DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10 filed March 23, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 12 under U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. A new ground(s) of rejection is necessitated by the amendment. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recites the limitation "the electrical" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 and 12 recites” generate an electrical characteristic curve based on the electrical signal, and generate a luminance characteristic curve based on the optical properties”, However it is unclear, with respect to what characteristic will the curves of electrical signal and optical properties are to be generated. For purposes of the present examination the electrical characteristic curve based on the luminance with respect voltage and the luminance characteristic curve based on the luminance with respect voltage However it is unclear, with respect is construed to mean related in some way.
Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear. Claims 2-11and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) , as being indefinite by virtue of its dependence from claim 1 and 12 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sander et al. US 2017/0102412 A1(hereinafter referred to as Sander) in view of Domadia et al. US 6806715 B1 (hereinafter referred to as Domadia) in view of Liu et al. CN 214336297 U (hereinafter referred to as Liu) in view of Odawara JP 2010134169 A.
Regarding claim 1, Sander discloses a measuring equipment (fig. 1, elm. 100, par. [0033]) for measuring electronic properties (measured electrical properties, par. [0049]) and optical properties (clm. 1), wherein the measuring equipment comprises: at least one measuring probe (fig. 1, 11, 102 par. [0033], [0074]), wherein the electronic properties of a semiconductor device (fig. 1, measure electrical properties of the electrical circuit, par. [0033]) through the at least one measuring probe; a light-emitting element circuit having a light-emitting element (fig. 11, light emitting diode (LED) 1104, par. [0074]), wherein the test socket is coupled to the light-emitting element; an optical device (fig. 1, image sensor 101, par. [0034]) configured to measure the optical properties of the light-emitting element (image capturing apparatus 101 is connected to a computer with a dedicated image analysis program, par. [0075]); a signal conversion circuit configured to convert the electronic properties to an electronic signal (measurement probe 102 converts the measured electrical signal to a corresponding optical signal; processing circuitry 105 converts the recorded images to measurement data, par. [0035-[0036]); and a control host (fig. 1, processing circuitry 105, par. [0034]) configured to analyze and store the electronic signal and the optical properties (processing the recorded images in order to decode the measurement data from the received optical signal, clm. 1).
Sander does not disclose test socket; element, wherein the semiconductor device is tested to drive the light-emitting element; generate an electrical characteristic curve based on the electrical signal, and generate a luminance characteristic curve based on the optical properties, wherein the control host determines whether the semiconductor device passes based on a similarity between an electrical specification curve and the electrical characteristic curve and a similarity between a luminance specification curve and the luminance characteristic curve.
Domadia discloses test socket (fig.1B, TAR (testing apparatus receiving) slots 151, 152, 153, 154, and 155, col. 5, ln. 20-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a testing apparatus capable of testing more than one device at a time, as taught in Domadia in modifying the apparatus of Sander. The motivation would be testing apparatus is able to test for node indicator brightness, color, and pattern recognition, as well as pass/fail (see Domadia: col. 2, ln. 29-61).
Liu discloses the semiconductor device (fig. 1, driving module 100, Embod. 1) is tested to drive the light-emitting element (the driving module 100 is the driving circuit of the LED chip, Embod. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a LED driving test circuit to test the driving chip and Micro-LED chip array package, as taught in Liu in modifying the apparatus of Sander and Domadia. The motivation would be to detect the quality of the driving chip before packaging. (see Liu et al.).
Odawara discloses generate an electrical characteristic curve (fig. 3, luminance-voltage characteristic, par. [0022]) based on the electrical signal (fig. 3, signal voltage, par. [0022]), and generate a luminance characteristic curve fig. 3, luminance-voltage characteristic, par. [0022]) based on the optical properties (fig. 2, luminance of each pixel, par. [0022]), wherein the control host (fig. 6, control unit 101, par. [0040]), determines whether the semiconductor device passes (par. [0011], [0042]), based on a similarity between an electrical specification curve (reference current-voltage characteristic, par. [0010], clm. 3) and the electrical characteristic curve and a similarity between a luminance specification curve (reference voltage-luminance characteristic, par. [0011])and the luminance characteristic curve (par. [0027]-[[0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a method of inspecting the display device, using a current-driven light-emitting element, as taught in Odawara in modifying the apparatus of Sander, Domadia and Liu. The motivation would be to provide a display device capable of performing gradation display within a target luminance variation even if there is a characteristic variation among pixels in a display panel. (see Odawara: par. [0009]).
Regarding claim 2, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring equipment according to claim 1, Sander discloses wherein the signal conversion circuit (measurement probe 102 converts the measured electrical signal to a corresponding optical signal; processing circuitry 105 converts the recorded images to measurement data, par. [0035]-[0036]) and the light-emitting element circuit (fig. 11, LED 1104, par. [0074]) are integrated into a same integrated circuit board (fig. 1, printed board assembly (PBA) 103, par. [0033]).
Regarding claim 3, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring equipment according to claim 1, Sander discloses wherein: the signal conversion circuit (fig. 1, power converter circuit, par. [0075]) is disposed on a first circuit board (fig. 1, elm. 103, par. [0033]), the light-emitting element circuit (fig. 11, LED 1104, par. [0074]) is disposed on a second circuit board (fig. 11, PCB 1101, par. [0074]), and the first circuit board is electrically connected to the second circuit board (measurement probe 102 may be mounted to a device under test (DUT) by means of soldering, gluing, or snap, par. [0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring equipment according to claim 1, Sander discloses wherein the optical device (fig. 1, image sensor 101, par. [0034]) comprises at least one of a charge-coupled device, an illuminometer, a spectrophotometer and an image capture equipment (fig. 1, image sensor 101, par. [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring equipment according to claim 1, Sander discloses wherein the electronic signal (measured electrical properties, par. [0049]) and the optical properties (recorded image, clm. 1), are stored (processing circuitry to send measurements and receive instructions from external equipment such as computers and other measurement equipment, par. [0034]) to become a production history of the semiconductor device (electrical circuit, par. [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring equipment according to claim 1, Sander discloses wherein: the semiconductor device drives (fig. 1, electrical circuit, par. [0033]) the light-emitting element such that the light-emitting element provides test light (fig. 11, measurement probe 102 may be mounted to a device under test (DUT), par. [0074]) and the optical device (fig. 1, image sensor 101, par. [0034]) measures the test light of the light-emitting element (fig. 11, LED 1104, par. [0074]) to obtain the optical properties (recorded image, clm. 1)
Regarding claim 7, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring equipment according to claim 1, Sander discloses wherein the optical device (fig. 1, image sensor 101, par. [0034]) measures output light provided by the semiconductor device (fig. 1, electrical circuit, par. [0033]).
Regarding claim 8, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring equipment according to claim 1, Sander discloses wherein the signal conversion circuit (communication circuitry, par. [0034]) converts the electronic properties having an analog format (analogue voltages, analogue optical signals [0040], [0076]) to the electronic signal having a digital format, and provides the electronic signal having the digital format to the control host (fig. 1, elm. 105, par. [0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring equipment according to claim 1, Domadia discloses wherein the control host (fig. 1, electronic computer system 200, col. 4, ln. 49-56) classifies the semiconductor device (network communication device, col. 4, ln. 49-56) based on the electronic signal and the optical properties (fig. 7, table 1, col. 8 ln. 13-60).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring equipment according to claim 1, Domadia discloses the wherein: the control host (fig. 1, electronic computer system 200, col. 4, ln. 49-56) creates a test pattern (fig. 1, testing software 180, col. 4, ln. 49-56), generates test data (fig. 1, data acquired during the testing, col. 4, ln. 49-56) according to the test pattern, and provides the test data (fig. 1, data acquired during the testing, col. 4, ln. 49-56) to the test data to a test signal and provides the test signa (fig. 1A, plurality of communication lines, e.g., line 241, line 242, and line 1393. col. 5, ln. 20-22), l to the test socket (fig.1B, TAR (testing apparatus receiving) slots 151, 152, 153, 154, and 155, col. 5, ln. 20-22), and the test socket tests the semiconductor device (network communication device, col. 4, ln. 49-56) based on the test signal
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Sander discloses converting the test data to a test signal (measurement data as a digital optical signal and/or as an analogue optical signal, par. [0051]) by the signal conversion circuit (measurement probe 102 converts the measured electrical signal to a corresponding optical signal; processing circuitry 105 converts the recorded images to measurement data, par. [0035-[0036]).
Regarding claim 11, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara the measuring equipment according to claim 1 Domadia discloses further comprising: a test circuit (network communication device, col. 4, ln. 49-56) coupled to the control host (fig. 1, electronic computer system 200, col. 4, ln. 49-56) and the signal conversion circuit, wherein the test circuit receives a test pattern (fig. 1, testing software 180, col. 4, ln. 49-56) from the control host (fig. 1, electronic computer system 200, col. 4, ln. 49-56), generates test data (fig. 1, data acquired during the testing, col. 4, ln. 49-56) according to the test pattern (fig. 1, testing software 180, col. 4, ln. 49-56).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Sander discloses converting the test data to a test signal (measurement data as a digital optical signal and/or as an analogue optical signal, par. [0051]) by the signal conversion circuit (measurement probe 102 converts the measured electrical signal to a corresponding optical signal; processing circuitry 105 converts the recorded images to measurement data, par. [0035-[0036]).
Regarding claim 12, Sander discloses a measuring method comprising: providing a semiconductor device (fig. 1, electrical circuit, par. [0033]) on such that the test socket utilizes at least one measuring probe (fig. 1, 11, 102 par. [0033], [0074]) to test electronic properties (measurement probes 102 are configured to monitor interesting voltages on the PBA 103, par. [0075]) of the semiconductor device (measure electrical properties of the electrical circuit, par. [0033]); coupling the test socket to a light-emitting element circuit (fig. 11, light emitting diode (LED) 1104, par. [0074]), wherein the light-emitting element circuit has a light-emitting element (fig. 11, light emitting diode (LED) 1104, par. [0074]); providing an optical device (fig. 1, image sensor 101, par. [0034]) to measure optical properties of the light-emitting element (image capturing apparatus 101 is connected to a computer with a dedicated image analysis program, par. [0075]); providing a signal conversion circuit to convert the electronic properties (measured electrical properties, par. [0049]) to an electronic signal (measurement probe 102 converts the measured electrical signal to a corresponding optical signal; processing circuitry 105 converts the recorded images to measurement data, par. [0035-[0036]); and providing a control host (fig. 1, processing circuitry 105, par. [0034]) to analyze and store (fig. 1, processor 107 and a memory 106, par. [0034]) the electronic signal and the optical properties(recorded image, clm. 1),
Sanders does not disclose test socket; wherein the semiconductor device is tested to drive the light-emitting element; generate an electrical characteristic curve based on the electrical signal, and generate a luminance characteristic curve based on the optical properties, wherein the control host determines whether the semiconductor device passes based on a similarity between an electrical specification curve and the electrical characteristic curve and a similarity between a luminance specification curve and the luminance characteristic curve.
Domadia discloses test socket (fig.1B, TAR (testing apparatus receiving) slots 151, 152, 153, 154, and 155, col. 5, ln. 20-22) and classify (fig. 7, table 1, col. 8 ln. 13-60) the semiconductor device (network communication device, col. 4, ln. 49-56).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Liu discloses the semiconductor device (fig. 1, driving module 100, Embod. 1) is tested to drive the light-emitting element (the driving module 100 is the driving circuit of the LED chip, Embod. 1).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Odawara discloses generate an electrical characteristic curve (fig. 3, luminance-voltage characteristic, par. [0022]) based on the electrical signal (fig. 3, signal voltage, par. [0022]), and generate a luminance characteristic curve fig. 3, luminance-voltage characteristic, par. [0022]) based on the optical properties (fig. 2, luminance of each pixel, par. [0022]), wherein the control host (fig. 6, control unit 101, par. [0040]), determines whether the semiconductor device passes (par. [0011], [0042]), based on a similarity between an electrical specification curve (reference current-voltage characteristic, par. [0010], clm. 3) and the electrical characteristic curve and a similarity between a luminance specification curve (reference voltage-luminance characteristic, par. [0011])and the luminance characteristic curve (par. [0027]-[[0029]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring method according to claim 12, Sander discloses wherein the signal conversion circuit (measurement probe 102 converts the measured electrical signal to a corresponding optical signal; processing circuitry 105 converts the recorded images to measurement data, par. [0035-[0036]) and the light-emitting element circuit are integrated into a same integrated circuit board (fig. 1, printed board assembly (PBA) 103, par. [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring method according to claim 12, Sander discloses wherein: the signal conversion circuit (measurement probe 102 converts the measured electrical signal to a corresponding optical signal; processing circuitry 105 converts the recorded images to measurement data, par. [0035-[0036]) is disposed on a first circuit board (fig. 1, elm. 103, par. [0033]), the light-emitting element circuit (fig. 11, LED 1104, par. [0074]) is disposed on a second circuit board (fig. 11, PCB 1101, par. [0074]), and the first circuit board is electrically connected to the second circuit board (measurement probe 102 may be mounted to a device under test (DUT) by means of soldering, gluing, or snap, par. [0074]).
Regarding claim 15, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring method according to claim 12, Sander discloses wherein providing the optical device (fig. 1, image sensor 101, par. [0034]) to measure the optical properties (recorded image, clm. 1) of the light-emitting element comprises: driving the light-emitting element (fig. 1, 11, 102 par. [0033], [0074]) by the semiconductor device (fig. 1, measure electrical properties of the electrical circuit, par. [0033]) such that the light-emitting element provides test light, and measuring the test light of the light-emitting element by the optical device to obtain the optical properties (par. [0036]).
Regarding claim 16, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring method according to claim 12, Sander discloses further comprising: measuring output light provided by the semiconductor device (fig. 1, electrical circuit, par. [0033]) by the optical device (fig. 1, image sensor 101, par. [0034]).
Regarding claim 17, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring method according to claim 12, Sander discloses wherein providing the signal conversion circuit (measurement probe 102 converts the measured electrical signal to a corresponding optical signal; processing circuitry 105 converts the recorded images to measurement data, par. [0035-[0036]) to convert the electronic properties to the electronic signal comprises: converting the electronic properties (measured electrical properties, par. [0049]) having an analog format (analogue voltages, par. [0076]) to the electronic signal having a digital format by the signal conversion circuit (probe 102 may send the measurement data as a digital optical signal and/or as an analogue optical signal), and providing the electronic signal having the digital format (image capturing apparatus 101 is connected to a computer with a dedicated image analysis program, The recorded sequence of images are continuously decoded by means of the image analysis program on the computer, (par. [0075]) to the control host (fig. 1, elm. 105, par. [0034]).
Regarding claim 18, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring method according to claim 12, Sander discloses wherein analyzing and storing the electronic signal (measured electrical properties, par. [0049]) and the optical properties (fig. 1, processing circuitry 105, a processor 107 and a memory 106, par. [0034]) comprises: storing the electronic signal and the optical properties (recorded image, clm. 1) to become a production history of the semiconductor device (processing circuitry 105 converts the recorded images to measurement data, par. [0035-[0036]).
Regarding claim 19, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring method according to claim 12, Domadia discloses further comprising: creating a test pattern (fig. 1, testing software 180, col. 4, ln. 49-56) by the control host (fig. 1, electronic computer system 200, col. 4, ln. 49-56), generating test data (fig. 1, data acquired during the testing, col. 4, ln. 49-56) according to the test pattern, and providing the test signal (fig. 1A, plurality of communication lines, e.g., line 241, line 242, and line 1393. col. 5, ln. 20-22), to the test socket (fig.1B, TAR (testing apparatus receiving) slots 151, 152, 153, 154, and 155, col. 5, ln. 20-22), and testing the semiconductor device (network communication device, col. 4, ln. 49-56) based on the test signal by the test socket.
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Sander discloses converting the test data to a test signal (measurement data as a digital optical signal and/or as an analogue optical signal, par. [0051]) by the signal conversion circuit (measurement probe 102 converts the measured electrical signal to a corresponding optical signal; processing circuitry 105 converts the recorded images to measurement data, par. [0035-[0036]).
Regarding claim 20, Sander, Domadia, Liu and Odawara discloses the measuring method according to claim 12, Domadia discloses further comprising: providing a test circuit (network communication device, col. 4, ln. 49-56) to receive a test pattern (fig. 1, testing software 180, col. 4, ln. 49-56) of the control host (fig. 1, electronic computer system 200, col. 4, ln. 49-56); and generating test data (fig. 1, data acquired during the testing, col. 4, ln. 49-56) according to the test pattern by the test circuit.
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Sander discloses providing the test data (measurement data as a digital optical signal and/or as an analogue optical signal, par. [0051]) to the by the signal conversion circuit (measurement probe 102 converts the measured electrical signal to a corresponding optical signal; processing circuitry 105 converts the recorded images to measurement data, par. [0035-[0036]).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 5/11/2026