DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10, 14-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0329238 to Tang in view of US 2022/0093388 to Nakatani in view of US 2022/0119939 to Noh.
Tang teaches a method for using ALD to gapfill during STI [0030]. The variant ALD cycle includes a first step of supplying a nitrogen (ammonia) plasma [0033] followed by standard silica ALD (Id.) (i.e., a first silicon reactant, purge, a second oxygen reactant, purge [0042]). The cycle is repeated until the desired thickness is achieved [0042]. The nitrogen plasma does form a gradient within the trench (Fig. 4), which causes the silica film to grow at a greater rate within the portion of the trench that has the least nitrogen functionalization (Fig. 5A-5D).
Tang does not teach the inhibitor includes organic aminosilane molecules or thermal ALD.
However, Nakatani teaches a substantially identical process wherein the inhibitor includes organic aminosilane molecules [0144-0148]. Nakatani does go on to describe a thermal scheme for performing the process [0107], a plasma scheme [0108], and under these schemes supplying the aminosilane [0110-0114].
Noh teaches a gapfill process substantially similar to that of Tang. Noh also states the process is applicable to all vapor deposition, including thermal ALD [0046; 0134] where the modifications related to thermal vs. plasma are known [0140].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Tang and include organic aminiosilane molecules as an inhibitor because Nakatani teaches organic aminiosilane molecules are suitable for this purpose and substitute the plasma process for a thermal process which requires a higher temperature but does not require the added complication of plasma generation.
Claims 6-7, 14:
Noh explicitly states deposition may take varying lengths of time. Deposition continues as long as deemed necessary to produce a film with necessary properties [0145]. Therefore, time amount of time the substrate is exposed to inhibitor material is a result effective variable, inclusive of the values from 2-20 seconds, and would have been obvious through routine optimization. Additionally, the film thickness varies from several angstroms to several hundred microns (Id.).
Claim(s) 9, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0329238 to Tang in view of US 2022/0093388 to Nakatani in view of US 2022/0119939 to Noh in view of US 2007/0275166 to Thridandam.
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach the claimed aminosilane precursors. However, Thridandam teaches a method for forming a silica layer on a substrate by CVD using an organoaminosilane precursor, such as diisopropylaminosilane (abstract). CVD is meant to encompass ALD [0023]. The oxygen source is ozone [0024]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Tang and use the silicon precursors of Thridandam in order to form a silica layer. Thridandam demonstrates that these silicon precursors are suitable for the formation of a silica layer in vapor deposition processes such as ALD.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the specific surface chemistry are well taken, but ultimately not persuasive because the points argued are not found in the claims. For example, although thermal ALD has been amended into the independent claims, the thermal ALD process is recited in such a way that does not include any thermal ALD steps, such as specific temperatures etc. There are also no limitations directed to Applicant’s explanation of the ramifications of a thermal process such as physisorbed species and species removal. In the absence of any specific requirements placed on the generically and broadly claimed thermal ALD process, the examiner is relying on the prior art references broadly teaching it would have been obvious to substitute thermal schemes and plasma schemes, where the specific changes resulting from this modification would have been known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759