DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A in the reply filed on January 06, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 06, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the entirety of Fig 3 does not show the alternating arrangement of pixel circuits disclosed in [0055]. The bottom two pixel circuits in the column with the label 211 do not alternate the same as the other columns. [0053] discloses the first circuit 211 for driving the first sub-pixel 110a and the second circuit 212 for driving the second sub-pixel 110b. The arrangement of the bottom two pixels causes the red pixel circuit to appear to connect with the blue sub-pixel and the blue pixel circuit to appear to connect with the red sub-pixel.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first circuits and the second circuits for driving at least one first pixel column are located in at least two first circuit columns adjacent along the first direction of claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0072] refers to a reference character “first pixel circuit 110” but in the remainder of the disclosure the reference character is referred to as “first pixel unit 110.” This appears to be a typo. Applicant is asked to maintain consistency in terminology.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim appears to be directed to Fig 3. [0053] discloses the first circuit 211 for driving the first sub-pixel 110a and the second circuit 212 for driving the second sub-pixel 110b. [0055] discloses the configuration in Fig 3 as having an arrangement pattern where the first circuit column is different from an arrangement of the first pixel column. The limitation in the last two lines of the claim appears to describe the driving circuits for the first pixel column are located in two different pixel circuit columns along a first direction (x direction). There does not appear to be any drawings or disclosure where pixel circuits from two different pixel circuit columns drives one pixel column. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret the limitation to mean the first circuit column and first pixel column will have an alternating arrangement such that the first circuit column and first pixel column have a staggered arrangement pattern different from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et. al. (US 20220069047 A1), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a display panel (Fig 9 display panel 100, [0060]) comprising a first display area (Fig 9 light-transmission region LA of display region DA1, [0060]), a second display area (Fig 9 display region DA3, [0060]), and a transition display area (Fig 9 display region DA2 including wiring region WA of DA1, [0060]) located between the first display area (Fig 9 light-transmission region LA of display region DA1, [0060]) and the second display area (Fig 9 display region DA3, [0060]), a light transmittance of the first display area (Fig 9 light-transmission region LA of display region DA1, [0060]) being greater than (DA1 has an effective light transmission region LA, [0060]) a light transmittance of the transition display area (Fig 9 display region DA2 including wiring region WA of DA1, [0060]), the display panel (Fig 9 display panel 100, [0060]) comprising: first pixel units (Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU1, [0108]) located in the first display area (Fig 9 light-transmission region LA of display region DA1, [0060]) and each comprising a first sub-pixel (Fig 10 left light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]), a second sub-pixel (Fig 10 middle light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]), and a third sub-pixel (Fig 10 right light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]), the first sub-pixels (Fig 10 left light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]), the second sub-pixels (Fig 10 middle light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) and the third sub-pixels (Fig 10 right light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) being arranged in an array (Fig 10); and first pixel circuits (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) located in the transition display area (Fig 9 display region DA2 including wiring region WA of DA1, [0060]) and each comprising a first circuit (Fig 10 left pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) for driving the ([0109]) first sub-pixel (Fig 10 left light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]), a second circuit (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) for driving the ([0109]) second sub-pixel (Fig 10 middle light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) and a third circuit (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) for driving the ([0109]) third sub-pixel (Fig 10 right light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]), the first circuits (Fig 10 left pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]), the second circuits (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) and the third circuits (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) being arranged in an array (Fig 10) in the transition display area (Fig 9 display region DA2 including wiring region WA of DA1, [0060]), wherein the first pixel circuits (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) for driving the ([0109]) first pixel units (Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU1, [0108]) in a same column are located in at least two adjacent columns (Fig 10), and an arrangement pattern of the first circuits (Fig 10 left pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) and the second circuits (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) is the same (Fi g 10) as an arrangement pattern of the first sub-pixels (Fig 10 left light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) and the second sub-pixels (Fig 10 middle light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) respectively driven by ([0109]) the first circuits (Fig 10 left pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) and the second circuits (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches the third sub-pixels (Fig 10 right light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) are arranged in sequence (Fig 10) along a second direction (Fig 10 y-direction) to form a second pixel column, a plurality of the third circuits (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) are arranged along the second direction (Fig 10 y-direction) to form a second circuit column (Fig 10), and an arrangement pattern of the third circuits (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) is the same (Fig 10) as an arrangement pattern of the third sub-pixels (Fig 10 right light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches the first circuit (Fig 10 left pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) and the first sub-pixel (Fig 10 left light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) driven by the first circuit (Fig 10 left pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) are arranged in a same row (Fig 10), the second circuit (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) and the second sub-pixel (Fig 10 middle light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) driven by the second circuit (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) are arranged in a same row (Fig 10), and the third circuit (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) and the third sub-pixel (Fig 10 right light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) driven by the third circuit (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) are arranged in a same row (Fig 10).
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches signal lines (Fig 10 data lines 110, [0106]) comprising first signal lines (Fig 10 sub-data line 111, [0105]) located in the transition display area (Fig 9 display region DA2 including wiring region WA of DA1, [0060]), the first signal line (Fig 10 sub-data line 111, [0105]) being connected to (Fig 10) a plurality of first pixel circuits (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) for driving the ([0109]) first pixel units (Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU1, [0108]) in a same column (Fig 10); and the first signal line (Fig 10 sub-data line 111, [0105]) comprising a first segment (Fig 10 not labeled vertical segment between sub-segment 111a and 111b, [0105]) and a second segment (Fig 10 sub-segment 111b, [0105]) connected successively, the first segment (Fig 10 not labeled vertical segment between sub-segment 111a and 111b, [0105]) being configured to connect the first pixel circuits (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) located in different rows (Fig 10) and the second segment (Fig 10 sub-segment 111b, [0105]) being configured to connect the first pixel circuits (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) located in different columns (Fig 10).
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches a connecting wire (Fig 10 connection line CL, [0078]), the first pixel circuit (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) and the first pixel unit (Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU1, [0108]) connected to the first pixel circuit (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) are arranged in a same row (Fig 10), the connecting wire (Fig 10 connection line CL, [0078]) extends in a first direction (Fig 10 x-direction) and is configured to connect the first pixel unit (Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU1, [0108]) and the first pixel circuit (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]), and a material of the connecting wire (Fig 10 connection line CL, [0078]) comprises a transparent material (transparent conductive material, [0078]).
Regarding claim 20, Yang teaches a display apparatus (Fig 45 not labeled display device, [0184]) comprising the display panel (Fig 9 display panel 100, [0060]) of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et. al. (US 20220069047 A1), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 2, Yang fails to teach the first sub-pixels and the second sub-pixels are alternately arranged along a second direction to form first pixel columns, two first pixel columns adjacent in a first direction are staggered along the second direction, so that the first sub-pixels and the second sub-pixels are alternately arranged along the first direction; and the first circuits and the second circuits are arranged along the second direction to form first circuit columns, the first circuits and the second circuits for driving at least one first pixel column are located in at least two first circuit columns adjacent along the first direction.
However, Yang teaches the light emitting unit arrangement shown in Fig 10 is an example and teaches other configurations. Further, Yang teaches an embodiment with a light emitting unit arrangement similar to that of the invention in Fig 12. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the position of the sub-pixels such that the pixel circuits and corresponding sub-pixels do not have the same arrangement pattern, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In doing so, the first sub-pixels (Fig 10 left light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) and the second sub-pixels (Fig 10 middle light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) would be alternately arranged along a second direction (Fig 10 y-direction) to form first pixel columns, two first pixel columns adjacent in a first direction would be staggered along the second direction (Fig 10 y-direction), so that the first sub-pixels (Fig 10 left light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) and the second sub-pixels (Fig 10 middle light-emitting element L1 of unit LU1, [0108]) are alternately arranged along the first direction (Fig 10 x-direction); and the first circuits (Fig 10 left pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) and the second circuits (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) would be arranged along the second direction (Fig 10 y-direction) to form first circuit columns, the first circuits (Fig 10 left pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) and the second circuits (Fig 10 middle pixel circuit C1 of unit CU1, [0108]) for driving at least one first pixel column are located in at least two first circuit columns adjacent along the first direction (Fig 10 x-direction).
Regarding claim 7, Yang fails to teach a material of the second segment and the material of the connecting wire both comprise a transparent material, and the connecting wire and the second segment are arranged in a same layer.
Regarding the choice of having a material of the second segment and the material of the connecting wire both comprise a transparent material, and the connecting wire and the second segment are arranged in a same layer, this combination would have been obvious to try. As stated above, Yang teaches the connection wire can be on the same layer or different layers ([0078]-[0079]). The connection wire can also be made of metal and then made transparent to optimize transparency and conductivity ([0078]). One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the connecting wire and the second segment made of the same material and on the same layer would improve manufacturing throughput. That is, "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et. al. (US 20220069047 A1), hereinafter Yang, in view of Wang et. al. (US 20240179944 A1), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 17, Yang fails to teach the transition display area comprises a plurality of annular areas surrounding a circumference of the first display area and being distributed concentrically with the first display area, and the first pixel circuits for driving the first pixel units in a same column are distributed in sequence within a same annular area; the first display area is arranged symmetrically about a second axis of symmetry, the second axis of symmetry extends along a second direction and passes through a center of the first display area, the first pixel circuits corresponding to two columns of first pixel units distributed symmetrically about the second axis of symmetry are located in a same annular area, and the first pixel circuit is located at a side of the first pixel unit connected to the first pixel circuit away from the second axis of symmetry; and two transition signal lines for connecting the first pixel circuits in a same annular area are arranged symmetrically about the second axis of symmetry.
However, Wang teaches different embodiments with a first display area, a second display area, and a transition display area (Fig 3A-E). Figs 3C and 3D having an annular region symmetric about the second axis of symmetry ([0101]). This symmetry aids in providing uniformity of an active layer ([0101]). Further, Wang teaches having the driving circuits for a first display area (Fig 9 device region 102, [124]) located in the transition area (Fig 9, [0088]). This allows for an improvement in the screen-to-body ratio ([0137]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention being motivated to improve the device uniformity and screen-to-body ratio would apply the teachings of Wang to Yang, as each element performs the same function as it does separately and the result from the combination of the different structures would have been predictable. Thus, by combining the different symmetric structures with variations in placement of circuits the structure of the claimed invention would be realized. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
In doing so, the transition display area (Wang: Fig 9 transition region 103, [0129] corresponds to Yang: Fig 9 display region DA2 including wiring region WA of DA1, [0060]) would comprise a plurality of annular areas (Wang: Fig 3C, 10) surrounding a circumference (Wang: Fig 3C) of the first display area (Wang: Fig 9 device region 102, [0088] corresponds to Yang: Fig 9 light-transmission region LA of display region DA1, [0060]) and being distributed concentrically with (Wang: Fig 3C) the first display area (Wang: Fig 9 device region 102, [0088] corresponds to Yang: Fig 9 light-transmission region LA of display region DA1, [0060]), and the first pixel circuits (Wang: Fig 9 pixel circuit 230, [0124] corresponds to Yang: Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) for driving the first pixel unit (Wang Fig 9 anodes 322, [0124] corresponds to Yang: Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU1, [0108]) in a same column are distributed in sequence within a same annular area (Wang Fig 9 for driving aspect and Fig 10 for arrangement); the first display area (Fig 9 light-transmission region LA of display region DA1, [0060]) is arranged symmetrically (Wang: [0101]) about a second axis of symmetry (Wang: Fig 3C line L1, [0101]), the second axis of symmetry (Wang: Fig 3C line L1, [0101]) extends along a second direction (Wang: up and down corresponds to Yang: Fig 10 y-direction) and passes through a center of the first display area (Wang: Fig 9 device region 102, [0088] corresponds to Yang: Fig 9 light-transmission region LA of display region DA1, [0060]), the first pixel circuits (Wang: Fig 9 pixel circuit 230, [0124] corresponds to Yang: Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) corresponding to two columns (Yang: not shown; a pixel circuit can drive more than one light-emitting element, [0074]) of first pixel units (Wang Fig 9 anodes 322, [0124] corresponds to Yang: Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU1, [0108]) distributed symmetrically about the second axis of symmetry (Wang: Fig 3C line L1, [0101]) are located in a same annular area (Wang: Fig 3C), and the first pixel circuit (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) is located at a side of the first pixel unit (Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU1, [0108]) connected to the first pixel circuit (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) away from the second axis of symmetry (Wang: Fig 3C line L1, [0101]); and two transition signal lines (Yang: Fig 10 portion of data lines 110 going to pixel circuit units CU2, [0106]; Examiner notes there would be signal lines for the pixel circuits in the transition region otherwise the circuits would not function) for connecting the first pixel circuits (Wang: Fig 9 pixel circuit 230, [0124] corresponds to Yang: Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) in a same annular area are arranged symmetrically (the transition signal lines would be wired to the respective circuit on either side of symmetry) about the second axis of symmetry (Wang: Fig 3C line L1, [0101]).
Regarding claim 18, Yang as modified in claim 17 teaches a plurality of the first pixel circuits (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU1, [0108]) are arranged symmetrically about the second axis of symmetry (Wang: Fig 3C line L1, [0101]), and a plurality of the transition signal lines (Fig 10 portion of data lines 110 going to pixel circuit units CU2, [0106]) are arranged symmetrically about the second axis of symmetry (Wang: Fig 3C line L1, [0101]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the closest art is Yang et. al. (US 20220069047 A1), hereinafter Yang.
Yang teaches transition pixel units (Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU2, [0112]) located in the transition display area (Fig 9 display region DA2 including wiring region WA of DA1, [0060]); transition pixel circuits (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU2, [0112]) located in the transition display area (Fig 9 display region DA2 including wiring region WA of DA1, [0060]) and configured to drive ([0108]) the transition pixel units (Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU2, [0112]); and the signal lines (Fig 10 data lines 110, [0106]) further comprising transition signal lines (Fig 10 portion of data lines 110 going to pixel circuit units CU2, [0106]) located in the transition display area (Fig 9 display region DA2 including wiring region WA of DA1, [0060]), the transition signal line (Fig 10 portion of data lines 110 going to pixel circuit units CU2, [0106]) being connected (Fig 10) to a plurality of transition pixel circuits (Fig 10 pixel circuit unit CU2, [0112]) for driving the transition pixel units (Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU2, [0112]) in a same column (Fig 10), and the first signal line (Fig 10 sub-data line 111 going to pixel circuit units CU1, [0105]) and the transition signal line (Fig 10 portion of data lines 110 going to pixel circuit units CU2, [0106]) corresponding to the first pixel unit (Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU1, [0108]) and the transition pixel unit (Fig 10 light-emitting unit LU2, [0112]) located in a same column (Fig 10).
Yang fails to teach the first signal line and the transition signal line corresponding to the first pixel unit and the transition pixel unit located in a same column being connected to each other.
Claims 9-16 would also be allowable because they are dependent on claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Du et. al. (US 20220293715 A1) teaches a structure similar to Yang.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813