Applicant's amendment/arguments filed on 12/23/25 as being acknowledged and entered. By this amendment claims 1-20 are pending and claims 10 and 16 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kamgaing et al. (US PGPub 2024/0405433).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim 1: Kamgaing teaches (Fig. 1) an apparatus comprising: a semiconductor die (102); a package substrate(110) supporting the semiconductor die, the package substrate including a glass core (112) [0032], the glass core having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; and an antenna (104-2), at least part of the antenna between the first and second surfaces of the glass core.
Claim 2: Kamgaing teaches (Fig. 1) the antenna is a first antenna, the apparatus including a second antenna (104-3) within the glass core, the second antenna spaced from the first antenna.
Claim 3: Kamgaing teaches [0024-0028] the first antenna is electrically coupled to the semiconductor die, and the second antenna is electrically coupled to a contact pad on the package substrate, the contact pad to enable the package substrate to be electrically coupled to a printed circuit board, the semiconductor die to transmit a signal to the contact pad corresponding to a radio frequency signal between the first and second antennas.
Claim 4: Kamgaing teaches [0076-0085] the semiconductor die is a first semiconductor die, the apparatus including a second semiconductor die supported by the package substrate, the first semiconductor die to communicate with the second semiconductor die based on radio frequency signals between the first and second antennas.
Claim 13: Kamgaing teaches [0032] the glass core includes a first glass layer and a second glass layer adjacent the first glass layer, a portion of the antenna between the first and second glass layers.
Claim 14: Kamgaing teaches (Fig. 2B-2C) an apparatus comprising: a glass core (112); a first build-up region (115) [0030] on a first side of the glass core; a second build-up region on a second side of the glass core; and an antenna (104-1) at least partially embedded within and in contact with the glass core.
Claim(s) 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh et al. (US PGPub 2015/0130681)
Claim 14: Hsieh teaches (Fig. 1A) an apparatus comprising: a glass core (111) [0018]; a first build-up region (113) on a first side of the glass core; a second build-up region (101) on a second side of the glass core; and an antenna (123) at least partially embedded within and in contact with the glass core.
Claim 15: Hsieh teaches (Fig. 1A) the antenna extends (105) beyond the class core into at least one of the first or second build-up regions
Claim 17: Hsieh teaches (Fig. 1A) the antenna includes a reflector, the reflector defined by metal in at least two layers (105, 107) in the first build-up region, the metal electrically coupled by a via extending through a dielectric layer in the first build-up region.
Claim(s) 1-5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng et al. (US PGPub 2020/0196440)
Claim 1: Tseng teaches (Fig. 2B-2C) an apparatus comprising: a semiconductor die (152/154); a package substrate supporting the semiconductor die, the package substrate including a glass core (170,171), the glass core having a first surface (left most surface) and a second surface (right most surface) opposite the first surface; and an antenna (180), at least part of the antenna between the first and second surfaces of the glass core.
Claim 2: Tseng teaches (Fig. 2B-2C) the antenna is a first antenna, the apparatus including a second antenna (184) within the glass core, the second antenna spaced from the first antenna.
Claim 3: Tseng teaches (Fig. 2B-2C) the first antenna is electrically coupled to the semiconductor die, and the second antenna is electrically coupled to a contact pad on the package substrate, the contact pad to enable the package substrate to be electrically coupled to a printed circuit board, the semiconductor die to transmit a signal to the contact pad corresponding to a radio frequency signal between the first and second antennas.
Claim 4: Tseng teaches (Fig. 2B-2C) [0037] the semiconductor die is a first semiconductor die, the apparatus including a second semiconductor die supported by the package substrate, the first semiconductor die to communicate with the second semiconductor die based on radio frequency signals between the first and second antennas.
Claim 5: Tseng teaches (Fig. 2B-2C) a third antenna within the glass core, the third antenna spaced from the first antenna and spaced from the second antenna, at least one of the first, second, and third antennas to broadcast signals to the others of the first, second, and third antennas.
Claim 13: Tseng teaches (Fig. 2B-2C) the glass core includes a first glass layer and a second glass layer adjacent the first glass layer, a portion of the antenna between the first and second glass layers.
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 6-9 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-20 are allowed
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious all the limitations in independent claim 18, specifically the means for reflecting the signal to be within the means of radiating the signal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814