Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed 05/12/2026 is acknowledged and has been accepted by the examiner. The examiner acknowledges that the amendments to the title, abstract, claims, specification and drawings do not contain new matter. Claims 1-10 and 12 are pending. Claim 11 is canceled, and the rejection under 35 USC 112(a) has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokubo (US20080024827A1) in view of Ping (US20160350997A1), Koji (JP2000034037A), Mizuno (WO2000045592A1), Tachino (US20070146682A1), and Lisogurki (US20160081602A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kokubo teaches a printer (title; paragraph [0001] discloses printers are a type of image forming apparatus) comprising a medium thickness detection device (paragraphs [0037] and [0040] discloses the sensor is used for recording thickness of the medium),
the medium thickness detection device comprising:
a light emitting element (7, Fig. 1);
a light-receiving element receiving the light passing through the medium (5, Fig. 1);
and wherein the printer performs printing on the medium based on printing parameters controlled according to the thickness of the medium (paragraph [0078] discloses an embodiment where the measured thickness of the paper determines the speed the paper is moved through the printer is determined by the thickness of the paper. Kokubo discloses the thickness of the paper influences the printing process, for example how well the paper takes the printed image (paragraph [0078]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the embodiments of Kokubo in order to ensure the printer is operating at the needed parameters to ensure proper image formation).
Kokubo fails to teach the medium thickness detection device comprising:
a constant-current control circuit, which is electrically connected to the light emitting element, and controls, in a constant-current manner, the light emitting element to output light passing through a medium for an irradiation time;
a receiver circuit being electrically connected to the light-receiving element and receiving the analog signal;
a maximum holding circuit electrically connected to the receiver circuit, and holding a maximum of the analog signal;
an analog-to-digital converter circuit, which is electrically connected to the maximum holding circuit, reads the maximum of the analog signal, and converts the maximum of the analog signal into a digital signal;
a reset circuit being electrically connected to the maximum holding circuit and resetting the maximum holding circuit; and
a processor, which is electrically connected to the constant-current control circuit, the reset circuit and the analog-to-digital converter circuit, and controls the constant-current control circuit, the reset circuit and the analog-to-digital converter circuit to operate, wherein the processor performs, in order, operations of:
controlling the reset circuit to output a high-level pulse continuously for a first period from a first time instant to a second time instant according to a maximum clearing signal;
controlling the constant-current control circuit to drive the light emitting element to emit light continuously for the irradiation time from a third time instant, after the second time instant, to a fourth time instant, after the third time instant, according to a power control signal, thereby turning off the constant-current control circuit to disable the light emitting element from emitting light, wherein an output signal of the light-receiving element gradually rises in the irradiation time, and then gradually falls in a second period from the fourth time instant to a fifth time instant, and a level of a maximum holding signal of the maximum holding circuit also starts, at the third time instant, to gradually rise to the maximum in the irradiation time ending at the fourth time instant, and is then held at the maximum;
reading the maximum of the maximum holding signal through the analog-to-digital converter circuit at the fifth time instant; and
determining a thickness of the medium according to the digital signal when a specification of the medium is unknown.
However, in the same field of endeavor of medium thickness detection, Ping teaches a medium thickness detection device, comprising:
a light emitting element (light emitting terminal , paragraph [0022]);
a light-receiving element receiving the light passing through the medium to obtain an analog signal (light sensitive terminal, paragraph [0022]);
an analog-to-digital converter circuit (23, Fig. 2), which is electrically connected to the maximum holding circuit (23 is attached to a subtraction and amplification circuit, 28, which calculates a maximum voltage), reads the maximum of the analog signal, and converts the maximum of the analog signal into a digital signal (definition of an analog-to-digital converter is converting an analog signal to a digital signal);
a reset circuit being electrically connected to the maximum holding circuit and resetting the maximum holding circuit (S2, Fig. 4 teaches send a 0 value to the digital-to-analog converter (D/A converter, 22), which then resets the subtraction and amplification unit when to medium is detected; paragraph [0028]); and
a processor (control processor; 24, Fig. 2), which is electrically connected to the reset circuit (27) and the analog-to-digital converter circuit (23), and controls reset circuit and the analog-to-digital converter circuit to operate, wherein the processor performs reading the maximum of the maximum holding signal through the analog-to-digital converter circuit at the fifth time instant (23, Fig. 2 is attached to a subtraction and amplification circuit, 28, which calculates a maximum voltage); and determining a thickness of the medium according to the digital signal when a specification of the medium is unknown (paragraph [0070]).
Ping discloses the medium detection device described has the advantage of improved sensitivity due in part to the disclosed circuitry (paragraph [0015]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the printer taught in Kokubo with the medium thickness device taught in Ping in order to benefit from an improved sensitivity of the detector.
Kokubo as modified by Ping does not teach a constant-current control circuit, which is electrically connected to the light emitting element, and controls, in a constant-current manner, the light emitting element to output light passing through a medium for an irradiation time;
a receiver circuit being electrically connected to the light-receiving element and receiving the analog signal;
a maximum holding circuit electrically connected to the receiver circuit, and holding a maximum of the analog signal;
and wherein the processor performs, in order, operations of:
controlling the reset circuit to output a high-level pulse continuously for a first period from a first time instant to a second time instant according to a maximum clearing signal;
controlling the constant-current control circuit to drive the light emitting element to emit light continuously for the irradiation time from a third time instant, after the second time instant, to a fourth time instant, after the third time instant, according to a power control signal, thereby turning off the constant-current control circuit to disable the light emitting element from emitting light, wherein an output signal of the light-receiving element gradually rises in the irradiation time, and then gradually falls in a second period from the fourth time instant to a fifth time instant, and a level of a maximum holding signal of the maximum holding circuit also gradually rises to the maximum in the irradiation time, and is then held at the maximum.
However, in the same field of endeavor of medium detection devices, Koji teaches a current control circuit (light emitting circuit, paragraph [0008]) which controls the current responsible for causing the light emitting element to emit light (paragraph [0008]). Koji does not teach that this current is constant, but Koji does explicitly disclose that the light emitted being constant is desirable as fluctuations lead to lowered accuracy (paragraph [0013]). Koji also teaches a receiver circuit (light receiving circuit, 407) that is connected to the light receiving element (paragraph [0008]).
Koji discloses the control circuit allows the light emitter to be controlled which ensures accuracy (paragraph [0013]). Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device of Kokubo as modified by Ping with the current control circuit taught in Koji to ensure accuracy of the light being emitted.
Further, the receiver circuit taught in Koji is necessary to receive the signal from the light emitter and transfer it to the analog-to-digital converter (Koji: paragraph [0008]). Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device of Kokubo as modified by Ping with the receiver circuit taught in Koji in order to ensure the data is properly received and transferred.
Kokubo as modified by Ping and Koji fails to teach a maximum holding circuit electrically connected to the receiver circuit, and holding a maximum of the analog signal, and wherein the processor performs, in order, operations of:
controlling the reset circuit to output a high-level pulse continuously for a first period from a first time instant to a second time instant according to a maximum clearing signal;
controlling the constant-current control circuit to drive the light emitting element to emit light continuously for the irradiation time from a third time instant, after the second time instant, to a fourth time instant, after the third time instant, according to a power control signal, thereby turning off the constant-current control circuit to disable the light emitting element from emitting light, wherein an output signal of the light-receiving element gradually rises in the irradiation time, and then gradually falls in a second period from the fourth time instant to a fifth time instant, and a level of a maximum holding signal of the maximum holding circuit also gradually rises to the maximum in the irradiation time, and is then held at the maximum.
However, in the same field of endeavor of using light emitters for imaging devices, Mizuno teaches a maximum value detection circuit which outputs the maximum voltage to an analog-to-digital converter (paragraph [0007]).
Mizuno discloses the use of a maximum value detection circuit prevents oversaturation, which ensures the best signal resolution (paragraph [0087]). Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device of Kokubo as modified by Ping and Koji with the maximum value detection circuit taught in Mizuno to ensure the best signal resolution.
Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, and Mizuno fails to teach the processor performs, in order, operations of:
controlling the reset circuit to output a high-level pulse continuously for a first period from a first time instant to a second time instant according to a maximum clearing signal;
controlling the constant-current control circuit to drive the light emitting element to emit light continuously for the irradiation time from a third time instant, after the second time instant, to a fourth time instant, after the third time instant, according to a power control signal, thereby turning off the constant-current control circuit to disable the light emitting element from emitting light, wherein an output signal of the light-receiving element gradually rises in the irradiation time, and then gradually falls in a second period from the fourth time instant to a fifth time instant, and a level of a maximum holding signal of the maximum holding circuit also gradually rises to the maximum in the irradiation time, and is then held at the maximum.
However, in the same field of endeavor of control operations of optical based sensors, Tachino teaches a system which first outputs a continuous reset signal for a first period ("Reset Signal Res", Fig. 6), followed by a second period where light is continuously emitted before being shut off ("Light Emission Signal", Fig. 6), and a maximum holding signal which gradually rises to a maximum at the end of the irradiation period ("Pixel output V1", Fig. 6).
Tachino discloses that the use of the reset signal and holding signal allow for the device to remain precise and give real-time measurements despite any unwanted movement in the object being imaged (paragraph [0009]). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device of Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji and Mizuno with the reset, irradiation, and holding signals taught in Tachino in order to ensure real-time and precise measurements.
Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, and Tachino fail to teach an output signal of the light-receiving element gradually rises in the irradiation time, and then gradually falls in a second period from the fourth time instant to a fifth time instant.
However, in the same field of endeavor of light drive circuits in optical measurement devices, Lisogurki discloses a circuit which controls a light emitting element to emit light continuously for a first time period (202, Fig. 2A) and an output signal of the light-receiving element gradually rises and falls during this irradiation time (226, Fig. 2B; paragraph [0054] discloses the waveform in 2B is an idealized detection signal and an actual detector will have rise and fall time deviations).
Lisogurki discloses the use of synchronized on-off periods allow time for light sources and detected light signal to stabilize and reduces power consumption (paragraph [0037]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device of Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno and Tachino with the synchronized starting and stopping of emitting and receiving signals taught in Lisogurki in order to reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 2, Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki teach the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches a resetting module (Ping: S9 -S2-S1, Fig. 4), and a reader module (Ping: paragraph [0070] discloses the thickness is determined in real-time by the control processor), wherein:
the resetting module performs an operation (a) of controlling the reset circuit to reset the maximum holding circuit (Ping: paragraph [0028]);
the holding module performs an operation (b) of turning on the constant-current control circuit to control the light emitting element to output the light continuously for the irradiation time (Koji: paragraph [0008]), and then turning off the light emitting element (Koji: paragraph [0033]) to let the maximum holding circuit hold the maximum of the analog signal (Mizuno: paragraph [0007]), and let the analog-to-digital converter circuit generate the digital signal (Koji: A/D converter, 408; paragraph [0008]) and
the reader module performs an operation (c) of reading the digital signal through the analog-to-digital converter circuit (Ping: Fig. 2 shows the analog-to-digital converter feeding the signal to a control processor; paragraph [0070]).
As discussed above in claim 1, , it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the printer taught in Kokubo with the medium thickness device taught in Ping in order to benefit from an improved sensitivity of the detector.
Koji discloses improper light fluctuations lead to lowered accuracy, and the resetting, reading, and repeating modules provide a way to prevent such inaccuracy by ensuring the control of the light emitting element is reliable (paragraph [0013]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device taught in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki with the resetting, reader, and repeating module taught in Ping to prevent improper light fluctuations which lead to lowered accuracy.
As discussed above, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the device taught in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki with the maximum value detection circuit taught in Mizuno as it prevents oversaturation and ensures the best signal resolution.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokubo (US20080024827A1) in view of Ping (US20160350997A1), Koji (JP2000034037A), Mizuno (WO2000045592A1), Tachino (US20070146682A1), and Lisogurki (US20160081602A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (US20160349037A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki teach the invention as explained above in claim 2, and further teaches the processor further comprises a delaying module for delaying a period of time after the operation (c) (Ping: S1, Fig. 4; delay happens after device has detected thickness and reset in S8); and a repeating module of controlling the resetting module, the holding module and the reader module to repeat the operations (a) to (c) to obtain another digital signal (Ping: paragraph [0050] teaches re-initializing the device after a certain time; paragraph [0076] teaches re-initializing the device for a subsequent measurement, functionally acting as a repeating module).
As discussed above in claim 1, , it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the printer taught in Kokubo with the medium thickness device taught in Ping in order to benefit from an improved sensitivity of the detector.
Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki fails to teach repeating the operations (a) to (c) to obtain another digital signal corresponding to a second point of the medium other than the first point.
However, in the same field of endeavor as thickness measuring apparatuses, Wang teaches taking measurements at least a second measuring point (abstract).
Wang discloses multiple point measurements increases measurement efficiency (abstract). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would find it obvious to combine the device of Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki with the multiple point measurements taught in Wang as it increases measurement efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Wang teach the invention as explained above in claim 3, and further teaches the processor further comprises a determining module of determining the thickness of the medium according to the digital signals (Ping: paragraph [0070] discloses calculating the thickness of the medium).
As discussed above in claim 1, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the printer taught in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and with the medium thickness device taught in Ping in order to benefit from an improved sensitivity of the detector.
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokubo (US20080024827A1) in view of Ping (US20160350997A1), Koji (JP2000034037A), Mizuno (WO2000045592A1), Tachino (US20070146682A1), and Lisogurki (US20160081602A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oda (US20120328307A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches a determining module (Ping: determining thickness is part of the control processor, paragraph [0070]) and has a detecting mode (Ping: S3-S7, Fig. 4), the determining module determines the thickness of the medium according to the digital signal (Ping: paragraph [0070]).
As discussed above in claim 1, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the printer taught in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki with the medium thickness device taught in Ping in order to benefit from an improved sensitivity of the detector.
Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki do not teach a learning module, and a learning mode, wherein in the learning mode, the learning module adjusts the irradiation time to a setting time according to the digital signal and stores the setting time to a storage when the specification of the medium is known.
However, in the same field of endeavor of using light emitters and light receivers to measure a parameter of an object, Oda teaches a method to determine irradiation time based on the status of a parameter measured (paragraphs [0089], [0090]; Figs. 23A and 23B), essentially a learning mode.
The learning mode taught in Oda to determine an irradiation time is a known technique in the art, and a person having ordinary skill in the art would be able to reasonably apply the method with the detection mode method taught in Ping and yield predictable results of accurately and efficiently measuring the thickness of a medium.
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the learning mode in Oda with the detecting mode in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki as the learning mode is a known technique to determine irradiation time and combining the two would yield the predictable results of accurately and efficiently measuring the thickness of a medium.
Regarding claim 6, Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda teach the invention as explained above in claim 5, and further a selecting module, which selects to make the processor firstly enter the learning mode to obtain the setting time (Oda: paragraphs [0089], [0090]; Figs. 23A and 23B), and then selects to make the processor enter the detecting mode (Ping: timing unit (26, Fig. 2) configured to record for a time period according to a preset rule (Ping: paragraph [0018]) and works with the processor to determine how long to run operations (Ping: S7-S8, Fig. 4), essentially entering the detecting mode for a certain time) to read, from the storage, the setting time as the irradiation time (Ping: running time is chosen by a preset rule, paragraph [0018]; S3-S4-S5-S7 discloses a detecting mode and S8-S9-S1-S2 disclose a delay mode).
As discussed above in claim 1, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the printer taught in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda with the medium thickness device taught in Ping in order to benefit from an improved sensitivity of the detector.
As discussed above, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the learning mode in Oda with the detecting mode in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda as the learning mode is a known technique to determine irradiation time and combining the two would eld the predictable results of accurately and efficiently measuring the thickness of a medium.
Regarding claim 7, Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda teach the invention as explained above in claim 5 and further teaches a resetting module (Ping: S9 -S2-S1, Fig. 4), a holding module (Koji: light emitting circuit, 406), a reader module and a repeating module, wherein in the learning mode:
the resetting module performs an operation (a) of controlling the reset circuit to reset the maximum holding circuit (Ping: paragraph [0028]);
the holding module performs an operation (b) of turning on the constant-current control circuit to control the light emitting element to output the light continuously for the irradiation time (Koji: paragraph [0008]), and then turning off the light emitting element (Koji: paragraph [0033]) to let the maximum holding circuit hold the maximum of the analog signal (Mizuno: paragraph [0007]), and let the analog-to-digital converter circuit generate the digital signal (Koji: paragraph [0008]; A/D converter, 408);
the reader module performs an operation (c) of reading the digital signal through the analog-to-digital converter circuit (Ping: Fig. 2 shows the analog-to-digital converter feeding the signal to a control processor; paragraph [0070]); and
the repeating module performs an operation (d) of judging whether the digital signal falls within a predetermined level range (Ping: paragraph [0005] teaches the calculation of a maximum output voltage and comparing it to the minimum and maximum input voltages), wherein: the irradiation time serves as the setting time if the digital signal falls within the predetermined level range (Ping: paragraph [0005] teaches if the voltage falls within the predetermined level, the operation of the device proceeds as normal. The examiner is interpreting this to mean the chosen irradiation time (paragraph [0018]) is used); and the irradiation time is changed if the digital signal does not fall within the predetermined level range (Ping: paragraph [0014] discloses the sensitivity of the measuring device may change if the voltage is outside the chosen range. The examiner is interpreting the "sensitivity" to include irradiation time, as paragraphs [0018] mentions the time is set according to a certain rule.), and the operations (a) to (d) are repeated.
As discussed above in claim 1, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the printer taught in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda with the medium thickness device taught in Ping in order to benefit from an improved sensitivity of the detector.
As discussed above, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the resetting, reader, and repeating module taught in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda with the holding module taught in Koji to ensure there is a reliable way to control the light emitting element, as improper light fluctuation leads to lowered accuracy.
As discussed above, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine holding module taught in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda with the maximum value detection circuit taught in Mizuno as it prevents oversaturation and ensures the best signal resolution.
Regarding claim 8, Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda teach the invention as explained above in claim 7, and further teaches the processor further comprises a setting module for setting the irradiation time, corresponding to the maximum substantially equal to 2.0 volts, as the setting time when a crossover voltage of the light-receiving element is equal to 3.3 volts (Ping: paragraph [0014] gives one example of a maximum input voltage of 3.3V and another maximum voltage less than 2.8V).
As discussed above in claim 1, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the printer taught in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda with the medium thickness device taught in Ping in order to benefit from an improved sensitivity of the detector.
Regarding claim 9, Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, and Lisogurki teach the invention as explained above in claim 1, but fails to teach a light-guiding element disposed on a first side of the medium, wherein the light emitting element and the light-receiving element are disposed on a second side of the medium, and the light-guiding element guides the light, so that the light coming from the light emitting element passes through the medium twice and then enters the light-receiving element to amplify a light shielding property of the medium.
However, Oda teaches a light-guiding element (light guiding path, 35, Fig. 20) positioned on the opposite side of a light emitting element (45) and a light receiving element (49). Oda does not explicitly disclose that the light emitted passes through the medium twice, but it is the interpretation of the examiner that it would pass once when entering the light guide and a second time when exiting the light guide.
Oda discloses the light-guiding element allows the light to be manipulated in order to optimize it for detecting a parameter the medium (paragraph [0120]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device taught in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, and Lisogurki with the light-guiding element taught in Oda to optimize the light for detecting a parameter of the medium.
Regarding claim 10, Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino,, Lisogurki and Oda teach the invention as explained above in claim 9 and further teaches the light-guiding element (Oda: 35, Fig. 20) has an inlet (46, Fig. 20) and an outlet (47, Fig. 20), the light penetrates through the medium from the light emitting element and enters the inlet, is then outputted from the outlet, then penetrates through the medium, and then enters the light-receiving element (Oda does not explicitly disclose that the light emitted passes through the medium twice, but it is the interpretation of the examiner that it would pass once when entering the light guide and a second time when exiting the light guide).
In order for light to enter and exit the light guiding element, it would be necessary to have some sort of inlet and outlet. Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device taught in Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda with the inlet and outlet taught in Oda as the light needs a way to enter and exit the light-guiding element.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokubo (US20080024827A1) in view of Ping (US20160350997A1), Koji (JP2000034037A), Mizuno (WO2000045592A1), Tachino (US20070146682A1), and Lisogurki (US20160081602A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chubachi (US20150334263A1)
Regarding claim 12, Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, and Lisogurki teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, but fails to teach a medium detector for detecting the medium, wherein the light emitting element and the light-receiving element are enabled at a predetermined time after the medium has been detected by the medium detector.
However, in the same field of endeavor of medium detection, Chubachi teaches turning on a light emitting element and receiving element at a predetermined time after a medium has been detected by a medium detector (paragraph [0123] discloses a paper sensor which detects the presence of paper and turns on a light emitter; paragraph [0124] discloses a light receiver receiving the light).
Chubachi discloses this method of measurement does not require user knowledge or input, therefore improving the reliability compared to other devices (paragraph [0009]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device of Kokubo as modified by Ping, Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, and Lisogurki with the medium detector and timing taught in Chubachi in order to improve the reliability of the measurements compared to other devices.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRIA MENDOZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877