DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-8, & 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arao (US 20110210333).
Regarding claim 1, Arao discloses that an electronic device, comprising:
a substrate 100;
a driving component 201-203 arranged on the substrate, wherein the driving component includes a first electrode 124 and a first optical adjustment unit 126 & 128, the first optical adjustment unit is arranged on the first electrode 124, and the first optical adjustment unit has a first opening 131 to expose a surface of the first electrode 126 (Fig. 6); and
an electronic component 230 arranged on the driving component, wherein the electronic component includes a second electrode 131 electrically connected to the first electrode 124 of the driving component through the first opening of the first optical adjustment unit (Fig. 6, note: a capacitor);
wherein the first optical adjustment unit includes a metal layer 128 and an insulation layer 126, the insulation layer 126 is arranged between the first electrode 124 and the metal layer 128, and an upper surface of the insulation layer 126 is fully covered by the metal layer 128 (Fig. 6).
Reclaim 3, Arao discloses that the insulation layer covers a first sidewall of the first electrode (Fig. 7).
Reclaim 5, Arao discloses that a thickness ratio of the insulation layer to the metal layer is between 2 and 100 (para. 0077).
Reclaim 6. (Original) The electronic device as claimed in claim 5, wherein the thickness ratio of the insulation layer to the metal layer is between 3 and 50 (para. 0077-0078).
Reclaim 7, Arao discloses that a material of the metal layer includes titanium, nickel, molybdenum, copper, an alloy thereof, or a combination thereof (para. 0077).
Reclaim 8, Arao discloses that a material of the insulation layer includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, or a combination thereof (para. 0080).
Reclaim 10, Arao discloses that a thickness of the insulation layer is between 10 nanometers and 500 nanometers (para 0078).
Reclaim 11, Arao discloses that the driving component further includes a third electrode and a second optical adjustment unit, the second optical adjustment unit includes an insulation layer arranged between the third electrode and the metal layer, and a metal layer (Fig. 6).
Reclaim 12, Arao discloses that a passivation layer arranged on the first optical adjustment unit and the second optical adjustment unit 402 (Fig . 6 & 7).
Reclaim 13, Arao discloses that a pixel definition layer arranged on the passivation layer and the second electrode and provided with a second opening to expose part of the second electrode (Fig. 6 -7).
Reclaim 14, Arao discloses that the electronic component further includes a light emitting layer and a fourth electrode, and the light emitting layer is arranged between the second electrode and the fourth electrode (Fig. 6).
Reclaim 15, Arao discloses that one of the second electrode and the fourth electrode is an anode, and the other one is a cathode (Fig. 6).
Reclaim 16, Arao discloses that the light emitting layer is disposed in the second opening and arranged on the second electrode, and the fourth electrode is arranged on the light emitting layer (Fig. 6).
Reclaim 17, Arao discloses that an area of the fourth electrode is larger than an area of the second electrode (Fig. 6).
Reclaim 18, Arao discloses that wherein a refractive index of the insulation layer is between a refractive index of the first electrode and a refractive index of the metal layer (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arao (US 20110210333) in view of Suzawa et al. (US 20100155732).
Reclaim 4, Arao fails to teach that the metal layer covers a second sidewall of the insulation layer.
However, Suzawa suggests that that the metal layer 160 covers a second sidewall of the insulation layer 161 (12A-12B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Arao with the metal layer covers a second sidewall of the insulation layer as taught by Suzawa in order to enhance reducing height of connection (dual layers vs a single layer) and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Reclaim 9, Arao & Suzawa disclose that a thickness of the metal layer 160 is between 1 nanometer and 100 nanometers (Arao para. 0135, overlapping range or Suzawa, para. 0136).
Reclaim 19, Arao & Suzawa disclose that the first sidewall is connected to the surface of the first electrode (Arao Fig. 7 in view of Suzawa’s Fig. 12A-B).
Reclaim 20, Arao & Suzawa disclose that the second sidewall is connected to a surface of the insulation layer (Arao Fig. 7 in view of Suzawa’s Fig. 12A-B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SU C KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899