Claim 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is dependent upon claim 6, which is a similar process, rather than a flexographic printing plate precursor. Should this be dependent upon claim 5 ?
Claims 1,2,4,6,11 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan 5719009, in view of Kubo et al. 6423464.
Fan 5719009 teaches in example 1, a flexographic printing plate including a substrate, a photopolymerizable layer, an elastomeric layer, a polyamide release layer, and an infrared ablatable UV opaque film. In example 2, this is exposed using a 1064 nm IR laser to form a pattern of halftone dots, exposed to UV through the patterned UV opaque film and then developed in a 3:1 mixture of Perclene:butanol (col. 14/lines 1-58). Example 3 is similar, but uses a 780-840 laser (14/60-15/10). Example 12 is similar, but coats the polyamide barrier layer from solution (21/17-37). Useful IR dyes are disclosed in columns 7-9. The infrared-absorbing material should have a strong absorption in the region of the infrared imaging radiation, typically 750 to 20,000 nm. Examples of suitable infrared-absorbing materials include, poly(substituted)phthalocyanine compounds; cyanine dyes; squarylium dyes; chalcogenopyryloarylidene dyes; bis(chalcogenopyrylo)polymethine dyes; oxyindolizine dyes; bis(aminoaryl)polymethine dyes; merocyanine dyes; croconium dyes; metal thiolate dyes; and quinoid dyes. Also suitable are dark inorganic pigments such as carbon black, graphite, copper chromite, chromium oxides and cobalt chrome aluminate; metals such as aluminum, copper or zinc; and alloys of bismuth, indium and copper. The metallic materials generally function as both infrared-absorbing material and radiation-opaque material. They are generally applied without a binder. Infrared-absorbing materials can be present in any concentration which is effective for the intended purpose. In general, for the organic compounds, concentrations of 0.1 to 80% by weight, based on the total weight of the layer, have been found to be effective. (col 6/lines 49) The barrier layer serves two important functions. First, it minimizes migration of materials between the photopolymerizable layer and the infrared-sensitive layer because monomers and plasticizers can migrate over time if they are compatible with the materials in the other layer. If such migration occurs into the infrared-sensitive layer, then the infrared sensitivity of that layer can be altered. In addition, this can cause smearing and tackifying of the infrared sensitive layer after imaging. If there is no compatibility between the two layers there will be no migration. Second, the barrier layer shields the photopolymerizable layer from atmospheric oxygen when the photopolymerizable layer is overall exposed to actinic radiation. The polymerization reactions require longer exposure times or higher intensity radiation sources, and the results are less reproducible when oxygen is present. It is possible to apply a temporary coversheet prior to exposure to actinic radiation or to carry out that exposure step in a vacuum frame. However, the photopolymerizable layer is usually inherently tacky and steps must be taken to prevent the temporary coversheet or vacuum frame cover from sticking to and/or damaging the surface of the photopolymerizable layer. The presence of a non-tacky barrier layer which minimizes the permeation of oxygen to the photopolymerizable layer addresses these problems (4/43-5/2)
Kubo et al. 6423464 teaches intermediate layers 1-3, where intermediate layer 1 does not include an IR absorbing dye/material (table 4). Table 5 teaches coloring layers which include light and UV blocking pigments, such as carbon black. Or titanium blank (table 5)
Table 7 shows the performance data example 8 uses intermediate layer 2, coloring layer 1 and overcoat layer 7 and upon exposure has a minimum density (Dmin) of 0.14. Example 12 does not include an intermediate layer but uses coloring layer 1 and overcoat layer 7 and upon exposure has a minimum density (Dmin) of 0.24. Example 13 uses intermediate layer 1, coloring layer 1 and overcoat layer 7 and upon exposure has a minimum density (Dmin) of 0.20. Example 14 uses intermediate layer 3, coloring layer 1 and overcoat layer 7 and upon exposure has a minimum density (Dmin) of 0.20. Table 7 shows that the recording media of the invention, which contain in the intermediate layer the infrared absorbing dye having absorption in the laser wavelength region, have a very low Dmin, pointing to an extremely high dye removing efficiency.(20/20-24)
Fan 5719009 does not exemplify a flexographic printing plate containing an infrared absorbing dye in the barrier layer. The cited example use commercially available products for the UV masking layer without disclosure of their composition.
With respect to claims 1,2,6,11 and 19, if the composition used in the examples are found to include IR dyes, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the flexographic printing plate precursors of the cited examples of Fan 5719009 by adding an infrared (cyanine) dyes of Kubo et al. 6423464 to the barrier layer which is located beneath the UV blocking layer with a reasonable expectation of reducing the minimum density of the openings based upon the observed effect of adding these to the underlying intermediate layer in Kubo et al. 6423464 and to use the resulting flexographic printing plate precursor in the exposure and development processes disclosed
Alternatively with respect to claims 1,2,6,11 and 19, if the composition used in the examples are found to not include IR dyes, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the flexographic printing plate precursors of the cited examples of Fan 5719009 by adding an infrared (cyanine) dyes of Kubo et al. 6423464 to the barrier layer which is located beneath the UV blocking layer with a reasonable expectation of reducing the minimum density of the openings based upon the observed effect of adding these to the underlying intermediate layer in Kubo et al. 6423464 and adding an infrared dye to the layer to increase its sensitivity to the laser as taught at 6/29-37 of Fan 5719009 and to use the resulting flexographic printing plate precursor in the exposure and development processes disclosed
Alternatively with respect to claims 1,2,4,6,11 and 18-19, if the composition used in the examples are found to not include IR dyes, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the flexographic printing plate precursors of the cited examples of Fan 5719009 by adding multiple infrared (cyanine) dyes of Kubo et al. 6423464 to the barrier layer which is located beneath the UV blocking layer with a reasonable expectation of reducing the minimum density of the openings based upon the observed effect of adding these to the underlying intermediate layer in Kubo et al. 6423464 and adding multiple infrared dyes to the layer to increase its sensitivity to the laser as taught at 6/29-37 of Fan 5719009 and to use the resulting flexographic printing plate precursor in the exposure and development processes disclosed
Claims 1,2,4,5,6,10,11 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto et al. WO 2021039233, in view of Kubo et al. 6423464 and Fan 5719009.
Yoshimoto et al. WO 2021039233 (machine translation attached) in example 1, teaches a
Preparation of Photosensitive Resin Composition As a polymer obtained by polymerizing conjugated diene, 86 parts by mass of butadiene latex (Nipol LX111NF, non-volatile content 55%, manufactured by Nippon Zeon Co., Ltd.) and acrylonitrile-butadiene latex (Nipol SX1503, non-volatile content) 42%, 24 parts by mass of Nippon Zeon Co., Ltd., 15 parts by mass of polybutadiene terminal acrylate (BAC45, manufactured by Osaka Organic Chemical Industry Co., Ltd.) having a number average molecular weight of 10,000 as an ethylenically unsaturated compound, and a number average molecular weight. 338 parts by mass of trimethylolpropantrimethacrylate (light ester TMP, manufactured by Kyoeisha Chemical Co., Ltd.), 3 parts by mass of benzyl dimethyl ketal as a photopolymerization initiator, and a hydrophilic polymer (PFT-4, non-volatile) as other components. 25% by mass, 20 parts by mass of Kyoeisha Chemical Co., Ltd., 9.9 parts by mass of butadiene oligomer (B2000 manufactured by Nippon Soda Co., Ltd.), 0.1 parts by mass of heat stabilizer (4-methoxyphenol), ultraviolet absorber 0.01 parts by mass of (Chinubin 326) was mixed in a container to prepare a dope. The dope was put into a pressure kneader and the solvent was removed under reduced pressure at 80 ° C. to obtain a photosensitive resin composition.
Preparation of flexographic printing original plate Carbon black dispersion (manufactured by Orient Chemical Industry Co., Ltd., AMBK-8), copolymerized polyamide (PA223, manufactured by Toyo Spinning Co., Ltd.), propylene glycol, methanol of 45/5/5/45 The mixture was mixed by mass to obtain a thermal mask layer coating solution. After releasing the mold on both sides of the PET film (Toyo Spinning Co., Ltd., E5000, thickness 100 μm), apply the heat-sensitive mask layer coating liquid with a bar coater so that the thickness of the coating film after drying is 2 μm. It was processed and dried at 120 ° C. for 5 minutes to obtain a film laminate (I). The optical density was 2.3. The optical density was measured by a monochrome transmission densitometer DM-520 (Dainippon Screen Mfg. Co., Ltd.). Polyvinyl acetate (KH20, manufactured by Nippon Synthetic Chem Industry Co., Ltd.) having a saponification degree of 80% and a plasticizer (glycerin) were mixed at a mass ratio of 70/30 to obtain an oxygen barrier layer coating solution. An oxygen barrier layer coating solution is applied onto the film laminate (I) with a bar coater so that the thickness of the coating film after drying is 2.0 μm, and the film laminate (I) is dried at 120 ° C. for 5 minutes. II) was obtained. The photosensitive resin composition is placed on a PET film support (Toyo Spinning Co., Ltd., E5000, thickness 125 μm) coated with a copolymerized polyester adhesive, and the film laminate (II) is layered on top of the photosensitive resin composition. I matched it. It was laminated at 100 ° C. using a heat press machine to obtain a flexographic original plate composed of a PET support, an adhesive layer, a photosensitive resin layer, an oxygen barrier layer, a thermal mask layer and a cover film. The total thickness of the plate was 1.14 mm.
Preparation of a printing plate from a flexographic printing original plate Back exposure was performed for 10 seconds from the PET support side of the printing original plate. Subsequently, the cover film was peeled off. This plate is wrapped around CDI4530 manufactured by Escographic Co., Ltd., with 175 lines with 0% to 10% halftone dots in 0.3% increments, 10% to 100% halftone dots in 5% increments, and the floor. An image having independent points in increments of 50 μm between 0 and 300 μm was ablated at a resolution of 4000 dpi. After ablation, the plate was taken out and returned to a flat surface, and the main exposure was performed for 7 minutes. Then, it was developed with a developing machine manufactured by A & V Co., Ltd. (Stuck System, 1% aqueous soap solution, 40 ° C.) for 8 minutes, and water droplets on the plate surface were removed with a drain stick. Then, it was dried in a dryer at 60 ° C. for 10 minutes. Subsequently, post-exposure was performed for 7 minutes, and finally, a germicidal lamp was irradiated for 5 minutes to obtain a flexographic printing plate. The back exposure, main exposure, and post exposure are Philips TL-K 40W / 10R lamps (peak wavelength 370nm, illuminance of 350nm is 10mW / cm .sup.2 ), and the germicidal lamp is Panasonic germicidal lamp GL-40 (peak wavelength 250nm). , 250 nm illuminance was 4.5 mW / cm .sup.2 ). The relief depth of the obtained printing plate was 0.6 mm, and it was confirmed that halftone dots having a diameter of 16 μm were reproduced on the printing plate. The flexographic printing plate according to any one of claims 1 to 5, which is obtained by developing a flexographic printing original plate using a water-based developer (claim 6)
Yoshimoto et al. WO 2021039233 does not exemplify a flexographic printing plate containing an infrared absorbing dye in the barrier layer and the UV masking layer.
With respect to claims 1,2,5,6,10,11 and 19, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the flexographic printing plate precursors of the cited examples of Yoshimoto et al. WO 2021039233 by adding an infrared (cyanine) dyes of Kubo et al. 6423464 to the barrier layer which is located beneath the UV blocking layer with a reasonable expectation of reducing the minimum density of the openings based upon the observed effect of adding these to the underlying intermediate layer in Kubo et al. 6423464 and adding an infrared dye to the layer to increase its sensitivity to the laser as taught at 6/29-37 of Fan 5719009 and to use the resulting flexographic printing plate precursor in the exposure and development processes disclosed
With respect to claims 1,2,4,5,6,10,11 and 18-19, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the flexographic printing plate precursors of the cited examples of Yoshimoto et al. WO 2021039233 by adding multiple infrared (cyanine) dyes of Kubo et al. 6423464 to the barrier layer which is located beneath the UV blocking layer with a reasonable expectation of reducing the minimum density of the openings based upon the observed effect of adding these to the underlying intermediate layer in Kubo et al. 6423464 and adding multiple infrared dyes to the layer to increase its sensitivity to the laser as taught at 6/29-37 of Fan 5719009 and to use the resulting flexographic printing plate precursor in the exposure and development processes disclosed
Claims 1,2,4-8,10-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namba et al. WO 2020209143, in view of Kubo et al. 6423464 and Fan 5719009.
Namba et al. WO 2020209143 in example 1 teaches the
(Preparation of photosensitive resin composition)
Water-dispersed latex (Nippon Zeon Co., Ltd., Nipol LX111NF, polybutadiene water-dispersed latex, solid content 55%) 54.5 parts by mass and 1,9-nonanediol dimethacrylate (manufactured by Shin-Nakamura Chemical Industry Co., Ltd., 10 parts by mass of NK ester NOD-N), 12 parts by mass of telechelic polymer (manufactured by Osaka Organic Chemical Industry Co., Ltd., BAC-45) (polybutadiene having acryloyloxy groups at both ends, Mw = 10,000), and polyoxyethylene A mixture containing 1 part by mass of lauryl ether (Pionin D-1105, manufactured by Takemoto Oil & Fat Co., Ltd.) was obtained.
This mixture, 20 parts by mass of butadiene rubber (Asahi Kasei, NF35R), 15 parts by mass of plasticizer (liquid paraffin), and 5 parts by mass of surfactant (Nippon Oil, Lapizol A-80, effective content 80%). Was kneaded in a kneader set at 110 ° C. for 45 minutes. Then, 0.2 parts by mass of the thermal polymerization inhibitor and 3 parts by mass of the photopolymerization initiator (benzyldimethyl ketal manufactured by Tokyo Chemical Industries, Ltd.) were added to the kneader and kneaded for 5 minutes to prepare a photosensitive resin composition. Got
(Preparation of laminate for infrared ablation layer)
50 parts by mass of acrylic resin (Hyperle M-5000 manufactured by Negami Kogyo Co., Ltd.), 50 parts by mass of elastomer (Nipol DN-101 manufactured by Nippon Zeon Co., Ltd.), and 100 parts by mass of carbon black (manufactured by Mitsubishi Chemical Co., Ltd., MA-8). To and 812 parts by mass of methyl isobutyl ketone were added, and the mixture was mixed by stirring with a feather. After dispersing the obtained mixed liquid with a paint shaker, a polymer / carbon black dispersion liquid (coating liquid for an infrared ablation layer) is prepared by further adding methyl isobutyl ketone so that the solid content becomes 15% by mass. Obtained.
Next, one side of a PET film (cover film) having a thickness of 75 μm is coated with a coating liquid for an infrared ablation layer with a bar coater so that the thickness after drying is 1.0 μm, and then set at 140 ° C. By drying in the oven for 5 minutes, a laminate (infrared ablation layer laminate) in which an infrared ablation layer was formed on a protective film was produced.
(Preparation of flexographic printing plate original plate)
An adhesive was applied to one side of a 125 μm-thick PET film (substrate) to form an adhesive layer on the substrate. Then, the photosensitive resin composition prepared as described above is sandwiched between the adhesive layer and the infrared ablation layer of the laminate for the infrared ablation layer prepared as described above, and the layer of the photosensitive resin composition (photosensitive). By pressing with a press machine heated to 80 ° C. so that the thickness of the layer) becomes 1 mm, a flexographic printing plate original plate having a substrate, an adhesive layer, a photosensitive layer, an infrared ablation layer, and a protective film in this order was produced.[0052-0054].
The infrared ablation layer is imaged and the used to mask a UV exposure and it was developed with the aqueous developer containing polyoxyethylene polystyrenephenyl ethers surfactant and sodium carbonate in a brush type washing machine. Surfactants included in the compositions include polyoxyethylene polystyrenephenyl ethers listed below
-Pionin D-6112: Polyoxyethylene polystyrylphenyl ether (manufactured by Takemoto Oil & Fat Co., Ltd.)
-Pionin D-6115: Polyoxyethylene polystyrylphenyl ether (manufactured by Takemoto Oil & Fat Co., Ltd.)
-Pionin D-6112W: Polyoxyalkylene polystyryl phenyl ether (manufactured by Takemoto Oil & Fat Co., Ltd.)
-Pionin D-6120: Polyoxyethylene polystyrylphenyl ether (manufactured by Takemoto Oil & Fat Co., Ltd.)
Emargen A-60: Polyoxyethylene distyrene phenyl ether (manufactured by Kao Corporation)
-Emulgen A-90: Polyoxyethylene distyrene phenyl ether (manufactured by Kao Corporation)
-Emargen A-500: Polyoxyethylene distyrene phenyl ether (manufactured by Kao Corporation)
-Eleminor HB-29: Polyoxyethylene tribenzyl phenyl ether (manufactured by Sanyo Chemical Industries, Ltd.)
-Latemuru E-1000A: Polyoxyethylene styrylphenyl ether ammonium sulfate (manufactured by Kao Corporation)
・ New Calgen FS-3PG: Polyoxyethylene allylphenyl) ether phosphate amine salt (manufactured by Takemoto Oil & Fat Co., Ltd.)
-New Calgen FS-7S: Polyoxyalkylene allyl phenyl ether sulfate-Na (manufactured by Takemoto Oil & Fat Co., Ltd.)
-New Calgen P-205S30: Polyoxyalkylene allyl phenyl ether sulfate-Na (manufactured by Takemoto Oil & Fat Co., Ltd.)
-Aqualon AR: Polyoxyethylene styrenated propenylphenyl ether sulfate ammonium (manufactured by Daiichi Kogyo Co., Ltd.)
-Aqualon AN: Polyoxyethylene styrenated propenylphenyl ether (manufactured by Daiichi Kogyo Co., Ltd.)
-Pionin D-1105: Polyoxyethylene lauryl ether (manufactured by Takemoto Oil & Fat Co., Ltd.)
-Pionin D-1100: Polyoxyethylene lauryl ether (manufactured by Takemoto Oil & Fat Co., Ltd.)
-Pionin D-1105S: Polyoxyethylene secondary alkyl ether (manufactured by Takemoto Oil & Fat Co., Ltd.)
.[0055-0059].
Namba et al. WO 2020209143 does not exemplify a flexographic printing plate which include a barrier layer or describes the composition of the infrared ablatable layer.
With respect to claims 1,2,5-8,10-13 and 17-20, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the flexographic printing plate precursors of the cited examples of Namba et al. WO 2020209143 by adding as barrier layer as taught in Fan 5719009 to prevent oxygen intrusion and prevent mixing of the infrared ablatable layer and the photosensitive layer and add an infrared (cyanine) dyes of Kubo et al. 6423464 to the barrier layer which is located beneath the UV blocking layer with a reasonable expectation of reducing the minimum density of the openings based upon the observed effect of adding these to the underlying intermediate layer in Kubo et al. 6423464 and adding an infrared dye to the layer to increase its sensitivity to the laser as taught at 6/29-37 of Fan 5719009 and to use the resulting flexographic printing plate precursor in the exposure and development processes disclosed
Alternatively with respect to claims 1,2,4-8,10-13 and 17-20, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the flexographic printing plate precursors of the cited examples of Namba et al. WO 2020209143 by adding as barrier layer as taught in Fan 5719009 to prevent oxygen intrusion and prevent mixing of the infrared ablatable layer and the photosensitive layer and add multiple infrared (cyanine) dyes of Kubo et al. 6423464 to the barrier layer which is located beneath the UV blocking layer with a reasonable expectation of reducing the minimum density of the openings based upon the observed effect of adding these to the underlying intermediate layer in Kubo et al. 6423464 and adding multiple infrared dye to the layer to increase its sensitivity to the laser as taught at 6/29-37 of Fan 5719009 and to use the resulting flexographic printing plate precursor in the exposure and development processes disclosed
Claims 1-4,6,9,11,15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan 5719009, in view of Kubo et al. 6423464, further in view of Ali et al. WO 2005101130 and Foley et al. WO 9012342.
Ali et al. WO 2005101130 in example 1 teaches a release layer applied to a substrate, a barrier layer which includes infrared dye PC364, binder and solvents and surfactant and a imagable layer which includes UV/visible light blocking colorants, infrared dye D99, and solvents and surfactants. This is imaged using an 830 nm laser to form an imaged mask/film, which is then contacted with a curable flexographic material through the ablated surface and exposed to UV and then developed. (pages 51-53). Example 4 is similar but uses Cyasorb IR165 as the absorber in both the barrier and the imageble layer (pages 58-60). Useful infrared absorbing dyes include immonium dyes taught in WO 9012342 (14/5-31)
Foley et al. WO 9012342 teaches aromatic diamine sensitizers absorbing at 1064 nm bounded by the formula
where R = alkyl, benzyl, substituted benzyl etc.
X = SbF.sub.6-, BF.sub.4-, PF.sub.6-, AsF.sub.6-, CLO.sub.4-, B(phenyl).sub.4, triflate and other salts of strong acids which are not capable of electron donation to the cation radical or dication radical in the ground state; Y = hydrogen, alkyl, aryl, nitro, halo, benzyl, substituted benzyl, etc. Examples of these sensitizers include the series of near infrared absorbers which go by the trade name Cyasorb IR 165, 126 and 99 from American Cyanamid as well as those IR absorbers described in U.S. Patent 4,656,121 which is incorporated herein by reference.
In addition to the basis above, the examiner holds that it would have been obvious to modify the flexographic printing plates and processes of using them rendered obvious by the combination of Fan 5719009 and Kubo et al. 6423464 by using other infrared absorbers including immonium dye cyasorb IR165 used to sensitize the barrier layer and the laser sensitive layer in example 4 of Ali et al. WO 2005101130 which is then used to mask/pattern the UV exposure of a flexographic printing plate precursor with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful printing plate. The examiner notes that Foley et al. WO 9012342 is referenced in Ali et al. WO 2005101130 and evidenced that Cyasorb IR165 is bounded by formula (1) of instant claim 3.
Claims 1-6,9-11,14-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto et al. WO 2021039233, in view of Fan 5719009 and Kubo et al. 6423464, further in view of Ali et al. WO 2005101130 and Foley et al. WO 9012342.
In addition to the basis above, the examiner holds that it would have been obvious to modify the flexographic printing plates and processes of using them rendered obvious by the combination of Yoshimoto et al. WO 2021039233, Fan 5719009 and Kubo et al. 6423464 by using other infrared absorbers including immonium dye cyasorb IR165 used to sensitize the barrier layer and the laser sensitive layer in example 4 of Ali et al. WO 2005101130 which is then used to mask/pattern the UV exposure of a flexographic printing plate precursor with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful printing plate. The examiner notes that Foley et al. WO 9012342 is referenced in Ali et al. WO 2005101130 and evidenced that Cyasorb IR165 is bounded by formula (1) of instant claim 3.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namba et al. WO 2020209143 , in view of Fan 5719009 and Kubo et al. 6423464, further in view of Ali et al. WO 2005101130 and Foley et al. WO 9012342.
In addition to the basis above, the examiner holds that it would have been obvious to modify the flexographic printing plates and processes of using them rendered obvious by the combination of Namba et al. WO 2020209143, Fan 5719009 and Kubo et al. 6423464 by using other infrared absorbers including immonium dye cyasorb IR165 used to sensitize the barrier layer and the laser sensitive layer in example 4 of Ali et al. WO 2005101130 which is then used to mask/pattern the UV exposure of a flexographic printing plate precursor with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful printing plate. The examiner notes that Foley et al. WO 9012342 is referenced in Ali et al. WO 2005101130 and evidenced that Cyasorb IR165 is bounded by formula (1) of instant claim 3.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimoto et al. WO 2021039233, in view of Fan 5719009, Kubo et al. 6423464, Ali et al. WO 2005101130 and Foley et al. WO 9012342, further in view of Motoi et al. JP 2015125398.
Motoi et al. JP 2015125398 (machine translation attached) teaches the use of Nonionic surfactants include polyoxyethylene alkyl ethers, polyoxyethylene alkyl phenyl ethers, polyoxyethylene polystyryl phenyl ether, polyoxyethylene polyoxypropylene alkyl ether, glycerin fatty acid partial esters, sorbitan fatty acid partial esters , Pentaerythritol fatty acid partial esters, propylene glycol monofatty acid esters, sucrose fatty acid partial esters, polyoxyethylene sorbitan fatty acid partial esters, polyoxyethylene sorbitol fatty acid partial esters, polyethylene glycol fatty acid esters, polyglycerin fatty acid partial esters , Fatty acid diethanolamides, N, N-bis-2-hydroxyalkylamines, polyoxyethylene alkyl Min, triethanolamine fatty acid esters, trialkylamine oxides, molecular weight of polypropylene glycol 200 to 5,000, trimethylolpropane, adduct of glycerin or sorbitol polyoxyethylene or polyoxypropylene, acetylene glycol, and the like in developers for flexographic printing plates [0029].
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to modify the processes of developing the flexographic printing plates and processes of using them rendered obvious by the combination of Yoshimoto et al. WO 2021039233, Fan 5719009, Kubo et al. 6423464, Ali et al. WO 2005101130 and Foley et al. WO 9012342 by adding at least some of surfactants known to be useful in developing/processing flexographic printing plates, such as the polyoxyethylene polystyryl phenyl ether taught by Motoi et al. JP 2015125398 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful printing plate image.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Watanabe 20230333479 is similar to the teachings of example 4 of Ali et al. WO 2005101130.
Akaiwa JP 2008249874 teaches polyoxyethylene styrylphenylethers as surfactants in printing plate developers.
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 February 13, 2026