DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/22/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The amendment to claim 8, in whole, is found to be new matter. The cited support of Fig. 3A-3C and associated text describe forming the optical device (3A) by applying the first and second nanoparticles (3B) and stamping (3C). There is no description of a superposed optical coating over the optical device structure or third and fourth nanoparticles. The remaining claims are merely rejected for depending from claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watkins (US 2020/0020461 A1).
Watkins teaches a method for forming patterned nanostructures made up of nanoparticles (abstract). A nanoparticle coating is applied on a rigid substrate [0090], imprinted with a patterned mold [0090], and cured [0091]. The nanoparticle coating comprises any combination of nanoparticles including of dissimilar compositions [0085]. The applications for this structure include optically transparent conductive oxide structures [0098] and optically transparent AR structures [0101], both of which are optical device structures.
Watkins does not teach the optically transparent nanoparticles comprise greater than 95% of a first plurality of nanoparticles and a second plurality of nanoparticles.
However, Watkins does teach using combinations of nanoparticles including optically transparent nanoparticles having different compositions [0085; 0098; 0101]. Watkins does teach using combinations of 2 nanoparticles specifically [0085], but also the selection of nanoparticles and their amounts in the combination would have been obvious based on the desired properties in the resulting layer, such as transparency, conductivity, refractive index [0098; 0101].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Watkins and have the first and second plurality of nanoparticles comprise greater than 95% of optically transparent nanoparticles in the layer. Watkins does teach using combinations of 2 nanoparticles specifically [0085], but also the selection of nanoparticles and their amounts in the combination would have been obvious based on the desired properties in the resulting layer, such as transparency, conductivity, refractive index [0098; 0101].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watkins (US 2020/0020461 A1) in view of Zhang (US 2022/0204790).
Watkins does not teach applying the nanoparticle composition by inkjet. However, Zhang teaches a method for inkjet printing a nanoparticle formulation (abstract). The nanoparticle formulation is an inkjet ink comprising a curable base resin [0079], solvent [0082], and the nanoparticles [0085]. The nanoparticles include TiO, NbO, ZrO, and combinations thereof [0085]. The listed nanoparticles are known to be optically transparent. The process includes inkjetting the nanoparticle formulation [0112-0113] and then curing the nanoparticle formulation [0121].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Watkins and apply the nanoparticle composition by inkjet. Zhang teaches a substantially similar composition is applied by the inkjet method, and there is no technical barrier to merely selecting inkjet for supplying the composition to the surface of the substrate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In addition to the new matter issue addressed above, Watkins does teach stacked layers of the nanoparticles [0086-0087].
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759