DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I directed to claims 1-16 and 18-19, and further election of Species Ia, directed to claim 1-15 and 18-19, in the reply filed on 12/05/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 16-17 directed to the non-elected species are thereby withdrawn. Currently claims 1-19 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/14/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the
claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have
been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having
ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be
negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-4, 7-8, 15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YASUSAKA, Makoto (US 20150255451 A1) “YASUSAKA et al.” in view of Cook, Benjamin Stassen (US 20180151471 A1) “Cook et al”.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, YASUSAKA et al. Figs. 1-5 discloses a semiconductor apparatus (“a semiconductor device” ¶ [0032]), comprising:
a semiconductor layer (“a semiconductor substrate” ¶ [0034]) having a first surface (Top Surface of the substrate aligned with the top surface of transistor 10 in Fig. 5) and a second surface (Bottom surface of substrate in Fig. 5) and including, between the first surface and the second surface, a semiconductor element (“a P channel type MOS (Metal Oxide Semiconductor) field effect transistor 10” ¶ [0033]) and a protection circuit (“an overheat protection circuit 30” ¶ [0033]);
a wiring layer disposed at a first-surface side of the semiconductor layer (“a wiring pattern 112” ¶ [0061]) and electrically connected to the protection circuit (“a wiring pattern 112 electrically connected to a transistor 31 (heat detection element)” ¶ [0061]) or a plurality of wiring layers (“The first (lower) wiring layer L1 includes a wiring pattern 111 electrically connected to a transistor 10 (heat source) and a wiring pattern 112 electrically connected to a transistor 31 (heat detection element). The second (middle) wring layer L2 includes a wiring pattern 113 formed on the wiring pattern 111, and a wiring pattern 114 formed on the wiring pattern 112. The third (upper) wiring layer L3 includes a wiring pattern 115 formed across both of the transistor 10 (heat source) and the transistor 31 (heat detection element). The wiring pattern 111 and the wiring patterns 113, the wiring pattern 113 and the wiring patterns 115, and the wiring pattern 114 and the wiring patterns 115 are respectively electrically interconnected through vias 116 to 118, respectively.” ¶ [0061]) disposed at a first-surface side of the semiconductor layer and electrically connected to the protection circuit, the first-surface side being a side where the first surface is located; and
a first heat dissipation layer (“The wiring pattern 114 of the wiring layer L2 corresponds to the above-described heat conductive member L2X” ¶ [0062]) disposed between a wiring layer that is closest to the semiconductor layer (“The wiring pattern 114 of the wiring layer L2 corresponds to the above-described heat conductive member L2X (see FIG. 4C). In this manner, in the semiconductor device including three (or more) wiring layers, since a vertical distance between the uppermost wiring layer and the heat detection element is large, a middle or lower wiring layer may be used to stack the heat conductive members in the vertical direction.” ¶ [0062]), among the plurality of wiring layers, and the semiconductor layer, and not electrically connected to the protection circuit (“The wiring pattern 112 and the wiring pattern 114 are not electrically interconnected.” ¶ [0061]),
wherein in a plan view taken at the first-surface side, the first heat dissipation layer is disposed at a position of overlapping with at least a part of the protection circuit (Figs. 4A-4D and 5 shows heat dissipation layer 114 is disposed at a position of overlapping with at least a part of the protection circuit 30 (31 of 30)).
However, YASUSAKA et al. does not explicitly disclose a first heat dissipation layer disposed between the wiring layer and the semiconductor layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices Cook et al. Fig. 2A discloses, a first heat dissipation layer (“thermal via 230 may provide a more closely matched thermal environment for the first component 208 and the second component 234” ¶ [0025]) disposed between the wiring layer (“interconnects 218” ¶ [0024]) and the semiconductor layer (“a substrate 202 comprising a semiconductor material 204” ¶ [0024]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the heat dissipation layer of YASUSAKA et al. with the heat dissipation layer of Cook et al. in order to provide a more closely matched thermal environment for the first component and the second component and thereby improve their performance (Cook et al. ¶ [0025]).
Regarding Claim 2, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1. However, YASUSAKA et al. does not disclose, wherein in a plan view taken at the first-surface side, a contact layer connecting the protection circuit and the wiring layer electrically is disposed inside a region surrounded by the first heat dissipation layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, Cook et al., Fig. 2A discloses, wherein in a plan view taken at the first-surface side, a contact layer (“contacts 216” ¶ [0024]) connecting the protection circuit (“components 208 and 234 are depicted in FIG. 2A as MOS transistors, however other manifestations, such as bipolar junction transistors, JFETs, resistors, and SCRs are within the scope of the instant example” ¶ [0024]) and the wiring layer (“interconnects 218” ¶ [0024]) electrically is disposed inside a region surrounded by the first heat dissipation layer 230 (“contacts 216 extend through the PMD layer 236. A first IMD layer 238 may be disposed over the thermal via 230” ¶ [0025]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the heat dissipation layer of YASUSAKA et al. with the heat dissipation layer of Cook et al. in order to provide a more closely matched thermal environment for the first component and the second component and thereby improve their performance (Cook et al. ¶ [0025]).
Regarding Claim 3, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1. However, YASUSAKA et al. does not disclose, wherein in a plan view taken at the first-surface side, a plurality of contact layers connecting the protection circuit and the wiring layer electrically is disposed, and the first heat dissipation layer is disposed between the plurality of contact layers.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices Cook et al., Fig. 2A discloses, wherein in a plan view taken at the first-surface side, a plurality of contact layers (“contacts 216” ¶ [0024]) connecting the protection circuit 234 and the wiring layer 218 electrically is disposed, and the first heat dissipation layer 230 is disposed between the plurality of contact layers 216 (Fig. 2A shows the first heat dissipation layer 230 is disposed between the plurality of contact layers 216).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the protection circuit and heat dissipation layer of YASUSAKA et al. with the protection circuit and the heat dissipation layer of Cook et al. in order to provide a more closely matched thermal environment for the first component and the second component and thereby improve their performance (Cook et al. ¶ [0025]).
Regarding Claim 4, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1. However, YASUSAKA et al. does not disclose, wherein in a plan view taken at the first-surface side, a contact layer connecting the protection circuit and the wiring layer electrically is disposed between a plurality of first heat dissipation layers, each of which is the first heat dissipation layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices Cook et al., Fig. 2A discloses, wherein in a plan view taken at the first-surface side, a plurality of contact layers (“contacts 216” ¶ [0024]) connecting the protection circuit 234 and the wiring layer 218 electrically is disposed, and a plurality of heat dissipation layer 230, each of which is the first heat dissipation layer 230 (Fig. 2A shows a plurality of heat dissipation layer 230, each of which is the first heat dissipation layer 230).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the protection circuit and heat dissipation layer of YASUSAKA et al. with the protection circuit and the heat dissipation layer of Cook et al. in order to provide a more closely matched thermal environment for the first component and the second component and thereby improve their performance (Cook et al. ¶ [0025]).
Regarding Claim 7, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1. YASUSAKA et al. further discloses,
wherein the first heat dissipation layer contains, at least, a single element alone of metal selected from the group consisting of tungsten, copper (“wiring layers L2 and L3 are made of copper” ¶ [0063]), aluminum (“The wiring patterns 50 and 60 are formed by patterning metal having high conductivity (such as aluminum, copper, silver, gold or the like).” ¶ [0038]), titanium, cobalt, and nickel, or an alloy including the metal (“at least one of the wiring layers L1 and L2 stacked on the semiconductor substrate may be used to form the heat conductive member 60X” ¶ [0056]).
Regarding Claim 8, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1. YASUSAKA et al. further discloses, wherein the wiring layer and the first heat dissipation layer contain metal, and a main element of the wiring layer and a main element of the first heat dissipation layer are different from each other (“if the wiring layer L1 is made of aluminum and the wiring layers L2 and L3 are made of copper, the wiring layers L2 and L3 having higher thermal conductivity may be used to form the heat conductive members L2X and L3X.” [0063]).
Regarding Claim 15, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1. YASUSAKA et al. further discloses, wherein the first heat dissipation layer is electrically connected to a pad that is not electrically connected to the protection circuit (“The wiring pattern 60 is a conductive member (output line) electrically connecting the drain of the transistor 10 and the pad 80” ¶ [0038]).
Regarding Claim 18, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1. YASUSAKA et al. further discloses, equipment comprising: the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1; and at least one selected from the group comprising an optical apparatus co-operable with the semiconductor apparatus; a control apparatus configured to control the semiconductor apparatus; a processing apparatus configured to process a signal outputted from the semiconductor apparatus; a display apparatus configured to display information obtained by the semiconductor apparatus (“FIG. 8 shows an external appearance of a personal computer X, and FIG. 9 shows an external appearance of a television Y. The use of the above-described semiconductor devices 1 and 2 as power supply ICs of these electronic apparatuses can result in increased safety and reliability of the electronic apparatuses.” ¶ [0079]); a storage apparatus configured to store information obtained by the semiconductor apparatus; and a mechanical apparatus configured to operate based on information obtained by the semiconductor apparatus.
Regarding Independent Claim 19, YASUSAKA et al. Figs. 1-5 discloses a substrate (“a semiconductor device” ¶ [0032]), comprising:
a semiconductor layer (“a semiconductor substrate” ¶ [0034]) having a first surface (Top Surface of the substrate aligned with the top surface of transistor 10 in Fig. 5) and a second surface (Bottom surface of substrate in Fig. 5) and including, between the first surface and the second surface, a semiconductor element (“a P channel type MOS (Metal Oxide Semiconductor) field effect transistor 10” ¶ [0033]) and a protection circuit (“an overheat protection circuit 30” ¶ [0033]);
a wiring layer disposed at a first-surface side of the semiconductor layer (“a wiring pattern 112” ¶ [0061]) and electrically connected to the protection circuit (“a wiring pattern 112 electrically connected to a transistor 31 (heat detection element)” ¶ [0061]) or a plurality of wiring layers (“The first (lower) wiring layer L1 includes a wiring pattern 111 electrically connected to a transistor 10 (heat source) and a wiring pattern 112 electrically connected to a transistor 31 (heat detection element). The second (middle) wring layer L2 includes a wiring pattern 113 formed on the wiring pattern 111, and a wiring pattern 114 formed on the wiring pattern 112. The third (upper) wiring layer L3 includes a wiring pattern 115 formed across both of the transistor 10 (heat source) and the transistor 31 (heat detection element). The wiring pattern 111 and the wiring patterns 113, the wiring pattern 113 and the wiring patterns 115, and the wiring pattern 114 and the wiring patterns 115 are respectively electrically interconnected through vias 116 to 118, respectively.” ¶ [0061]) disposed at a first-surface side of the semiconductor layer and electrically connected to the protection circuit, the first-surface side being a side where the first surface is located; and
a first heat dissipation layer (“The wiring pattern 114 of the wiring layer L2 corresponds to the above-described heat conductive member L2X” ¶ [0062]) disposed between a wiring layer that is closest to the semiconductor layer (“The wiring pattern 114 of the wiring layer L2 corresponds to the above-described heat conductive member L2X (see FIG. 4C). In this manner, in the semiconductor device including three (or more) wiring layers, since a vertical distance between the uppermost wiring layer and the heat detection element is large, a middle or lower wiring layer may be used to stack the heat conductive members in the vertical direction.” ¶ [0062]), among the plurality of wiring layers, and the semiconductor layer, and not electrically connected to the protection circuit (“The wiring pattern 112 and the wiring pattern 114 are not electrically interconnected.” ¶ [0061]),
wherein in a plan view taken at the first-surface side, the first heat dissipation layer is disposed at a position of overlapping with at least a part of the protection circuit (Figs. 4A-4D and 5 shows heat dissipation layer 114 is disposed at a position of overlapping with at least a part of the protection circuit 30 (31 of 30)).
However, YASUSAKA et al. does not explicitly disclose a first heat dissipation layer disposed between the wiring layer and the semiconductor layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices Cook et al. Fig. 2A discloses, a first heat dissipation layer (“thermal via 230 may provide a more closely matched thermal environment for the first component 208 and the second component 234” ¶ [0025]) disposed between the wiring layer (“interconnects 218” ¶ [0024]) and the semiconductor layer (“a substrate 202 comprising a semiconductor material 204” ¶ [0024]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the heat dissipation layer of YASUSAKA et al. with the heat dissipation layer of Cook et al. in order to provide a more closely matched thermal environment for the first component and the second component and thereby improve their performance (Cook et al. ¶ [0025]).
Claim 5-6 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YASUSAKA, Makoto (US 20150255451 A1) “YASUSAKA et al.” in view of Cook, Benjamin Stassen (US 20180151471 A1) “Cook et al” further in view of Kobayashi; Masahiro (US 20130107075 A1) “Kobayashi et al.”
Regarding Claim 5, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1. However, YASUSAKA et al. does not disclose, wherein in a plan view taken at the first-surface side, the first heat dissipation layer is disposed at a position of overlapping with at least a part of a well region included in the protection circuit.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor device with protection circuit, Kobayashi et al. Figs. 1-10 discloses, wherein in a plan view taken at the first-surface side, the first heat dissipation layer 150/130 is disposed at a position of overlapping with at least a part of a well region 902 (“The wiring 150 is connected to a p-type semiconductor region 902” ¶ [0048]) included in the protection circuit 315 (“Fig. 10B shows 150 is overlapping with 902).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the protection circuit of YASUSAKA et al. with the protection circuit of Kobayashi et al. in order to be connected to the wiring VSS supplying the predetermined voltage (VSS) via a plurality of contacts (Kobayashi et al. ¶ [0048]).
Regarding Claim 6, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1. However, YASUSAKA et al. does not disclose, wherein in a plan view taken at the first-surface side, the first heat dissipation layer is disposed at a position of overlapping with at least a part of an active region included in the protection circuit.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor device with protection circuit, Kobayashi et al. Figs. 1-10 discloses, wherein in a plan view taken at the first-surface side, the first heat dissipation layer is disposed at a position of overlapping (“Fig. 10B shows 150/130 is overlapping with 902 and 903) with at least a part of an active region included in the protection circuit (“The wiring 150 is connected to a p-type semiconductor region 902 forming the anode of the first diode 145 via the contact, and is connected to an n-type semiconductor region 903 forming the cathode of the second diode 146 via the contact.” ¶ [0048]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the protection circuit of YASUSAKA et al. with the protection circuit of Kobayashi et al. in order to be connected to the wiring VSS supplying the predetermined voltage (VSS) via a plurality of contacts (Kobayashi et al. ¶ [0048]).
Regarding Claim 11, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1. However, YASUSAKA et al. does not disclose, wherein the semiconductor element includes a peripheral circuit configured to process a signal detected by a photoelectric conversion portion.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor device with protection circuit, Kobayashi et al. Figs. 1-10 discloses, wherein the semiconductor element includes a peripheral circuit configured to process a signal detected by a photoelectric conversion portion (“a peripheral circuit part 302 where there is arranged a peripheral circuit that may include a reading circuit configured to read a signal from the pixel part 301” ¶ [0036]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the semiconductor device with protection circuit of YASUSAKA et al. with the semiconductor device with protection circuit including a peripheral circuit of Kobayashi et al. in order to generating a signal based on the charge of the photoelectric conversion element and is arranged in a main face thereof (Kobayashi et al., ¶ [0033]).
Regarding Claim 12, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1. However, YASUSAKA et al. does not disclose, wherein the semiconductor element includes a photoelectric conversion portion.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor device with protection circuit, Kobayashi et al. Figs. 1-10 discloses, wherein the semiconductor element includes a photoelectric conversion portion (“a photoelectric conversion element 303” ¶ [0037]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the semiconductor device with protection circuit of YASUSAKA et al. with the semiconductor device with protection circuit including a photoelectric conversion element of Kobayashi et al. in order to generating a signal based on the charge of the photoelectric conversion element and is arranged in a main face thereof (Kobayashi et al., ¶ [0033]).
Regarding Claim 13, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. and Kobayashi et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 12. However, YASUSAKA et al. does not disclose, wherein light enters the photoelectric conversion portion through the second surface.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor device with protection circuit, Kobayashi et al. Figs. 1-10 discloses, wherein light enters the photoelectric conversion portion through the second surface (“light enters from the micro lens layer 118 side and is received by the photoelectric conversion element.” ¶ [0054]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the semiconductor device with protection circuit of YASUSAKA et al. with the semiconductor device with protection circuit including a photoelectric conversion element of Kobayashi et al. in order to generating a signal based on the charge of the photoelectric conversion element and is arranged in a main face thereof (Kobayashi et al., ¶ [0033]).
Regarding Claim 14, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. and Kobayashi et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 13. However, YASUSAKA et al. does not disclose, wherein a circuit substrate including a peripheral circuit configured to process a signal detected by the photoelectric conversion portion is stacked on the semiconductor layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor device with protection circuit, Kobayashi et al. Figs. 1-10 discloses, wherein a circuit substrate including a peripheral circuit configured to process a signal detected by the photoelectric conversion portion is stacked on the semiconductor layer (“In the pixel part 301 of the first member 308, there are arranged on the first substrate 101 an n-type semiconductor region 112 constituting a photoelectric conversion element” ¶ [0053]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the semiconductor device with protection circuit of YASUSAKA et al. with the semiconductor device with protection circuit including a photoelectric conversion element of Kobayashi et al. in order to generating a signal based on the charge of the photoelectric conversion element and is arranged in a main face thereof (Kobayashi et al., ¶ [0033]).
Claim 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YASUSAKA, Makoto (US 20150255451 A1) “YASUSAKA et al.” in view of Cook, Benjamin Stassen (US 20180151471 A1) “Cook et al” further in view of Kaneko, Kishou (US 20130334529 A1) “Kaneko et al.”.
Regarding Claim 9, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1. However, YASUSAKA et al. does not disclose, wherein an element isolation region and a second heat dissipation layer including metal are disposed between the first surface and the second surface, the protection circuit includes the element isolation region, the second heat dissipation layer is in contact with the element isolation region, the protection circuit is disposed at a first depth from the first surface, and the second heat dissipation layer is disposed at the first depth from the first surface.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor device with protection circuit, Kaneko et al. Fig. 6 discloses, wherein an element isolation region (“an interlayer insulating film 4-1” ¶ [0042]) and a second heat dissipation layer (“wiring lines 21 and 22” ¶ [0060]) including metal (“a metal wiring line having a high thermal conductivity (e.g. Cu wiring line and Al wiring line)” ¶ [0060]) are disposed between the first surface (upper surface of 21 and 22) and the second surface (lower surface of 21 and 22), the protection circuit (“protection device 11” ¶ [0060]) includes the element isolation region 4-1, the second heat dissipation layer 21 and 22 is in contact with the element isolation region 4-1, the protection circuit is disposed at a first depth from the first surface, and the second heat dissipation layer is disposed at the first depth from the first surface (Fig. 6 shows the protection circuit 11 is disposed at a first depth from the first surface, and the second heat dissipation 21 and 22 layer is disposed at the first depth from the first surface).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the protection circuit layer of YASUSAKA et al. with the protection circuit layer including a heat dissipation and isolation layer in order to adopt the structure which eases the heat generated locally in the ESD protection device 11 and the wiring layer 3 by the wiring lines 21 to 23, the heat tolerance and the reliability of the ESD protection device 11 can be improved (Kaneko et al. ¶ [0060]).
Regarding Claim 10, YASUSAKA et al. as modified by Cook et al. discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 9. However, YASUSAKA et al. does not disclose, wherein the second heat dissipation layer contains, at least, a single element alone of metal selected from the group consisting of tungsten, copper, aluminum, titanium, cobalt, and nickel, or an alloy including the metal, or a metal-and-polysilicon compound.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor device with protection circuit, Kaneko et al. Fig. 6 discloses, wherein the second heat dissipation layer contains, at least, a single element alone of metal selected from the group consisting of tungsten, copper, aluminum, titanium, cobalt, and nickel, or an alloy including the metal, or a metal-and-polysilicon compound (“a metal wiring line having a high thermal conductivity (e.g. Cu wiring line and Al wiring line) may be formed in the neighborhood of the ESD protection device 11” ¶ [0060]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the protection circuit layer of YASUSAKA et al. with the protection circuit layer including a heat dissipation and isolation layer in order to adopt the structure which eases the heat generated locally in the ESD protection device 11 and the wiring layer 3 by the wiring lines 21 to 23, the heat tolerance and the reliability of the ESD protection device 11 can be improved (Kaneko et al. ¶ [0060]).
Conclusion
/AKHEE SARKER-NAG/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893