DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions & Claims’ Status
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Claims 1-11 and 20) in the reply filed on 2/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/9/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1, 3-5, 12-14, 16, and 18-20 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled or newly added. Claims 1-11 and 20 are being examined, as Claims 12-19 were nonelected without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al (US 2021/0376071 A1, hereafter Liu).
Re Claim 1, Liu discloses a semiconductor structure (FIG. 31, with reference to FIG. 23B; [0057]) comprising:
a first source/drain region (260, second from left in FIG. 31; [0035]) electrically connected to a backside power rail (284; [0056]) through a backside contact (282; [0056]);
a second source/drain region (260, first from left in FIG. 31; [0035]) electrically connected to a back end of line (BEOL) interconnect (within 277; [0044]-[0045]) through a frontside contact (275; [0044]-[0045]); and
a placeholder structure (274, “etch stop”, see FIG. Z1 below; [0048]-[0049]) on a surface of the second source/drain region (260, first from left in FIG. 31; [0048]-[0049]), wherein:
the placeholder structure (274, “etch stop”) is laterally adjacent to the backside contact (282; [0049]); and
the placeholder structure (274, “etch stop”) comprises an etch stop layer (“etch stop”; [0048], see FIG. 23B for etch stop characteristic) and a sidewall spacer (274; [0049]), the sidewall spacer (274) formed between a backside interlayer dielectric (276; [0049]) and the etch stop layer (“etch stop”; [0049]).
FIG. Z1: Annotated version of FIG. 31 of Liu
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Huang et al (US 2021/0202385 A1, of record, hereafter Huang 1).
Re Claim 6, Liu discloses the structure according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the structure further comprises a backside power delivery network contacting the backside power rail (284).
However, Huang 1 teaches a semiconductor structure (FIG. 19; [0065]), comprising a backside power delivery network (“corresponding power lines”; [0015]) contacting the backside power rail (118; [0015]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure according to Claim 1 with the limitations taught by Huang 1 to include a power delivery network (Huang 1: “corresponding power lines”) contacting the backside power rail (Liu: 284) to allow for appropriate routing of the power lines as taught by Huang 1 ([0015]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Ju et al (US 2021/0351303 A1, of record, hereafter Ju).
Re Claim 7, Liu discloses the semiconductor structure according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the structure further comprising a carrier wafer (370) contacting the BEOL interconnect (within 277).
However, Ju teaches a semiconductor structure (FIG. 20) comprising a carrier wafer (240; [0060]) contacting the BEOL interconnect (114; [0060]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as discussed for Claim 1 with the limitations taught by Ju to utilize a carrier wafer (Ju: 240) contacting the BEOL interconnect (Liu: within 277) to provide a supportive platform for handling the structure as taught by Ju ([0060]).
Claims 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Chu et al (US 2021/0399099 A1, of record, hereafter Chu).
Re Claim 8, Liu discloses the semiconductor structure according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the structure further comprising a gate region (350) electrically connected to the BEOL interconnect (within 277) through a second frontside contact.
However, Chu teaches a semiconductor structure (FIG. 16; [0021]-[0036]) comprising a gate region (220; [0021]) electrically connected to the BEOL interconnect (240, 242; [0021]) through a second frontside contact (238; [0021]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as discussed for Claim 1 with the limitations taught by Chu to connect a gate region (Chu: 220) to the BEOL interconnect (Liu: within 277) with an additional frontside contact (Chu: 238) to extend electrical interconnection functions for the device as taught by Chu ([0021]).
Re Claim 9, Liu and Chu teach the semiconductor structure according to Claim 8, while Liu further teaches wherein the gate region (350; [0041]) wraps around a nanosheet stack of semiconductor channel material layers (215; [0041]).
Re Claim 11, Liu and Chu teach the semiconductor structure according to Claim 9, while Liu further teaches wherein an inner spacer layer (255; [0031]) contacts a nanosheet (215) of the nanosheet stack of semiconductor channel material layers (215; [0031]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 2022/0130759 A1, hereafter Huang 2).
Re Claim 20, Huang 2 discloses in a first embodiment a semiconductor structure (FIG. 4; [0039]) comprising:
a first source/drain region (260(P); [0038]) and a second source/drain region (260(N); [0038]);
a placeholder structure (239; [0039]) on a surface of the second source/drain region (260(N); [0039]) on a backside of the second source/drain region (260(N), closer to “backside” shown in FIG. 4; [0039]) opposite of a frontside (260(N), closer to “frontside” shown in FIG. 4; [0039]); and
a second contact (282; [0039]) contacting the first source/drain region (260(P); [0039]), the second contact (282) laterally adjacent to the placeholder structure (239; [0039]), wherein a backside interlayer dielectric layer (230; [0023]) completely separates the second contact (282) from the placeholder structure (239; [0039]).
Huang 2 does not explicitly disclose in the first embodiment (FIG. 4) wherein the frontside (260(N), closer to “frontside” shown in FIG. 4) is contacting a first contact.
However, Huang 2 teaches in a related embodiment (FIG. 2D; [0023]) wherein the frontside (260, closer to “frontside” shown in FIG. 2D) is contacting a first contact (275; [0023]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations taught by the first embodiment of Huang 2 with the limitations taught by the related embodiment of Huang 2 to explicitly use first contacts (Huang 2: 275) to allow for electrical contact to the S/D regions (Huang 2: 260) through the frontside of the device as taught by Huang 2 ([0023]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re Claim 2, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious, the limitations of: wherein the placeholder structure comprises a silicon buffer layer adjacent to the second source/drain region, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 2.
In Re Claims 3-5 and 10, they are objected to due to being dependent on Claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pg. 3, para. 2 to pg. 5, para. 2, filed 2/9/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liu under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) for Claim 1 and in view of Huang 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 for Claim 20. Applicant’s arguments have been reconsidered in light of the new rejections but are moot because the new ground of rejection(s) does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COLIN RUSSELL MCCUTCHEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892