DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For claim 1, Applicant states Menten does not disclose “generate fragments based on the first packet and a threshold size, wherein the threshold size is smaller than a maximum transmission unit (MTU) size for the network”; however, as previously cited, Menten discloses when over the MTU size of 132, the packets are fragmented into a threshold size of 128, which meets the claimed limitation. Therefore, since Menten discloses the claimed limitations, the rejections under the prior art are maintained.
Applicant has requested references in response to Official Notice. For claims 242 and 252, see Araki (US 2016/0381119), Adamczyk et al (US 2004/0228363) which disclose a transmission size which depends on the type of application. For claims 243 and 253, see Wei (US 2012/0089799), Follis et al (US 20100037056) which disclose an XOR check fragment which is also transmitted. For claims 248 and 258, see Sharma et al (US 2005/0265371), Kim et al (US 2006/0040699) which disclose a total number of fragments field.
Therefore, since the Official Notice was shown to be instantly showable, the rejection of the claims under the prior art is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 239, 240, 244-247, 249-250, and 254-257 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Menten (US 2009/0316698).
For claims 239 and 249, R1 discloses one or more interfaces (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123, Fig. 3), wherein the computing device is communicatively coupled to a plurality of devices via the one or more interfaces; and a processor configured to (paragraphs 138-140): receive a first packet of a plurality of packets; generate fragments based on the first packet and a threshold size (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123 packet needs to be divided into 128 max size fragments for reassembly when over the MTU size of 132), wherein the threshold size is smaller than a maximum transmission unit (MTU) size for the network (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123, Fig. 3), the fragments comprising at least a first fragment and a second fragment (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123, Fig. 3), wherein the fragments each comprise a subset of the first packet and whereby the first packet is capable of being reassembled using the fragments (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123, Fig. 3); and transmit at least the first fragment and the second fragment to a target device (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123 destination).
For claims 240 and 250, R1 discloses the threshold size is separate from the MTU size for the network (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123, Fig. 3).
For claims 244 and 254, R1 discloses transmitting at least the first fragment and the second fragment to the target device comprises transmitting, by the computing device, a copy of the first fragment and a copy of the second fragment to the target device (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123, Fig. 3).
For claims 245 and 255, R1 discloses the first fragment and the second fragment are transmitted to the target device via the one or more interfaces (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123, Fig. 3).
For claims 246 and 256, generating, by the computing device, at least one fragment-copy of the first fragment and at least one fragment-copy of the second fragment (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123 re-fragmenting the packet); identifying, by the computing device, at least one characteristic of the first packet (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123 matched rule); determining, by the computing device, a first time period and a second time period based on the at least one characteristic (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123 can be either the time of receiving the whole packet or a regular delay time); and transmitting, by the computing device, the first fragment, the at least one fragment-copy of the first fragment, the second fragment, and the at least one fragment-copy of the second fragment to a target device, wherein transmission of the at least one fragment-copy of the first fragment is delayed with respect to transmission of the first fragment according to the first time period and transmission of the at least one fragment-copy of the second fragment is delayed with respect to transmission of the second fragment according to the second time period (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123 delaying the fragments transmitted according to a matched rule).
For claims 247 and 257, R1 discloses the first time period and the second time period are the same (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123 delaying until the whole packet is received).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 242, 243, 248, 252, 253, 258 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1.
For claims 242 and 252, R1 does not explicitly disclose the threshold size depends on an app type for the first packet; However, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of the threshold size depends on an app type for the first packet was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use the threshold size depends on an app type for the first packet. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly use method of fragmenting packets, decrease latency in latency sensitive applications, and design choice.
For claims 243 and 253, R1 does not explicitly state generating, by the computing device, a check-fragment comprising an XOR of at least the first fragment and the second fragment; and transmitting, by the computing device, at least the first fragment, the second fragment, and the check-fragment to the target device; however, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of generating, by the computing device, a check-fragment comprising an XOR of at least the first fragment and the second fragment; and transmitting, by the computing device, at least the first fragment, the second fragment, and the check-fragment to the target device was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use generating, by the computing device, a check-fragment comprising an XOR of at least the first fragment and the second fragment; and transmitting, by the computing device, at least the first fragment, the second fragment, and the check-fragment to the target device. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly use method of fragmenting packets, to allow for correct data reception, to allow for outbound filtering, and design choice.
For claims 248 and 258, R1 discloses the fragments each comprise a field indicating that the respective fragment is associated with the first packet (Abstract, paragraphs 16, 22, 32-42, 45, 59, 66, 68, 89, 107, 117, 121,123, Fig. 3). R1 does not explicitly state a field indicating a total number of fragments representing the first packet; however, Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of a field indicating a total number of fragments representing the first packet was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use a field indicating a total number of fragments representing the first packet. The technical reasoning to combine would be to use a commonly use method of fragmenting packets, to allow for correct data reception, and design choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 241 and 251 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record, R1, does not appear to disclose “determining, by the computing device, whether the first fragment or the second fragment exceeds the MTU size for the network; and generating, by the computing device, sub-fragments based on the first fragment or the second fragment responsive to a determination that at least one of the first fragment or the second fragment exceeds the MTU size for the network” in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463