DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the Amendment file on March 17, 2026.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings and the Specification have overcome the objections to drawings, as previously set forth in the Non-Final Office action mailed on December 18, 2025. Accordingly, all previous drawings and specification objections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respects to the Claims 8-10 filed on June 16, 2023 have been considered and these claims’ rejection under 35 U.S.C 112 are withdrawn and Applicant’s amendments to the Claim 19 have overcome the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C 112, as previously formulated in the Non-Final Office action mailed on December 18, 2025 or in the same Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims filed on March 17, 2026 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-15, 18, 19, 21-24, 26, 27, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Sun et al. (Sun hereinafter) (US 2021/0407939).
Regarding Claims 1-4, 11-15, 18, 19, 21-24, 26, 27, 29, and 30:
Sun (see FIGs. 5-6, and 12) teaches
{1} a semiconductor die (die) 500/600, comprising: a core area; a periphery area surrounding the core area; and a plurality of under bump metallizations (UBMs) 510/610, comprising: a plurality of first UBMs 530/630 each having a first size and a first pitch; and a plurality of second UBMs 520/620 each having a second size smaller than the first size, and each having a second pitch less than the first pitch; wherein: a first subset of the plurality of second UBMs is in the core area;
{2} a second subset of the plurality of second UBMs, different from the first subset of the plurality of second UBMs, is in the periphery area;
{3} a first subset of the plurality of first UBMs 530 is in the periphery area;
{4} a second subset of the plurality of first UBMs 603 is in the core area;
{11} The die of claim 1 integrated into a device selected from the group consisting of: a set top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone 1202; a cellular phone; a smart phone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; avionics systems; a drone; and a multicopter;
{12} a method of fabricating an integrated circuit (IC) package, comprising: providing a semiconductor die (die) 500/600 comprising: a core area; and a periphery area surrounding the core area; and forming a plurality of under bump metallizations (UBMs) 510/610 in the die, comprising: forming a plurality of first UBMs 530/630 each having a first size and a first pitch; and forming a plurality of second UBMs 520/620 each having a second size smaller than the first size, and each having a second pitch less than the first pitch; wherein: forming the plurality of second UBMs further comprises forming a first subset of the plurality of second UBMs in the core area of the die;
{13} forming the plurality of second UBMs further comprises forming a second subset of the plurality of second UBMs in the periphery area of the die;
{14} forming the plurality of first UBMs further comprises forming a first subset of the plurality of first UBMs 530 is in the periphery area of the die;
{15} forming the plurality of first UBMs further comprises forming a second subset of the plurality of first UBMs 603 in the core area of the die;
{18} forming each first interconnect bump of a plurality of first interconnect bumps coupled to an UBM of the plurality of first UBMs; forming each second interconnect bump of a plurality of second interconnect bumps coupled to a second UBM of the plurality of second UBMs; providing a package substrate 650 comprising a first metallization layer 660 comprising a plurality of first metal interconnects and a plurality of second metal interconnects; coupling each first interconnect bump of the plurality of first interconnect bumps to a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects; and coupling each second interconnect bump of the plurality of second interconnect bumps to a second metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects;
{19} a solder resist layer 652 between the first metallization layer and the die, the solder resist layer comprising: a plurality of first openings 653/663 each adjacent to and at least partially exposing a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects; and a plurality of metal traces 655/665 disposed on a first surface of the first metallization layer and the die, each metal trace of the plurality of metal traces coupled to a second metal interconnect of the plurality of second metal interconnects; wherein: the coupling each first interconnect bump comprises disposing each first interconnect bump of the plurality of first interconnect bumps through a first opening of the plurality of first openings and coupled to the first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects; and the coupling each second interconnect bump comprises coupling each second interconnect bump of the plurality of second interconnect bumps to a metal trace of the plurality of metal traces;
{21} an integrated circuit (IC) package, comprising: a package substrate 650, comprising: a first metallization layer 660 comprising a plurality of first metal interconnects and a plurality of second metal interconnects; and a semiconductor die (die) 600, comprising: a core area; a periphery area surrounding the core area; a plurality of under bump metallizations (UBMs), comprising: a plurality of first UBMs 530/630 each having a first size and a first pitch; and a plurality of second UBMs 520/620 each having a second size smaller than the first size, and each having a second pitch less than the first pitch, wherein a first subset of the plurality of second UBMs is in the core area; wherein: each first UBM of the plurality of first UBMs is coupled to a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects; and each second UBM of the plurality of second UBMs is coupled to a second metal interconnect of the plurality of second metal interconnect;
{22} a second subset of the plurality of second UBMs is in the periphery area of the die;
{23} a first subset of the plurality of first UBMs 530 is in the periphery area of the die;
{24} a second subset of the plurality of first UBMs 630 is in the core area of the die;
{26} a plurality of first interconnect bumps each coupled to a first UBM of the plurality of first UBMs and each coupled to the first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects; and a plurality of second interconnect bumps each coupled to a second UBM of the plurality of second UBMs and each coupled to the second metal interconnect of the plurality of second metal interconnects;
{27} solder resist layer 652 between the first metallization layer and the die, the solder resist layer comprising: a plurality of first openings 653/663 each adjacent to and at least partially exposing a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects; and a plurality of metal traces 655/665 disposed on a first surface of the solder resist layer between the first metallization layer and the die, each metal trace of the plurality of metal traces coupled to a second metal interconnect of the plurality of second metal interconnects; each first interconnect bump of the plurality of first interconnect bumps is disposed through a first opening of the plurality of first openings and coupled to a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects; and each second interconnect bump of the plurality of second interconnect bumps is coupled to a metal trace of the plurality of metal traces;
{29} the first pitch is equal to a third pitch of the plurality of first openings in the solder resist layer; and
{30} integrated into a device selected from the group consisting of: a set top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone 1202; a cellular phone; a smart phone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; avionics systems; a drone; and a multicopter.
Sun (see ¶ [0028], [0032], [0033], [0034], [0041], and [0047]) teaches
“It will be appreciated that the flexible UBM design rules according to the various aspects disclosed allow for variations in UBM size, location, and/or pitch to provide for greater design control … not limited to the specific references and/or illustrations provided … the number, location and/or size of the … UBMs may be more or less than the illustrated aspects”;
“a die 500 may have a UBM pattern 510 … a first set of UBMs 520 have a UMB size of 60 µm with a minimum pitch 130 µm, A second set if UBMs 530 have a UBM size of 75 µm with a minimum pitch 140 µm … that both the 60 µm and 75 µm UBM sizes can be used across the dies 500 area and may be used in a non-uniform pattern (e.g., are not limited to only the core or periphery) … the UBM sizes and minimum pitch spacing may vary according to the various circuit layout design considerations and limitation … there may be more than just two UBM sizes used in a given design, along with a corresponding the substrate pad design change and bump minimum pitch defined”;
“Each opening size … corresponds to the UBM size for each UBM … and the M1 layer 660 pattern bond pads”;
“the package substrate 650 design is all bond-on-pad design for each of the different UBM sizes“;
“the first size and the first minimum pitch of the first set of UBMs are generally uniform and smaller than the second size and the second minimum pitch of the second set of UBMs”; and
“FIG. 12 illustrates various electronic devices that may be integrated with any of the aforementioned integrated device or semiconductor device accordance with various examples of the disclosure. For example, a mobile phone service 1202, a laptop device 1204, and a fixed location terminal device 1206 … The flip-flop device 1200 may be, for example, any of the integrated circuits, dies, integrated devices, integrated device packages, integrated circuit devices, device packages, integrated circuit (IC) packages, package-on-package devices described herein … Other electronic devices may also feature the flip-flop device 1200 including, but not limited to, a group of devices (e.g., units, portable data units such as personal digital assistants, global positioning system (GPS) enabled devices, navigation devices, set top boxes, music players, video players, entertainment units, fixed location data units … communications devices, smartphones, tablet computers, computers, wearable devices, servers, routers, … automotive vehicles (e.g., autonomous vehicles), an Internet of things (IoT) device”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10, 16, 17, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (Sun hereinafter) (US 2021/0407939) as applied to claim 1, 12, or 21 above, and further in view of Hou et al. (Hou hereinafter) (US 11,088,069).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6:
Sun (see ¶ [0041]) teaches “the plurality of UBMs each have a generally cylindrical, columnar or pillar shape”, but does not explicitly teach {5} the plurality of second UBMs comprises a plurality of second, oblong-shaped UBMs that each have a first length along a first axis and a second length less than the first length along a second axis orthogonal to the first axis; {6} the second length of each of the plurality of second UBMs is less than a first width of each of the plurality of first UBMs; {7} the first axis of at least one second, oblong-shaped UBM of the plurality of second, oblong-shaped UBMs intersects a center area of the die in the core area; {8} the plurality of UBMs further comprises a plurality of third, symmetrical-shaped UBMs; the plurality of UBMs further comprises at least one row of UBMs; and each row of the at least one row of UBMs comprises the plurality of third, symmetrical- shaped UBMs each disposed between two adjacent second, oblong-shaped UBMs of the plurality of second, oblong-shaped UBMs; {9} the plurality of UBMs further comprises a plurality of third, symmetrical-shaped UBMs; and each third, symmetrical-shaped UBM of the plurality of third, symmetrical-shaped UBMs is disposed between two adjacent second, oblong-shaped UBMs of the plurality of second, oblong-shaped UBMs; {10} the plurality of UBMs further comprises a plurality of third, symmetrical-shaped UBMs each having a third axis in a third direction and a fourth axis in a fourth direction orthogonal to the third direction; the plurality of UBMs further comprises at least one row of UBMs; each row of the at least one row of UBMs comprises the plurality of third, symmetrical- shaped UBMs each disposed between two adjacent second, oblong-shaped UBMs of the plurality of second, oblong-shaped UBMs: and the first axis of the two adjacent second, oblong-shaped UBMs is non-perpendicular to the third axis and the fourth axis; {16} the forming the plurality of second UBMs comprises forming a plurality of second, oblong-shaped UBMs each having the second size smaller than the first size, and each having the second pitch less than the first pitch; wherein the plurality of second, oblong-shaped UBMs each have a first length along a first axis and a second length less than the first length along a second axis orthogonal to the first axis; {17} forming the plurality of second, oblong-shaped UBMs further comprises forming the plurality of second, oblong-shaped UBMs to each have the second length smaller than a first width of each of the plurality of first UBMs; {25} the plurality of second UBMs comprises a plurality of second, oblong-shaped UBMs each having a first length along a first axis and a second length less than the first length along a second axis orthogonal to the first axis.
Hou (see col.5/ll.1-15 and col.6/l.67-col.7/l.4 and FIGs. 3 and 4) teaches “the long axis LA1 may have a length of between about 5.5 µm to about 450 µm, and the short axis SA1 may have a length of between about 5 µm to about 400 µm … the conductive post 118 may also have an elongated shape in a top view … a long axis LA2 and a short axis SA2 … to have an oval shape, in some alternative embodiments, … may have any other shape other than oval … may be circular, a rectangle with rounded edges, or a stadium shape” and “Each group of the conductive vias 216 provided at different locations of the semiconductor package 200 have different center axes, and therefore, the conductive via 216 belonging to different groups may have different orientations”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teaching of Sun to further include the teaching of Hou to form any desirable shapes and orientations and relative locations of the UBMs in both the peripheral and core areas to meet the design requirements.
Claims 20 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (Sun hereinafter) (US 2021/0407939) as applied to claim 12 or 27 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (Wu hereinafter) (US 2022/0367211).
Regarding Claims 20 and 28:
Sun (see ¶ [0032]) teaches “a die 500 may have a UBM pattern 510 … a first set of UBMs 520 have a UMB size of 60 µm with a minimum pitch 130 µm, A second set if UBMs 530 have a UBM size of 75 µm with a minimum pitch 140 µm, but does not explicitly teach {20} forming the plurality of second UBMs each having the second size less than or equal to one hundred ten micrometers (110 µm) and smaller than the first size, and each having the second pitch less or equal to seventy (70) µm and less than the first pitch and {28} the second size is less than or equal to one hundred ten (110) micrometers (µm); and the second pitch is less than or equal to seventy (70) µm.
Wu (see ¶ [0024] and FIGs. 2A and 3A) teaches “The external connectors 212 may be formed over the UMBs … may be contact bumps or solder balls … may have a pitch between about 25 µm and about 1250 µm”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teaching of Sun to further include the teaching of Wu to form desirable combination of the UBM sizes and pitches to meet the density design requirements with relatively low cost and high performance packaging.
Correspondence
/ALICE W TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814