DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1–9 stand as withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Group I, drawn to a method for manufacturing a semiconductor package), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 19 Feb 2026.
Response to Amendment
In response to the non-final rejection dated 3 Apr 2026, and after an applicant-initiated interview on 21 May 2026, Applicant replied on 2 Jul 2026 with the following amendments:
Specification
Replacements have been provided for ¶[0047] and ¶[0096] in which “wrapper paper properties” has been changed to “warpage properties”.
Accordingly, the examiner withdraws the previous objection to the specification.
Claims
Claim 2 (a withdrawn claim) has been amended in its last line to change “the first semiconductor chip” to “the first semiconductor chips”.
Claim 7 (a withdrawn claim) has been amended in its last line to change “the silicon material” to “a silicon material”.
Claim 10 has been amended to add the following limitation: “wherein a topmost portion of the second underfill is disposed between an upper side of the interposer and a lower side of the interposer”. See Response to Arguments section below.
Claim 15 has been amended in its last line to change “the silicon material” to “a silicon material”.
Accordingly, the examiner withdraws the previous rejection of claim 15 under 35 USC § 112(b) for lack of antecedent basis.
Claim 19 has been amended to add a comma in “an opposite, second side of the interposer”.
Accordingly, the examiner withdraws the previous objection to claim 19.
Claim 19 has also been amended to delete “rounded” in “Response to Arguments section below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11–15 of Applicant’s remarks, filed 2 Jul 2026, with respect to the rejections of independent claim 10 under 35 USC § 102 (separate rejections using each of the references of Yeh, Lee, Hsu, and Wang) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of US 2022/0319944 A1 by Park et al.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 15–17 of Applicant’s remarks, filed 2 Jul 2026, with respect to the rejection of independent claim 19 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of US 2022/0319944 A1 by Park et al.
The examiner notes that the limitation of “a topmost portion of the second underfill is disposed between an upper side of the interposer and a lower side of the interposer” that was included in the amended independent claims 10 and 19 is often seen in similar three-layered package structures with an interposer between semiconductor chips and a package board. The Park reference was chosen as an example of this feature for making rejections under 35 USC § 103. A list of other references that also show this feature is provided in the Conclusion section of this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over patent application publication US 2022/0230969 A1 by Yeh et al. (“Yeh” hereinafter) in view of patent application publication US 2022/0319944 A1 by Park et al. (“Park” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Yeh teaches:
A semiconductor package PKS1 (Fig. 3B) comprising:
a package board 300;
an interposer 100′ mounted on the package board 300;
a plurality of semiconductor chips 21 and 22 mounted on the interposer 100′;
a stiffener RS1 and RS2 (“a first ring structure RS1 (first stiffener ring)” and “a second ring structure RS2 (second stiffener ring)” ¶[0038]) on the package board 300 that extends around the interposer 100′ (“The first ring structure RS1 may surround the interposer structure 100′ ” ¶[0038]; see Figs. 3C and 3D);
a first underfill 112 that surrounds a plurality of first bumps 110 between the plurality of semiconductor chips 21 and 22 and the interposer 100′; and
a second underfill 350 that surrounds a plurality of second bumps 118 between the package board 300 and the interposer 100′, and wherein a thickness of the second underfill 350 on a sidewall of the interposer 100′ increases in a direction from a first side (top) of the interposer to an opposite, second side (bottom) of the interposer.
However, Yeh fails to teach: “wherein a topmost portion of the second underfill is disposed between an upper side of the interposer and a lower side of the interposer.” (As shown in FIG. 3B, a topmost portion of the second underfill 350 is disposed above an upper side of the interposer 100′.)
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches a similar semiconductor package (FIG. 2): “a semiconductor package 10 may include a package substrate 100, an interposer 200, first and second semiconductor devices 300 and 400” ¶[0029]; and a stiffener 700.
As shown in FIG. 2, Park teaches that a topmost portion of the second underfill 270 (“third underfill member 270” ¶[0047]) is disposed between an upper side of the interposer 200 and a lower side of the interposer 200. Here, “between” is being interpreted as inclusive of the top edge and the bottom edge of the lateral side of the interposer 200. FIG. 2 appears to show that the topmost portion of the second underfill 270 is located at the same vertical level as the upper side of the interposer. Park’s specification also supports the idea of the second underfill 270 extending at least partway up the lateral sidewall of the interposer 200: “A portion of the third underfill member 270 may extend upwardly from the upper surface of the package substrate 100 to cover a portion of a side surface of the interposer 200 to firmly support the interposer 200” ¶[0047].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yeh’s FIG. 3B to have the second underfill 350 only extend up the sidewall of the interposer 100′ and not extend above the upper side of the interposer 100′, similar to the arrangement shown in Park’s FIG. 2, because Park teaches that such an arrangement will “firmly support the interposer” (see ¶[0047]).
Claims 10–13 and 15–16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over patent application publication US 2024/0063208 A1 by Lee et al. (“Lee” hereinafter) in view of patent application publication US 2022/0319944 A1 by Park et al. (“Park” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches:
A semiconductor package 100 (Figs. 17A and 17B, “first package component 100” ¶[0059]) comprising:
a package board 82 (“The package component 82 may be or may comprise an interposer, a package, a core substrate, a coreless substrate, a printed circuit board, or the like” ¶[0054]);
an interposer 46 (“redistribution structure 46” ¶[0032]) mounted on the package board 82;
a plurality of semiconductor chips 50A and 50B (“Each package component 50B may be a semiconductor die similar to the package component 50A” ¶[0043]) mounted on the interposer 46;
a stiffener 90 (“stiffener ring 90” ¶[0059]) on the package board 82 that extends around the interposer 46 (as shown in Fig. 17B);
a first underfill 56 (“underfill 56” ¶[0059]) that surrounds a plurality of first bumps 44 (“conductive connectors 44, such as solder” ¶[0044]) between the plurality of semiconductor chips 50A and 50B and the interposer 46; and
a second underfill 86 (“underfill 86” ¶[0059]) that surrounds a plurality of second bumps 70 and 72 (“UBMs 70 and conductive connectors 72” ¶[0051]; “The formation of the conductive connectors 72 may include placing solder balls on the exposed portions of the UBMs 70” ¶[0052]) between the package board 82 and the interposer 46, and wherein a thickness of the second underfill 86 on a sidewall of the interposer 46 increases in a direction (down) from a first side (top) of the interposer 46 to an opposite, second side (bottom) of the interposer 46 (as shown in Fig. 17A).
However, Lee fails to teach: “wherein a topmost portion of the second underfill is disposed between an upper side of the interposer and a lower side of the interposer.” (As shown in FIG. 17A, a topmost portion of the second underfill 86 is disposed above an upper side of the interposer 46.)
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches a similar semiconductor package (FIG. 2): “a semiconductor package 10 may include a package substrate 100, an interposer 200, first and second semiconductor devices 300 and 400” ¶[0029]; and a stiffener 700.
As shown in FIG. 2, Park teaches that a topmost portion of the second underfill 270 (“third underfill member 270” ¶[0047]) is disposed between an upper side of the interposer 200 and a lower side of the interposer 200. Here, “between” is being interpreted as inclusive of the top edge and the bottom edge of the lateral side of the interposer 200. FIG. 2 appears to show that the topmost portion of the second underfill 270 is located at the same vertical level as the upper side of the interposer. Park’s specification also supports the idea of the second underfill 270 extending at least partway up the lateral sidewall of the interposer 200: “A portion of the third underfill member 270 may extend upwardly from the upper surface of the package substrate 100 to cover a portion of a side surface of the interposer 200 to firmly support the interposer 200” ¶[0047].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s FIG. 17A to have the second underfill 86 only extend up the sidewall of the interposer 46 and not extend above the upper side of the interposer 46, similar to the arrangement shown in Park’s FIG. 2, because Park teaches that such an arrangement will “firmly support the interposer” (see ¶[0047]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee (as modified by Park in the rejection of claim 10 above) teaches:
The semiconductor package 100 (Figs. 17A–17B) of claim 10,
wherein the plurality of semiconductor chips 50A and 50B comprise two1 first semiconductor chips 50A mounted at a center of the first side (top in Fig. 17A) of the interposer 46, a plurality of second semiconductor chips 50B (top row in Fig. 17B) mounted on the first side (top in Fig. 17A) of the interposer 46 adjacent to a first side (positive-Y side in Fig. 17B) of the first semiconductor chips 50A, and a plurality of third semiconductor chips 50B (bottom row in Fig. 17B) mounted on the first side (top in Fig. 17A) of the interposer 46 adjacent to an opposite, second side (negative-Y side) of the first semiconductor chips 50A.
Regarding claim 12, Lee (as modified by Park in the rejection of claim 10 above) teaches:
The semiconductor package 100 (Figs. 17A–17B) of claim 11,
wherein the first semiconductor chips 50A comprise an ASIC (application specific integrated circuit) (“each package component 50A may comprise an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) die” ¶[0015]), and
wherein the second semiconductor chips 50B (top row in Fig. 17B) and the third semiconductor chips 50B (bottom row in Fig. 17B) comprise a HBM (High Bandwidth Memory) semiconductor chip (“each package component 50B may comprise a memory die such as a DRAM die (e.g., a high bandwidth memory (HBM) die)” ¶[0023]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee (as modified by Park in the rejection of claim 10 above) teaches:
The semiconductor package 100 (Figs. 17A–17B) of claim 11, further comprising:
a molding part 56 between the second semiconductor chips 50B (top row in Fig. 17B) and between the third semiconductor chips 50B (bottom row in Fig. 17B).
Explanation: one part of the underfill 56 is located between the layer of semiconductor chips 50A and 50B and the interposer 46, comprising the first underfill 56 as described above in the rejection of claim 10; and another part of the underfill 56 comprises the molding part 56 of the present claim and is located between the second semiconductor chips 50B and between the third semiconductor chips 50B as shown in Fig. 17A and described in the specification: “The package structures 14 [examiner: as shown in Fig. 17B, each package structure 14 is equivalent to one unit of a first semiconductor chip 50A and its surrounding molding material 52] are physically isolated from each other and from the package components 50B by the underfill 56. In addition, the package components 50B are physically isolated from each other by the underfill 56” ¶[0061].
Regarding claim 15, Lee (as modified by Park in the rejection of claim 10 above) teaches:
The semiconductor package 100 (Figs. 17A–17B) of claim 10,
wherein the interposer 46 comprises a plurality of insulating layers 24 (“a plurality of insulating layers 24” ¶[0033]), a plurality of redistribution layers 26 (“a plurality of RDLs 26” ¶[0033]) inside the plurality of insulating layers 24, and a plurality of vias that connect some of the plurality of redistribution layers 26 (e.g., “the RDL 26-2 is formed on the insulating layer 24-2, wherein the RDL 26-2 is electrically connected to the RDL 26-1. The RDL 26-2 includes via portions extending into the openings in the insulating layer 24-2” ¶[0036]), and wherein the plurality of insulating layers 24 comprise an organic compound (“the insulating layer 24-1 is formed of or comprises an organic material, which may be a polymer. The organic material may also be a photo-sensitive material. For example, the insulating layer 24-1 may be formed of or comprise polyimide, polybenzoxazole (PBO), benzocyclobutene (BCB), or the like” ¶[0033]; “the insulating layer 24-2 may comprise a photo-sensitive material such as PBO, polyimide, BCB, or the like” ¶[0035]; “insulating layers 24-3, 24-4 and 24-5 may be formed of an organic material, which may be a polymer such as polyimide, PBO, BCB, or the like” ¶[0037]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee (as modified by Park in the rejection of claim 10 above) teaches:
The semiconductor package 100 (Figs. 17A–17B) of claim 11,
wherein the first underfill 56 is between the first semiconductor chips 50A, between the first semiconductor chips 50A and the second semiconductor chips 50B (top row in Fig. 17B), and between the first semiconductor chips 50A and the third semiconductor chips 50B (top row in Fig. 17B).
The specification states: “The package structures 14 [examiner: as shown in Fig. 17B, each package structure 14 is equivalent to one unit of a first semiconductor chip 50A and its surrounding molding material 52] are physically isolated from each other and from the package components 50B by the underfill 56” ¶[0061]. Since the package components 50B include both the present application’s “second semiconductor chips” 50B (top row in Fig. 17B) and “third semiconductor chips” 50B (bottom row in Fig. 17B), in order for the package structures 14 to be “physically isolated from each other and from the package components 50B by the underfill 56” as described in ¶[0061], the underfill 56 is located between the package structures 14 (i.e., between the first semiconductor chips 50A), between the first semiconductor chips 50A and the second semiconductor chips 50B (top row in Fig. 17B), and between the first semiconductor chips 50A and the third semiconductor chips 50B (bottom row in Fig. 17B). This “between” arrangement of the underfill 56 is shown in Fig. 17B by the continuity of the underfill 56 between the package structures 14, and between the package structures 14 and the second/third semiconductor chips 50B.
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over patent application publication US 2023/0395563 A1 by Hsu et al. (“Hsu” hereinafter) in view of patent application publication US 2022/0319944 A1 by Park et al. (“Park” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu teaches:
A semiconductor package 400 (Figs. 4A and 4B, “device package 400” ¶[0068]) comprising:
a package board 402 (“device package substrate 402” ¶[0070]);
an interposer 216 (unlabeled in Fig. 4B, but part of the multi-die package 200 of Fig. 2B that is part of the device package 400 of Fig. 4B) mounted on the package board 402;
a plurality of semiconductor chips 204, 206, 208, 210a, and 210b (Fig. 4A, “active IC dies 204-208” ¶[0044] and “non-active dies 210a and 210b” ¶[0045]) mounted on the interposer 216;
a stiffener 404 (“stiffener structure 404” ¶[0070]) on the package board 402 that extends around the interposer 216 (as shown in Fig. 4A);
a first underfill 214a (“underfill material 214a” ¶[0056]) that surrounds a plurality of first bumps 218 (“The connection structures 218 may include a stud, a pillar, a bump, a solderball, …” ¶[0056]) between the plurality of semiconductor chips 204–208 and 210a–b and the interposer 216; and
a second underfill 410 (“underfill material 410” ¶[0071]) that surrounds a plurality of second bumps 224 (“connection structures 224” ¶[0059]; in the example implementation of Fig. 10B, “the connection structures 224 may include controlled collapse chip connection (C4) bumps, micro bumps, electroless nickel-electroless palladium-immersion gold technique (ENEPIG) formed bumps, and/or another type of conductive structures that are connected to the pad column portions of the connection structures 224” ¶[0103]) between the package board 402 and the interposer 216, and wherein a thickness of the second underfill 410 on a sidewall of the interposer 216 increases in a direction (down) from a first side (top) of the interposer 216 to an opposite, second side (bottom) of the interposer 216.
However, Hsu fails to teach: “wherein a topmost portion of the second underfill is disposed between an upper side of the interposer and a lower side of the interposer.” (As shown in FIG. 4B, a topmost portion of the second underfill 410 is disposed above an upper side of the interposer 216.)
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches a similar semiconductor package (FIG. 2): “a semiconductor package 10 may include a package substrate 100, an interposer 200, first and second semiconductor devices 300 and 400” ¶[0029]; and a stiffener 700.
As shown in FIG. 2, Park teaches that a topmost portion of the second underfill 270 (“third underfill member 270” ¶[0047]) is disposed between an upper side of the interposer 200 and a lower side of the interposer 200. Here, “between” is being interpreted as inclusive of the top edge and the bottom edge of the lateral side of the interposer 200. FIG. 2 appears to show that the topmost portion of the second underfill 270 is located at the same vertical level as the upper side of the interposer. Park’s specification also supports the idea of the second underfill 270 extending at least partway up the lateral sidewall of the interposer 200: “A portion of the third underfill member 270 may extend upwardly from the upper surface of the package substrate 100 to cover a portion of a side surface of the interposer 200 to firmly support the interposer 200” ¶[0047].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsu’s FIG. 4B to have the second underfill 410 only extend up the sidewall of the interposer 216 and not extend above the upper side of the interposer 216, similar to the arrangement shown in Park’s FIG. 2, because Park teaches that such an arrangement will “firmly support the interposer” (see ¶[0047]).
Regarding claim 17, Hsu (as modified by Park in the rejection of claim 10 above) teaches:
The semiconductor package 400 (Figs. 4A–4B) of claim 10,
wherein a region defined by an edge of the interposer 216 and side walls of the plurality of semiconductor chips 204–208 and 210a–b has a width (any of D5–D12 in Fig. 3) that is greater than 50 µm (“one or more of the distances D5–D12 may be included in a range of approximately 60 microns to approximately 150 microns” ¶[0066]).
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over patent application publication US 2023/0420314 A1 by Wang et al. (“Wang” hereinafter) in view of patent application publication US 2022/0319944 A1 by Park et al. (“Park” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches:
A semiconductor package (Fig. 17) comprising:
a package board 200;
an interposer 900 mounted on the package board 200;
a plurality of semiconductor chips 701 and 703 mounted on the interposer 900;
a stiffener 294 (“The stabilization structure 294 may comprise a stiffener structure” ¶[0116]) on the package board 200 that extends around the interposer 900;
a first underfill 950 that surrounds a plurality of first bumps 940 between the plurality of semiconductor chips 701 and 703 and the interposer 900; and
a second underfill 292 that surrounds a plurality of second bumps 290 between the package board 200 and the interposer 900, and wherein a thickness of the second underfill 292 on a sidewall of the interposer 900 increases in a direction (down) from a first side (top) of the interposer 900 to an opposite, second side (bottom) of the interposer 900.
However, Wang fails to teach: “wherein a topmost portion of the second underfill is disposed between an upper side of the interposer and a lower side of the interposer.” (As shown in FIG. 17, a topmost portion of the second underfill 292 is disposed above an upper side of the interposer 900.)
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches a similar semiconductor package (FIG. 2): “a semiconductor package 10 may include a package substrate 100, an interposer 200, first and second semiconductor devices 300 and 400” ¶[0029]; and a stiffener 700.
As shown in FIG. 2, Park teaches that a topmost portion of the second underfill 270 (“third underfill member 270” ¶[0047]) is disposed between an upper side of the interposer 200 and a lower side of the interposer 200. Here, “between” is being interpreted as inclusive of the top edge and the bottom edge of the lateral side of the interposer 200. FIG. 2 appears to show that the topmost portion of the second underfill 270 is located at the same vertical level as the upper side of the interposer. Park’s specification also supports the idea of the second underfill 270 extending at least partway up the lateral sidewall of the interposer 200: “A portion of the third underfill member 270 may extend upwardly from the upper surface of the package substrate 100 to cover a portion of a side surface of the interposer 200 to firmly support the interposer 200” ¶[0047].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s FIG. 17 to have the second underfill 292 only extend up the sidewall of the interposer 900 and not extend above the upper side of the interposer 900, similar to the arrangement shown in Park’s FIG. 2, because Park teaches that such an arrangement will “firmly support the interposer” (see ¶[0047]).
Regarding claim 18, Wang (as modified by Park in the rejection of claim 10 above) teaches:
The semiconductor package (Fig. 17) of claim 10,
wherein the second underfill 292 covers an outer portion of a first side (top) of the package board 200 and an inner portion of the stiffener 294.
Explanation: as shown in Fig. 17, the bottom-left and bottom-right corners of the second underfill 292 appear to be in contact with the bottom of the inner sidewalls of the stiffener 294. Also in Fig. 17, the leftmost and rightmost portions of the second underfill 292 cover an outer portion of the top side of the package board 200.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of patent application publication US 2021/0358866 A1 by Choi (“Choi” hereinafter, corresponding to KR 10-2021-0138223 A from the IDS received on 16 Mar 2026), and further in view of patent application publication US 2022/0319944 A1 by Park et al. (“Park” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches:
A semiconductor package 100 (Figs. 17A and 17B) comprising:
a package board 82;
an interposer 46 mounted on the package board 82;
a plurality of semiconductor chips 50A and 50B comprising two2 first semiconductor chips 50A mounted at a center of a first side (top in Fig. 17A) of the interposer 46, a plurality of second semiconductor chips 50B (top row in Fig. 17B) mounted on the first side (top in Fig. 17A) of the interposer 46 adjacent to a first side (positive-Y side in Fig. 17B) of the first semiconductor chips 50A, and a plurality of third semiconductor chips 50B (bottom row in Fig. 17B) mounted on the first side (top in Fig. 17A) of the interposer 46 adjacent to an opposite, second side (negative-Y side) of the first semiconductor chips 50A;
a stiffener 90 on the package board 82 that extends around the interposer 46;
a first underfill 56 that surrounds a plurality of first bumps 44 between the plurality of semiconductor chips 50A and 50B and the interposer 46, and wherein the first underfill 56 is between3 the first semiconductor chips 50A, between the first semiconductor chips 50A and the second semiconductor chips 50B (top row in Fig. 17B), and between the first semiconductor chips 50A and the third semiconductor chips 50B (bottom row in Fig. 17B); and
a second underfill 86 that surrounds a plurality of second bumps 70 and 72 between the package board 82 and the interposer 46, and wherein a thickness of the second underfill 86 on a sidewall of the interposer 46 increases in a direction (down) from the first side (top) of the interposer 46 to an opposite, second side (bottom) of the interposer 46,
wherein the interposer 46 has a rectangular configuration (as shown in the top view of Fig. 17B).
However, Lee fails to teach:
“a molding part between the second semiconductor chips and between the third semiconductor chips”; and
“the interposer has a rectangular configuration with corners and at least one rounded side surface”.
In an analogous semiconductor package, Choi discloses a semiconductor package (Figs. 8–10) comprising:
a package board 100 (Figs. 9–10);
an interposer 110 mounted on the package board 100;
a plurality of semiconductor chips 120 and 130 comprising one first semiconductor chip 130 mounted at a center of a first side (top in Fig. 10) of the interposer 110, a plurality of second semiconductor chips 120 (left column in Fig. 9) mounted on the first side (top in Fig. 10) of the interposer 110 adjacent to a first side (negative-DR1 side in Fig. 9) of the first semiconductor chip 130, and a plurality of third semiconductor chips 120 (right column in Fig. 9) mounted on the first side (top in Fig. 10) of the interposer 110 adjacent to an opposite, second side (positive-DR1 side in Fig. 9) of the first semiconductor chip 130;
a stiffener 160 (Fig. 10, “heat sink 160” ¶[0032]) on the package board 100 that extends around the interposer 110;
a first underfill 152 that surrounds a plurality of first bumps 143 between the plurality of semiconductor chips 120 and 130 and the interposer 110;
a molding part 270 (“first mold layer 270” ¶[0081]) between (as shown in Figs. 8–9) the second semiconductor chips 120 (left column in Fig. 9) and between (as shown in Figs. 8–9) the third semiconductor chips 120 (right column in Fig. 9); and
a second underfill 151 that surrounds a plurality of second bumps 142 between the package board 100 and the interposer 110,
wherein the interposer 110 has a rectangular configuration (as shown in the isometric view of Fig. 8 and the top view of Fig. 9) with corners (“the interposer 110 is shown in FIG. 2 as having a rectangular shape with curved corners” ¶[0043]) and at least one rounded side surface4 110s3 (see ¶[0041–0043], ¶[0082–0083], and compare Figs. 1–2 with Figs. 8–9; “the interposer 110 may comprise four third sidewalls 110s3 having a curved surface shape which each connects a first sidewall 110s1 to a second sidewall 110s2” ¶[0043]).
As described above, Choi’s semiconductor package of Figs. 8–10 shares many features in common with Lee’s semiconductor package 100 of Figs. 17A–17B, demonstrating that these two semiconductor packages are closely analogous to one another. Additionally, the features from Choi marked in bold text above are the specific features of the present claim that are missing from Lee.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s semiconductor package 100 of Figs. 17A–17B to include a molding part between the second semiconductor chips 50B (top row in Fig. 17B) and between the third semiconductor chips 50B (bottom row in Fig. 17B) similar to Choi’s molding part 270 in Figs. 8–10, which is located between the second semiconductor chips 120 (left column in Fig. 9) and between the third semiconductor chips 120 (right column in Fig. 9). The reasons for obviousness are twofold:
First, moldings or encapsulations surrounding semiconductor chips and located between semiconductor chips within a semiconductor package are well-known features of semiconductor packages for purposes such as mechanical support, protection against mechanical damage, thermal management, and/or protection from moisture or oxidation. When added to Lee’s semiconductor package 100 of Figs. 17A–17B, Choi’s “first mold layer 270” would merely perform the same function as it presently does in Choi’s Figs. 8–10 to “wrap each sidewall of the second semiconductor chip 120 and the third semiconductor chip 130” Choi ¶[0081].
Second, Lee’s semiconductor package 100 of Figs. 17A–17B already has a molding part located between the second and third semiconductor chips 50B; that is, the feature labeled as 56, in addition to being an underfill 56 surrounding the first bumps 44 between the layer of semiconductor chips 50A–50B and the interposer 46 (as shown in the cross-sectional view of Fig. 17A), also extends upward to be located between (as shown in the top view of Fig. 17B) adjacent semiconductor chips 50B, which includes both the second semiconductor chips (top row of chips 50B in Fig. 17B) and the third semiconductor chips (bottom row of chips 50B in Fig. 17B). Thus, a lower part of the feature labeled 56 in Figs. 17A–17B acts as the first underfill 56, and an upper part of the feature labeled 56 acts as the molding part 56. Incorporating Choi’s molding part 270 from Figs. 8–10 into Lee’s semiconductor package 100 of Figs. 17A–17B is equivalent to replacing the upper part of the feature labeled 56 in Figs. 17A–17B with Choi’s molding part 270. A person of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the upper part of the feature labeled 56 in Lee’s Figs. 17A–17B with a separate molding part, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. That is, it would have been obvious to use two separate encapsulations (an underfill under the chips and a molding layer between the chips) instead of a single encapsulation acting as both underfill material under the chips and molding material between the chips.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s semiconductor package 100 of Figs. 17A–17B by rounding the four corners of the rectangular interposer 46 in the top view of Fig. 17B in order to prevent the formation of cracks in the interposer 46, as suggested by Choi: “Aspects of the present inventive concepts provide a semiconductor package with increased reliability, by forming at least a partial portion of a sidewall of an interposer into a curved surface that prevents a crack from being generated in a lower portion of the interposer” ¶[0005] (see also ¶[0071]). In modifying the four sharp, right-angled corners of the rectangular interposer 46 in the top view of Lee’s Fig. 17B to instead be rounded corners similar to Choi’s rounded corners in Figs. 8–9, the sidewalls that extend from the rounded corners in the thickness direction of the interposer would necessarily become curved sidewalls that connect adjacent planar sidewalls of the interposer.
However, Lee also fails to teach:
“wherein a topmost portion of the second underfill is disposed between an upper side of the interposer and a lower side of the interposer.”
(As shown in FIG. 17A, a topmost portion of the second underfill 86 is disposed above an upper side of the interposer 46.)
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches a similar semiconductor package (FIG. 2): “a semiconductor package 10 may include a package substrate 100, an interposer 200, first and second semiconductor devices 300 and 400” ¶[0029]; and a stiffener 700.
As shown in FIG. 2, Park teaches that a topmost portion of the second underfill 270 (“third underfill member 270” ¶[0047]) is disposed between an upper side of the interposer 200 and a lower side of the interposer 200. Here, “between” is being interpreted as inclusive of the top edge and the bottom edge of the lateral side of the interposer 200. FIG. 2 appears to show that the topmost portion of the second underfill 270 is located at the same vertical level as the upper side of the interposer. Park’s specification also supports the idea of the second underfill 270 extending at least partway up the lateral sidewall of the interposer 200: “A portion of the third underfill member 270 may extend upwardly from the upper surface of the package substrate 100 to cover a portion of a side surface of the interposer 200 to firmly support the interposer 200” ¶[0047].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lee’s FIG. 17A to have the second underfill 86 only extend up the sidewall of the interposer 46 and not extend above the upper side of the interposer 46, similar to the arrangement shown in Park’s FIG. 2, because Park teaches that such an arrangement will “firmly support the interposer” (see ¶[0047]).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The examiner notes that in the interview on 21 May 2026, Applicant’s attorney Andrew P. Schlaus proposed an amendment to independent claims 10 and 19 that included the following limitation: “wherein the interposer has a rectangular configuration with at least one rounded edge connecting the second surface to a side surface.” (This proposed amendment was not included in the amended claims dated 2 Jul 2026.) In the interview, the examiner agreed that such an amendment would overcome the previous rejections of independent claims 10 and 19 under 35 USC § 102 and 103. This is because the “Choi” reference (US 2021/0358866 A1) that was previously used to reject the last part of claim 19 (“wherein the interposer has a rectangular configuration with rounded corners and at least one rounded side surface”), only showed rounded corners in a top/plan view, not in a side view. Thus, Choi’s FIGS. 8–10 do not show that the interposer 110 has “at least one rounded edge connecting the second [i.e., bottom] surface to a side surface”.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of Yeh, Park, Lee, Hsu, Wang, and Choi, either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious that
“the molding part comprises a filler having a size greater than 1.5 times a filler in the first underfill and second underfill”
in combination with all other limitations in the claim as claimed and defined by applicant.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of Lee, Choi, and Park, as applied in combination in the rejection of claim 19, upon which claim 20 depends, fails to anticipate or render obvious that
“the second underfill covers an outer portion of a first side of the package board and an inner portion of the stiffener”
in combination with all other limitations in the claim as claimed and defined by applicant.
Although the prior art of Wang cited above in the rejection of claim 18 shows in Fig. 17 an arrangement in which the second underfill 292 covers an outer portion of a first side (top) of the package board 200 and an inner portion of the stiffener 294, Wang provides no particular reason or motivation for this arrangement.
In the examiner’s view, in light of the prior art thus far found from searching or provided by the applicant in the IDS, it would not be obvious to further modify Lee’s semiconductor package 100 (Figs. 17A and 17B), after the modification described in the rejection of claim 19 above, to include the feature of the second underfill 86 extending outward to cover an inner portion of the stiffener 90.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Relevant to an interposer having rounded corners:
US 2022/0189861 A1—see Fig. 5B and ¶[0048]
Relevant to “a topmost portion of the second underfill is disposed between an upper side of the interposer and a lower side of the interposer” (independent claims 10 and 19, amendments dated 2 Jul 2026):
US 2021/0384143 A1—see Fig. 2
US 2022/0392844 A1—see Fig. 2
US 2023/0386946 A1—see Fig. 13
US 2022/0367312 A1—see Fig. 1H
US 2023/0378036 A1—see Fig. 1B
US 2022/0367311 A1—see Fig. 1F
US 2024/0071890 A1—see Fig. 1A
US 2024/0014115 A1—see Fig. 11
US 2024/0014147 A1—see Fig. 1A
US 2022/0367314 A1—see Fig. 1F
US 2022/0199577 A1—see Fig. 3
US 2022/0077039 A1—see Fig. 7
US 2021/0384143 A1—see Fig. 2
US 10,770,369 B2 (from the IDS)—see Fig. 1
US 2019/0051621 A1—Fig. 1
US 9,899,305 B1—see Fig. 1
Relevant to “the second underfill covers an outer portion of a first side of the package board and an inner portion of the stiffener” in claim 18:
US 2024/0030076 A1—see Fig. 10
US 2024/0071949 A1—see Fig. 21
US 2023/0064277 A1—see FIG. 9B
Relevant to the interposer having insulating layers comprising “a silicon material” or “a low dielectric constant (low-k) material having a dielectric constant lower than that of a silicon material” in claim 15:
US 2022/0068756 A1 (corresponding to KR 10-2022-0030551 A from the IDS)—see Fig. 2 and ¶[0037]: “The interlayer insulating film 220 may include, for example, but is not limited to, at least one of silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride and a low-k material having a lower dielectric constant than silicon oxide” ¶[0037]
Relevant to “the first semiconductor chips comprise an ASIC (claim 12) and are “mounted at a center of the first side of the interposer” (claim 11):
US 2022/0319944 A1—see Fig. 1 and ¶[0090]
US 2022/0068881 A1—see Fig. 20 and ¶[0022, 0079]
US 2022/0068756 A1 (corresponding to KR 10-2022-0030551 A from the IDS)—see Fig. 13 and ¶[0040, 0042]
US 2022/0013474 A1 (from the IDS)—see Fig. 1 and ¶[0023]
US 2021/0384143 A1—see Fig. 1 and ¶[0044]
US 2022/0392844 A1—see Fig. 1 and ¶[0042]
The following references appear to teach most of the features of claim 10:
US 2023/0386946 A1—see Fig. 12
US 2022/0367312 A1—see Fig. 1H
US 2023/0378036 A1—see Fig. 1B
US 2022/0367311 A1—see Fig. 1F
US 2024/0071847 A1—see Fig. 17
US 2024/0071890 A1—see Fig. 1A
US 2024/0063087 A1—see Fig. 1A
US 2024/0014115 A1—see Fig. 12
US 2024/0014147 A1—see Fig. 1A
US 2023/0386945 A1—see Fig. 15A
US 2023/0378092 A1—see Fig. 16A
US 2023/0378042 A1—see Fig. 2B
US 2023/0066752 A1—see Fig. 2A
US 2022/0310501 A1—see Fig. 21
US 2023/0064277 A1—see Fig. 3
US 2023/0048302 A1—see Fig. 1E
US 2022/0367314 A1—see Fig. 1F
US 2022/0328445 A1—see Fig. 2B
US 2022/0319944 A1—see Fig. 2
US 2022/0199577 A1—see Fig. 3
US 2022/0077039 A1—see Fig. 7
US 2022/0068756 A1 (corresponding to KR 10-2022-0030551 A from the IDS)—see Fig. 2
US 2022/0013496 A1—see Fig. 6
US 2021/0384143 A1—see Fig. 2
US 10,770,369 B2 (from the IDS)—see Fig. 1
US 2020/0006181 A1—Fig. 9B
US 2019/0051621 A1—Figs. 1 and 6
US 9,899,305 B1—see Fig. 1
/A.J.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817
1 In the broadest reasonable interpretation, since the claim does not state that there must be “exactly two first semiconductor chips”, the four chips 50A satisfy the claimed requirement that there must be two first semiconductor chips mounted at a center of the interposer.
2 In the broadest reasonable interpretation, since the claim does not state that there must be “exactly two first semiconductor chips”, the four chips 50A satisfy the claimed requirement that there must be two first semiconductor chips mounted at a center of the interposer.
3 See the rejection of claim 16 above for a detailed explanation of the three underlined “between” statements based on Fig. 17B and ¶[0061].
4 The applicant may wish to amend claim 19 to be more specific about the location of the “at least one rounded side surface”. For instance, to describe a feature of the embodiment of Figs. 16a–16b, it could be stated that “at least one peripheral edge of the second side of the interposer is a rounded edge in a cross-sectional view, wherein the rounded edge provides a curved transition from the second side of the interposer to a sidewall of the interposer”.