DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 is currently written as being dependent upon claim 13, which is a withdrawn claim and would result in a lack of antecedent basis issue for the claim. It appears that claim 22 was intended to be dependent upon claim 21 and the application will be examined as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 6-10, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Pub. 2006/0040444).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee teaches a semiconductor device (Figs. 4A-4G; para. 0036+) comprising:
a data storage element including a first electrode (420, 450) disposed over a semiconductor substrate (para. 0036-0038), wherein the first electrode includes:
a pillar body (450) which is oriented perpendicular to a surface of the semiconductor substrate and which includes a tapered sidewall (Fig. 4D); and
a sealing layer (420) covering the tapered sidewall of the pillar body (Fig. 4D),
wherein the sealing layer includes a tapered inner surface and a vertical outer surface (Fig. 4D).
Re claim 2, Lee teaches wherein an outer wall of the first electrode includes a vertical sidewall which is defined by the sealing layer (Fig. 4D).
Re claim 3, Lee teaches wherein the tapered sidewall of the pillar body has a negative slope (Fig. 4D).
Re claim 4, Lee teaches wherein a diameter of a bottom portion of the pillar body is smaller than a diameter of a top portion of the pillar body (Fig. 4D).
Re claim 5, Lee teaches wherein an outer wall of the pillar body is surrounded by the sealing layer (Fig. 4D).
Re claim 6, Lee teaches wherein the tapered inner surface of the sealing layer contacts the tapered sidewall of the pillar body (Fig. 4D).
Re claim 7, Lee teaches wherein the tapered inner surface of the sealing layer has a positive slope (Fig. 4D).
Re claim 8, Lee teaches wherein the pillar body includes at least one of a metal and a noble metal (para. 0038).
Re claim 9, Lee teaches wherein the sealing layer includes a conductive metal oxide (para. 0036).
Re claim 10, Lee teaches wherein the sealing layer includes niobium oxide (Nb2O5) (para. 0036).
Re claim 21, Lee teaches wherein the sealing layer includes an upper-level sealing layer (upper half of sealing layer 420) and a lower-level sealing layer (lower half of sealing layer 420) (Fig. 4D).
Re claim 22, Lee teaches wherein an average thickness of the upper-level sealing layer is smaller than an average thickness of the lower-level sealing layer (Fig. 4D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US Pub. 2013/0256769) in view of Kang et al. (US Pub. 2020/0395438).
Regarding independent claim 1, Jeong teaches a semiconductor device (Figs. 1A-1B; para. 0060+) comprising:
a data storage element (capacitor CP; para. 0076) including a first electrode (60; para. 0076) disposed over a semiconductor substrate (1; para. 0061),
wherein the first electrode includes:
a pillar body (60) which is oriented perpendicular to a surface of the semiconductor substrate and which includes a tapered sidewall (Fig. 1B).
Jeong is silent with respect to a sealing layer.
Kang teaches a semiconductor device including a sealing layer (174A) covering the sidewalls of the pillar body (172A) (Fig. 4; para. 0064-0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a sealing layer as taught by Kang within the device of Jeong for the purpose of improving the capacitance of the capacitor (Kang para. 0067). When including a sealing layer within the device of Jeong the sealing layer would include a tapered inner surface (inner surface of the portion of the sealing layer on the slanted portion of the pillar body) and a vertical outer surface (outer surface of the portion of the sealing layer in the vertical portion of the pillar body) as claimed.
Re claim 2, the combination of Jeong and Kang teaches wherein an outer wall of the first electrode includes a vertical sidewall which is defined by the sealing layer (Jeong Fig. 1B; Kang Fig. 4).
Re claim 3, Jeong teaches wherein the tapered sidewall of the pillar body has a negative slope (Fig. 1B).
Re claim 4, Jeong teaches wherein a diameter of a bottom portion of the pillar body is smaller than a diameter of a top portion of the pillar body (Fig. 1B).
Re claim 5, the combination of Jeong and Kang teaches wherein the pillar body includes a vertically oriented pillar shape, and wherein an outer wall of the pillar body is surrounded by the sealing layer (Jeong Fig. 1B; Kang Fig. 4).
Re claim 6, the combination of Jeong and Kang teaches wherein the tapered inner surface of the sealing layer contacts the tapered sidewall of the pillar body (Jeong Fig. 1B; Kang Fig. 4).
Re claim 7, the combination of Jeong and Kang teaches wherein the tapered inner surface of the sealing layer has a positive slope (Jeong Fig. 1B; Kang Fig. 4).
Re claim 8, Jeong is silent with respect to a material of the pillar body.
Kang teaches wherein their pillar body includes at least one of a metal, a metal nitride, a conductive metal oxide, and a noble metal (para. 0063).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to look to Kang to provide that which was missing from Jeong; that is, a material for the pillar body to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is considered prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.07).
Re claim 9, the combination of Jeong and Kang teaches wherein the sealing layer includes a conductive metal oxide (Kang para. 0065).
Re claim 10, Kang teaches wherein the sealing layer includes conductive metal oxides, but is silent with respect to at least one of titanium oxide (TiO2), niobium oxide (Nb2O5), molybdenum oxide (MoO2), and indium oxide (InO2) specifically; however, titanium oxide (TiO2), niobium oxide (Nb2O5), molybdenum oxide (MoO2), and indium oxide (InO2) are known conductive metal oxides and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to choose one of them with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143, I, E). Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is considered prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.07).
Re claim 11, the combination of Jeong and Kang teaches wherein the sealing layer includes at least one of a metal and a metal nitride (Kang para. 0065).
Re claim 12, Jeong teaches wherein the data storage element further includes: a supporter (40; para. 0076) supporting an outer wall of the first electrode; a dielectric layer (58; para. 0077) covering the supporter and the first electrode; and a second electrode (56; para. 0077) disposed over the dielectric layer (Fig. 1B).
Re claim 21, the combination of Jeong and Kang wherein the sealing layer includes an upper-level sealing layer and a lower-level sealing layer (Jeong Fig. 1B; Kang Fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Kang have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues Jeong in view of Kang fails to disclose or suggest a sealing layer having both a tapered inner surface and vertical outer surface.
The Examiner disagrees because when including a sealing layer (capping layer) of Kang within the device of Jeong, the sealing layer would include a tapered inner surface (inner surface of the portion of the sealing layer on the slanted portion of the pillar body 60 of Jeong) and a vertical outer surface (outer surface of the portion of the sealing layer in the vertical portion of the pillar body 60 of Jeong) as claimed.
Applicant’s remaining arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOLLY K REIDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2899