DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt of the Amendment, filed on November 3, 2025, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-21 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-14 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR 2021-0123456 A) in view of Bang et al. (US 2018/0123073 A1, of record).
Regarding claims 1, Lim discloses a pixel comprising: a via layer (118) disposed on a substrate (100); a first electrode (310) disposed on the via layer; a pixel defining layer (119) disposed on the first electrode, the pixel defining layer (119) including comprising an upper surface, upper and lower angled sidewalls, which are oppositely angled, and an overhang between the upper and lower angled sidewalls (Fig. 10), the upper angled sidewall defining an opening exposing a portion of the first electrode; an emission layer (320) disposed on the portion of the first electrode (310) and on respective entireties of the upper angled sidewall and the upper surface of the pixel defining layer (119); and a second electrode (330) disposed on an entirety of the emission layer, wherein; the via layer (118) extends continuously below the pixel defining layer (Fig. 10, shows the via layer 118 extending continuously both in a direction traverse and a direction parallel to the substrate 100 below the pixel defining layer), the first electrode (310) terminates at the lower angled sidewall and includes a layer disposed in the via layer (118). Lim fails to state wherein the first electrode includes: a first layer disposed on the via layer, and a second layer disposed between the first layer and the overhang of the pixel defining layer, the first layer includes a plurality of sub-insulating layers, each of the plurality of sub-insulating layers including a first sub-layer and a second sub-layer that are sequentially stacked, and the first sub-layer and the second sub-layer have different refractive indices.
Bang discloses a pixel (Fig. 10) comprising: a via layer (250) disposed on a substrate (111); a first electrode (261) disposed on the via layer (250); a pixel defining layer (270) disposed on the first electrode (120), the pixel defining layer (270) including an opening exposing a portion of the first electrode; an emission layer (262) disposed on the portion of the first electrode (120) and the pixel defining layer (270); and a second electrode (263) disposed on the emission layer, wherein the first electrode includes: a first layer (266) disposed on the via layer, and a second layer (261) disposed between the first layer (261) and the pixel defining layer (270), the first layer (226) includes a plurality of sub-insulating layers (266a, 266b), each of the plurality of sub-insulating layers including a first sub-layer and a second sub-layer that are sequentially stacked, and the first sub-layer and the second sub-layer have different refractive indices (¶s[0095, 0127]) in order to provide a distributed Bragg reflector generating constructive interference to reflect light having a particular wavelength. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the first electrode including a first layer and a second layer as disclosed by Bang in the pixel of Lim in order to provide a distributed Bragg reflector generating constructive interference to reflect light having a particular wavelength.
Regarding claim 2, Lim in view of Bang further discloses a pixel wherein the first layer includes a Bragg reflection layer to reflect light toward the second layer, the light that is emitted from the emission layer and transmitted toward the via layer (¶[0095] of Bang) Same obviousness rationale stated in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claim 3, Lim in view of Bang discloses a pixel wherein the first sub-layer includes a first inorganic layer having a first refractive index, and the second sub-layer includes a second inorganic layer having a second refractive index (¶[0127] of Bang). Same obviousness rationale stated in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claim 9, Lim discloses a pixel further comprising: a thin film encapsulation layer (400) disposed on the second electrode, wherein the thin film encapsulation layer includes: a first encapsulation layer (410) disposed on the second electrode, a second encapsulation layer (420) disposed on the first encapsulation layer, and a third encapsulation layer (430) disposed on the second encapsulation layer, the first encapsulation layer and the third encapsulation layer include an inorganic layer (¶[0155]).
Regarding claim 10, Lim discloses a pixel further comprising: a color conversion layer (220a) disposed on the thin film encapsulation layer; and a color filter layer (210a) disposed on the color conversion layer.
Regarding claim 11, Lim discloses a pixel wherein the color conversion layer includes: a bank (240) disposed on an upper surface of the thin film encapsulation layer and overlapping the pixel defining layer; and a color conversion pattern layer (220b) disposed on the upper surface of the thin film encapsulation layer, the color conversion pattern layer (220b) being surrounded by the bank (240) and converting light emitted from the emission layer into light of a specific color.
Regarding claim 12, Lim discloses a pixel wherein the color filter layer (210a) includes: a color filter (210a) disposed on the color conversion pattern layer (220a); and a light blocking pattern layer (230) disposed adjacent to the color filter, the light blocking pattern layer (230) disposed in a non-emission area (NEA).
Regarding claim 13, Lim discloses a pixel wherein the light blocking pattern layer includes a black matrix (¶[0090]).
Regarding claim 14, Lim discloses a pixel further comprising: an intermediate layer (500) disposed between the thin film encapsulation layer and the color conversion layer, wherein the intermediate layer includes an adhesive material (¶[0053]).
Regarding claim 17, Lim discloses a pixel wherein the emission layer is configured to emit blue-based light (¶s[0151-0152]).
Regarding claim 18, Lim discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (100) including an emission area (EA) and a non-emission area (NEA); a via layer (118) disposed on the substrate; a (1-1)th electrode (310a), a (1-2)th electrode (310b), and a (1-3)th electrode (310c) disposed on the via layer in the emission area, the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode being spaced apart from each other (Fig. 10); a pixel defining layer (119) disposed on the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, the (1- 3)th electrode, and the via layer, the pixel defining layer (119) comprising an upper surface, upper and lower angled sidewalls, which are oppositely angled, and an overhang between the upper and lower angled sidewalls (Fig. 10), the upper angled sidewall defining including an opening exposing a portion of each of the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode in the emission area (Fig. 10); an emission layer (320) disposed on respective entireties of the upper angled sidewall and the upper surface of the pixel defining layer (119); and a second electrode (330) disposed on the emission layer (320), wherein the via layer (118) extends continuously below the pixel defining layer (Fig. 10, shows the via layer 118 extending continuously both in a direction traverse and a direction parallel to the substrate 100 below the pixel defining layer), each of the (1-1)th electrode (310a), the (1-2)th electrode (310b), and the (1-3)th electrode (310c) terminates at the lower angled sidewall and includes a first layer disposed on the via layer (118).
Lim fails to state wherein the electrodes include: a first layer disposed on the via layer, and a second layer disposed between the first layer and the overhang of the pixel defining layer, the first layer includes a plurality of sub-insulating layers, each of the plurality of sub-insulating layers including a first sub-layer and a second sub-layer that are sequentially stacked, and the first sub-layer and the second sub-layer have different refractive indices
Bang discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (111) including an emission area and a non-emission area (Fig. 10); a via layer (250) disposed on the substrate; a (1-1)th electrode (261, ¶[0047]), a (1-2)th electrode (261, ¶[0047]), and a (1-3)th electrode (261, ¶[0047]) disposed on the via layer (250) in the emission area, the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode being spaced apart from each other (Fig. 5); a pixel defining layer (270) disposed on the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, the (1-3)th electrode, and the via layer (250), the pixel defining layer (270) including an opening exposing a portion of each of the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode in the emission area (Fig. 10); an emission layer (262) disposed on the pixel defining layer; and a second electrode (263) disposed on the emission layer, wherein each of the (1-1)th electrode, the (1-2)th electrode, and the (1-3)th electrode includes a first layer (266) disposed on the via layer (250) and a second layer (261) disposed between the first layer and the pixel defining layer, the first layer includes a plurality of sub-insulating layers, each of the plurality of sub-insulating layers including a first sub-layer (266a) and a second sub-layer (266b) that are sequentially stacked, and the first sub-layer and the second sub-layer have different refractive indices (¶s[0095, 0127]).
Regarding claim 19, Lim in view of Bang discloses a display device wherein the first layer includes a Bragg reflection layer to reflect light toward the second layer (¶[0095] of Bang), the light that is emitted from the emission layer and transmitted toward the via layer, and the first sub-layer includes a first inorganic layer having a first refractive index, and the second sub-layer includes a second inorganic layer having a second refractive index (¶s[0095, 0127] of Bang). ). Same obviousness rationale stated in the rejection of claim 18 applies.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR 2021-0123456 A) in view of Bang et al. (US 2018/0123073 A1, of record), and further in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0074769 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 15, Lim in view of Bang fails to exemplify a first capping layer disposed between the color conversion layer and the color filter layer; a second capping layer disposed between the intermediate layer and the color conversion layer; and a base layer disposed on an upper surface of the color filter layer.
Park further discloses a pixel comprising: a via layer (120) disposed on a substrate (110); a first electrode (AE2) disposed on the via layer (120); a pixel defining layer (150) disposed on the first electrode (AE2), the pixel defining layer (150) including an opening exposing a portion of the first electrode; an emission layer (OL) disposed on the portion of the first electrode (AE2) and the pixel defining layer (150); and a second electrode (CE) disposed on the emission layer; further comprising: a thin film encapsulation layer (170) disposed on the second electrode, and a first capping layer (391) disposed between the color conversion layer (340) and the color filter layer (363); a second capping layer (393) disposed between the intermediate layer (700) and the color conversion layer (340); and a base layer (310) disposed on an upper surface of the color filter layer (363) in order to prevent damage and/or contamination from diffusing between the different layers. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the capping and base layers disclosed by Park in the pixel of Lim in view of Bang in order to prevent damage and/or contamination from diffusing into the different layers.
Regarding claim 16, Lim in view of Bang fails to exemplify an anti-reflection layer disposed on the base layer.
Park further discloses a pixel comprising an anti-reflection layer (329_2, Fig. 29, ¶[0288]) disposed on the base layer in order to reduce reflected light and the distortion of color due to external light. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the anti-reflection layer disclosed by Park in the pixel of Lim in view of Bang in order to reduce reflected light and the distortion of color due to external light.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 and 20-21 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim(s) 4 and 20, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 4 and 20, and specifically comprising the limitation of the first refractive index is smaller than the second refractive index, the first inorganic layer includes SiOCF:H, and the second inorganic layer includes Nb2O5.
Regarding claim(s) 5-8, claims(s) 5-8 is/are allowable for the reasons given in claim(s) 4 because of its/their dependency status from claim(s) 4.
Regarding claim(s) 21, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 21, and specifically comprising the limitation of the via layer includes a via hole exposing a portion a transistor, the second layer is electrically connected to the transistor through the via hole and a portion of the emission layer fills a remainder of the via hole.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 9-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879