DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the amendments filed on 12/19/2025, in which claims 1, 11, and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, see REMARKS, filed 12/19/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 2, 7, 10-12, 17, and 20, under 35 USC §102, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections, under 35 USC §102, have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of claims 5-9 and 15-19, under 35 USC §103, have been fully considered but are not directed to the claims as they are currently mapped. Therefore, these arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers (WO 2023/034911 A1, “Rogers”) in view of Kale et al. (US 2021/0309181 A1, “Kale”).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, Rogers discloses chargeable storage for accessory identification and control and teaches:
A vehicle comprising: (FIG. 1 illustrates a block diagram of the components of a vehicle 100. Vehicle 100 may include, for example, a recreational vehicle (RV), a utility vehicle (UV), an electric vehicle (EV), a hybrid vehicle such as one with a motor and an internal combustion engine (ICE), or any other suitable type of vehicle which may benefit from these components. The vehicle 100 includes a controller, such as an accessory charging controller 102, having at least one associated memory 104 – See at least ¶ [0042])
a battery; (Accessory charging controller 102 is operatively coupled to an electrical power supply 122. Electrical power supply 122 may be any type of electrical power supply, including a battery – See at least ¶ [0045])
a vehicle power management system configured to manage power transfer from the battery to an external accessory connected to a vehicle power system; and (Accessory charging controller 102 is also electrically coupled with one or more removable accessories, such as, for example, accessory A 130A, accessory B 130B, and accessory C 130C (collectively, accessories 130). As an example, an accessory that is removably coupled (e.g., electrically and/or mechanically) to vehicle 100 may be referred to as a removable accessory according to aspects described herein. Each of accessories 130 may have a different functionality or power level requirement (for example, electrical current and voltage limitations when charging). Although only three accessories are shown, any other number of accessories may be coupled with accessory charging controller 102, as suitable. Example accessories 103 may include, but are not limited to, one or more handheld electronic devices ( e.g., cell phone, smart phone, satellite phone, personal gaming device), power tools, external batteries, battery chargers, electronic vehicle equipment, buildings, or the other devices having one or more components configured to operate using electricity – See at least ¶ [0046]; Examiner notes that the accessory charging controller and electrical power supply are collectively known as accessory charging system 140 and that the battery provides power to the accessories through the charging controller – See at least ¶ [0047] and Fig. 1)
a processor configured to: obtain from a first user device associated with a first user, a vehicle power system usage rule set to use the vehicle power system; [] and (In some examples, user interface 110, i.e., a first user device associated with a first user, displays a plurality of sections 300A, 300B, 300C, and 300D (collectively, sections 300) where each of sections 300 may be associated with an accessory 130…Each of sections 300 in the user interface 110 includes an identifier subsection, e.g., identifier subsection 302, where an identifier (e.g., a name) of connected accessory 130 is displayed. The identifier subsection may show the identifier of the accessory that is plugged in to associated power outlets 402, and the identifier may be entered by the user while vehicle 100 is in motion or static. Each of sections 300 further include an "on" button 304 and an "off'' button 306. The buttons 304 and 306 allow the user to manually turn on, i.e., a usage request, (activate) or shut off (deactivate) the electrical power provided to associated power outlets 402, thereby operating as a power switch for the individual accessory 130…User interface 110 may further show a plurality of buttons to allow the user to switch between different modes, i.e., rule sets. For example, the plurality of buttons may include an equipment charging button 308 and a storage locking button 310. Equipment charging button 308 may be a button that the user presses to see different sections 300 that represent the accessories 130 that are plugged in to the power outlets 402 – See at least ¶ [0057]-[0059]; Examiner notes that the user interface may be a mobile device such as a smartphone or tablet of the user – See at least ¶ [0065])
control a vehicle power system operation to enable power transfer based on the vehicle power system usage rule set [] (Each of sections 300 further include an "on" button 304 and an "off'' button 306. The buttons 304 and 306 allow the user to manually turn on (activate) or shut off (deactivate) the electrical power provided to associated power outlets 402, thereby operating as a power switch for the individual accessory 130 – See at least ¶ [0058])
Rogers does not explicitly teach determine that a vehicle power usage request from a second user device is authorized under the vehicle power system usage rule set; and control a vehicle power system operation to enable power transfer based on the vehicle power system usage rule set and the determination that the second user device is authorized. However, Kale discloses intelligent preparation of vehicles for operations based on user recognition from a distance and teaches:
determine that a vehicle power usage request from a second user device is authorized under the vehicle power system usage rule set; and (At block 255, based at least in part on the image, it is recognized that the person is an authorized user of the vehicle (111). For example, the person as shown in the image can be recognized as an authorized user of the vehicle (111). For example, another model can be used to analyze the image and/or other data tell authorized users apart from non-authorized users – See at least ¶ [0056]; When an authorized driver/user(101) of the vehicle(111) is detected, the vehicle (111) can start preparation(109) for normal operations by powering up its accessories and/or control systems, performing on-board diagnosis, and/or starting climate control operations – See at least ¶ [0033] Here the user approaching the vehicle is a vehicle power usage request, i.e., the user is requesting access and usage of the vehicle including power to accessories. Because the system may identify more than one user as an authorized user then the request may be from at least a second user.)
control a vehicle power system operation to enable power transfer based on the vehicle power system usage rule set and the determination that the second user device is authorized. (When an authorized driver/user(101) of the vehicle(111) is detected, the vehicle (111) can start preparation(109) for normal operations by powering up its accessories and/or control systems, performing on-board diagnosis, and/or starting climate control operations – See at least ¶ [0033])
In summary, Rogers discloses detecting accessories and charging those accessories based on accessory identifier information and user control. Rogers does not explicitly teach determine that a vehicle power usage request from a second user device is authorized under the vehicle power system usage rule set and enabling power transfer based on both the vehicle power system usage rule set and that the second user is authorized. However, However, Kale discloses intelligent preparation of vehicles for operations based on user recognition from a distance and teaches identifying multiple authorized users as they approach the vehicle. The identification of the users as they approach the vehicle allows the vehicle to control power systems of the vehicle including providing power to accessories in the vehicle.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the chargeable storage for accessory identification and control of Roger to provide for the intelligent preparation of vehicles for operations based on user recognition from a distance, as taught in Kale, to implement customization for the recognized driver/user based on the preferences or routines of the driver/user. (At Kale ¶ [0043])
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Rogers further teaches:
obtain a first vehicle power system usage request comprising at least one of: a request to activate or deactivate the vehicle power system, (Alternatively, equipment charging button 308 may function as a universal power switch. For example, pressing the button 308 may turn off all the power outlets 402. Such universal power switch may be advantageous when there is an urgent need for more electrical power for the operation of vehicle 100, such that accessory charging system 140 prevents the electrical power from being used to charge the accessories 130 – See at least ¶ [0059]) a request to activate or deactivate an outlet associated with the vehicle power system, (Each of sections 300 further include an "on" button 304 and an "off'' button 306. The buttons 304 and 306 allow the user to manually turn on (activate) or shut off (deactivate) the electrical power provided to associated power outlets 402, thereby operating as a power switch for the individual accessory 130 – See at least ¶ [0058]) or a request to limit discharge rate associated with the vehicle power system; and
control the vehicle system operation responsive to the first vehicle power system usage request and based on the vehicle power system usage rule set. (Each of sections 300 further include an "on" button 304 and an "off'' button 306. The buttons 304 and 306 allow the user to manually turn on (activate) or shut off (deactivate) the electrical power provided to associated power outlets 402, thereby operating as a power switch for the individual accessory 130 – See at least ¶ [0058])
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Rogers further teaches:
wherein the vehicle power system usage rule set comprises at least one of: a rule set to activate the vehicle power system for a predefined time duration, a rule set to activate the vehicle power system between a first timestamp and a second timestamp, a rule set to activate the vehicle power system for a first predefined threshold energy usage value, (…range applications may be implemented to determine which of power outlets 402 may need to be shut off to extend the vehicle range – See at least ¶ [0066]) a rule set to activate the vehicle power system in a vehicle predefined geofenced area, a rule set to limit discharge rate associated with the vehicle power system, and a rule set to activate or deactivate an outlet associated with the vehicle power system. (Each of sections 300 further include an "on" button 304 and an "off'' button 306. The buttons 304 and 306 allow the user to manually turn on (activate) or shut off (deactivate) the electrical power provided to associated power outlets 402, thereby operating as a power switch for the individual accessory 130 – See at least ¶ [0058])
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Roger further teaches:
obtain an input from a vehicle sensor when the vehicle power system is activated; (As represented by block 608, user interface controller 116 determines whether there is a need to terminate and/or reduce power provided to one or more connected accessories based on the sensor information (e.g., state of charge (SOC) of the electrical power supply, the engine speed, and power consumption due to charging the accessory) and the user priorities – See at least ¶ [0078]; Examiner notes that block 608 occurs after the power system is activated – See Fig. 6)
monitor a vehicle power system usage based on the input; (If user interface controller 116 determines there is a need to terminate and/or reduce power provided to one or more connected accessories, the processing sequence 600 proceeds to block 610. If not, the processing sequence 600 loops back to block 602, and the process repeats – See at least ¶ [0078])
determine a vehicle power system improper usage based on the monitoring; and (In some examples, based on the user priorities indicating a normal power plan, a saver power plan, and an ultra-power plan, user interface controller 116 determines whether there is a need to terminate and/or reduce power to the connected accessories – See at least ¶ [0079]; Here, the improper usage would be any usage that violates the user priorities.)
deactivate the vehicle power system based on a determination of the vehicle power system improper usage. (Additionally, or alternatively, based on determining that the vehicle engine is off ( e.g., an engine speed sensor indicates the engine speed satisfies a threshold) and/or the electrical power supply level ( e.g., SOC of the electrical power supply) satisfies (e.g., is below) a threshold, user interface controller 116 may terminate and/or reduce power to accessories that have a saver power plan – See at least ¶ [0079])
Regarding claim 10, Rogers further teaches:
obtain a real-time State of Charge (SoC) associated with the battery; (As represented by block 608, user interface controller 116 determines whether there is a need to terminate and/or reduce power provided to one or more connected accessories based on the sensor information (e.g., state of charge (SOC) of the electrical power supply, the engine speed, and power consumption due to charging the accessory) and the user priorities – See at least ¶ [0078]; Examiner notes that the state of charge is being determined while the accessories are being charged, i.e., the real time state of charge.)
determine that the real-time SoC is less than a threshold value; and control the vehicle power system operation based on the real-time SoC being less than the threshold value. (Additionally, or alternatively, based on determining that the vehicle engine is off ( e.g., an engine speed sensor indicates the engine speed satisfies a threshold) and/or the electrical power supply level ( e.g., SOC of the electrical power supply) satisfies (e.g., is below) a threshold, user interface controller 116 may terminate and/or reduce power to accessories that have a saver power plan – See at least ¶ [0079])
Claim(s) 5-9 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers in view of Kale, as applied to claims 1 and 11, and in further view of Baker (US 2013/0097070 A1, “Baker”).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Rogers does not explicitly teach wherein the determination of the vehicle power system improper usage comprises determining that the vehicle power system is used by an unauthorized user. However, Baker discloses a smart outlet and teaches:
wherein the determination of the vehicle power system improper usage comprises determining that the vehicle power system is used by an unauthorized user. (In at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, after the user selects to lease the smart outlet 100 at a rate, the user is queried as to whether the user wishes to pay for consumption through credit card or charge an account in step 221. In at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, the user may select to charge a known account to the Smart outlet 100, a general tab with the facility in which the smart outlet 100 is located, a PayPal account, or another account in which the Smart outlet 100 may automatically deduct funds and/or accumulate a bill for usage of the Smart outlet 100 at the rate – See at least ¶ [0032])
In summary, Rogers discloses deactivating the power system if the system experiences based on a set of conditions. One of these conditions is the check if the engine is running. Because vehicles use a key, i.e., a key holder would be an authorized user, then Rogers implies that the improper usage comprises determining that the vehicle power system is used by an unauthorized/authorized user. Examiner further notes that Rogers discloses that a remote device which interacts with the vehicle may be a personnel identification badge. However, Rogers is not explicit in this teaching. Baker discloses a smart outlet and teaches an account synchronization system and a credit card authorization system that both determine if the user is authorized to use the system before providing power to the outlet. Thus by implementing the smart outlet of Baker in the vehicle outlets of Roger, the system may be able to authorize users and allow for further outlet functions such as leasing or time restraints.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the chargeable storage for accessory identification and control of Rogers and Kale to provide for the smart outlet, as taught in Baker, to lease outlets provided by the owners based on time of use of the outlets and/or power drawn from the outlets. (At Baker ¶ [0015])
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Rogers does not explicitly teach, but Baker further teaches:
obtain a second vehicle power system usage request from a second user device, wherein the second user device is associated with a third party, (The credit authorization system 14 may be a server and a processor configured to process and authorize a credit card that has been swiped at a smart outlet – See at least ¶ [0017]; Examiner notes that the system interacts with a third party to determine credit card authorization and can also check for user accounts.) and wherein the second vehicle power system usage request comprises at least one of: (The credit authorization system 14 may be a server and a processor configured to process and authorize a credit card that has been swiped at a smart outlet – See at least ¶ [0017]; Examiner notes that the system interacts with a third party to determine credit card authorization and can also check for user accounts.)
information associated with an outlet to be used, a time duration to use the outlet, information associated with the external accessory to be powered, and an expected power consumption; (In at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, the flowchart begins at the “Start” state in step 201. In at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, the smart outlet 100 can be configured to be leased based on time of use, or based on power that is delivered from the smart outlet 100. It should be appreciated that the smart outlet 100 may support both models. However, it should be appreciated that in some circumstances, a smart outlet 100 may only be leased based on time of use and/or only configured to be used to deliver a certain amount of power – See at least ¶ [0030])
correlate the second vehicle power system usage request with the vehicle power system usage rule set; and (In at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, after the “Start” state, a user is queried to determine whether the smart outlet 100 is to be leased (i.e., based on time of use) or based on purchasing power in step 202. In at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, the smart outlet 100 is pre-set to either be leased or based on power purchased. In at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, if the user responds with the desire to lease the outlet, the smart outlet 100 displays a rate of use to be paid by the user of dollars per hour ($/hr.) in step 220. In at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, the smart outlet 100 may be configured to charge any currency in any measure of time. Such as, for example, pounds per minute, pesos per second, and otherwise – See at least ¶ [0031])
control the vehicle power system operation based on the correlation. (In at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, if the desired time is accepted, a timer is reset and the timer then begins to count toward the requested lease time in step 225. In the event that the timer reaches the desired time, the smart outlet 100 is disabled in step 226 – See at least ¶ [0035])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the chargeable storage for accessory identification and control of Rogers and Kale to provide for the smart outlet, as taught in Baker, to lease outlets provided by the owners based on time of use of the outlets and/or power drawn from the outlets. (At Baker ¶ [0015])
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Rogers does not explicitly teach, but Baker further teaches:
estimate a charge associated with a vehicle power system usage based on the second vehicle power system usage request and predefined charge rates; and (if the user responds with the desire to lease the outlet, the smart outlet 100 displays a rate of use to be paid by the user of dollars per hour ($/hr.) in step 220. In at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, the smart outlet 100 may be configured to charge any currency in any measure of time. Such as, for example, pounds per minute, pesos per second, and other-wise – See at least ¶ [0031])
transmit the estimated charge and the second vehicle power system usage request to the first user device to receive an authorization from the first user. (after the user selects to lease the smart outlet 100 at a rate, the user is queried as to whether the user wishes to pay for consumption through credit card or charge an account in step 221. In at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, the user may select to charge a known account to the Smart outlet 100, a general tab with the facility in which the smart outlet 100 is located, a PayPal account, or another account in which the Smart outlet 100 may automatically deduct funds and/or accumulate a bill for usage of the Smart outlet 100 at the rate – See at least ¶ [0032])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the chargeable storage for accessory identification and control of Rogers and Kale to provide for the smart outlet, as taught in Baker, to lease outlets provided by the owners based on time of use of the outlets and/or power drawn from the outlets. (At Baker ¶ [0015])
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Rogers does not explicitly teach, but Baker further teaches:
obtain the authorization from the first user device; and control the vehicle power system operation based on the authorization. (As shown in fig. 3 after the system authorizes the credit card or charge account then it allows the user to begin using the outlet.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the chargeable storage for accessory identification and control of Rogers and Kale to provide for the smart outlet, as taught in Baker, to lease outlets provided by the owners based on time of use of the outlets and/or power drawn from the outlets. (At Baker ¶ [0015])
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Rogers further teaches:
obtain an additional input from a vehicle sensor when the vehicle power system is activated responsive to obtaining the second vehicle power system usage request; (As represented by block 606, user interface controller 116 receives sensor information. For example, the accessory charging controller 102 receives sensor information from multiple sensors 202, including an electrical power supply voltage sensor, an accessory power consumption sensor(s), and/or additional sensors coupled to vehicle 100. After receiving the sensor information, accessory charging controller 102 transmits the sensor information to user interface controller 116 ¶ [0076])
monitor a vehicle power system usage based on the additional input; [] (As represented by block 608, user interface controller 116 determines whether there is a need to terminate and/or reduce power provided to one or more connected accessories based on the sensor information (e.g., state of charge (SOC) of the electrical power supply, the engine speed, and power consumption due to charging the accessory) and the user priorities – See at least ¶ [0078])
deactivate the vehicle power system based on a determination of the vehicle power system improper usage by the third party. (If, however, it is determined that there is not enough electrical energy, the sequence 500 proceeds to block 508, in which user interface controller 116 is configured to alert the user to turn off one or more of power outlets 402 to reduce the amount of electrical energy consumed by vehicle 100 to charge one or more accessories 130 that are plugged into one or more power outlets 402. Alternatively, user interface controller 116 may automatically cause accessory charging controller 102 to turn off one or more of power outlets 402 – See at least ¶ [0070])
Rogers discloses the use of remote servers and cloud computing to process data and send and receive information to the vehicle and other devices in the network. Rogers does not explicitly teach that these functionalities are performed by a third party. However, Baker further teaches:
determine a vehicle power system improper usage by the third party based on the monitoring; and (In at least one embodiment of the present disclosure, if the desired time is accepted, a timer is reset and the timer then begins to count toward the requested lease time in step 225 – See at least ¶ [0035])
deactivate the vehicle power system based on a determination of the vehicle power system improper usage by the third party. (In the event that the timer reaches the desired time, the smart outlet 100 is disabled in step 226 – See at least ¶ [0035])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the chargeable storage for accessory identification and control of Rogers and Kale to provide for the smart outlet, as taught in Baker, to lease outlets provided by the owners based on time of use of the outlets and/or power drawn from the outlets. (At Baker ¶ [0015])
Conclusion
/C.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662