DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Pursuant to the election without traverse of invention I on December 1, 2025, claims 15-19 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The examiner proposes: 3D MEMORY DEVICE WITH TAPERED DIVIDING PLATE
Claim Objection
Claims 7 and 13 recite that “the charge storage layer is applied a voltage via a word line functioning as the conductive layer.” This is awkward and should be revised. The examiner understands this to mean that a voltage is applied by the word line to the charge storage layer.
Claim interpretation
The recitation in claim 1 that “a conductive layer and an insulating layer are stacked multiple number of times from a bottom of the stacked body to a top of the stacked body” is interpreted to mean that a pair of a conductive layer and an insulating layer are repeated multiple times in a stack.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for memory pillars, does not reasonably provide enablement for other kinds of pillars. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to practice the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The application discloses an invention that involves memory pillars and division plates. It does not disclose any application that involves any other kind of pillar, such as a metal pillar or a support pillar. The application would not enable those in the art to practice it with any other kind of pillar.
(A) The breadth of the claims – the claims encompass any pillar.
(B) The nature of the invention – the invention as disclosed addresses only memory pillars.
(C) The state of the prior art would not provide additional insights as to how to apply the invention to other pillars.
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill in the art would not provide
(E) The level of predictability in the art would not provide a predictable application to other kinds of pillars.
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor – the inventor has not provided any direction as to how to use other kinds of pillars.
(G) The existence of working examples – there are no working examples that apply to other kinds of pillars.
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure would be undue experimentation due to the lack of guidance in the specification.
Claims 6 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. These claims recite “the memory pillar”, which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, US 2022/0077182 A1, in view of Yang, US 2022/0359561 A1.
Claim 1: Lee discloses
a stacked body (335) where a conductive layer (13/23) and an insulating layer (21) are stacked multiple number of times from a bottom of the stacked body to a top of the stacked body;
a plate-shaped portion (SG) extending along a stacking direction of the stacked body and a first direction intersecting the stacking direction and dividing the stacked body along a second direction intersecting the stacking direction and the first direction (FIG. 3A);
and a pillar (CH) penetrating the stacked body and extending along the stacking direction,
wherein a width of the plate-shaped portion in the second direction (horizontal) at the same height as a conductive layer located at the top of the stacked body is larger than a width of the plate-shaped portion in the second direction at the same height as a conductive layer located at the bottom of the stacked body (FIG. 3A, inverted).
Lee does not disclose that a width of the pillar (666) in the second direction (horizontal) at the same height as the conductive layer located at the top of the stacked body is smaller than a width of the pillar in the second direction at the same height as the conductive layer located at the bottom of the stacked body. However, this was known in the art. See Yang FIG. 12:
(Note that the drawings of Lee and Yang are inverted with respect to each other, and thus Lee is viewed inverted, and Yang is viewed uninverted.) It would have been obvious to have used the pillar of Yang as a known channel pillar effective for forming a memory stack.
Claim 4: the pillar is a memory pillar.
Claim 5: Yang discloses a dummy pillar (222, Yang FIG. 2, [0045]). Yang does not illustrate the dummy pillars, but it was common to have the dummy pillars have the same structure as regular pillars, and thus it would have been obvious to have the dummy pillars penetrating the stacked body and extending along the stacking direction, wherein a width of the dummy pillar in the second direction at the same height as the conductive layer located at the top of the stacked body is smaller than a width of the dummy pillar in the second direction at the same height as the conductive layer located at the bottom of the stacked body.
Claim 6: the sizes of the memory pillar and the dummy pillar are not disclosed. However, it would have been within ordinary skill in the art to determine the appropriate sizes of each. Changes in dimension are not typically a source of patentable distinction absent unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04(IV).
Claim 7: the pillar includes a charge storage layer (337-2), the charge storage layer is applied a voltage via a word line (WL) functioning as the conductive layer.
8. The semiconductor storage device according to claim 1, further comprising: a peripheral circuit including a transistor on the bottom of the stacked body (Lee, SST, FIG. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, and is objected to based on the claim language as noted above, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the claim objection is addressed. If the scope of enablement rejection is addressed, claims 2, 3, 9-11, and 14 would distinguish over the prior art. The prior art reviewed by the examiner does not show the various levels of decreasing width of claim 2, or the width relationship of the core of the pillar of claim 9. Lee discloses (FIG. 9C) an etch having an opposite taper to that of the memory pillars, but not going through the stack, and not to form the claimed plate.
Conclusion
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897