Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 6/25/2025 has been entered. Claims 11-19 and 21-28 remain
pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendment of Claim 14 has overcome the 112(b) rejection of that claim. Thus, Examiner is withdrawing the 112(b) rejection of Claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 11, Applicant argues that US20150091132 (“Kim”) “does not teach that a lower surface of the stiffener 208 is in contact with the substrate 202.” (Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 5). Applicant contends that Kim requires a passivation layer be placed between the stiffener and the substrate.
Examiner does not read Kim to require that a passivation layer be placed between the stiffener and substrate. For example, Para. [0028] of Kim states “More specifically, stiffener 208 comprises two portions, depicted as grove 208b and body 208a. As used herein, the term, “body” or “body portion” with regard to body 208a of stiffener 208 relates to the portion of stiffener 208 outside of groove 208b, which will be attached to a substrate..” (Bold added by Examiner for emphasis). This strongly suggests that Kim is contemplating directly connecting the body 208a to the substrate. Kim further states in Para. [0024] “the described embodiments can be easily applicable to substrate 202 disposed on a first plane, body 208a of stiffener 208 attached to a first surface of substrate 202..” (Bold added by Examiner for emphasis).
When Kim discusses adding a passivation layer, Examiner is interpreting this to mean that this is a possibility, but not a requirement. For example, in Para. [0027] Kim states “Once the exemplary stiffener structures with the recessed grooves are fabricated, they may undergo additional processes prior to attachment to the substrate. For example, a passivation layer may be added within the housing of the groove…prior to the formation of passive components such as high density capacitors” (Bold added by Examiner for emphasis).
It is true that in Para. [0028], Kim discloses that “if stiffener 208 formed of ceramic, no passivation is required. In the case of a metal …. Passivation layer 210 is formed through a process o anodizing the metal…” First, Kim is discussing an “exemplary formation process” (Para. [0028]) that pertains to Figs. 3A-E. Examiner does not read this to mean that all methods of forming the stiffener of 2A require a passivation layer in case the stiffener is made of metal. In fact, Kim does not even discuss the passivation layer when discussing the embodiments in Figs. 2A and 2B, other than to note that a passivation layer may be added (as discussed above). Second, Kim does not state, in Para. [0028], that a passivation layer is required when the stiffener is made of a metal. Kim merely discloses how the passivation layer is formed when the stiffener is made of metal.
Thus, Examiner reads Kim to disclose a stiffener made of metal whose body directly contacts the substrate. A passivation layer may be added, but is not necessary. Therefore, Examiner is maintaining the 103 rejection of Claim 11 and all other 103 rejections from the Non Final Action that depend on Claim 11, because Kim also discloses that the stiffener may be made of metal (Kim, Para. [0025]).
Regarding Claim 27, as discussed above, because the passivation layer need not be present, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument unpersuasive. If the passivation layer is not present in Kim, then there will be a gap between the passive element and the lower surface of the concave portion of the stiffener (see Claim rejections below).
Regarding Claim 28, Applicant’s arguments are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20150091132A1 (Kim) in view of US20230066053A1 (Gong).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a package substrate (Fig. 2B, el. 202, Para. [0026]); a plurality of semiconductor chips mounted on the package substrate (Fig. 2B, el. 204, Para. [0026]), an interposer arranged between the package substrate and the plurality of semiconductor chips (Para. [0033]); a plurality of passive elements mounted on the package substrate and spaced apart from the interposer (Figs. 2A-3C, el. 206, Para. [0029]), a first stiffener (Figs. 2A-2B, el. 208, Para. [0026]) positioned on the package substrate (Fig. 2B) and including a first hole accommodating the interposer (see annotated Fig. 2B below) and a first concave portion surrounding the plurality of passive elements (Fig. 2A, el. 208b, Para. [0024]), wherein the first stiffener is formed of metal (Para. [0025]), and a lower surface of the first stiffener is in contact with the package substrate (Para. [0024] – see Response to Arguments above), wherein the first stiffener has a first coefficient of thermal expansion (Para. [0003]).
Kim does not disclose a second stiffener positioned on the first stiffener and including a third hole communicating with the first hole, wherein the second stiffener has a second coefficient of thermal expansion different from the first coefficient of thermal expansion.
Gong discloses a stiffener (Fig. 3, el. 10, Para. [0052]) with two material layers (Fig. 3, els. 11 and 12, Para. [0052]) where the second layer sits over the first layer, forming a hole (Fig. 3), and where the two layers have different coefficients of thermal expansion (Para. [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to add a second stiffener with a different coefficient of thermal expansion, as in Gong, to the stiffener disclosed by Kim. Doing so would have the benefit of controlling the warpage of the stiffener when the stiffener is heated (Gong, Para. [0052]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim in view of Gong discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein a sidewall defining the first hole is positioned between the interposer and the plurality of passive elements (see Kim, annotated Fig. 3E below), and a sidewall defining the first concave portion is spaced apart from the side surfaces of the plurality of passive elements (see Kim, annotated Fig. 3E below), and an upper wall defining the first concave portion is spaced apart from an upper surface of the plurality of passive elements (see Kim, annotated Fig. 3E below).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim in view of Gong discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein the plurality of passive elements are positioned between sidewalls of the first concave portion of the first stiffener (Kim, Fig. 3B, Para. [0029]), and are not exposed to the outside by an upper wall of the first concave portion (Kim, Fig. 3B), and the interposer and the plurality of semiconductor chips are exposed to the outside (Kim, Fig. 3E).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Gong.
Regarding Claim 15, Kim in view of Gong discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11.
Gong further discloses that the first coefficient of thermal expansion is greater than the second coefficient of thermal expansion (Para. [0052]).
Kim in view of Gong do not disclose that the substrate has a coefficient of thermal expansion that is greater than the first coefficient of thermal expansion.
However, it would It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the CTEs of the substrate, first stiffener, and second stiffener such that the CTEs decrease (MPEP, 2144.05 II). As disclosed by Gong, this would have the benefit of allowing warpage control (Para. [0054]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Gong.
Regarding Claim 26, Kim in view of Gong discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11.
Gong further discloses that the area of the first stiffener is about 56% of the area of the substrate (see Gong, Table 1, which discloses a stiffener width of 10mm, and a substrate width of 70mm and substrate length of 72.5mm. Using these numbers, a ratio can be calculated that is approximately 56%).
It would It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a range between 20 to 40%. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Gong and US20160163657A1 (Hung)
Regarding Claim 13, Kim in view of Gong discloses the semiconductor package of claim 12.
Kim in view of Gong does not disclose a first underfill layer positioned between the package substrate and the interposer wherein the first underfill layer is in contact with the sidewall of the first hole without any contact with the plurality of passive elements.
Hung discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 3, el. 100, Para. [0022]) with an interposer (Fig. 1, el. 112, Para. [0023]), a plurality of semiconductor devices (Fig. 1, el. 110, Para. [0023]), a stiffener (Fig. 5, el. 120, Para. [0026], passive components (Fig. 5, el. 126, Para. [0030]), and an underfill layer (Fig. 4, el. 124, Para. [0030], where the underfill material is disposed between the package substrate and the interposer (Para. [0030]), is in contact with a sidewall of the stiffener (Fig. 4), and does not touch the passive components (Fig. 4).
It would It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the underfill material as in Hung to the package disclosed by Kim in view of Gong. As disclosed by Hung, adding the underfill in the position shown by Hung can help adhere the stiffener to the substrate (Para. [0030]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Gong and US20110037167A1 (Iruvanti).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim in view of Gong discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11.
Gong further discloses that the first coefficient of thermal expansion is greater than the second coefficient of thermal expansion (Para. [0052]).
Kim in view of Gong does not disclose a first plate positioned on the second stiffener to cover an upper surface of the second stiffener and the third hole, where the plate has a coefficient of thermal expansion that is smaller than the second coefficient of thermal expansion, and that the first coefficient of thermal expansion is greater than the coefficient of thermal expansion of the substrate.
Iruvanti discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 1, el. 100, Para. [0019]) that has a lid (Fig. 1, el. 130, Para. [0023]) that has a lower coefficient of thermal expansion than the substrate (Para. [0034]).
It would It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a lid to the structure disclosed by Kim in view of Gong, the lid having a lower CTE than the second stiffener, and the first stiffener have a lower CTE than the substrate. As suggested by Iruvanti, having CTEs decreasing in order can lead to beneficial warpage effects when the temperature changes (Fig. 2, Para. [0034]).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Gong and Iruvanti.
Regarding Claims 21 and 22, Kim in view of Gong and Iruvanti discloses the semiconductor package of Claim 19.
Gong further discloses a package substrate with a CTE of 14 (Para. [0060]), a stiffener structure using three materials (Fig. 8, Para. [0066]), where the layer closest to the substrate (layer 13 in Fig. 8) can be made out of many different kinds, such as stainless steel 430 and 440C, which have CTEs that are between 50 to 90% of 14. Further, the middle layer 11 is made out of a different material (Para. [0066]), and can be made out of a lower CTE material such as Zirconium or tungsten carbide, which have CTEs that are 50 to 90% of the CTEs of stainless steel 430 and 440C.
It would It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the materials given by Gong to set the CTEs such that the stiffener layer closest to the substrate has a CTE 50 to 90% of that of the substrate, and the layer above has a CTE that is 50 to 90% of the first layer. As disclosed by Gong, using different configurations can have a beneficial effect on controlling warpage (Para. [0065]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Gong and Iruvanti.
Regarding Claim 23, Kim in view of Gong and Iruvanti discloses the semiconductor package of claim 19.
Iruvanti further discloses that each of an upper surface and a lower surface of the lid is planar (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a lid with an upper surface and a lower surface that is planar, as disclosed by Iruvanti. This lid design allows for the lid to cover multiple components for heat sinking purposes, and is easy to manufacture, since the shape is rectangular is cross-sectional view.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Gong and Iruvanti.
Regarding Claims 24 and 25, Kim in view of Gong and Iruvanti discloses the semiconductor package of claim 19.
Gong further discloses that the height of the first stiffener and second stiffener is greater than the height of the chip (Fig. 6A), and the height of the first and second stiffener is between 500u and 4000u (Fig. 6a).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the height of the first and second stiffener greater than the height of the interposer and chip, as this would facilitate the attachment of a lid to the stiffener while allowing for thermal material to be placed between the chip and the lid. It would also have been obvious to have the first and second stiffener have a height between 500u and 4000u to ensure that their height is greater than the chip height (Gong discloses a standard chip height of 800u. When an interposer is added this will increase).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Gong.
Regarding Claim 27, Kim discloses a package substrate (Fig. 2B, el. 202, Para. [0026]); a plurality of semiconductor chips mounted on the package substrate (Fig. 2B, el. 204, Para. [0026]), an interposer arranged between the package substrate and the plurality of semiconductor chips (Para. [0033]); a plurality of passive elements mounted on the package substrate and spaced apart from the interposer (Figs. 2A-3C, el. 206, Para. [0029]), a first stiffener (Figs. 2A-2B, el. 208, Para. [0026]) positioned on the package substrate (Fig. 2B) and including a first hole accommodating the interposer (see annotated Fig. 2B below) and a first concave portion surrounding the plurality of passive elements (Fig. 2A, el. 208b, Para. [0024]), wherein the first stiffener is formed of metal (Para. [0025]), and an axis extends uninterrupted from the plurality of passive elements to an upper wall of the first concave portion (Fig. 2A – Para. [0027] – which implies that the passivation layer may be added (but may not be) prior to the formation of passive elements. If it is not, then this limitation is met.), wherein the first stiffener has a first coefficient of thermal expansion (Para. [0003]).
Kim does not disclose a second stiffener positioned on the first stiffener and including a third hole communicating with the first hole, wherein the second stiffener has a second coefficient of thermal expansion different from the first coefficient of thermal expansion.
Gong discloses a stiffener (Fig. 3, el. 10, Para. [0052]) with two material layers (Fig. 3, els. 11 and 12, Para. [0052]) where the second layer sits over the first layer, forming a hole (Fig. 3), and where the two layers have different coefficients of thermal expansion (Para. [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to add a second stiffener with a different coefficient of thermal expansion, as in Gong, to the stiffener disclosed by Kim. Doing so would have the benefit of controlling the warpage of the stiffener when the stiffener is heated (Gong, Para. [0052]).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20080197477 (McLellan) in view of Kim and Gong.
Regarding Claim 28, McLellan discloses a semiconductor package (Figs. 5 and 6, el. 1, Para. [0027]) comprising: a package substrate (Fig. 5, el. 2, Para. [0027]); a semiconductor chip mounted on the package substrate (Fig. 5, el. 6, Para. [0027]); a plurality of passive elements mounted on the package substrate and spaced apart from the semiconductor chip (Fig. 6, el. 20, Para. [0027]); a first stiffener positioned on the package substrate and including a first hole accommodating the interposer and a first concave portion surrounding the plurality of passive elements (Figs. 5 and 6, the first stiffener is el. 4 [Para. [0027]], it has an opening 25 that accommodates the passive component, and it surrounds the semiconductor chip [see Figs. 5 and 6 and Para. [0027])), wherein the first stiffener has a first coefficient of thermal expansion (inherent); and a first underfill layer positioned between the package substrate and the semiconductor chip (Fig. 5, el. 7, Para. [0023]), wherein the first underfill layer is in contact with a sidewall of the first stiffener without any contact with the plurality of passive elements and without any contact with an uppermost surface of the first stiffener (Fig. 5).
McLellan does not disclose a plurality of semiconductor chips, an interposer, and a second stiffener having a CTE different from the first stiffener.
Kim discloses a package substrate (Fig. 2B, el. 202, Para. [0026]); a plurality of semiconductor chips mounted on the package substrate (Fig. 2B, el. 204, Para. [0026]), an interposer arranged between the package substrate and the plurality of semiconductor chips (Para. [0033]). Gong discloses a stiffener (Fig. 3, el. 10, Para. [0052]) with two material layers (Fig. 3, els. 11 and 12, Para. [0052]) where the second layer sits over the first layer, forming a hole (Fig. 3), and where the two layers have different coefficients of thermal expansion (Para. [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to add multiple semiconductor chips, as in Kim, for the purpose of creating a more complex package. It would also have been obvious to add an interposer between the substrate and the chips for the purpose of easing the connection between the chip and the substrate. Finally, to add a second stiffener with a different coefficient of thermal expansion, as in Gong, to the stiffener disclosed by Kim. Doing so would have the benefit of controlling the warpage of the stiffener when the stiffener is heated (Gong, Para. [0052]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROHIT PARTHASARATHY/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899