DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 10/27/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beyne et al. (US 2018/0145030).
Regarding claim 1, Beyne discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (6, fig. 1 and paragraph 0046) comprising a first region (right side comprising devices with furthest gate strip 1, fig. 1 and paragraph 0046), a second region (middle region comprising devices with middle two gate strips 1, fig. 1 and paragraph 0046), and a third region (input/output routing section on left side, fig. 11 and paragraph 0060);
a first device disposed on a front side of the substrate, in the first region, wherein the first device includes a first active region (5, figs. 1-2), a first gate (1, fig. 1) crossing the first active region, and first source/drain regions on the first active region on both sides of the first gate (2, fig. 1 and paragraph 0046);
a second device disposed on the front side of the substrate, in the second region (middle transistors, fig. 1 and paragraph 0046);
a through-electrode (83, fig. 11 and paragraph 0060) penetrating through the substrate in the third region (6, fig. 11 and paragraph 0060);
a contact plug electrically connected to the first source/drain regions (20, figs. 1-2 and paragraph 0047);
a buried conductive layer (9, figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 0046-0047) connected to the contact plug, and penetrating through a first device isolation layer (7, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0046-0047) defining the first active region in the substrate and extending deeper into the substrate than the first device isolation layer (fig. 2); and
a back side buried interconnection structure disposed adjacent to a back side of the substrate that opposes the front side of the substrate (17/19, fig. 2 and paragraph 0047),
wherein the back side buried interconnection structure includes a back side buried conductive layer disposed on the buried conductive layer in the first region and connected to the buried conductive layer (17/19, figs. 1-2 and paragraph 0047), and
wherein the back side buried interconnection structure is not disposed on the back side of the substrate in the second region (middle section, figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Beyne further discloses wherein the back side buried interconnection structure further comprises a back side buried insulating layer (55, figs. 6C-D and paragraph 0057) surrounding side surfaces of the back side buried conductive layer (57, fig. 6D and paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 5, Beyne further discloses wherein an upper surface of the back side buried insulating layer and an upper surface of the back side buried conductive layer are substantially coplanar (top surface, fig. 6D).
Regarding claim 6, Beyne further discloses wherein a lower surface of the back side buried insulating layer is on a level lower than a lower surface of the back side buried conductive layer (57, fig. 6D).
Regarding claim 7, Beyne further discloses wherein an upper portion of the buried conductive layer protrudes onto a lower surface of the back side buried insulating layer (60/61, fig. 7 and paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 8, Beyne further discloses wherein the active region comprises a first base active region and at least one first active fin, wherein the at least one first active fin protrudes from the first base active region and extends in a first direction (5, figs. 1-2 and paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 9, Beyne further discloses wherein the first device further comprises a plurality of first channel layers spaced apart from the at least one first active fin, and surrounded by the first gate (1, fig. 1 and paragraph 0046).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyne et al. (US 2018/0145030) in view of Sparks et al. (US 5213999).
Regarding claim 3, Beyne discloses the semiconductor device of claim 2, as mentioned above. Beyne further discloses wherein the buried insulating layer is a blanket deposition and does not explicitly disclose wherein the back side buried insulating layer is disposed in a trench recessed from the back side of the substrate toward the front side of the substrate in the first region, wherein the back side buried conductive layer is disposed in the back side buried insulating layer. However, such trench based process was well known at the time of filing and would therefore be deemed obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. To illustrate the well known teachings of forming a trench into a semiconductor substrate to reach a buried conductive layer, forming an insulating layer in the trench and filling with a conductive contact, see Sparks (figs. 5-8 and Col. 4).
Regarding claim 4, the process of the trench filled dielectric taught above would yeild a step is provided by the trench on the back side of the substrate in the first region, wherein the back side of the substrate is substantially flat in the second region, all things else being equal.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyne et al. (US 2018/0145030).
Regarding claims 10-11, Beyne discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, as mentioned above. Beyne further discloses wherein the devices are a CMOS layout of finFET transistors (paragraph 0046). Beyne does not explicitly disclose wherein the second device is a static-random-access memory (SRAM) including a second active region, a second gate crossing the second active region, and second source/drain regions disposed on the second active region on both sides of the second gate or wherein the second device is a bipolar junction transistor including a base, an emitter, and a collector. However, Beyne’s invention is directed to buried interconnects with back side access with vias. Beyne explicitly discloses wherein the CMOS layout is just a single case use and is not limited to such (paragraph 0046). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use such interconnect structures with an SRAM device or a BJT since such were common in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 2018/0175034 discloses a relevant dual side processing device.
/DOUGLAS M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 2/3/26