DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Receipt of the Amendment, filed on June 9, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-21 are pending in the instant application.
The indicated allowability of claim 21 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Beak et al. (US 10,651,258). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2021/0050391 A1) in view of Bang et al. (US 2018/0123073 A1, of record).
Regarding claims 1, Son discloses a pixel comprising: a via layer (VIA) disposed on a substrate (CS); a first electrode (181) disposed on the via layer; a pixel defining layer (PDL) disposed on the first electrode, the pixel defining layer (PDL) including comprising an upper surface, upper and lower angled sidewalls, which are oppositely angled, and an overhang between the upper and lower angled sidewalls (Fig. 2), the upper angled sidewall defining an opening exposing a portion of the first electrode (181); an emission layer (EL) disposed on the portion of the first electrode (181) and on respective entireties of the upper angled sidewall and the upper surface of the pixel defining layer (PDL); and a second electrode disposed on an entirety of the emission layer (¶[0060]), wherein: the via layer (VIA) extends continuously below the pixel defining layer and defines a via hole that does not overlap the pixel defining layer in a thickness direction (Fig. 2), the first electrode (181) terminates at the lower angled sidewall and includes a layer disposed in the via layer (Fig. 2).
Son fails to state wherein the first electrode includes: a first layer disposed on the via layer, and a second layer disposed between the first layer and the overhang of the pixel defining layer, the first layer includes a plurality of sub-insulating layers, each of the plurality of sub-insulating layers including a first sub-layer and a second sub-layer that are sequentially stacked, and the first sub-layer and the second sub-layer have different refractive indices.
Bang discloses a pixel (Fig. 10) comprising: a via layer (250) disposed on a substrate (111); a first electrode (261) disposed on the via layer (250); a pixel defining layer (270) disposed on the first electrode (120), the pixel defining layer (270) including an opening exposing a portion of the first electrode; an emission layer (262) disposed on the portion of the first electrode (120) and the pixel defining layer (270); and a second electrode (263) disposed on the emission layer, wherein the first electrode includes: a first layer (266) disposed on the via layer, and a second layer (261) disposed between the first layer (261) and the pixel defining layer (270), the first layer (226) includes a plurality of sub-insulating layers (266a, 266b), each of the plurality of sub-insulating layers including a first sub-layer and a second sub-layer that are sequentially stacked, and the first sub-layer and the second sub-layer have different refractive indices (¶s[0095, 0127]) in order to provide a distributed Bragg reflector generating constructive interference to reflect light having a particular wavelength. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the first electrode including a first layer and a second layer as disclosed by Bang in the pixel of Son in order to provide a distributed Bragg reflector generating constructive interference to reflect light having a particular wavelength.
Regarding claim 2, Son in view of Bang further discloses a pixel wherein the first layer includes a Bragg reflection layer to reflect light toward the second layer, the light that is emitted from the emission layer and transmitted toward the via layer (¶[0095] of Bang). Same obviousness rationale stated in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claim 3, Son in view of Bang discloses a pixel wherein the first sub-layer includes a first inorganic layer having a first refractive index, and the second sub-layer includes a second inorganic layer having a second refractive index (¶[0127] of Bang). Same obviousness rationale stated in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claim 9, Son discloses a pixel further comprising: a thin film encapsulation layer (190) disposed on the second electrode, wherein the thin film encapsulation layer includes: a first encapsulation layer (191) disposed on the second electrode, a second encapsulation layer (192) disposed on the first encapsulation layer, and a third encapsulation layer (193) disposed on the second encapsulation layer, the first encapsulation layer and the third encapsulation layer include an inorganic layer (¶[0061]).
Regarding claim 18, Son discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (CS) including an emission area (DA) and a non-emission area (PA); a via layer (VIA) disposed on the substrate; a (1-1)th electrode (181), a (1-2)th electrode (181), and a (1-3)th electrode (181) disposed on the via layer in the emission area, the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode being spaced apart from each other (¶[0039], display area DA comprises a plurality of pixel each including a TFT and a light emission structure shown in Fig. 2); a pixel defining layer (PDL) disposed on the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, the (1- 3)th electrode, and the via layer (Fig. 2), the pixel defining layer (PDL) comprising an upper surface, upper and lower angled sidewalls, which are oppositely angled, and an overhang between the upper and lower angled sidewalls (Fig. 2), the upper angled sidewall defining including an opening exposing a portion of each of the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode in the emission area (Fig. 2); an emission layer (EL) disposed on respective entireties of the upper angled sidewall and the upper surface of the pixel defining layer (PDL); and a second electrode (¶[0060]) disposed on the emission layer (EL), wherein the via layer (VIA) extends continuously below the pixel defining layer (Fig. 2) and defines a via hole that does not overlap the pixel defining layer in a thickness direction and defines a via hole that does not overlap the pixel defining layer in a thickness direction (Fig. 2), each of the (1-1)th electrode (181), the (1-2)th electrode (181), and the (1-3)th electrode (181) terminates at the lower angled sidewall and includes a first layer disposed on the via layer (VIA).
Son fails to state wherein the electrodes include: a first layer disposed on the via layer, and a second layer disposed between the first layer and the overhang of the pixel defining layer, the first layer includes a plurality of sub-insulating layers, each of the plurality of sub-insulating layers including a first sub-layer and a second sub-layer that are sequentially stacked, and the first sub-layer and the second sub-layer have different refractive indices
Bang discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (111) including an emission area and a non-emission area (Fig. 10); a via layer (250) disposed on the substrate; a (1-1)th electrode (261, ¶[0047]), a (1-2)th electrode (261, ¶[0047]), and a (1-3)th electrode (261, ¶[0047]) disposed on the via layer (250) in the emission area, the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode being spaced apart from each other (Fig. 5); a pixel defining layer (270) disposed on the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, the (1-3)th electrode, and the via layer (250), the pixel defining layer (270) including an opening exposing a portion of each of the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode in the emission area (Fig. 10); an emission layer (262) disposed on the pixel defining layer; and a second electrode (263) disposed on the emission layer, wherein each of the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode includes a first layer (266) disposed on the via layer (250) and a second layer (261) disposed between the first layer and the pixel defining layer, the first layer includes a plurality of sub-insulating layers, each of the plurality of sub-insulating layers including a first sub-layer (266a) and a second sub-layer (266b) that are sequentially stacked, and the first sub-layer and the second sub-layer have different refractive indices (¶s[0095, 0127]) (¶s[0095, 0127]) in order to provide a distributed Bragg reflector generating constructive interference to reflect light having a particular wavelength. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the first electrode including a first layer and a second layer as disclosed by Bang in the pixel of Son in order to provide a distributed Bragg reflector generating constructive interference to reflect light having a particular wavelength.
Regarding claim 19, Son in view of Bang discloses a display device wherein the first layer includes a Bragg reflection layer to reflect light toward the second layer (¶[0095] of Bang), the light that is emitted from the emission layer and transmitted toward the via layer, and the first sub-layer includes a first inorganic layer having a first refractive index, and the second sub-layer includes a second inorganic layer having a second refractive index (¶s[0095, 0127] of Bang). Same obviousness rationale stated in the rejection of claim 18 applies.
Claim(s) 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2021/0050391 A1) in view of Bang et al. (US 2018/0123073 A1, of record), and further in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0074769 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 10, Son in view of Bang fails to disclose a pixel further comprising: a color conversion layer disposed on the thin film encapsulation layer; and a color filter layer disposed on the color conversion layer.
Park discloses a pixel (Fig. 39) comprising: a via layer (120) disposed on a substrate (110); a first electrode (AE2) disposed on the via layer (120); a pixel defining layer (150) disposed on the first electrode (AE2), the pixel defining layer (150) including an opening exposing a portion of the first electrode; an emission layer (OL) disposed on the portion of the first electrode (AE2) and the pixel defining layer (150); and a second electrode (CE) disposed on the emission layer; a thin film encapsulation layer (170) disposed on the second electrode, wherein the thin film encapsulation layer includes: a first encapsulation layer (171) disposed on the second electrode, a second encapsulation layer (173) disposed on the first encapsulation layer, and a third encapsulation layer (175) disposed on the second encapsulation layer, the first encapsulation layer and the third encapsulation layer include an inorganic layer (¶[0179]), a color conversion substrate including a color conversion layer (350/340) disposed on the thin film encapsulation layer (170); and a color filter layer (361, 363, 365) disposed on the color conversion layer for converting the color of light incident from the display substrate and selectively transmitting light of a desired color. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the color conversion pattern disclosed by Park in the pixel of Son in view of Bang in order to convert the color of light incident from the display substrate and selectively transmit light of a desired color.
Regarding claim 11, Son in view of Bang fails to disclose a pixel wherein the color conversion layer includes: a bank disposed on an upper surface of the thin film encapsulation layer and overlapping the pixel defining layer; and a color conversion pattern layer disposed on the upper surface of the thin film encapsulation layer, the color conversion pattern layer being surrounded by the bank and converting light emitted from the emission layer into light of a specific color.
Park discloses a pixel wherein the color conversion layer includes: a bank (380) disposed on an upper surface of the thin film encapsulation layer and overlapping the pixel defining layer (150); and a color conversion pattern layer (340, 350) disposed on the upper surface of the thin film encapsulation layer, the color conversion pattern layer (340, 350) being surrounded by the bank (380) and converting light emitted from the emission layer into light of a specific color. Same obviousness rationale stated in the rejection of claim 10 applies.
Regarding claim 12, Son in view of Bang fails to disclose a pixel wherein the color filter layer includes: a color filter disposed on the color conversion pattern layer; and a light blocking pattern layer disposed adjacent to the color filter, the light blocking pattern layer disposed in a non-emission area.
Park discloses a pixel wherein the color filter layer includes: a color filter (361, 363, 365) disposed on the color conversion pattern layer (340, 350); and a light blocking pattern layer (322) disposed adjacent to the color filter, the light blocking pattern layer (322) disposed in a non-emission area (BA2). Same obviousness rationale stated in the rejection of claim 10 applies.
Regarding claim 13, Son fails to disclose a pixel wherein the light blocking pattern layer includes a black matrix.
Bang discloses a pixel comprising a color filter layer including: a color filter (311); and a light blocking pattern layer (320) disposed adjacent to the color filter, the light blocking pattern layer (320) disposed in a non-emission area, wherein the light blocking pattern layer includes a black matrix (¶[0075]) in order to separate the RGB color filter areas. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the light blocking pattern layer disclosed by Bang in the pixel of Son in order to separate the RGB color filter areas.
Regarding claim 14, Son in view of Bang fails to disclose a pixel further comprising: an intermediate layer disposed between the thin film encapsulation layer and the color conversion layer, wherein the intermediate layer includes an adhesive material.
Park discloses a pixel further comprising: an intermediate layer (700) disposed between the thin film encapsulation layer (170) and the color conversion layer (340, 350), wherein the intermediate layer includes an adhesive material (¶[0064]) in order to seal the display substrate and the color conversion substrate together. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the intermediate layer disclosed by Park in the pixel of Son in view of Bang in order to seal the display substrate and the color conversion substrate together.
Regarding claim 15, Son in view of Bang fails to exemplify a first capping layer disposed between the color conversion layer and the color filter layer; a second capping layer disposed between the intermediate layer and the color conversion layer; and a base layer disposed on an upper surface of the color filter layer.
Park further discloses a pixel comprising: a via layer (120) disposed on a substrate (110); a first electrode (AE2) disposed on the via layer (120); a pixel defining layer (150) disposed on the first electrode (AE2), the pixel defining layer (150) including an opening exposing a portion of the first electrode; an emission layer (OL) disposed on the portion of the first electrode (AE2) and the pixel defining layer (150); and a second electrode (CE) disposed on the emission layer; further comprising: a thin film encapsulation layer (170) disposed on the second electrode, and a first capping layer (391) disposed between the color conversion layer (340) and the color filter layer (363); a second capping layer (393) disposed between the intermediate layer (700) and the color conversion layer (340); and a base layer (310) disposed on an upper surface of the color filter layer (363) in order to prevent damage and/or contamination from diffusing between the different layers. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the capping and base layers disclosed by Park in the pixel of Son in view of Bang in order to prevent damage and/or contamination from diffusing into the different layers.
Regarding claim 16, Son in view of Bang fails to exemplify an anti-reflection layer disposed on the base layer.
Park discloses a pixel comprising an anti-reflection layer (329_2, Fig. 29, ¶[0288]) disposed on the base layer in order to reduce reflected light and the distortion of color due to external light. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the anti-reflection layer disclosed by Park in the pixel of Son in view of Bang in order to reduce reflected light and the distortion of color due to external light.
Regarding claim 17, Son in view of Bang fails to disclose a pixel wherein the emission layer is configured to emit blue-based light.
Park discloses a pixel wherein the emission layer is configured to emit blue-based light (¶[0067]) to emit light of a first emission color. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the blue emission layer disclosed by Park in the pixel of Son in view of Bang in order to provide light of a first emission color.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beak et al. (US 10,651,258 B2) in view of Bang et al. (US 2018/0123073 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 21, Beak discloses a pixel (Fig. 2) comprising: a via layer (260) disposed on a substrate (101); a first electrode (132) disposed on the via layer (260); a pixel defining layer (138) disposed on the first electrode (132), the pixel defining layer (138) including an opening exposing a portion of the first electrode (132); an emission layer (134) disposed on the portion of the first electrode (132) and the pixel defining layer (138); and a second electrode (136) disposed on the emission layer, and wherein the via layer (260) includes a via hole (120) exposing a portion a transistor (TD), the first electrode is electrically connected to the transistor (TD) through the via hole (120) and a portion of the emission layer (134) fills a remainder of the via hole (Column 4, lines 53-62).
Beak fails to state wherein the first electrode includes: a first layer disposed on the via layer, and a second layer disposed between the first layer and the overhang of the pixel defining layer, the first layer includes a plurality of sub-insulating layers, each of the plurality of sub-insulating layers including a first sub-layer and a second sub-layer that are sequentially stacked, and the first sub-layer and the second sub-layer have different refractive indices.
Bang discloses a pixel (Fig. 10) comprising: a via layer (250) disposed on a substrate (111); a first electrode (261) disposed on the via layer (250); a pixel defining layer (270) disposed on the first electrode (120), the pixel defining layer (270) including an opening exposing a portion of the first electrode; an emission layer (262) disposed on the portion of the first electrode (120) and the pixel defining layer (270); and a second electrode (263) disposed on the emission layer, wherein the first electrode includes: a first layer (266) disposed on the via layer, and a second layer (261) disposed between the first layer (261) and the pixel defining layer (270), the first layer (226) includes a plurality of sub-insulating layers (266a, 266b), each of the plurality of sub-insulating layers including a first sub-layer and a second sub-layer that are sequentially stacked, and the first sub-layer and the second sub-layer have different refractive indices (¶s[0095, 0127]) in order to provide a distributed Bragg reflector generating constructive interference to reflect light having a particular wavelength. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the first electrode including a first layer and a second layer as disclosed by Bang in the pixel of Beak in order to provide a distributed Bragg reflector generating constructive interference to reflect light having a particular wavelength.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 and 20 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim(s) 4 and 20, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 4 and 20, and specifically comprising the limitation of the first refractive index is smaller than the second refractive index, the first inorganic layer includes SiOCF:H, and the second inorganic layer includes Nb2O5.
Regarding claim(s) 5-8, claims(s) 5-8 is/are allowable for the reasons given in claim(s) 4 because of its/their dependency status from claim(s) 4.
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879