DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election filed on 11/21/2025, without traverse to prosecute the claims of Invention I, claims 1-18 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/15/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US 20190148515 A1).
Re Claim 1 Cheng teaches a transistor (FIG. 16B) comprising:
a gate (84) [0031] around a channel (20) [0038];
a top funneling inner spacer (top 65) directly upon a top surface of the channel (20); and
a source/drain (S/D) region (55) [0039] directly upon the top funneling inner spacer (65), the S/D region comprising a funneled interfacial region (55 vertically between 65) that includes a wide throat (outermost portion of 65 in direct contact with 55) and a narrow throat (55 in direct contact with 20) that is directly upon an end surface of the channel (FIG. 16B).
Re Claim 2 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 1, wherein the wide throat (outermost portion of 65 in direct contact with 55) is an integral interface between the funneled interfacial region (55 vertically between 65) and a remainder of the S/D region (55, FIG. 16B).
Re Claim 3 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 1, wherein the top funneling inner spacer (65) comprises a first receded non-orthogonal corner between a bottom surface of the top funneling inner spacer and an outer sidewall of the top funneling inner spacer (see image below).
The image below shows a modified fragment of FIG. 16 B to identify the first receded non-orthogonal corner
Re Claim 4 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 3, wherein the first receded non-orthogonal corner (use 65 in FIG. 17C as spacers) is chamfered.
Re Claim 5 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 3, wherein the first receded non-orthogonal corner is filleted (refer to modified FIG. 16B fragment above).
Re Claim 6 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 3, wherein the first receded non-orthogonal corner is non-linear (refer to modified FIG. 16B fragment above).
Re Claim 7 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 3, wherein the funneled interfacial region (55 vertically between 65) further comprises one or more surfaces (use surface of 55 in direct contact with 65) that connect the narrow throat to the wide throat (FIG. 16B).
Re Claim 8 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 3, wherein the end surface of the channel (20) is inset between the outer sidewall of the top funneling inner spacer (65) and an inner sidewall of the top funneling inner spacer (FIG. 16B).
Re Claim 10 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 1, further comprising:
a bottom (use bottom 65) funneling inner spacer directly upon a bottom surface of the channel (use bottom 20, FIG. 16B).
Re Claim 11 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 10, wherein the bottom funneling inner spacer (bottom 65) comprises a second receded non-orthogonal corner between a top surface of the bottom funneling inner spacer and an outer sidewall of the bottom funneling inner spacer (see image below).
The image below shows a modified fragment of FIG. 16 B to identify the second receded non-orthogonal corner
Re Claim 12 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 7, wherein the one or more surfaces that connect the narrow throat (surface of 55 in direct contact with 65) to the wide throat are juxtaposed directly upon the first receded non-orthogonal corner (FIG. 16B, 55 is in direct contact with the first receded non-orthogonal corner).
Re Claim 13 Cheng teaches a transistor (FIG. 16B) comprising:
a gate (84) [0031] around a channel (20) [0038]; and
a source/drain (S/D) region (55) [0039] directly upon a first funneling inner spacer (65), the S/D region comprising a funneled interfacial region (55 vertically between 65) that includes a wide throat (outermost portion of 65 in direct contact with 55) and a narrow throat (55 in direct contact with 20) that is directly upon an end surface of the channel (20, FIG. 16B).
Re Claim 14 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 13, wherein the wide throat (outermost portion of 65 in direct contact with 55) is an integral interface between the funneled interfacial region (55 vertically between 65) and a remainder of the S/D region (55, FIG. 16B).
Re Claim 15 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 13, wherein the wide throat has a larger circumference relative to the narrow throat (Integrate spacers 65 as shown in FIG. 17B into FIG. 16B. The wide throat has a larger circumference/cross-sectional area compared to the narrow throat, see image below).
FIG. 17B fragments are shown below to symbolize how the spacers are integrated into FIG. 16B to form the narrow and wide throats
Re Claim 16 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 13, wherein a linear surface (use 65 in FIG. 17B as spacers) connects the narrow throat and the wide throat (see image below claim 15).
Re Claim 17 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 13, wherein a rounded surface (images above show rounded surfaces) connects the narrow throat and the wide throat (FIG. 16B, use surface shared by 65 and 55).
Re Claim 18 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 13, wherein a non-linear surface (images above show rounded surfaces) connects the narrow throat and the wide throat (FIG. 16B, use surface shared by 65 and 55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 20190148515 A1) in view of Jeong et al. (US 20220238723 A1).
Re Claim 9 Cheng teaches the transistor of claim 1, but does not teach the end surface of the channel is concave.
Jeong teaches the end surface of the channel (120a) [0028] is concave (FIG. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Jeong into the structure of Cheng since Jeong teaches a gate all around transistor.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jeong in combination with Cheng in the above manner for the motivation of optimally shaping the channel regions to enable one design and build a transistor that functions optimally and can still be a minimum size as device continue to scale down in the art. [0003] states, “To improve the degree of integration of semiconductor devices, sizes of transistors need to be reduced. However, such size reduction of the transistors causes short channel effects.”
Conclusion
/KENNETH MARK SIPLING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 2/25/26