DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filled on 05/28/2026. Claims 1-21 are pending for this examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1:
Applicant arguments: Applicants respectfully submit that Huynh does not disclose "first power supply in a first power supply track arranged below the lower transistor," nor that a "second power supply extending in a second power supply track arranged above the upper transistor”. The Examiner disagrees.
In response:
Huynh discloses “connecting the bit cell with power rails (e.g. VDD and VSS supply voltages)”, Para [ 0049], and also Para [ 0077] discloses “source or the drain of the pull-up transistor PU1 and one of the source or the drain of the pull-down transistor PD1 are connected to a VDD and a VSS power rail”. Examiner interpreted Vss power rail as (first power supply) and VDD power rail as (second power supply) for first and second power supply track, which is below the lower transistor and arranged above the upper transistor.
Thus, the well-made rejection included in the 01/28/2026 Non-Final Office Action is proper and hereby made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huynh Bao et al (US 2018/0174642 A1; hereafter Huynh).
Regarding claim 1. Huynh discloses a bit cell for a Static Random-Access Memory (SRAM), the bit cell (Fig [1-2]) comprising:
first and second sets of transistors (Fig [1-2], Para [ 0083] discloses “The first stack 110 includes a pull-up transistor PU1, a pull-down transistor PD1 and a pass transistor PG1. The second stack 120 includes a pull-up transistor PU2, a pull-down transistor PD2 and a pass transistor PG2”) arranged on a substrate (Fig [1-2], substrate 102), each set comprising a respective pass-gate transistor and a respective stacked complementary transistor pair of an upper transistor and a lower transistor (Fig [1-2], Para [ 0083] discloses “The first stack 110 includes a pull-up transistor PU1, a pull-down transistor PD1 and a pass transistor PG1. The second stack 120 includes a pull-up transistor PU2, a pull-down transistor PD2 and a pass transistor PG2”);
wherein each transistor of the first set (Fig [1-2], Para [ 0083] discloses “The first stack 110 includes a pull-up transistor PU1, a pull-down transistor PD1 and a pass transistor PG1) comprises a semiconductor channel extending between respective source and drain regions along a horizontal first channel track (Fig [1-2], channels [ 112c, 114c and 116c], Para [ 0086-0087]), and
each transistor of the second set (Fig [1-2], Para [ 0083] discloses “The second stack 120 includes a pull-up transistor PU2, a pull-down transistor PD2 and a pass transistor PG2”) comprises a semiconductor channel extending between respective source and drain regions along a horizontal second channel track (Fig [1-2], channels [ 122c, 124c and 126c], Para [ 0091-0098]);
wherein the semiconductor channels of the lower transistors are arranged at a first level above the substrate (Fig [1-2], pull-up transistors PU1 and PU2, Para [ 0076-0089]) and the semiconductor channels of the upper transistors are arranged at a second level, above the first level (Fig [1-2], pull-down transistors PD1 and PD2, Para [ 0076-0089]);
wherein the semiconductor channels of the pass-gate transistors are arranged at the first level or the second level (Fig [1-2], pass gate PG-1 and PG-2, Para [ 0075-0082]);
wherein a source or drain terminal (112a/ 112b Para [ 0086, 0112]) of the lower transistor of each set of transistors (Fig [1-2], pull-up transistors PU1 and PU2, Para [ 0085-0089]) is connected to a respective first power supply extending in a first power supply track arranged below the lower transistor (Para [ 0107]); and
wherein a source or drain terminal (124a/ 124b and 122a/122b, Para [ 0089, 0112]) of the upper transistor of each set of transistors (Fig [1-2], pull-down transistors PD1 and PD2, Para [ 0076-0089]) is connected to a respective second power supply extending in a second power supply track arranged above the upper transistor (Para [0078, 0107]).
Regarding claim 2. Huynh discloses the bit cell of claim 1, Huynh further discloses wherein a gate of each of the pass-gate transistors (Fig [1-2], pass gate PG-1 and PG-2, Para [ 0075-0082]) is connected to a respective word line (Fig [1-2], word line WL, Para [ 0078]) extending in a word line track arranged at the same vertical level as the second power supply track (Para [ 0078, 0107]).
Regarding claim 4. Huynh discloses the bit cell of claim 1, Huynh further discloses wherein the first power supply is a buried interconnect (Fig [1-2], Para [0078-0079, 0107]).
Regarding claim 8. Huynh discloses the bit cell of claim 1, Huynh further discloses wherein the semiconductor channel of each transistor is formed of a respective fin portion, nanosheet portion, or nanowire portion (Fig [1-2], Para [ 0075-0090, 0107]).
Regarding claim 9. Huynh discloses the bit cell of claim 1, Huynh further discloses wherein the semiconductor channel of each transistor comprises a vertical stack of nanosheet portions or nanowire portions (Fig [1-2], Para [ 0075-0090,0107]).
Regarding claim 21. Huynh discloses the bit cell from claim 1, Huynh further discloses wherein the first power supply (power rail Vss, Para [ 0049, 0077,0109]) is connected to the lower transistor of each set of transistors, from below the lower transistor of each set of transistors (Fig [1-2], Para [ 0083] discloses “The first stack 110 includes a pull-up transistor PU1, a pull-down transistor PD1 and a pass transistor PG1. The second stack 120 includes a pull-up transistor PU2, a pull-down transistor PD2 and a pass transistor PG2”), by a respective vertical interconnect structure, (Fig 1) and wherein the second power supply ( power rail VDD, Para [ 0049, 0077,0109]) is connected to the upper transistor of each set of transistors, from above the upper transistor of each set of transistors (Fig [1-2], Para [ 0083] discloses “The first stack 110 includes a pull-up transistor PU1, a pull-down transistor PD1 and a pass transistor PG1. The second stack 120 includes a pull-up transistor PU2, a pull-down transistor PD2 and a pass transistor PG2”), by a respective further vertical interconnect structure (Fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
Regarding claim 3. The bit cell of claim 2, wherein: a source or drain terminal of the pass-gate transistor of the first set of transistors is connected to a first bit line;
a source or drain terminal of the pass gate transistor of the second set of transistors is connected to a second bit line; and the first and second bit lines extend in a respective bit line track arranged at a level between the pass-gate transistors and the word line tracks.
Regarding claim 5. The bit cell of claim 1, further comprising: a first inverter gate electrode forming a common gate electrode for the semiconductor channels of the complementary transistor pair of the first set of transistors and a second inverter gate electrode forming a common gate electrode for the semiconductor channels of the complementary transistor pair of the second set of transistors, wherein the first and second inverter gate electrodes extend in a horizontal gate track transverse to the channel tracks: a first pass gate electrode forming a gate of the first pass-gate transistor and being aligned with the first inverter gate electrode; a second pass gate electrode forming a gate of the second pass-gate transistor and being aligned with the second inverter gate electrode; and a dielectric wall disposed in a trench that separates the first pass gate electrode from the first inverter gate electrode and that separates the second pass gate electrode from the second inverter gate electrode.
Claims 6-7 is objected based on the dependency of claim 5.
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
wherein the first and second bit lines extend in a respective bit line track arranged at a level between the pass-gate transistors and the word line tracks; and a first inverter gate electrode forming a common gate electrode for the semiconductor channels of the complementary transistor pair of the first set of transistors and a second inverter gate electrode forming a common gate electrode for the semiconductor channels of the complementary transistor pair of the second set of transistors, wherein the first and second inverter gate electrodes extend in a horizontal gate track transverse to the channel tracks: a first pass gate electrode forming a gate of the first pass-gate transistor and being aligned with the first inverter gate electrode; a second pass gate electrode forming a gate of the second pass-gate transistor and being aligned with the second inverter gate electrode; and a dielectric wall disposed in a trench that separates the first pass gate electrode from the first inverter gate electrode and that separates the second pass gate electrode from the second inverter gate electrode., as recited in claim 19.
Claim 20 are allowed based on the dependency of claim 19.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOIN M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898