 5 rejection analysis)
Regarding claim 14, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the memory subsystem of claim 8, wherein the EMCL is configured to cause a pre-read of cells of the FeRAM memory array or embedded flash memory that will be written by the aggregate memory request and to selectively write to the cells that will have a change in logic state based on the aggregate memory request without writing to cells having no change in logic state. (See Claim 6 rejection analysis)
Regarding independent claim 15, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach a computer-implemented method for operating a memory subsystem, the computer-implementing method comprises (computer-implemented method is conventional item used conventionally to store and implement computer programs to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry, and several court cases demonstrate that the mere recitation of a computer-implemented method cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention):
receiving memory requests, with an endurance management and control logic (EMCL), for a non-volatile memory array of the memory subsystem including a non-volatile resistive memory, embedded flash memory, or Ferroelectric RAM (FeRAM); (See claim 1 and claim 8 rejection analysis)
storing the memory requests in an adaptive aggregation memory buffer of the memory subsystem; and (See claim 1 and claim 8 rejection analysis)
determining whether the memory requests to one or more memory regions during a time window can be aggregated into an aggregated memory request to improve endurance, performance, and/or power consumption before sending the memory requests to the non-volatile memory array. (See claim 1 and claim 8 rejection analysis)
Regarding claim 16, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the computer-implemented method of claim 15. CHANDRAMANI teaches further comprising: aggregating with the EMCL memory requests (Fig. 17-Fig. 19: aggregated write commands) including write operations aggregated based on time and memory space localization (See Fig. 17-Fig. 19) or read operations aggregated based on time and memory space localization into the aggregate memory request or a reduced number of memory requests (see para [0007], para [0146] in context of Fig. 17-Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 17, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the computer-implemented method of claim 15. CHANDRAMANI teaches wherein write operations are aggregated into a single write operation (para [0135], Fig. 17) for a temporal and spatial locality within a range of memory addresses of the non-volatile memory array (see para [0007], para [0146], para [0143] in context of Fig. 17-Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 18, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the computer-implemented method of claim 16. CHANDRAMANI teaches further comprising: at periodic intervals or whenever the adaptive aggregation memory buffer of the memory subsystem is a threshold amount full, performing a pre-read of cells of the non-volatile memory array that will be written to based on the aggregate memory request (see Fig. 17-Fig. 19 in context of para [0135], [0146]. See also para [0141] and para [0042]).
Regarding claim 19, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the computer-implemented method of claim 18. CHANDRAMANI teaches further comprising: processing the aggregate memory request selectively for each cell of the non-volatile memory array that will have a change in logic state. (Para [0141] and para [0042] in context of Fig. 24: 2420)
Regarding claim 20, Hall and CHANDRAMANI teach the computer-implemented method of claim 19. CHANDRAMANI teaches wherein the change in logic state (writing process) comprises a change in resistance state when the non-volatile memory includes a resistive memory array. (Fig. 1, para [0061])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim listed above, the prior art of record does not appear to teach, suggest, or provide motivation for combination for the limitations of the claim.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon (MPEP § 707.05) is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Shin et al (US 2020/0151054): Fig. 1-Fig. 16 disclosure applicable for all claims. Prior art teaches a memory system including a memory module including a plurality of memory chips mounted on a module board; and a memory controller configured to control a memory operation for the plurality of memory chips of the memory module, set at least one memory chip from among the plurality of memory chips as an indicator chip, and, when it is determined based on a result of an error detection for a codeword read from the memory module that an error has occurred in the indicator chip, output reliability deterioration information indicating that reliability of the memory module is deteriorated. It is suggested that applicant consider all prior arts made of record.
Conclusion
/MUSHFIQUE SIDDIQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825