DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostdiek et al. US 20240190574 A1 in view of GALZIN et al. US 2022/0185485 Al.
Re claim 19, Ostdiek et al. teach an aircraft comprising: a cabin (100) adapted to receive one or more persons (fig 1); a rotary airfoil device (72, 62, 230); an electric engine (400, 236a); a battery (para 22) powering the electric engine; a transmission (246) coupling the electric engine to the rotary airfoil device (fig 8); a lubricant subsystem having a lubricant circuit and a lubricant pump (280) operable to circulate a lubricant in the lubricant circuit (para 37), the lubricant circuit connected in heat exchange relationship with the transmission (paras 54, 50-54, fig 8)
Ostdiek et al. fail to explicitly teach a pressurized air subsystem.
GALZIN et al. teach a pressurized air subsystem having a pressurized air line operable to deliver pressurized air from a pressurized air source to the cabin (10, para 55); a lubricant heat exchanger (20) connecting pressurized air line in heat exchange relationship with the lubricant circuit to reduce pressure drops by combining subsystems for cooling (paras 1-10, 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a pressurized air subsystem as taught by GALZIN et al. in the Ostdiek et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for reduced drag and improved fuel performance in flight.
Re claim 20, Ostdiek et al. teach wherein the lubricant circuit is further connected in heat exchange relationship with at least one of the battery and the electric engine (para 37, fig 8, noting 262B is downstream of 262A and thus in in a heat exchange relationship during operation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9, 11-14, 21-23 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ostdiek et al. and Cronin fails to teach an “a lubricant heat exchanger connecting pressurized air line in heat exchange relationship with the lubricant circuit”. However, the scope of claim 19 has been changed in the latest reply and therefore the examiner is now relying on GALZIN et al. to teach the recited “a lubricant heat exchanger connecting pressurized air line in heat exchange relationship with the lubricant circuit” (see detailed rejection above). Therefore, the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that issues arise since claim 19 depends from claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 19 does not depend from claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20180038243 A1, US 20170159490 A1, US 20160131036 A1, US 20160061056 A1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 2/25/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GORDON A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3763