DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7, 9-14, and 16-20 in the reply filed on 4/13/26 is acknowledged. With respect to species restriction, examiner agreed with the election of species, 1, 2, and 4 of figs. 1-5 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US pub 2023008928).
With respect to claim 1, Han et al. teach an apparatus comprising (see figs. 1-18, particularly fig. 1 and fig. 17 stage IV and associated text):
a semiconductor die 106, 112, 114;
a substrate 108, 400, 600, 800, 1000 including a glass core 1608; and
a pluggable interconnect including a portion of the glass core, the pluggable interconnect including a transmission line 1610,1622 extending along the portion of the glass core.
With respect to claim 2, Han et al. teach the substrate includes a first build-up region 1620 (upper) on a first side of the glass core and a second build-up region 1620 (lower) on a second side of the glass core, the pluggable interconnect protruding beyond a lateral edge of at least one of the first build- up region or the second build-up region. See fig. 17 state IV and associated text.
With respect to claim 3, Han et al. teach the portion of the glass core associated with the pluggable interconnect is exposed to an environment external to the apparatus. See fig. 17 stage IV and associated text.
With respect to claim 4, Han et al. teach the transmission line extends along an exterior surface the glass core. See fig. 17 state IV and associated text.
With respect to claim 5, Han et al. teach the transmission line extends through an interior of the glass core in a direction substantially parallel to exterior surfaces of the glass core. See fig. 17 stage IV and associated text.
With respect to claim 6, Han et al. teach the glass core includes a first glass layer (left 1608) and a second glass layer (right 1608), the transmission line between the first and second glass layers. See fig. 17 stage IV and associated text.
With respect to claim 9, Han et al. teach the transmission line is one of a plurality of transmission lines included in the pluggable interconnect. See fig. 17 stage IV and associated text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US pub 2023008928) in combination with Crane, Jr. et al. (US pat 7123465).
With respect to claim 10, Han et al. fail to teach providing a socket to receive the pluggable interconnect. See claim 20.
Crane, Jr. et al. teach proving a socket to receive a pluggable interconnect to allow electrical interconnections of devices or components. See claim 20.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to incorporate the teaching of Crane, Jr. et al.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US pub 2023008928) in combination with Crane, Jr. et al. (US pat 7123465).
With respect to claim 18, Han et al. teach an apparatus comprising (see figs. 1-18, particularly fig. 1 and fig. 17 stage IV and associated text):
means for supporting 108, 400, 600, 800, 1000 a semiconductor die 106, 112,114;
means for strengthening (glass core) the means for supporting, the means for strengthening including means for a plug connector 1610, 1622; and
means for transmitting 1610, 1622 a signal within the means for inserting.
Han et al. fail to teach providing a socket to receive the pluggable interconnect. See claim 20.
Crane, Jr. et al. teach proving a socket to receive a pluggable interconnect to allow electrical interconnections of devices or components. See claim 20.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to incorporate the teaching of Crane, Jr. et al.
With respect to claim 19, Han et al. in combination with Crane, Jr. et al. teach means for communicatively coupling the means for transmitting with a transmission line in the plug connector. See above rejection.
With respect to claim 20, Han et al. in combination with Crane, Jr. et al. teach means for aligning (this is inherent or mentally, plug has to be aligned to be inserted into the socket) the means for inserting with the plug connector. See above rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11-12, 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Cited References
The cited references generally show the similar or related structure a substrate having a pluggable interconnect, a glass core, and a connector as presently claimed by applicant.
Conclusion
LONG . PHAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2823
/LONG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897