DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to U.S. Patent Application No. 18/336,192 filed on 26 July 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant' s Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS). The IDS(es) has/have been considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Species 1 embodiment in the reply filed on 1 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9, 10, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1 December 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 contains a typo and should read: “a first common layer disposed on the first electrode[[,]];”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0033375 (effectively filed Aug. 2, 2021) (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0208876 (filed June 7, 2021) (hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim discloses: A display device comprising:
a display panel (FIG. 10, display device 100a, [0138]) that includes a first display area (FIG. 10, depicting an area wherein the optical signal transmitter 910 is disposed, [0138]) and a second display area (FIG. 10, depicting an area wherein the optical signal receiver 920 is disposed, [0138]),
wherein a first unit pixel (FIG. 10, depicting a first unit pixel comprising a plurality of subpixels, [0139]) is repeatedly disposed in the first display area (FIG. 10, depicting wherein the first unit pixel is repeatedly disposed in the area wherein the optical signal transmitter 910 is disposed),
the first unit pixel and a second unit pixel (FIG. 10, depicting a second unit pixel comprising a plurality of subpixels, [0139]) are repeatedly disposed in the second display area (FIG. 10, depicting wherein the first and second unit pixels are repeatedly disposed in the area wherein the optical signal receiver 920 is disposed),
the first unit pixel comprises a first red pixel, a first green pixel, and a first blue pixel (FIG. 10, depicting wherein the first unit pixel comprises first red, green, and blue subpixels emitting red, green, and blue light, respectively, [0110]), and
the second unit pixel comprises a second red pixel, a second green pixel, a second blue pixel (FIG. 10, depicting wherein the second unit pixel comprises second red, green, and blue subpixels emitting red, green, and blue light, respectively, [0110]), and
an optical sensing pixel (FIG. 3, depicting wherein a subpixel may include an optical signal receiver, [0081]), the optical sensing pixel comprises:
a transistor disposed on a substrate (FIG. 3, either of light receiving transistor 320 or non-light receiving transistor 330, [0079]);
a first electrode electrically connected to the transistor (FIG. 3, first electrode 211, [0078]);
an optical sensing layer (FIG. 3, light receiving layer 350, [0073]) and a first emission layer (FIG. 3, light emitting layer 213a, [0074]); and
a second electrode (FIG. 3, second electrode 212, [0074]) disposed on the first emission layer and the optical sensing layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the second electrode 212 is disposed on the light receiving layer 350 and the light emitting layer 213a/b), and
a planar area of the optical sensing layer is larger than a planar area of the first emission layer (FIG. 3/6, depicting wherein the planar area of the light receiving layer 350 is larger than a planar area of the light emitting layer 213a/b and the light emitting region 510).
Kim does not specifically disclose wherein a first common layer disposed on the first electrode, and the optical sensing layer is disposed on the first common layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses a display device (FIG. 1, display device 2000, [0036]) including a first common layer (FIG. 1, hole transport layer HTL1 (112), [0073]) formed on a first electrode (FIG. 1, anode 110, [0072]). Regarding the hole transport layer HTL1 (112), in [0066], Park states: “Each of the first hole transport layer 112 and the second hole transport layer 116 can easily transport a hole supplied through the hole injection layer 111 or the charge generation layer 130 to the first emissive layer 1100 or the second emissive layer 1200, and is made of a hole transport material.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Kim by adding the hole transport layer 112 of Park in order to improve hole transportation in the display device. See Park [0066].
Moreover, the addition of the hole transport layer HTL (112) of Park would result in a configuration wherein first common layer (FIG. 1, hole transport layer HTL (112)) is disposed on the first electrode (FIG. 3, first electrode 211), and the optical sensing layer (FIG. 3, light receiving layer 350) would be disposed on the first common layer (FIG. 1, hole transport layer HTL (112)).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the light emitting region 510 may emit green light, but does not specifically disclose wherein the light emitting layer 213a/b is a green emission layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses a display device (FIG. 1, display device 2000, [0072]) including a light emitting device wherein both a first and second emission layer each emits green light (FIGS. 1/3, depicting first and second emissive layers 1100/1200 which may be green emissive layers, [0058], [0075]). Regarding the configuration of the layers, in [0008], Park states: “A light-emitting device and a light-emitting display device including the same are configured such that a plurality of stacks is provided between an anode and a cathode for at least a subpixel configured to emit a predetermined color and such that emissive layers in different stacks include the same color-based materials (or same color emitting materials) having different luminous properties, whereby the lifespan thereof is increased while efficiency thereof is improved.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Kim by adding the green emissive layer configuration of Park in order to improve lifespan and efficiency of the device. See Park [0008].
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Park further discloses a bank (FIG. 3, bank 313, [0099]) disposed on the first electrode (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the bank 313 is disposed on the first electrode 211), wherein an end of the optical sensing layer is disposed on a top surface of the bank (FIG. 3, depicting wherein, e.g., a left end of the light receiving layer 350 is disposed on a top surface of the bank 313).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Park further discloses wherein the optical sensing layer is disposed on a side surface of the bank (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the light receiving layer 350 is disposed on, e.g., a right side surface of the right bank).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Park further discloses wherein the bank comprises an opening (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the bank 313 comprises an opening), and the first emission layer is disposed within the opening (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the light emitting layers 213a/b are disposed in the opening in the bank 313).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Park further discloses wherein a planar area of the optical sensing layer is larger than a planar area of the opening (FIG. 3, depicting wherein a planar area of the light receiving layer 350 is larger than a planar area of the opening in the bank 313).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Park further discloses wherein the first emission layer is disposed on the optical sensing layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the light emitting layers 213a/b are disposed on the light receiving layer 350).
Regarding claim 8, Kim does not specifically disclose a second common layer disposed between the optical sensing layer and the first emission layer; and a third common layer disposed on the first emission layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses a display device (FIG. 1, display device 2000, [0036]) including a second common layer (FIG. 1, e.g., hole blocking HBL1 (114), [0073]) and a third common layer (FIG. 1, electron transport layer ETL2 (118), [0073]). Regarding the hole blocking layer HBL1 (114), in [0068], Park states: “[H]ole blocking layers 114 and 117 for preventing holes from exiting from the corresponding emissive layers can be further provided between the first emissive layer 1100 and the first electron transport layer 115 and between the second emissive layer 1200 and the second electron transport layer 118.” Regarding the electron transport layer ETL2 (118), in [0067], Park states: “Each of the first and second electron transport layers 115 and 118 is a layer for transporting an electron to a corresponding one of the first emissive layer 1100 and the second emissive layer 1200, and includes an electron transport material.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Kim by adding the hole blocking layer HBL1 (114) of Park in order to prevent holes from exiting the emissive layers, and to modify the disclosed display device of Kim by adding the electron transport layer ETL2 (118) and to improve electron transportation in the display device. See Park [0067], [0068].
Moreover, the addition of the hole blocking layer HBL1 (114) and electron transport layer ETL2 (118) of Park would result in a configuration wherein the second common layer (FIG. 1, hole blocking layer HBL1 (114)) is disposed between the optical sensing layer (FIG. 3, light receiving layer 350) and the first emission layer (FIG. 3, e.g., light emitting layer 213b); and the third common layer (FIG. 1, electron transport layer ETL2 (118)) is disposed on the first emission layer (FIG. 3, e.g., light emitting layer 213b).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses wherein the light emitting region 510 may emit red light, but does not specifically disclose wherein the light emitting layers 213a/b emit red light.
In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses a display device (FIG. 1, display device 2000, [0072]) including a light emitting device wherein both a first and second emission layer each emits red light (FIGS. 1/3, depicting first and second emissive layers 1100/1200 which may be red emissive layers, [0058], [0075]). Regarding the configuration of the layers, in [0008], Park states: “A light-emitting device and a light-emitting display device including the same are configured such that a plurality of stacks is provided between an anode and a cathode for at least a subpixel configured to emit a predetermined color and such that emissive layers in different stacks include the same color-based materials (or same color emitting materials) having different luminous properties, whereby the lifespan thereof is increased while efficiency thereof is improved.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Kim by adding the red emissive layer configuration of Park in order to improve lifespan and efficiency of the device. See Park [0008].
Moreover, the addition of the red emissive layer configuration of Park would result in a configuration wherein the first red emission layer (FIG. 1, emissive layer 1100) and second red emission layer (FIG. 1, emissive layer 1200) are disposed on the first electrode (FIG. 3, first electrode 211), and the first common layer being disposed between the first electrode and the first red emission layer (FIG. 1, hole transport layer HTL1 (112)), the second common layer being disposed between the first red emission layer and the second red emission layer (FIG. 1, e.g., hole blocking HBL1 (114)), and the third common layer being disposed between the second red emission layer and the second electrode (FIG. 1, electron transport layer ETL2 (118)).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Park further discloses a bank (FIG. 3, bank 313, [0099]) disposed on the first electrode (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the bank 313 is disposed on the first electrode 211) and including an opening (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the bank 313 comprises an opening), the first red emission layer and the second red emission layer being disposed within the opening (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the light emitting layers 213a/b are disposed in the opening in the bank 313).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Park further discloses wherein the first unit pixel and the second unit pixel are alternately disposed in the second display area (FIG. 10, [0171]: “The display device 100 a can include the optical signal transmitter 910 and the optical signal receiver 920. The optical signal transmitter 910 can overlap the active region. The optical signal receiver 920 can overlap the active region.”; accordingly, the first and second unit pixels, disposed in the area wherein the optical signal receiver 920 is disposed, may be alternately disposed in the area wherein the optical signal receiver 920 is disposed).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Park further discloses wherein the first display area is larger than the second display area (FIG. 10, [0133]: “The optical signal transmitter 910 can overlap an active region of the display device 100 a. Since an optical signal for optical communication uses a light emitting element, the active region in which the light emitting element is positioned and the optical signal transmitter 910 can overlap each other, and substantially the entire active region can be the optical signal transmitter 910.”).
Regarding independent claim 15, Kim discloses: A display device comprising:
a display panel (FIG. 10, display device 100a, [0138]) that includes a first display area (FIG. 10, depicting an area wherein the optical signal transmitter 910 is disposed, [0138]) and a second display area (FIG. 10, depicting an area wherein the optical signal receiver 920 is disposed, [0138]),
wherein the first display area (FIG. 10, depicting an area wherein the optical signal transmitter 910 is disposed, [0138]) comprises a first unit pixel (FIG. 10, depicting a first unit pixel comprising a plurality of subpixels, [0139]),
the second display area (FIG. 10, depicting an area wherein the optical signal receiver 920 is disposed, [0138]) comprises the first unit pixel and a second unit pixel (FIG. 10, depicting a second unit pixel comprising a plurality of subpixels, [0139]),
the first unit pixel comprises a first red pixel, a first green pixel, and a first blue pixel (FIG. 10, depicting wherein the first unit pixel comprises first red, green, and blue subpixels emitting red, green, and blue light, respectively, [0110]), and
the second unit pixel comprises a second red pixel, a second green pixel, a second blue pixel (FIG. 10, depicting wherein the second unit pixel comprises second red, green, and blue subpixels emitting red, green, and blue light, respectively, [0110]), and
an optical sensing pixel (FIG. 3, depicting wherein a subpixel may include an optical signal receiver, [0081]), the optical sensing pixel comprises
an optical sensing layer (FIG. 3, light receiving layer 350, [0073]) and an emission layer (FIG. 3, light emitting layer 213a, [0074]) arranged in an opening in a bank layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the light receiving layer 350 and light emitting layer 213a are disposed in the opening in the bank 313, [0099]),
the second red pixel, the second green pixel, the second blue pixel, and the optical sensing pixel are defined by the opening of the bank layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the opening in the bank 313 defines the light emitting region 510 of the red, green, blue, and optical sensing subpixels), and
the optical sensing layer extends external to the opening (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the light receiving layer 350 extends external to the opening).
Kim discloses wherein the light emitting region 510 may emit green light, but does not specifically disclose wherein the light emitting layer 213a/b is a green emission layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses a display device (FIG. 1, display device 2000, [0072]) including a light emitting device wherein both a first and second emission layer each emits green light (FIGS. 1/3, depicting first and second emissive layers 1100/1200 which may be green emissive layers, [0058], [0075]). Regarding the configuration of the layers, in [0008], Park states: “A light-emitting device and a light-emitting display device including the same are configured such that a plurality of stacks is provided between an anode and a cathode for at least a subpixel configured to emit a predetermined color and such that emissive layers in different stacks include the same color-based materials (or same color emitting materials) having different luminous properties, whereby the lifespan thereof is increased while efficiency thereof is improved.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display device of Kim by adding the green emissive layer configuration of Park in order to improve lifespan and efficiency of the device. See Park [0008].
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Park further discloses wherein an end of the optical sensing layer is disposed on a top surface of the bank layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein, e.g., a left end of the light receiving layer 350 is disposed on a top surface of the bank 313).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Park further discloses wherein the green emission layer is disposed within the opening (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the light emitting layers 213a/b are disposed in the opening in the bank 313).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Park further discloses wherein the green emission layer is disposed on the optical sensing layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the light emitting layers 213a/b are disposed on the light receiving layer 350).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Park further discloses wherein the first unit pixel and the second unit pixel are alternately disposed in the second display area (FIG. 10, [0171]: “The display device 100 a can include the optical signal transmitter 910 and the optical signal receiver 920. The optical signal transmitter 910 can overlap the active region. The optical signal receiver 920 can overlap the active region.”; accordingly, the first and second unit pixels, disposed in the area wherein the optical signal receiver 920 is disposed, may be alternately disposed in the area wherein the optical signal receiver 920 is disposed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0149312 (published May 12, 2022); 2014/0225090 (published Aug. 14, 2014); 2023/0133040 (effectively filed Nov. 3, 2021); 2024/0040821 (effectively filed Jan. 11, 2022) .
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813