Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10 of Remarks, filed 01/16/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lisogurki (US20160081602A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. A “second digital signal” which corresponds to a “a thickness of a second medium different from the thickness of the medium” is claimed, but the specification only discloses a second detection period (paragraph [0016] of specification as published in US20240067476A1) and a second side of the medium (paragraph [0020]), not a second medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ping (US20160350997A1), in view of Koji (JP2000034037A), Mizuno (WO2000045592A1), Tachino (US20070146682A1), and Lisogurki (US20160081602A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ping teaches a medium thickness detection device, comprising:
a light emitting element (light emitting terminal , paragraph [0022]);
a light-receiving element receiving the light passing through the medium to obtain an analog signal (light sensitive terminal, paragraph [0022]);
an analog-to-digital converter circuit (23, Fig. 2), which is electrically connected to the maximum holding circuit (23 is attached to a subtraction and amplification circuit, 28, which calculates a maximum voltage), reads the maximum of the analog signal, and converts the maximum of the analog signal into a digital signal (definition of an analog-to-digital converter is converting an analog signal to a digital signal);
a reset circuit being electrically connected to the maximum holding circuit and resetting the maximum holding circuit (S2, Fig. 4 teaches send a 0 value to the digital-to-analog converter (D/A converter, 22), which then resets the subtraction and amplification unit when to medium is detected; paragraph [0028]); and
a processor (control processor; 24, Fig. 2), which is electrically connected to the reset circuit (27) and the analog-to-digital converter circuit (23), and controls reset circuit and the analog-to-digital converter circuit to operate, wherein the processor performs reading the maximum of the maximum holding signal through the analog-to-digital converter circuit at the fifth time instant (23, Fig. 2 is attached to a subtraction and amplification circuit, 28, which calculates a maximum voltage); and determining a thickness of the medium according to the digital signal when a specification of the medium is unknown (paragraph [0070]).
Ping does not teach a constant-current control circuit, which is electrically connected to the light emitting element, and controls, in a constant-current manner, the light emitting element to output light passing through a medium for an irradiation time;
a receiver circuit being electrically connected to the light-receiving element and receiving the analog signal;
a maximum holding circuit electrically connected to the receiver circuit, and holding a maximum of the analog signal;
and wherein the processor performs, in order, operations of:
controlling the reset circuit to output a high-level pulse continuously for a first period from a first time instant to a second time instant according to a maximum clearing signal;
controlling the constant-current control circuit to drive the light emitting element to emit light continuously for the irradiation time from a third time instant, after the second time instant, to a fourth time instant, after the third time instant, according to a power control signal, thereby turning off the constant-current control circuit to disable the light emitting element from emitting light, wherein an output signal of the light-receiving element gradually rises in the irradiation time, and then gradually falls in a second period from the fourth time instant to a fifth time instant, and a level of a maximum holding signal of the maximum holding circuit also gradually rises to the maximum in the irradiation time, and is then held at the maximum.
However, in the same field of endeavor of medium detection devices, Koji teaches a current control circuit (light emitting circuit, paragraph [0008]) which controls the current responsible for causing the light emitting element to emit light (paragraph [0008]). Koji does not teach that this current is constant, but Koji does explicitly disclose that the light emitted being constant is desirable as fluctuations lead to lowered accuracy (paragraph [0013]). Koji also teaches a receiver circuit (light receiving circuit, 407) that is connected to the light receiving element (paragraph [0008]).
Koji discloses the control circuit allows the light emitter to be controlled which ensures accuracy (paragraph [0013]). Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device of Ping with the current control circuit taught in Koji to ensure accuracy of the light being emitted.
Further, the receiver circuit taught in Koji is necessary to receive the signal from the light emitter and transfer it to the analog-to-digital converter (Koji: paragraph [0008]). Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device of Ping with the receiver circuit taught in Koji in order to ensure the data is properly received and transferred.
Ping as modified by Koji fails to teach a maximum holding circuit electrically connected to the receiver circuit, and holding a maximum of the analog signal, and wherein the processor performs, in order, operations of:
controlling the reset circuit to output a high-level pulse continuously for a first period from a first time instant to a second time instant according to a maximum clearing signal;
controlling the constant-current control circuit to drive the light emitting element to emit light continuously for the irradiation time from a third time instant, after the second time instant, to a fourth time instant, after the third time instant, according to a power control signal, thereby turning off the constant-current control circuit to disable the light emitting element from emitting light, wherein an output signal of the light-receiving element gradually rises in the irradiation time, and then gradually falls in a second period from the fourth time instant to a fifth time instant, and a level of a maximum holding signal of the maximum holding circuit also gradually rises to the maximum in the irradiation time, and is then held at the maximum.
However, in the same field of endeavor of using light emitters for imaging devices, Mizuno teaches a maximum value detection circuit which outputs the maximum voltage to an analog-to-digital converter (paragraph [0007]).
Mizuno discloses the use of a maximum value detection circuit prevents oversaturation, which ensures the best signal resolution (paragraph [0087]). Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device of Ping as modified by Koji with the maximum value detection circuit taught in Mizuno to ensure the best signal resolution.
Ping as modified by Koji and Mizuno fails to teach the processor performs, in order, operations of:
controlling the reset circuit to output a high-level pulse continuously for a first period from a first time instant to a second time instant according to a maximum clearing signal;
controlling the constant-current control circuit to drive the light emitting element to emit light continuously for the irradiation time from a third time instant, after the second time instant, to a fourth time instant, after the third time instant, according to a power control signal, thereby turning off the constant-current control circuit to disable the light emitting element from emitting light, wherein an output signal of the light-receiving element gradually rises in the irradiation time, and then gradually falls in a second period from the fourth time instant to a fifth time instant, and a level of a maximum holding signal of the maximum holding circuit also gradually rises to the maximum in the irradiation time, and is then held at the maximum.
However, in the same field of endeavor of control operations of optical based sensors, Tachino teaches a system which first outputs a continuous reset signal for a first period ("Reset Signal Res", Fig. 6), followed by a second period where light is continuously emitted before being shut off ("Light Emission Signal", Fig. 6), and a maximum holding signal which gradually rises to a maximum at the end of the irradiation period ("Pixel output V1", Fig. 6).
Tachino discloses that the use of the reset signal and holding signal allow for the device to remain precise and give real-time measurements despite any unwanted movement in the object being imaged (paragraph [0009]). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device of Ping as modified by Koji and Mizuno with the reset, irradiation, and holding signals taught in Tachino in order to ensure real-time and precise measurements.
Ping as modified by Koji, Mizuno, and Tachino fail to teach an output signal of the light-receiving element gradually rises in the irradiation time, and then gradually falls in a second period from the fourth time instant to a fifth time instant.
However, in the same field of endeavor of light drive circuits in optical measurement devices, Lisogurki discloses a circuit which controls a light emitting element to emit light continuously for a first time period (202, Fig. 2A) and an output signal of the light-receiving element gradually rises and falls during this irradiation time (226, Fig. 2B; paragraph [0054] discloses the waveform in 2B is an idealized detection signal and an actual detector will have rise and fall time deviations).
Lisogurki discloses the use of synchronized on-off periods allow time for light sources and detected light signal to stabilize and reduces power consumption (paragraph [0037]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device of Ping as modified by Koji, Mizuno and Tachino with the synchronized starting and stopping of emitting and receiving signals taught in Lisogurki in order to reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 2, Ping in view of Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki teach the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches a resetting module (Ping: S9 -S2-S1, Fig. 4), and a reader module (Ping: paragraph [0070] discloses the thickness is determined in real-time by the control processor), wherein:
the resetting module performs an operation (a) of controlling the reset circuit to reset the maximum holding circuit (Ping: paragraph [0028]);
the holding module performs an operation (b) of turning on the constant-current control circuit to control the light emitting element to output the light continuously for the irradiation time (Koji: paragraph [0008]), and then turning off the light emitting element (Koji: paragraph [0033]) to let the maximum holding circuit hold the maximum of the analog signal (Mizuno: paragraph [0007]), and let the analog-to-digital converter circuit generate the digital signal (Koji: A/D converter, 408; paragraph [0008]) and
the reader module performs an operation (c) of reading the digital signal through the analog-to-digital converter circuit (Ping: Fig. 2 shows the analog-to-digital converter feeding the signal to a control processor; paragraph [0070]).
Koji discloses improper light fluctuations lead to lowered accuracy, and the resetting, reading, and repeating modules provide a way to prevent such inaccuracy by ensuring the control of the light emitting element is reliable (paragraph [0013]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device taught in Ping as modified by Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki with the resetting, reader, and repeating module taught in Ping to prevent improper light fluctuations which lead to lowered accuracy.
As discussed above, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the device taught in Ping as modified by Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki with the maximum value detection circuit taught in Mizuno as it prevents oversaturation and ensures the best signal resolution.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ping (US20160350997A1), in view of Koji (JP2000034037A), Mizuno (WO2000045592A1), Tachino (US20070146682A1), and Lisogurki (US20160081602A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (US20160349037A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ping in view of Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki teach the invention as explained above in claim 2, and further teaches the processor further comprises a delaying module for delaying a period of time after the operation (c) (Ping: S1, Fig. 4; delay happens after device has detected thickness and reset in S8); and a repeating module of controlling the resetting module, the holding module and the reader module to repeat the operations (a) to (c) to obtain another digital signal (Ping: paragraph [0050] teaches re-initializing the device after a certain time; paragraph [0076] teaches re-initializing the device for a subsequent measurement, functionally acting as a repeating module).
Ping in view of Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, and Lisogurki fails to teach repeating the operations (a) to (c) to obtain another digital signal corresponding to a second point of the medium other than the first point.
However, in the same field of endeavor as thickness measuring apparatuses, Wang teaches taking measurements at least a second measuring point (abstract).
Wang discloses multiple point measurements increases measurement efficiency (abstract). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would find it obvious to combine the device of Ping as modified by Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki with the multiple point measurements taught in Wang as it increases measurement efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, Ping in view of Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Wang teach the invention as explained above in claim 3, and further teaches the processor further comprises a determining module of determining the thickness of the medium according to the digital signals (Ping: paragraph [0070] discloses calculating the thickness of the medium).
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ping (US20160350997A1), in view of Koji (JP2000034037A), Mizuno (WO2000045592A1), Tachino (US20070146682A1), and Lisogurki (US20160081602A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oda (US20120328307A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ping in view of Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki teach the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches a determining module (Ping: determining thickness is part of the control processor, paragraph [0070]) and has a detecting mode (Ping: S3-S7, Fig. 4), the determining module determines the thickness of the medium according to the digital signal (Ping: paragraph [0070]).
Ping as modified with Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki do not teach a learning module, and a learning mode, wherein in the learning mode, the learning module adjusts the irradiation time to a setting time according to the digital signal and stores the setting time to a storage when the specification of the medium is known.
However, in the same field of endeavor of using light emitters and light receivers to measure a parameter of an object, Oda teaches a method to determine irradiation time based on the status of a parameter measured (paragraphs [0089], [0090]; Figs. 23A and 23B), essentially a learning mode.
The learning mode taught in Oda to determine an irradiation time is a known technique in the art, and a person having ordinary skill in the art would be able to reasonably apply the method with the detection mode method taught in Ping and yield predictable results of accurately and efficiently measuring the thickness of a medium.
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the learning mode in Oda with the detecting mode in Ping as the learning mode is a known technique to determine irradiation time and combining the two would yield the predictable results of accurately and efficiently measuring the thickness of a medium.
Regarding claim 6, Ping in view of Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda teach the invention as explained above in claim 5, and further a selecting module, which selects to make the processor firstly enter the learning mode to obtain the setting time (Oda: paragraphs [0089], [0090]; Figs. 23A and 23B), and then selects to make the processor enter the detecting mode (Ping: timing unit (26, Fig. 2) configured to record for a time period according to a preset rule (Ping: paragraph [0018]) and works with the processor to determine how long to run operations (Ping: S7-S8, Fig. 4), essentially entering the detecting mode for a certain time) to read, from the storage, the setting time as the irradiation time (Ping: running time is chosen by a preset rule, paragraph [0018]; S3-S4-S5-S7 discloses a detecting mode and S8-S9-S1-S2 disclose a delay mode).
As discussed above, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the learning mode in Oda with the detecting mode in Ping as the learning mode is a known technique to determine irradiation time and combining the two would yield the predictable results of accurately and efficiently measuring the thickness of a medium.
Regarding claim 7, Ping in view of Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda teach the invention as explained above in claim 5 and further teaches a resetting module (Ping: S9 -S2-S1, Fig. 4), a holding module (Koji: light emitting circuit, 406), a reader module and a repeating module, wherein in the learning mode:
the resetting module performs an operation (a) of controlling the reset circuit to reset the maximum holding circuit (Ping: paragraph [0028]);
the holding module performs an operation (b) of turning on the constant-current control circuit to control the light emitting element to output the light continuously for the irradiation time (Koji: paragraph [0008]), and then turning off the light emitting element (Koji: paragraph [0033]) to let the maximum holding circuit hold the maximum of the analog signal (Mizuno: paragraph [0007]), and let the analog-to-digital converter circuit generate the digital signal (Koji: paragraph [0008]; A/D converter, 408);
the reader module performs an operation (c) of reading the digital signal through the analog-to-digital converter circuit (Ping: Fig. 2 shows the analog-to-digital converter feeding the signal to a control processor; paragraph [0070]); and
the repeating module performs an operation (d) of judging whether the digital signal falls within a predetermined level range (Ping: paragraph [0005] teaches the calculation of a maximum output voltage and comparing it to the minimum and maximum input voltages), wherein: the irradiation time serves as the setting time if the digital signal falls within the predetermined level range (Ping: paragraph [0005] teaches if the voltage falls within the predetermined level, the operation of the device proceeds as normal. The examiner is interpreting this to mean the chosen irradiation time (paragraph [0018]) is used); and the irradiation time is changed if the digital signal does not fall within the predetermined level range (Ping: paragraph [0014] discloses the sensitivity of the measuring device may change if the voltage is outside the chosen range. The examiner is interpreting the "sensitivity" to include irradiation time, as paragraphs [0018] mentions the time is set according to a certain rule.), and the operations (a) to (d) are repeated.
As discussed above, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the resetting, reader, and repeating module taught in Ping with the holding module taught in Koji to ensure there is a reliable way to control the light emitting element, as improper light fluctuation leads to lowered accuracy.
As discussed above, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine holding module taught in Koji with the maximum value detection circuit taught in Mizuno as it prevents oversaturation and ensures the best signal resolution.
Regarding claim 8, Ping in view of Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda teach the invention as explained above in claim 7, and further teaches the processor further comprises a setting module for setting the irradiation time, corresponding to the maximum substantially equal to 2.0 volts, as the setting time when a crossover voltage of the light-receiving element is equal to 3.3 volts (Ping: paragraph [0014] gives one example of a maximum input voltage of 3.3V and another maximum voltage less than 2.8V).
Regarding claim 9, Ping in view of Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, and Lisogurki teach the invention as explained above in claim 1, but fails to teach a light-guiding element disposed on a first side of the medium, wherein the light emitting element and the light-receiving element are disposed on a second side of the medium, and the light-guiding element guides the light, so that the light coming from the light emitting element passes through the medium twice and then enters the light-receiving element to amplify a light shielding property of the medium.
However, Oda teaches a light-guiding element (light guiding path, 35, Fig. 20) positioned on the opposite side of a light emitting element (45) and a light receiving element (49). Oda does not explicitly disclose that the light emitted passes through the medium twice, but it is the interpretation of the examiner that it would pass once when entering the light guide and a second time when exiting the light guide.
Oda discloses the light-guiding element allows the light to be manipulated in order to optimize it for detecting a parameter the medium (paragraph [0120]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device taught in Ping as modified by Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki with the light-guiding element taught in Oda to optimize the light for detecting a parameter of the medium.
Regarding claim 10, Ping in view of Koji, Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda teach the invention as explained above in claim 9 and further teaches the light-guiding element (Oda: 35, Fig. 20) has an inlet (46, Fig. 20) and an outlet (47, Fig. 20), the light penetrates through the medium from the light emitting element and enters the inlet, is then outputted from the outlet, then penetrates through the medium, and then enters the light-receiving element (Oda does not explicitly disclose that the light emitted passes through the medium twice, but it is the interpretation of the examiner that it would pass once when entering the light guide and a second time when exiting the light guide).
In order for light to enter and exit the light guiding element, it would be necessary to have some sort of inlet and outlet. Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device taught in Ping as modified by Mizuno, Tachino, Lisogurki and Oda with the inlet and outlet taught in Oda as the light needs a way to enter and exit the light-guiding element.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ping (US20160350997A1), in view of Koji (JP2000034037A), Mizuno (WO2000045592A1), Tachino (US20070146682A1), and Lisogurki (US20160081602A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shang (CN214537793U).
Regarding claim 11, Ping as modified by Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, but fails to teach the digital signal representative of the thickness of the medium is different from a second digital signal representative of a thickness of a second medium different from the thickness of the medium when the second medium is detected by the medium thickness detection device and the analog-to-digital converter circuit obtains the second digital signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor of thickness detection devices, Shang teaches a device which measures two different signals representing different thicknesses (paragraphs [n0016] and [n0019]).
Shang discloses the that by detecting two different medium thicknesses, the device is able to detect for multiple sheets or other similar misjudgments (paragraph [n0012]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device of Ping as modified by Koji, Mizuno, Tachino and Lisogurki as a way to improve accuracy and prevent misjudgments.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRIA MENDOZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877