DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/16/2023 and 08/01/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
101 Rejection Arguments
Applicant asserts:
Applicant argues, on page 13-18, that “The Present Claims Cannot be "Practically Performed in the Human Mind"” specifically, "applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model to (i) predict a respective class from the set of classes, (ii) generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space, and (iii) determine a respective score that is representative of a degree of confidence of the respective class."
Examiner response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The applying step is not interpreted as an abstract idea but as merely applying the abstract idea on a generic computer 2106.05(f). As stated in 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) “A Claim That Requires a Computer May Still Recite a Mental Process” Therefore as shown in the analysis, the present claims can be practically performed in the human mind.
Applicant asserts:
Applicant argues, on page 18-21, that “The Present Claims Represent a Technical Improvement,” specifically “A technical improvement provided by the subject matter of amended claim 1 is reducing the amount of labelled training data needed when training a machine learning model.”
Examiner response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The steps regarding “obtaining a first set…”, “obtain a machine learning model” as extra solution activity mere data gathering. In addition, the limitations regarding “applying each training example” and “using the second set of training data” is interpreted as applying the abstract idea on a generic computer. The amended determining step, selecting step, and generating step is interpreted as an abstract idea. As stated in MPEP 2106.05 “Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as "significantly more" when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include… Adding the words "apply it"… Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception”
103 Rejection Arguments
Applicant asserts:
Applicant argues, on page 21-25, that the prior art does not teach "wherein determining a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining the score based on the at least one distance" and "determining, for a given training example of the first set of training data, at least one distance between an embedding vector that represents the given training example and at least one embedding vector for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example"
Examiner response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Using BRI, Examiner interprets the limitation as determining a score that represents the degree of confidence of a class of the training examples where it is based on the at least one distance. Examiner decided to rely on Yigin instead of Guo because Guo did not explicitly teach “determining a score that represents the degree of confidence of a class of the training examples where it is based on the at least one distance.” However, Yigin does teach the limitation by stating that distance metrics can affect algorithms such as KNN Classifier. Furthermore, Yigin states on Yigin Page 8 Paragraph 4 that modifying these algorithms help in clustering to class labels. Therefore, Yigin does show a score that represents the degree of confidence (confident score) that shows a confidence in a sample being part of a clustered class which is based on at least one distance.
Furthermore using BRI, Examiner interprets the example from first set of training and example from third set where it is of the common class broadly. Common class is interpreted as group of all classes are all common because they are in the pool of classes to be considered from. Therefore when determining a distance from a third example of a common class, any example from any class is a common class.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In reference to claim 1:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“selecting, from the first set of training data, a subset of training examples by selecting at least a top N training examples, with respect to score, from each of the predicted classes of the set of classes;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could select at least a top N training examples, with respect to score, from each of the predicted classes of the set of classes.
“determining, for a given training example of the first set of training data, at least one distance between an embedding vector that represents the given training example and at least one embedding vector for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example, wherein the respective score that is representative of the degree of confidence of the predicted class of the given training example is based on the at least one distance;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could determine at least one distance between an embedding vector that represents the given training example and at least one embedding vector for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example.
“generating a second set of training data by adding, to the third set of training data, the subset of training examples, wherein each training example of the subset is labelled in the second set of training data as belonging to a respective class as predicted by the machine learning model;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate a second set of training data that includes the subset of training examples selected from the first set of training data.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“A method comprising: obtaining a first set of training data that includes a first plurality of training examples;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“obtaining a machine learning model that has been trained, using a third set of training data, to select, from a set of classes, a predicted class for an input, wherein the third set of training data includes a third plurality of training examples that are each labelled as belonging to a respective class selected from the set of classes and that are each represented by a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model to (i) predict a respective class from the set of classes, (ii) generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space, and (iii) determine a respective score that is representative of a degree of confidence of the respective class;” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and using the second set of training data, further training the machine learning model, thereby generating an updated machine learning model.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“A method comprising: obtaining a first set of training data that includes a first plurality of training examples;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“obtaining a machine learning model that has been trained, using a third set of training data, to select, from a set of classes, a predicted class for an input, wherein the third set of training data includes a third plurality of training examples that are each labelled as belonging to a respective class selected from the set of classes and that are each represented by a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model to (i) predict a respective class from the set of classes, (ii) generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space, and (iii) determine a respective score that is representative of a degree of confidence of the respective class;” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and using the second set of training data, further training the machine learning model, thereby generating an updated machine learning model.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 2:
Claim 2 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 3:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 1, wherein determining the respective score comprises generating, as an output of the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto, at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training examples is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 4:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“and wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining a weighted combination of (i) the at least one distance and (ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(c)).
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 5:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 4, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and the at least one embedding vector generated for the respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of the common class as the predicted class of the given training example.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(b)).
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 6:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 4, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining a distance between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and an embedding vector generated for a training example of the third set of training data that is, of the training examples of the third set of training data that are the common class as the predicted class of the given training example, closest in the embedding space.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could determine that at least one distance between the embedding vectors.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 7:
Claim 7 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 8:
Claim 8 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 10:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 1, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and the at least one embedding vector generated for the respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of the common class as the predicted class of the given training example.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(b)).
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 11:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 1, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining a distance between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and an embedding vector generated for a training example of the third set of training data that is, of the training examples of the third set of training data that are the common class as the predicted class of the given training example, closest in the embedding space.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could determine that at least one distance between the embedding vectors.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 12:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“selecting, from the first set of training data, a subset of training examples by selecting at least a top N training examples, with respect to score, from each of the predicted classes of the set of classes;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could select at least a top N training examples, with respect to score, from each of the predicted classes of the set of classes.
“determining, for a given training example of the first set of training data, at least one distance between an embedding vector that represents the given training example and at least one embedding vector for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example, wherein the respective score that is representative of the degree of confidence of the predicted class of the given training example is based on the at least one distance;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could determine at least one distance between an embedding vector that represents the given training example and at least one embedding vector for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example.
“generating a second set of training data by adding, to the third set of training data, the subset of training examples, wherein each training example of the subset is labelled in the second set of training data as belonging to a respective class as predicted by the machine learning model;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate a second set of training data that includes the subset of training examples selected from the first set of training data.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“A non-transitory computer-readable medium, having stored thereon program instructions that, upon execution by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations comprising:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“obtaining a first set of training data that includes a first plurality of training examples;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“obtaining a machine learning model that has been trained, using a third set of training data, to select, from a set of classes, a predicted class for an input, wherein the third set of training data includes a third plurality of training examples that are each labelled as belonging to a respective class selected from the set of classes and that are each represented by a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model to (i) predict a respective class from the set of classes, (ii) generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space, and (iii) determine a respective score that is representative of a degree of confidence of the respective class;” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and using the second set of training data, further training the machine learning model, thereby generating an updated machine learning model.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“A non-transitory computer-readable medium, having stored thereon program instructions that, upon execution by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations comprising:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“obtaining a first set of training data that includes a first plurality of training examples;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“obtaining a machine learning model that has been trained, using a third set of training data, to select, from a set of classes, a predicted class for an input, wherein the third set of training data includes a third plurality of training examples that are each labelled as belonging to a respective class selected from the set of classes and that are each represented by a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model to (i) predict a respective class from the set of classes, (ii) generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space, and (iii) determine a respective score that is representative of a degree of confidence of the respective class;” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and using the second set of training data, further training the machine learning model, thereby generating an updated machine learning model.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 13:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein determining the respective score comprises generating, as an output of the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto, at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training examples is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 14:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“and wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining a weighted combination of (i) the at least one distance and (ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(c)).
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 15:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and the at least one embedding vector generated for the respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of the common class as the predicted class of the given training example.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(b)).
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 16:
Claim 16 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 17:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a machine
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“selecting, from the first set of training data, a subset of training examples by selecting at least a top N training examples, with respect to score, from each of the predicted classes of the set of classes;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could select at least a top N training examples, with respect to score, from each of the predicted classes of the set of classes.
“determining, for a given training example of the first set of training data, at least one distance between an embedding vector that represents the given training example and at least one embedding vector for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example, wherein the respective score that is representative of the degree of confidence of the predicted class of the given training example is based on the at least one distance;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could determine at least one distance between an embedding vector that represents the given training example and at least one embedding vector for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example.
“generating a second set of training data by adding, to the third set of training data, the subset of training examples wherein each training example of the subset is labelled in the second set of training data as belonging to a respective class as predicted by the machine learning model;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate a second set of training data that includes the subset of training examples selected from the first set of training data.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“A system comprising: one or more processors; and memory, containing program instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“obtaining a first set of training data that includes a first plurality of training examples;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“obtaining a machine learning model that has been trained, using a third set of training data, to select, from a set of classes, a predicted class for an input, wherein the third set of training data includes a third plurality of training examples that are each labelled as belonging to a respective class selected from the set of classes and that are each represented by a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model to (i) predict a respective class from the set of classes, (ii) generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space,” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and using the second set of training data, further training the machine learning model, thereby generating an updated machine learning model.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“A system comprising: one or more processors; and memory, containing program instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“obtaining a first set of training data that includes a first plurality of training examples;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“obtaining a machine learning model that has been trained, using a third set of training data, to select, from a set of classes, a predicted class for an input, wherein the third set of training data includes a third plurality of training examples that are each labelled as belonging to a respective class selected from the set of classes and that are each represented by a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model to (i) predict a respective class from the set of classes, (ii) generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space,” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and using the second set of training data, further training the machine learning model, thereby generating an updated machine learning model.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 18:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a machine
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The system of claim 17, wherein determining the respective score comprises generating, as an output of the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto, at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could generate at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training examples is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 19:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“and wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining a weighted combination of (i) the at least one distance and (ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(c)).
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 20:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a machine
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The system of claim 19, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and the at least one embedding vector generated for the respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of the common class as the predicted class of the given training example.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(b)).
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lan-Zhe Guo et al; “Class-Imbalanced Semi-Supervised Learning with Adaptive Thresholding” published 2022 (hereinafter “Guo”) in further view of Adrian Tam; “A Gentle Introduction to Vector Space Models” available online Jan 29, 2023 (hereinafter “Tam”) in further view of Busra Ozgode Yigin; “Effect of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE embeddings and its implications on clustering for scRNA-seq data” available online April 21, 2023 (hereinafter “Yigin”)
Regarding claim 1, Guo teaches A method comprising: obtaining a first set of training data that includes a first plurality of training examples; (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 6; “We conduct experiments on long tailed variants of CIFAR-10… SVHN… and STL-10… datasets with various levels of class imbalance and different ratios of labeled data. These are all widely adopted datasets to evaluate SSL algorithms. For constructing the class-imbalanced training dataset, we use two parameters γl, γu to denote the imbalance ratio of labeled and unlabeled data” Examiner notes that a first set of training data that includes a first plurality of training examples (unlabeled data) is obtained)
obtaining a machine learning model that has been trained, using a third set of training data, to select, from a set of classes, a predicted class for an input, (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 1; “the algorithm to determine sk exploits the class-wise confidence threshold effectively by ranking all the probabilities predicted as class k in descending order and setting sk such that exp(−sk) be equal to the predicted probability ranked at ρ×length (Ck),where length (Ck) is the number of unlabeled examples predicted as class k and ρ×100% denotes the percentage of selected confident pseudo-labels.” Guo Page 6 Paragraph 6; “We conduct experiments on long tailed variants of CIFAR-10… SVHN… and STL-10… datasets with various levels of class imbalance and different ratios of labeled data. These are all widely adopted datasets to evaluate SSL algorithms.” Guo Page 7 Paragraph 3; “We train the model with batch size 64 for 218 iterations.” Examiner notes that a machine learning model (model) that has been trained, using a third set of training data (labeled data in datasets), to select, from a set of classes (pseudo-labels; each class) a predicted class for an input (number of unlabeled examples predicted as class K) is obtained through training)
wherein the third set of training data includes a third plurality of training examples that are each labelled as belonging to a respective class selected from the set of classes [and that are each represented by a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space]; (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 6; “We conduct experiments on long tailed variants of CIFAR-10… SVHN… and STL-10… datasets with various levels of class imbalance and different ratios of labeled data. These are all widely adopted datasets to evaluate SSL algorithms. For constructing the class-imbalanced training dataset, we use two parameters γl, γu to denote the imbalance ratio of labeled and unlabeled data” Examiner notes that a third set of training data (labeled data) that includes a third plurality of training examples, wherein each training example of the third set of training data is labelled as belonging to a respective selected from the set of classes is obtained)
applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model to (i) predict a respective class from the set of classes (Examiners reference previous mapping to show that each training example of the first set of training data (unlabeled examples) is applied to the machine learning model to predict a respective class (class k) from the set of classes)
(iii) determine a respective score that is representative of a degree of confidence of the respective class; (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 1; “where length (Ck) is the number of unlabeled examples predicted as class k and ρ×100% denotes the percentage of selected confident pseudo-labels.” Examiner notes that a respective score that is representative of a degree of confidence (confidence level) of the respective class (class k) is determined as shown in algorithm 2)
selecting, from the first set of training data, a subset of training examples by selecting at least a top N training examples, with respect to score, from each of the predicted classes of the set of classes; (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 1; “the algorithm to determine sk exploits the class-wise confidence threshold effectively by ranking all the probabilities predicted as class k in descending order and setting sk such that exp (−sk) be equal to the predicted probability ranked at ρ×length(Ck), where length (Ck) is the number of unlabeled examples predicted as class k and ρ×100% denotes the percentage of selected confident pseudo-labels.” Guo Page 12 Paragraph 2; “This ensures pseudo-labels with the same confidence level within class can be selected for every class… Selecting the pseudo-labels by utilizing the adaptive thresholding gives the advantage of selecting examples that have relatively low confidence, but high within-class confidence” Examiner notes that selecting, from the first set of training data (unlabeled examples), a subset of training examples by selecting at least a top N training examples (selected examples with high within-class confidence), with respect to score (confidence level), from each of the predicted classes of the set of classes (selected for every class))
generating a second set of training data by adding, to the third set of training data, the subset of training examples Guo Page 6 Paragraph 6; “We conduct experiments on long tailed variants of CIFAR-10… SVHN… and STL-10… datasets with various levels of class imbalance and different ratios of labeled data. These are all widely adopted datasets to evaluate SSL algorithms. For constructing the class-imbalanced training dataset, we use two parameters γl, γu to denote the imbalance ratio of labeled and unlabeled data” Examiner notes that a second set of training data (class-imbalanced training dataset) is generated by adding, to the third set of training data (unlabeled data), the subset of training examples (labeled data)
wherein each training example of the subset is labelled in the second set of training data as belonging to a respective class as predicted by the machine learning model; and (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 1; “where length (Ck) is the number of unlabeled examples predicted as class k and ρ×100% denotes the percentage of selected confident pseudo-labels.” Guo Page 6 Paragraph 3; “Selecting the pseudo-labels by utilizing the adaptive thresholding gives the advantage of selecting examples that have relatively low confidence, but high within-class confidence and thus help alleviate the bias problem of the original prediction under class-imbalanced distribution.” Examiner notes that wherein each training example of the subset is labeled (pseudo label) in the second set of training data as belonging to a respective class as predicted by the machine learning model (shown in algorithm 2))
using the second set of training data, further training the machine learning model, thereby generating an updated machine learning model. (Guo Page 9 Paragraph 3; “We propose a novel Adsh approach that adaptively selects pseudo-labels to train models based on a class-dependent threshold.” Examiner notes that the second set of training data (pseudo labels) is used to further train the machine learning model, thereby generating an updated model)
Guo does not teach and that are each represented by a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space
(ii) generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space,
determining, for a given training example of the first set of training data, at least one distance between an embedding vector that represents the given training example and at least one embedding vector for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example,
However, Tam does teach and that are each represented by a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space (Tam Section “Using vector space model for similarity” Paragraph 4; “To better illustrate the idea rather than hiding the actual manipulation in pandas or numpy functions, we first extract the data for each country as a vector:… The Python dictionary we created has the name of each country as a key and the economic metrics as a numpy array. There are 5 metrics, hence each is a vector of 5 dimensions.” Examiner notes that a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space (vector space) can be generated of the third set of training data)
(ii) generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space, (Tam Section “Using vector space model for similarity” Paragraph 4; “To better illustrate the idea rather than hiding the actual manipulation in pandas or numpy functions, we first extract the data for each country as a vector:… The Python dictionary we created has the name of each country as a key and the economic metrics as a numpy array. There are 5 metrics, hence each is a vector of 5 dimensions.” Examiner notes that a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space (vector space) can be generated of the first set of training data)
determining, for a given training example of the first set of training data, at least one distance between an embedding vector that represents the given training example and at least one embedding vector for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example, (Tam Section “Using vector space model for similarity” Paragraph 6; “we can use the vector representation of each country to see how similar it is to another. Let’s try both the L2-norm of the difference (the Euclidean distance) and the cosine distance.” Examiner notes that at least one distance (Euclidean/cosine distance) between an embedding vector output by the machine learning model and embedding vector generated for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example (vector representations of training example and third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo and Tam. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo and Tam to utilize vector space and represent a data point as a vector for conveniency “It is useful to consider a vector space because it is useful to represent things as a vector. For example in machine learning, we usually have a data point with multiple features. Therefore, it is convenient for us to represent a data point as a vector.” (Tam Section “Vector Space and Cosine Formula” Paragraph 2).
Guo in view of Tam does not teach wherein the respective score that is representative of the degree of confidence of the predicted class of the given training example is based on the at least one distance; (Yigin Page 7 Paragraph 1; “For the estimation of the confidence, the distances between the neighbors in original and low dimensional spaces can be identified by different distance measures.” Yigin Page 8 Paragraph 4; “It is necessary to modify the accuracy formula used in the classification method for clustering since the clustering algorithm does not provide a relationship between the predicted cluster labels and the ground truth class labels.” Examiner notes that degree of confidence of the predicted class (the distance between the original and low dimensional spaces are used to determine predicted cluster labels) comprises the at least one distance (distances between the neighbors))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin to replace one of the features within the weighted combination with the distance measure that has a considerable effect on the precision of the confidence score to improve clustering performance “The experimental results show that distance measures have a considerable effect on the precision of confidence scores and clustering performance can be improved substantially if these confidence scores are incorporated before the clustering algorithm.” (Yigin Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Guao teaches The method of claim 1, wherein determining the respective score comprises generating, as an output of the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto, at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example. (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 1; “the algorithm to determine sk exploits the class-wise confidence threshold effectively by ranking all the probabilities predicted as class k in descending order and setting sk such that exp(−sk) be equal to the predicted probability ranked at ρ×length (Ck)” Examiner notes that respective score comprises generating, as an output of the machine learning model (model used as shown in algorithm 2) when applying the given training example (unlabeled data), a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example (probabilities predicted as class k))
Regarding claim 10, Guo does not teach The method of claim 1, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and the at least one embedding vector generated for the respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of the common class as the predicted class of the given training example.
However, Yigin does teach The method of claim 9, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and the at least one embedding vector generated for the respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of the common class as the predicted class of the given training example. (Yigin Page 7 Paragraph 1; “For the estimation of the confidence, the distances between the neighbors in original and low dimensional spaces can be identified by different distance measures…the most common distance measures namely Euclidean, cosine, … were used to extract features from the datasets from different domains for the prediction of confidence scores.” Examiner notes that the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output and the one embedding vector of the third set of training data (distance between embedding vectors of the neighbors in dimensional space))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin to replace one of the features within the weighted combination with the distance measure that has a considerable effect on the precision of the confidence score to improve clustering performance “The experimental results show that distance measures have a considerable effect on the precision of confidence scores and clustering performance can be improved substantially if these confidence scores are incorporated before the clustering algorithm.” (Yigin Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Guo does not teach The method of claim 1, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining a distance between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and an embedding vector generated for a training example of the third set of training data that is, of the training examples of the third set of training data that are the common class as the predicted class of the given training example, closest in the embedding space.
However, Yigin does teach The method of claim 9, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining a distance between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and an embedding vector generated for a training example of the third set of training data that is, of the training examples of the third set of training data that are the common class as the predicted class of the given training example, closest in the embedding space. (Yigin Page 7 Paragraph 1; “For the estimation of the confidence, the distances between the neighbors in original and low dimensional spaces can be identified by different distance measures…the most common distance measures namely Euclidean, cosine, … were used to extract features from the datasets from different domains for the prediction of confidence scores.” Examiner notes that the at least one distance comprises determining a distance between the embedding vector output and the one embedding vector of the third set of training data (distance between embedding vectors of the neighbors in dimensional space) that is closest in the embedding space (neighbors includes closest embedding vectors of other neighbors))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin to replace one of the features within the weighted combination with the distance measure that has a considerable effect on the precision of the confidence score to improve clustering performance “The experimental results show that distance measures have a considerable effect on the precision of confidence scores and clustering performance can be improved substantially if these confidence scores are incorporated before the clustering algorithm.” (Yigin Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Guo teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium, having stored thereon program instructions that, upon execution by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations comprising: (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 2; “The proportion ρ is computed from the majority class” Examiner notes that the word “computed” suggested a computing system having stored instructions to perform)
Claim 12 is a manufacture claim of method claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Guao teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein determining the respective score comprises generating, as an output of the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto, at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example. (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 1; “the algorithm to determine sk exploits the class-wise confidence threshold effectively by ranking all the probabilities predicted as class k in descending order and setting sk such that exp(−sk) be equal to the predicted probability ranked at ρ×length (Ck)” Examiner notes that respective score comprises generating, as an output of the machine learning model (model used as shown in algorithm 2) when applying the given training example (unlabeled data), a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example (probabilities predicted as class k))
Regarding claim 17, Guo teaches A system comprising: one or more processors; and memory, containing program instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising: (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 2; “The proportion ρ is computed from the majority class” Examiner notes that the word “computed” suggested a computing system comprising one or more processors and memory having stored instructions to perform)
Claim 17 is a system claim of method claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Guao teaches The system of claim 12, wherein determining the respective score comprises generating, as an output of the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto, at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example. (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 1; “the algorithm to determine sk exploits the class-wise confidence threshold effectively by ranking all the probabilities predicted as class k in descending order and setting sk such that exp(−sk) be equal to the predicted probability ranked at ρ×length (Ck)” Examiner notes that respective score comprises generating, as an output of the machine learning model (model used as shown in algorithm 2) when applying the given training example (unlabeled data), a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example (probabilities predicted as class k))
Claim(s) 2, 8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lan-Zhe Guo et al; “Class-Imbalanced Semi-Supervised Learning with Adaptive Thresholding” published 2022 (hereinafter “Guo”) in further view of Adrian Tam; “A Gentle Introduction to Vector Space Models” available online Jan 29, 2023 (hereinafter “Tam”) in further view of Busra Ozgode Yigin; “Effect of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE embeddings and its implications on clustering for scRNA-seq data” available online April 21, 2023 (hereinafter “Yigin”) in further view of Mu Qiao et al; US 20240248920 A1 filed on Jan 19, 2023 (hereinafter “Qiao”).
Regarding claim 2, Guo does not teach The method of claim 1, wherein each training example in the first plurality of training examples represents a textual input, and wherein each class of the set of classes represents a respective different type of response that could be expressed in a textual input.
However, Qiao does teach The method of claim 1, wherein each training example in the first plurality of training examples represents a textual input, and wherein each class of the set of classes represents a respective different type of response that could be expressed in a textual input. (Qiao Paragraph 0053; “the first machine learning model 302 can comprise a first generative pre-trained transformer (GPT) model. GPT models are deep learning or neural network language models that are pre-trained on a large text corpus to generate text responses to input text prompts and are then adapted to perform specific tasks using additional training data specific to a specific task.” Qiao Paragraph 0048; “the in-context learning component 316 can utilize in-context learning, as described above in FIG. 1, to adapt the second GPT model to generate the second response portion. For example, the in-context learning component 316 can classify the input query into one or more emotion classes.” Examiner notes that each training example in the first plurality of training examples (large text corpus) represents a textural input (text prompts); each class of the set of classes represent different type of response (emotions) that could be expressed in a textual input)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, Yigin, and Qiao. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. Qiao teaches using GPT to generate responses to inputs. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, Yigin, and Qiao to leverage pretrained models to reduce training cost, computation cycles, and amount of training data “In-context learning takes advantage of pre-trained models or previously trained models, such as GPT model 103, to reduce training cost, and thereby reduce the computation cycles and amount of training data called for to adapt a model to a specific task.” (Qiao Paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 8, Guo does not teach The method of claim 1, wherein the machine learning model comprises a transformer.
However, Qiao does teach The method of claim 1, wherein the machine learning model comprises a transformer. (Qiao Paragraph 0028; “a machine learning model such as generative pre-trained transformer model (GPT) 103 can receive prompts 101 and input query 102.” Examiner notes that the machine learning model comprises a transformer (GPT))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, Yigin, and Qiao. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. Qiao teaches using GPT to generate responses to inputs. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, Yigin, and Qiao to leverage pretrained models to reduce training cost, computation cycles, and amount of training data “In-context learning takes advantage of pre-trained models or previously trained models, such as GPT model 103, to reduce training cost, and thereby reduce the computation cycles and amount of training data called for to adapt a model to a specific task.” (Qiao Paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 16, Guo does not teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the machine learning model comprises a transformer.
However, Qiao does teach The method of claim 1, wherein the machine learning model comprises a transformer. (Qiao Paragraph 0028; “a machine learning model such as generative pre-trained transformer model (GPT) 103 can receive prompts 101 and input query 102.” Examiner notes that the machine learning model comprises a transformer (GPT))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, Yigin, and Qiao. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. Qiao teaches using GPT to generate responses to inputs. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, Yigin, and Qiao to leverage pretrained models to reduce training cost, computation cycles, and amount of training data “In-context learning takes advantage of pre-trained models or previously trained models, such as GPT model 103, to reduce training cost, and thereby reduce the computation cycles and amount of training data called for to adapt a model to a specific task.” (Qiao Paragraph 0029).
Claim(s) 4-6, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lan-Zhe Guo et al; “Class-Imbalanced Semi-Supervised Learning with Adaptive Thresholding” published 2022 (hereinafter “Guo”) in further view of Adrian Tam; “A Gentle Introduction to Vector Space Models” available online Jan 29, 2023 (hereinafter “Tam”) in further view of Busra Ozgode Yigin; “Effect of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE embeddings and its implications on clustering for scRNA-seq data” available online April 21, 2023 (hereinafter “Yigin”) in further view of Georg Stemmer et al; “Comparison and Combination of Confidence Measures” available online Jan 01 2002 (hereinafter “Stemmer”)
Regarding claim 4, Guo does not teach The method of claim 3 wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining a weighted combination of (i) the at least one distance and (ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.
However, Stemmer does teach wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining a weighted combination of [(i) the at least one distance and ](ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example. (Stemmer Page 4 Paragraph 4; “As a word graph usually contains several instances wi of the word w which differ in ts(i) and te(i) the confidence measure can be improved by summing up P(wi,ts(i),te(i)| O) of all word hypotheses wi which overlap in the time domain.” Examiner notes that for the given training example of the first set of training data (word w), a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example (confidence measure) comprises determining a weighted combination (each word hypotheses wi has a weight of 1) of at least a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example (P(wi,ts(i),te(i)| O)))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, Yigin, and Stemmer. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. Stemmer teaches combining a number of features to obtain a confidence measure. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, Yigin, and Stemmer to utilize the combination of features for improved results and confidence “The a-posteriori probability performs better than all other single features. The results indicate that feature combinations, like in GSCORE, improve results significantly. For WCPOS we were able to get a better confidence annotation by incorporating the part-of-speech labels of the neighboring words.” (Stemmer Page 5 Paragraph 3).
Guo in view of Tam in further view of Stemmer does not teach wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining a weighted combination of (i) the at least one distance [and (ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.]
However, Yigin does teach wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises [determining a weighted combination of] [(i) the at least one distance and ](ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example. (Yigin Page 7 Paragraph 1; “For the estimation of the confidence, the distances between the neighbors in original and low dimensional spaces can be identified by different distance measures.” Examiner notes that degree of confidence comprises the at least one distance (distances between the neighbors))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin to replace one of the features within the weighted combination with the distance measure that has a considerable effect on the precision of the confidence score to improve clustering performance “The experimental results show that distance measures have a considerable effect on the precision of confidence scores and clustering performance can be improved substantially if these confidence scores are incorporated before the clustering algorithm.” (Yigin Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Guo does not teach The method of claim 4, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and the at least one embedding vector generated for the respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of the common class as the predicted class of the given training example.
However, Yigin does teach The method of claim 4, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and the at least one embedding vector generated for the respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of the common class as the predicted class of the given training example. (Yigin Page 7 Paragraph 1; “For the estimation of the confidence, the distances between the neighbors in original and low dimensional spaces can be identified by different distance measures…the most common distance measures namely Euclidean, cosine, … were used to extract features from the datasets from different domains for the prediction of confidence scores.” Examiner notes that the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output and the one embedding vector of the third set of training data (distance between embedding vectors of the neighbors in dimensional space))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin to replace one of the features within the weighted combination with the distance measure that has a considerable effect on the precision of the confidence score to improve clustering performance “The experimental results show that distance measures have a considerable effect on the precision of confidence scores and clustering performance can be improved substantially if these confidence scores are incorporated before the clustering algorithm.” (Yigin Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Guo does not teach The method of claim 4, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining a distance between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and an embedding vector generated for a training example of the third set of training data that is, of the training examples of the third set of training data that are the common class as the predicted class of the given training example, closest in the embedding space.
However, Yigin does teach The method of claim 4, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining a distance between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and an embedding vector generated for a training example of the third set of training data that is, of the training examples of the third set of training data that are the common class as the predicted class of the given training example, closest in the embedding space. (Yigin Page 7 Paragraph 1; “For the estimation of the confidence, the distances between the neighbors in original and low dimensional spaces can be identified by different distance measures…the most common distance measures namely Euclidean, cosine, … were used to extract features from the datasets from different domains for the prediction of confidence scores.” Examiner notes that the at least one distance comprises determining a distance between the embedding vector output and the one embedding vector of the third set of training data (distance between embedding vectors of the neighbors in dimensional space) that is closest in the embedding space (neighbors includes closest embedding vectors of other neighbors))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin to replace one of the features within the weighted combination with the distance measure that has a considerable effect on the precision of the confidence score to improve clustering performance “The experimental results show that distance measures have a considerable effect on the precision of confidence scores and clustering performance can be improved substantially if these confidence scores are incorporated before the clustering algorithm.” (Yigin Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Guo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise, prior to applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model: (i) obtaining a third set of training data that includes a third plurality of training examples, wherein each training example of the third set of training data is labelled as belonging to a respective class selected from the set of classes, (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 6; “We conduct experiments on long tailed variants of CIFAR-10… SVHN… and STL-10… datasets with various levels of class imbalance and different ratios of labeled data. These are all widely adopted datasets to evaluate SSL algorithms. For constructing the class-imbalanced training dataset, we use two parameters γl, γu to denote the imbalance ratio of labeled and unlabeled data” Examiner notes that a third set of training data (labeled data) that includes a third plurality of training examples, wherein each training example of the third set of training data is labelled as belonging to a respective selected from the set of classes is obtained)
and (ii) using the third set of training data, training the machine learning model to select, from the set of classes, a predicted class for an input, (Guo Page 7 Paragraph 3; “we adopt the Wide ResNet-28-2 (Zagoruyko & Komodakis, 2016) as the backbone since it is commonly adopted in various SSL methods (Oliver et al., 2018). We train the model with batch size 64 for 218 iterations.” Examiner notes that model is trained using the third set of training data to select from the set of classes, a predicted class for an input)
wherein generating the second set of training data comprises adding, to the first set of training data, the subset of training examples selected from the first set of training data, (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 1; “where length (Ck) is the number of unlabeled examples predicted as class k and ρ×100% denotes the percentage of selected confident pseudo-labels.” Guo Page 6 Paragraph 3; “Selecting the pseudo-labels by utilizing the adaptive thresholding gives the advantage of selecting examples that have relatively low confidence, but high within-class confidence and thus help alleviate the bias problem of the original prediction under class-imbalanced distribution.” Examiner notes that a second set of training data (unlabeled data are given pseudo labels) comprises adding the subset of training examples selected from the first set of training data (unlabeled data) is generated)
Guo does not teach wherein applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model additionally comprises generating a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space,
wherein the method yet further comprises: applying each training example of the third set of training data to the machine learning model to generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space; and
determining, for the given training example, at least one distance between an
embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and at least one embedding vector generated for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example, and
However, Tam does teach wherein applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model additionally comprises generating a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space, (Tam Section “Using vector space model for similarity” Paragraph 4; “To better illustrate the idea rather than hiding the actual manipulation in pandas or numpy functions, we first extract the data for each country as a vector:… The Python dictionary we created has the name of each country as a key and the economic metrics as a numpy array. There are 5 metrics, hence each is a vector of 5 dimensions.” Examiner notes that a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space (vector space) can be generated of the first set of training data)
wherein the method yet further comprises: applying each training example of the third set of training data to the machine learning model to generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space; and (Examiner references previous mapping to show that a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space is generated for the third set of training data)
determining, for the given training example, at least one distance between an
embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and at least one embedding vector generated for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example, and (Tam Section “Using vector space model for similarity” Paragraph 6; “we can use the vector representation of each country to see how similar it is to another. Let’s try both the L2-norm of the difference (the Euclidean distance) and the cosine distance.” Examiner notes that at least one distance (Euclidean/cosine distance) between an embedding vector output by the machine learning model and embedding vector generated for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example (vector representations of training example and third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo and Tam. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo and Tam to utilize vector space and represent a data point as a vector for conveniency “It is useful to consider a vector space because it is useful to represent things as a vector. For example in machine learning, we usually have a data point with multiple features. Therefore, it is convenient for us to represent a data point as a vector.” (Tam Section “Vector Space and Cosine Formula” Paragraph 2).
Guo in view of Tam does not teach wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining a weighted combination of (i) the at least one distance and (ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.
However, Stemmer does teach wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining a weighted combination of [(i) the at least one distance and ](ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example. (Stemmer Page 4 Paragraph 4; “As a word graph usually contains several instances wi of the word w which differ in ts(i) and te(i) the confidence measure can be improved by summing up P(wi,ts(i),te(i)| O) of all word hypotheses wi which overlap in the time domain.” Examiner notes that for the given training example of the first set of training data (word w), a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example (confidence measure) comprises determining a weighted combination (each word hypotheses wi has a weight of 1) of at least a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example (P(wi,ts(i),te(i)| O)))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, Yigin, and Stemmer. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. Stemmer teaches combining a number of features to obtain a confidence measure. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, Yigin, and Stemmer to utilize the combination of features for improved results and confidence “The a-posteriori probability performs better than all other single features. The results indicate that feature combinations, like in GSCORE, improve results significantly. For WCPOS we were able to get a better confidence annotation by incorporating the part-of-speech labels of the neighboring words.” (Stemmer Page 5 Paragraph 3).
Guo in view of Tam in further view of Stemmer does not teach wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining a weighted combination of (i) the at least one distance [and (ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.]
However, Yigin does teach wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises [determining a weighted combination of] [(i) the at least one distance and ](ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example. (Yigin Page 7 Paragraph 1; “For the estimation of the confidence, the distances between the neighbors in original and low dimensional spaces can be identified by different distance measures.” Examiner notes that degree of confidence comprises the at least one distance (distances between the neighbors))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin to replace one of the features within the weighted combination with the distance measure that has a considerable effect on the precision of the confidence score to improve clustering performance “The experimental results show that distance measures have a considerable effect on the precision of confidence scores and clustering performance can be improved substantially if these confidence scores are incorporated before the clustering algorithm.” (Yigin Abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Guo does not teach The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and the at least one embedding vector generated for the respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of the common class as the predicted class of the given training example.
However, Yigin does teach The method of claim 4, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and the at least one embedding vector generated for the respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of the common class as the predicted class of the given training example. (Yigin Page 7 Paragraph 1; “For the estimation of the confidence, the distances between the neighbors in original and low dimensional spaces can be identified by different distance measures…the most common distance measures namely Euclidean, cosine, … were used to extract features from the datasets from different domains for the prediction of confidence scores.” Examiner notes that the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output and the one embedding vector of the third set of training data (distance between embedding vectors of the neighbors in dimensional space))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin to replace one of the features within the weighted combination with the distance measure that has a considerable effect on the precision of the confidence score to improve clustering performance “The experimental results show that distance measures have a considerable effect on the precision of confidence scores and clustering performance can be improved substantially if these confidence scores are incorporated before the clustering algorithm.” (Yigin Abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Guo teaches The system of claim 18, further comprising, prior to applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model: (i) obtaining a third set of training data that includes a third plurality of training examples, wherein each training example of the third set of training data is labelled as belonging to a respective class selected from the set of classes, (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 6; “We conduct experiments on long tailed variants of CIFAR-10… SVHN… and STL-10… datasets with various levels of class imbalance and different ratios of labeled data. These are all widely adopted datasets to evaluate SSL algorithms. For constructing the class-imbalanced training dataset, we use two parameters γl, γu to denote the imbalance ratio of labeled and unlabeled data” Examiner notes that a third set of training data (labeled data) that includes a third plurality of training examples, wherein each training example of the third set of training data is labelled as belonging to a respective selected from the set of classes is obtained)
and (ii) using the third set of training data, training the machine learning model to select, from the set of classes, a predicted class for an input, (Guo Page 7 Paragraph 3; “we adopt the Wide ResNet-28-2 (Zagoruyko & Komodakis, 2016) as the backbone since it is commonly adopted in various SSL methods (Oliver et al., 2018). We train the model with batch size 64 for 218 iterations.” Examiner notes that model is trained using the third set of training data to select from the set of classes, a predicted class for an input)
wherein generating the second set of training data comprises adding, to the first set of training data, the subset of training examples selected from the first set of training data, (Guo Page 6 Paragraph 1; “where length (Ck) is the number of unlabeled examples predicted as class k and ρ×100% denotes the percentage of selected confident pseudo-labels.” Guo Page 6 Paragraph 3; “Selecting the pseudo-labels by utilizing the adaptive thresholding gives the advantage of selecting examples that have relatively low confidence, but high within-class confidence and thus help alleviate the bias problem of the original prediction under class-imbalanced distribution.” Examiner notes that a second set of training data (unlabeled data are given pseudo labels) comprises adding the subset of training examples selected from the first set of training data (unlabeled data) is generated)
Guo does not teach wherein applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model additionally comprises generating a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space,
wherein the method yet further comprises: applying each training example of the third set of training data to the machine learning model to generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space; and
determining, for the given training example, at least one distance between an
embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and at least one embedding vector generated for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example, and
However, Tam does teach wherein applying each training example of the first set of training data to the machine learning model additionally comprises generating a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space, (Tam Section “Using vector space model for similarity” Paragraph 4; “To better illustrate the idea rather than hiding the actual manipulation in pandas or numpy functions, we first extract the data for each country as a vector:… The Python dictionary we created has the name of each country as a key and the economic metrics as a numpy array. There are 5 metrics, hence each is a vector of 5 dimensions.” Examiner notes that a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in an embedding space (vector space) can be generated of the first set of training data)
wherein the method yet further comprises: applying each training example of the third set of training data to the machine learning model to generate a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space; and (Examiner references previous mapping to show that a respective embedding vector that represents a respective location in the embedding space is generated for the third set of training data)
determining, for the given training example, at least one distance between an
embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and at least one embedding vector generated for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example, and (Tam Section “Using vector space model for similarity” Paragraph 6; “we can use the vector representation of each country to see how similar it is to another. Let’s try both the L2-norm of the difference (the Euclidean distance) and the cosine distance.” Examiner notes that at least one distance (Euclidean/cosine distance) between an embedding vector output by the machine learning model and embedding vector generated for a respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example (vector representations of training example and third set of training data that is of a common class as the predicted class of the given training example))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo and Tam. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo and Tam to utilize vector space and represent a data point as a vector for conveniency “It is useful to consider a vector space because it is useful to represent things as a vector. For example in machine learning, we usually have a data point with multiple features. Therefore, it is convenient for us to represent a data point as a vector.” (Tam Section “Vector Space and Cosine Formula” Paragraph 2).
Guo in view of Tam does not teach wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining a weighted combination of (i) the at least one distance and (ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.
However, Stemmer does teach wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining a weighted combination of [(i) the at least one distance and ](ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example. (Stemmer Page 4 Paragraph 4; “As a word graph usually contains several instances wi of the word w which differ in ts(i) and te(i) the confidence measure can be improved by summing up P(wi,ts(i),te(i)| O) of all word hypotheses wi which overlap in the time domain.” Examiner notes that for the given training example of the first set of training data (word w), a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example (confidence measure) comprises determining a weighted combination (each word hypotheses wi has a weight of 1) of at least a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example (P(wi,ts(i),te(i)| O)))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, Yigin, and Stemmer. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. Stemmer teaches combining a number of features to obtain a confidence measure. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, Yigin, and Stemmer to utilize the combination of features for improved results and confidence “The a-posteriori probability performs better than all other single features. The results indicate that feature combinations, like in GSCORE, improve results significantly. For WCPOS we were able to get a better confidence annotation by incorporating the part-of-speech labels of the neighboring words.” (Stemmer Page 5 Paragraph 3).
Guo in view of Tam in further view of Stemmer does not teach wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises determining a weighted combination of (i) the at least one distance [and (ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example.]
However, Yigin does teach wherein determining, for the given training example of the first set of training data, a score that is representative of the degree of confidence of a class of the given training example comprises [determining a weighted combination of] [(i) the at least one distance and ](ii) the at least one of a likelihood or a probability that the given training example is a member of a predicted class of the given training example. (Yigin Page 7 Paragraph 1; “For the estimation of the confidence, the distances between the neighbors in original and low dimensional spaces can be identified by different distance measures.” Examiner notes that degree of confidence comprises the at least one distance (distances between the neighbors))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin to replace one of the features within the weighted combination with the distance measure that has a considerable effect on the precision of the confidence score to improve clustering performance “The experimental results show that distance measures have a considerable effect on the precision of confidence scores and clustering performance can be improved substantially if these confidence scores are incorporated before the clustering algorithm.” (Yigin Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Guo does not teach The system of claim 19, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and the at least one embedding vector generated for the respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of the common class as the predicted class of the given training example.
However, Yigin does teach The system of claim 19, wherein determining the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output by the machine learning model when applying the given training example thereto and the at least one embedding vector generated for the respective at least one training example of the third set of training data that is of the common class as the predicted class of the given training example. (Yigin Page 7 Paragraph 1; “For the estimation of the confidence, the distances between the neighbors in original and low dimensional spaces can be identified by different distance measures…the most common distance measures namely Euclidean, cosine, … were used to extract features from the datasets from different domains for the prediction of confidence scores.” Examiner notes that the at least one distance comprises determining at least one cosine similarity between the embedding vector output and the one embedding vector of the third set of training data (distance between embedding vectors of the neighbors in dimensional space))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, and Yigin to replace one of the features within the weighted combination with the distance measure that has a considerable effect on the precision of the confidence score to improve clustering performance “The experimental results show that distance measures have a considerable effect on the precision of confidence scores and clustering performance can be improved substantially if these confidence scores are incorporated before the clustering algorithm.” (Yigin Abstract).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lan-Zhe Guo et al; “Class-Imbalanced Semi-Supervised Learning with Adaptive Thresholding” published 2022 (hereinafter “Guo”) in further view of Adrian Tam; “A Gentle Introduction to Vector Space Models” available online Jan 29, 2023 (hereinafter “Tam”) in further view of Busra Ozgode Yigin; “Effect of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE embeddings and its implications on clustering for scRNA-seq data” available online April 21, 2023 (hereinafter “Yigin”) in further view of Georg Stemmer et al; “Comparison and Combination of Confidence Measures” available online Jan 01 2002 (hereinafter “Stemmer”) in further view of James Fowe; US 20200208992 A1 filed on Jan 2, 2019 (hereinafter “Fowe”).
Regarding claim 7, Guo does not teach The method of claim 4, wherein determining the weighted combination comprises determining a combination that weighted between 0.6 and 0.85 toward the at least one distance.
However, Fowe does teach The method of claim 4, wherein determining the weighted combination comprises determining a combination that weighted between 0.6 and 0.85 toward the at least one distance. (Fowe Paragraph 0078; “The higher the confidence value, the higher the likelihood of its accuracy and consequently trust. If for example, the P.sub.correct.sup.h is 0.8, the P.sub.wrong.sup.h is 0.1, the P.sub.correct.sup.d is 0.6, and the P.sub.wrong.sup.d is 0.3, then the h weight would be 0.85 and the d_weight would be 0.65.” Examiner notes that the weighted combination comprises a combination that weighted between 0.6 and 0.85 (h weight and d weight contains weights within 0.6 and 0.85); weights can be adjusted towards the at least one distance)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Guo, Tam, Stemmer, Yigin, and Fowe. Guo teaches a framework that involves adaptive thresholding for different classes in SSL algorithms. Tam teaches using vectors to consider the relationship between data. Stemmer teaches combining a number of features to obtain a confidence measure. Yigin teaches effects of distance measures on confidences of t-SNE. Fowe teaches using weights to calculate a confidence value. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Guo, Tam, Stemmer, Yigin, and Fowe to apply weights to improve the real time performance of the system “The probability weights are used to improve the real time performance of the point map matcher.” (Fowe Abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2147
/VIKER A LAMARDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2147