Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narumi et al. (JP 2010200433 A) (Of record, cited in IDS), hereafter referred to as Narumi.
With regards to claim 1, Narumi discloses the claimed power module (1) (Fig. 1), comprising: a semiconductor module (3) (Fig. 1) having a semiconductor element (31) (Fig. 1), a terminal (33, 34) (Fig. 1) connected to the semiconductor element (See Fig. 1), and a resin portion (32) (Fig. 1) covering each of the semiconductor element and the terminal (See Fig. 1; Semiconductor elements 31 are surrounded by the resin, which would require the terminals to also be surrounded / partially covered in order to make contact); and a cooling device (4) (Fig. 2) having a cooling unit (40) (Fig. 2) provided in the semiconductor module so as to be capable of conducting heat (See Fig. 2; Tubes 4a and 4b of 40 sandwich 3 so as to conduct heat from it), a supply pipe (44) (Figs. 1, 3) configured to supply refrigerant to an interior of the cooling unit (Supplies pipes 40; See Figs. 1, 3), and a discharge pipe (Opposite to pipe 44; See Fig. 1) configured to discharge the refrigerant that has flowed inside the cooling unit (Exit point of fluid from pipes 40; See Fig. 1), wherein the supply pipe and the discharge pipe are spaced apart in a lateral direction (i.e., left-right relative to Fig. 1) orthogonal to an alignment direction (i.e., up-down relative to Fig. 1) in which the semiconductor module and the cooling unit are aligned (The semiconductor modules and cooling unit are aligned along the up-down direction orthogonal to left-right; see Fig. 1), the supply pipe (44) (Fig. 1) and the discharge pipe (Opposite to pipe 44) (Fig. 1) face the semiconductor module in a vertical direction (i.e., a direction out of the page relative to Fig. 1) orthogonal to the lateral direction and the alignment direction (a direction out of the page would be orthogonal to both the left-right and up-down directions, relative to Fig. 1), in a plane perpendicular to the alignment direction (the alignment direction being up-down relative to Fig. 1, with Fig. 2 being an example of such a perpendicular plane), (i) the cooling unit forms a C-shape (See Annotated Figs. 2 and 3 below. Pipes 44 are not shown in Fig. 2, but would form a C-shape if pictured, as shown in the annotated figure.) and (ii) the supply pipe and discharge pipe are respectively provided at both ends of the C-shaped cooling unit (See annotated Figs. 2 and 3 below, supply and discharge pipes 44),
Annotated Figs. 2 and 3
the terminal has a first terminal (Upstream terminal of 33) (Fig. 1) connected to a first electrode of the semiconductor element (Terminals must connect to the semiconductor through an electrode, i.e., an upstream electrode) (Fig. 1), a second terminal (Downstream terminal of 33) (Fig. 1) connected to a second electrode of the semiconductor element (Terminals must connect to the semiconductor through an electrode, i.e., a downstream electrode) (Fig. 1), and a control terminal (34) (Fig. 1) configured to control energization between the first electrode and the second electrode of the semiconductor element (Terminal 34 acts as the control terminal for a transistor; See Fig. 1), and in a surrounding area (Between 4a and 4b, pipes of 40) (Fig. 2) surrounded by a portion of the cooling unit where the semiconductor module is provided (See Fig. 2) and a portion of the cooling unit connected to the supply pipe and the discharge pipe (Pipes of 40 are connected to the supply pipe 44 and associated discharge pipe opposite; See Fig. 1), a part of the portion of the first terminal exposed from the resin portion or a part of the portion of the second terminal exposed from the resin portion is located (Best visible in Fig. 2; the terminals extend from 3 between the pipes 4a and 4b.).
With regards to claim 3, Narumi discloses all as applied to claim 1, and additionally discloses:
wherein the cooling unit (40) (Fig. 2) has a facing portion (The upper portion of 4b) (Fig. 2) aligned with the resin portion in the alignment direction (The upper surface of 4b and the resin are aligned along an up-down direction relative to Fig. 1), a first arm portion (Base of 44) (Figs. 1, 3) extending in the vertical direction (Out of the page, relative to Fig. 1) from the facing portion (See Figs. 3, 1), and a second arm portion (Base of second pipe of 44, on the right of Fig. 1) spaced apart from the first arm portion in the lateral direction (Spaced left-right relative to Fig. 1) and extending in the vertical direction from the facing portion (Extending out of the page relative to Fig. 1, from the upper portion of 4b.), and the surrounding area (Between 4a and 4b, pipes of 40) (Fig. 2) is an area surrounded by the first arm portion, the second arm portion, and the facing portion (See Fig. 2; With the first and second arms being the base of the pipes of 44, those portions along with the upper surface of 4b would at least partially surround the ‘surrounding area’.).
With regards to claims 4, Narumi discloses all as applied to claim 1, and additionally discloses:
wherein a plurality of the semiconductor modules (3) (Fig. 1) are arranged in the lateral direction (Two rows, arranged left-right; See Fig. 1), and at least one of the plurality of semiconductor modules (3) (Fig. 1) faces one of the supply pipe (Left pipe of 44) (Fig. 1) and the discharge pipe (Right pipe of 44) (Fig. 1) in the vertical direction (Best visible in Fig. 3, the upper surface of 3 faces the supply and discharge pipes.).
With regards to claim 5, Narumi discloses all as applied to claim 3, and additionally discloses:
wherein a position (The point in each pipe of 44 closest to the bottom of Fig. 1) in the lateral direction of each of the supply pipe (Left pipe of 44) (Fig. 1) and the discharge pipe (Right pipe of 44) (Fig. 1) is located between two side surfaces (Leftmost and rightmost sides of power modules 3) aligned in the lateral direction in the facing portion (Power modules 3 are located on the facing portion, the upper surface of pipe 4b. With respect to the lateral direction, i.e., left-right, the bottommost point on each pipes is between the leftmost and rightmost sides of the power modules 3.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see lines 16-18 of page 9 and lines 5-11 of page 10, filed 06/10/2026, with respect to the newly amended subject matter of independent claims 6, 7, and 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 6-17 have been withdrawn.
With regards to the arguments directed to independent claim 1, beginning on line 19 of page 9, Applicant briefly recites the amended language of claim 1. Applicant continues, and notes that Narumi’s alignment direction is up-down relative to Fig. 1, with Fig. 3 of Narumi being “cut” perpendicular to that direction. While the Office agrees that up-down in Fig. 1 is in the alignment direction, the plane of Fig. 3 of Narumi would be perpendicular to the lateral direction (i.e., left-right relative to Fig. 1), rather than the alignment direction. To be more specific, the Office considers the language of “in a plane perpendicular to the alignment direction” as referring to a plane with the alignment direction being normal/orthogonal to the surface of said plane. The “cut” made in Fig. 3 of Narumi creates a plane in the alignment and vertical directions, with the lateral direction being normal/orthogonal to the surface. The Office generally agrees with the points made with regards to there not being a C-shape in Fig. 3 of Narumi, but the current claim language does not reflect the arguments presented. Attention is drawn to the annotated Figs. 2 and 3 presented in the claim 1 rejection, which more clearly lay out the positioning of the inlet and outlet pipes and the C-shape referenced by the Office within Narumi.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the device as recited in the subject matter of independent claims 6, 7, and 14, at least in part, because claims 6, 7, and 14 recite the limitations:
(Claim 6): “…an axis of one of the first terminal and the second terminal (i) is non-parallel to the supply pipe and the discharge pipe and (ii) extends toward one of the supply pipe and the discharge pipe in the vertical direction.”
(Claim 7): “…an axis of the supply pipe extends in the alignment direction and is connected to the first arm portion, and an axis of the discharge pipe extends in the alignment direction and is connected to the second arm portion.”
(Claim 14): “…in a plane parallel to the lateral direction and the vertical direction, (i) the first arm portion is between the supply pipe and the plurality of semiconductor modules and (ii) the second arm portion is between the discharge pipe and the plurality of semiconductor modules, and in the plane parallel to the lateral direction and the vertical direction, a part of the supply pipe and a part of the discharge pipe are located in a surrounding area surrounded by the first arm portion, the second arm portion, and the facing portion.”
The aforementioned limitations, in combination with all remaining limitations of independent claims 6, 7, and 14, are believed to render the subject matter as allowable over the prior art references of record, taken either alone or in combination.
Narumi et al. (JP 2010200433 A) (Of record, cited in IDS) is believed to be the closest prior art reference, and is discussed above.
However, Narumi fails to disclose, at least, the aforementioned allowable limitations of independent claims 6, 7, and 14.
The remaining prior art references teach various systems for cooling transistors, particularly those that form a “U” or “C” shape similar in form to the instant Application. However, none of the prior art references, taken alone or in combination, are believed to teach and/or suggest the aforementioned allowable limitations of independent claims 6, 7, and 14.
Finally, the Office has not identified any double patenting issues. For all of the reasons outlined above, it is believed that the instant Application contains allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841