DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action responds to the Amendment filed 2 February 2026. By this amendment, claims 1-24 are amended. Claims 1-25 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bae et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0045003).
Regarding claim 1, Bae et al disclose a semiconductor structure comprising:
a plurality of first type of lines 460c in a first metal level with a first line width and a first height, wherein each line of the plurality of first type of lines has a wider top surface than a bottom surface [see Fig. 1A]; and
a second type of line in the first metal level with a second line width that is narrower than the first line width in the first metal level, wherein:
a single line of the second type of line is an only line separating adjacent first type of lines; and
the second type of line has the wider top surface than the bottom surface [see Fig. 1A].
Regarding claim 2, Bae et al disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 1, furthermore comprising:
a plurality of first vias 310, wherein each of the plurality of first vias connects a line selected from the group consisting of: (i) the plurality of first type of lines and (ii) the second type line, to a second backside metal level 160, wherein the first metal level is a first backside metal level [see Fig. 1A].
Regarding claim 3, Bae et al disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 2, furthermore wherein each of the plurality of first type of lines and the second type of line connect by a via of a plurality of second vias to a through-silicon via of a plurality of through-silicon vias [see Fig. 1A].
Regarding claim 4, Bae et al disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 2, furthermore comprising:
a third backside metal level includes a plurality of second backside first type of lines and second backside second type of line, wherein the second backside second type of line is between two adjacent lines of the plurality of second backside first type of lines; and
a plurality of third vias connecting: (i) the plurality of second backside first type of lines and (ii) the second backside second type of line, to the second backside metal level.
Regarding claim 10, Bae et al disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 2, furthermore wherein each of the plurality of first type of lines and the second type of line connect by a via of a plurality of second vias to a metal level that is closer to a backside of a semiconductor substrate than the first backside metal level [see Fig. 1A].
Regarding claim 11, Bae et al disclose a semiconductor structure comprising:
a plurality of first type of lines with a first line width in a first backside metal level, wherein each of the plurality of first type of lines have a wider top surface than a bottom surface; and
a second type of line in the first backside metal level with a second line width that is less than the first line width, wherein:
each of the second type of line is between adjacent first type of lines; and
a single line of the second type of line is an only line separating two adjacent first type of lines [see Fig. 1A].
Regarding claim 12, Bae et al disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 11, furthermore comprising:
a plurality of first vias connecting each of the plurality of first type of lines and the second type line to one of a plurality of through-silicon via, wherein the second type line with the wider top surface than the line bottom surface has a different height than the first type of lines [see Fig. 1A]; and
a plurality of second vias connecting each of the plurality of first type lines and the second type line to second backside metal level [see Fig. 1A].
Regarding claim 13, Bae et al disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 11, furthermore comprising:
a plurality of first vias connecting each of the plurality of first type of lines and the second type line to a second metal level closer a backside of a semiconductor substrate than the first metal level [see Fig. 1A]; and
a plurality of second vias connecting each of the plurality of first type lines and the second type line to a third backside metal level under the first backside metal level, wherein the second type has a top surface that is below a top surface of the plurality of the first type of lines [see Fig. 1A].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding dependent claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements, wherein the second type line has a top surface that is above the top surface of the plurality of first type lines; regarding dependent claims 6 and 7, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements, wherein the second type line has a top surface that is level with a bottom surface of the plurality of first type of lines; regarding dependent claim 8, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements, wherein the second type line has a top surface below a top surface of the plurality of first type of lines and above a bottom surface of the plurality of first type of lines; and regarding dependent claim 9, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements, wherein each of the more than one second type line has a different height.
Claims 14-25 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 14, and claims 15-20 which depend therefrom, and as previously noted in the Non-Final Rejection dated 17 November 2025, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements, wherein the second type line has a second line width that is wider than the first line width, and wherein each of the second type line is between adjacent first type of lines.
Regarding independent claim 21, and claims 22 and 23 which depend therefrom, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements, both wherein a single line of the second type of line is an only line separating two adjacent first type of lines of the plurality of first type of lines, and a backside second type of line in the first backside metal level with a fourth line width that is narrower than the third line width.
Regarding independent claim 24, and claim 25 which depends therefrom, the prior art of record fails to teach or make reasonably obvious, in combination with the other claimed elements, wherein the third trench is etched between the two first type of lines using a damascene process, specifically wherein this etching occurs subsequent to depositing the metal material in the first two trenches.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 10-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /VICTOR A MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899