Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-27 and 41-48 have been elected without traverse in the reply filed on September 9th, 2025.
Claims 28-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12, 15, 18, 41-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva (US-20210166860-A1) in view of Kirby (US-20180323133-A1) and Wang (US-20170352473-A1).
Regarding claim 1. Silva discloses a voltage-isolated integrated circuit (IC) package comprising:
a substrate including an aperture ([0033], figure 2, the substrate #102 is seen including an aperture #118);
the transformer having ([0033], figure 2, the transformer #100 as specified);
a first coil disposed on a first surface of the substrate (figure 2, the first coil #106 is disposed on the first surface #110 of the substrate #102), wherein the first coil has a first coil portion on a first level with respect to the first surface of the substrate and includes a path from a location distal to the aperture to a location adjacent the aperture (figure 2 annotated above, the first coil #106 is seen having a first coil portion A #106A in reference to the substrate #102 with a path from a location distal to the aperture #118), the first coil portion having a decreasing radial distance to the aperture along the path, wherein the path of the first coil portion extends around the aperture (figure 2 annotated above, the first coil portion A #106A is seen having a decreasing radial distance to the aperture along the path around the aperture #118);
a second coil disposed on a second surface of the substrate (figure 2, the second coil #108 is disposed on the second surface #112 of the substrate #102), wherein the second coil has a first coil portion on a first level with respect to the second surface of the substrate and includes a path from a location distal to the aperture to a location adjacent the aperture (figure 2 annotated above, the second coil #108 is seen having a second coil portion A #108A in reference to the substrate #102 with a path from a location distal to the aperture #118), the first coil portion having a decreasing radial distance to the aperture along the path, wherein the path of the first coil portion extends around the aperture (figure 2 annotated above, the second coil portion A #108A is seen having a decreasing radial distance to the aperture along the path around the aperture #118) wherein the first and second surfaces of the substrate are on opposite sides of the substrate (figure 2 annotated above, the first surface #110 and the second surface #112 of the substrate #102 are opposite sides of the substrate #102); and
a core disposed adjacent to the first coil and/or second coil (figure 2, a core #122 disposed adjacent to the first coil #106 and second coil #108. It is noted that at [0033] that the core #122 is also part of core #120); and
a mold material forming a package body and configured to cover a portion of the core, and first and second coils (figure 2, the mold material #114 and #116 is seen insulating a portion of the core #122 and the first and second spiral coils #106 and #108, respectively).
Silva lacks first and second semiconductor die disposed on the substrate;
first and second lead sets connected to the first and second semiconductor die, respectively;
a transformer configured to provide magnetic coupling and galvanic separation between the first and second semiconductor die, the transformer having;
a first coil coupled to the first semiconductor die,
a second coil coupled to the second semiconductor die,
a soft ferromagnetic core; and
a mold material forming a package body encapsulating the first and second die and configured to cover a portion of the substrate, wherein the package body includes a plurality of apertures exposing portions of the first and second lead sets.
Kirby discloses first and second semiconductor die disposed on the substrate ([0029], figure 4, the first semiconductor die #410 and second semiconductor die #420 are seen disposed on the substrate #405, 415);
first and second lead sets connected to the first and second semiconductor die, respectively ([0029], figure 4, the first lead set #406 and the second lead set #426 are seen connected to the first semiconductor die #410 and second semiconductor die #420, respectively);
a transformer configured to provide magnetic coupling and galvanic separation between the first and second semiconductor die ([0029], figure 4, the transformer is configured to provide magnetic coupling as stated in the specifications and galvanic separation seen in distance #d1 in between the first semiconductor die #410 and second semiconductor die #420), the transformer having;
a first coil coupled to the first semiconductor die (figure 4, the first coil #402 is seen coupled to the first semiconductor die #410),
a second coil coupled to the second semiconductor die (figure 4, the second coil #422 is seen coupled to the second semiconductor die #420),
a mold material forming a package body encapsulating the first and second die and configured to cover a portion of the substrate, wherein the package body includes a plurality of apertures exposing portions of the first and second lead sets (figure 4, the mold material #407, #401 and #417 is seen forming a package body #400, encapsulating the first die #410 and the second die #420, and configured to cover a portion of the substrate #405, #415. The package body #400 also includes a plurality of apertures exposing portions of the first lead set #406 and the second lead set #426).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva to include semiconductor dies and lead sets as taught by Kirby in order to increase versality, higher precision and enhanced efficiency of the device.
Silva et al. as modified by Kirby et al. still lacks the transformer having; a soft ferromagnetic core.
Wang discloses the transformer having; a soft ferromagnetic core ([0017, 0020], figure 3a and figure 3b, the ferromagnetic core #12 which includes a leg #22 is seen disposed adjacent to the first coil #32 and the second coil #30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva et al. as modified to include a ferromagnetic core as taught by Wang in order to increase higher quality factor, increase compactness and lower waste in manufacturing.
Regarding claim 2. Silva as modified discloses wherein a portion of the core is disposed through the aperture in the substrate (figure 2, the portion of the core #122 is seen disposed through the aperture #118 in the substrate #102).
Regarding claim 3. Silva as modified discloses wherein a first portion of the core is disposed on a side of the first coil distal to the substrate (figure 2 annotated above, the first portion of the core #122a is seen a side of the first coil #106 distal to the substrate #102).
Regarding claim 4. Silva as modified discloses wherein a second portion of the core is disposed on a side of the second coil distal to the substrate (figure 2 annotated above, the second portion of the core #122b is seen a side of the second coil #108 distal to the substrate #102).
Regarding claim 5. Silva as modified discloses wherein the first coil further comprises a second coil portion on a second level with respect to the first surface of the substrate and includes a path from the location adjacent the aperture to the location distal to the aperture (figure 2 annotated above, the first coil #106 includes a first coil portion B #106B which is adjacent to the aperture #118), the second coil portion having an increasing radial distance to the aperture along the path (figure 2 annotated above, the first coil portion B #106B is seen having an increasing radial distance. Opposite of the first coil portion A #106A as stated in the specifications [0035]), wherein the second coil portion is connected to the first coil portion, and wherein the path of the second coil portion extends around the aperture (figure 2 annotated above, the first coil portion B #106B is seen connected to the first coil portion A #106A and also extending around the aperture #118).
Regarding claim 6. Silva as modified discloses wherein the second coil further comprises a second coil portion on a second level with respect to the second surface of the substrate and includes a path from the location adjacent the aperture to the position distal to the aperture (figure 2 annotated above, the second coil #108 includes a second coil portion B #108B which is adjacent to the aperture #118), the second coil portion having an increasing radial distance to the aperture along the path ([0035-0036], figure 2 annotated above, the second coil portion B #108B is seen having an increasing radial distance to the aperture #118. Opposite of the first coil portion A #106A as stated in the specifications), wherein the second coil portion is connected to the first coil portion, and wherein the path of the second coil portion extends around the aperture (figure 2 annotated above, the second coil portion B #108B is seen connected to the second coil portion A #108A and also extending around the aperture #118).
Regarding claim 7. Silva as modified discloses wherein the first or second coil comprises elliptical windings ([0036], as stated in the specifications, some embodiments include coils #106 and #108 as elliptical windings).
Regarding claim 8. Silva as modified discloses wherein the first or second coil comprises circular windings (figure 4, as seen in the figure, the first and second coil #106 and #108 are illustrated as circular windings).
Regarding claim 9. Silva as modified discloses wherein the first or second coil comprises square-like windings ([0036], as stated in the specifications, some embodiments include coils #106 and #108 as rectangular windings).
Regarding claim 10. Silva as modified discloses wherein the first or second coil comprises square-like windings ([0036], as stated in the specifications, some embodiments include coils #106 and #108 as rounded rectangle windings which is square-like windings).
Regarding claim 12. Silva as modified discloses wherein the substrate comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) ([0033], figure 2, the substrate is seen as the PCB #102 as stated in the specifications).
Regarding claim 15. Silva as modified lacks wherein the substrate comprises a glass substrate comprising one or more layers of metal and insulator.
Kirby discloses wherein the substrate comprises a glass substrate comprising one or more layers of metal and insulator ([0023], the substrate #405, 415 can include as a glass substrate as stated in the specifications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva as modified to comprise of a glass substrate as taught by Kirby in order to increase thermal stability, precise patterning and with a lower thermal expansion.
Regarding claim 18. Silva as modified lacks further comprising a dielectric material covering a portion of the transformer, first coil, and/or second coil.
Wang discloses further comprising a dielectric material covering a portion of the transformer, first coil, and/or second coil ([0020], figure 3a-3b, the dielectric material #24 is seen covering a portion of the transformer #10 and the second coil #30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva to include dielectric material to the transformer as taught by Wang in order to increase electrical insulation, heat dissipation, with an enhanced device lifetime.
Regarding claim 41. Silva discloses A voltage-isolated integrated circuit (IC) package comprising:
a substrate ([0033], figure 2, the substrate #102 is illustrated);
the transformer having ([0033], figure 2, the transformer #100 as specified),
a first spiral coil disposed on a first level with respect to the substrate and extending around a coil origin region (figure 2 annotated above, a first spiral coil #106 disposed on a first level with respect to the substrate #102 and extending around the coil origin region #COR);
a second spiral coil disposed on a second level with respect to the substrate and extending around the coil origin region (figure 2 annotated above, the second spiral coil #108 disposed on a second level with respect to the substrate #102 and extending around the coil origin #COR) wherein the first and second coils are on opposite sides of the substrate (figure 2 annotated above, the first spiral coil #106 and the second spiral coil #108 are on opposite sides of the substrate #102); and
a core having a portion disposed adjacent the first spiral coil or second spiral coil (figure 2, a core #122 disposed adjacent to the first coil #106 and second coil #108. It is noted that at [0033] that the core #122 is also part of core #120); and
a package body configured to cover a portion of the core, and the first and second spiral coils (figure 2, the mold material #114 and #116 is seen insulating a portion of the core #122 and the first and second spiral coils #106 and #108, respectively),
Silva lacks one or more semiconductor die disposed on the substrate;
one or more lead sets configured for connection to the one or more semiconductor die, respectively;
a transformer configured to provide magnetic coupling and galvanic separation for circuitry including the one or more semiconductor die, the transformer having,
the transformer having; a soft ferromagnetic core; and
a package body configured to cover a portion of the substrate, wherein the package body includes a plurality of apertures exposing portions of the one or more lead sets.
Kirby discloses one or more semiconductor die disposed on the substrate;
one or more lead sets configured for connection to the one or more semiconductor die, respectively ([0029], figure 4, the first lead set #406 and the second lead set #426 are seen connected to the first semiconductor die #410 and second semiconductor die #420, respectively);
a transformer configured to provide magnetic coupling and galvanic separation for circuitry including the one or more semiconductor die ([0029], figure 4, the transformer is configured to provide magnetic coupling as stated in the specifications and galvanic separation seen in distance #d1 in between the first semiconductor die #410 and second semiconductor die #420); and
a package body configured to cover a portion of the substrate, wherein the package body includes a plurality of apertures exposing portions of the one or more lead sets (figure 4, the package body #407, #401 and #417 is seen covering a portion of the substrate #405, #415. The package body also includes a plurality of apertures exposing portions of the first lead set #406 and the second lead set #426).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva to include semiconductor dies and lead sets as taught by Kirby in order to increase versality, higher precision and enhanced efficiency of the device.
Silva et al. as modified by Kirby et al. still lacks the transformer having; a soft ferromagnetic core.
Wang discloses the transformer having; a soft ferromagnetic core ([0017, 0020], figure 3a and figure 3b, the ferromagnetic core #12 which includes a leg #22 is seen disposed adjacent to the first coil #32 and the second coil #30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva et al. as modified to include a ferromagnetic core as taught by Wang in order to increase higher quality factor, increase compactness and lower waste in manufacturing.
Regarding claim 42. Silva as modified discloses wherein the coil origin region comprises an aperture disposed through the substrate (figure 2 annotated above, the coil origin region #COR is seen comprising an aperture #118 disposed through the substrate #102).
Regarding claim 43. Silva as modified discloses wherein the first spiral coil comprises a first coil portion disposed on the first level (figure 2 annotated above, the first spiral coil #106 comprises of a first coil portion A #106A disposed on the first level), the first coil portion including a path from a location distal to the aperture to a location adjacent the aperture and having a decreasing radial distance to the aperture along the path (figure 2 annotated above, the first coil portion A #106A is seen including a path location distal to the aperture #118 and having decreasing radial distance to the aperture #118 along the path).
Regarding claim 44. Silva as modified discloses wherein the first spiral coil further comprises a second coil portion disposed on a third level with respect to the substrate (figure 2 annotated above, the first spiral coil #106 comprises of a first coil portion B #106B disposed on the third level), the second coil portion including a path from the location adjacent the aperture to the position distal to the aperture and having an increasing radial distance to the aperture along the path, wherein the second coil portion is connected to the first coil portion of the first spiral coil (figure 2 annotated above, the first coil portion B #106B is seen including a path location distal to the aperture #118 and having an increasing radial distance to the aperture #118 along the path. Opposite of the first coil portion A #106A as stated in the specifications [0035]).
Regarding claim 45. Silva as modified discloses wherein the second spiral coil comprises a first coil portion disposed on the second level (figure 2 annotated above, the second spiral coil #108 comprises of a second coil portion A #108A on the second level), the first coil portion including a path from a location distal to the aperture to a location adjacent the aperture and having a decreasing radial distance to the aperture along the path (figure 2 annotated above, the second coil portion A #108A is seen including a path location distal to the aperture #118 and having decreasing radial distance to the aperture #118 along the path).
Regarding claim 46. Silva as modified discloses wherein the second spiral coil further comprises a second coil portion on a fourth level with respect to the substrate (figure 2 annotated above, the second spiral coil #108 comprises of a second coil portion B #108B on the fourth level), the second coil portion including a path from the location adjacent the aperture to the position distal to the aperture and having an increasing radial distance to the aperture along the path, wherein the second coil portion is connected to the first coil portion of the second spiral coil (figure 2 annotated above, the second coil portion B #108B is seen including a path location distal to the aperture #118 and having an increasing radial distance to the aperture #118 along the path. Opposite of the second coil portion A #108A as stated in the specifications [0035]).
Regarding claim 47. Silva as modified discloses wherein at least a portion of the core is disposed in the aperture (figure 2 annotated above, the core #122 is seen disposed in the aperture #118).
Silva as modified lacks a ferromagnetic core
Wang discloses a ferromagnetic core ([0017, 0020], figure 3a, the ferromagnetic core #12 is seen in the creation of a transformer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva as modified to include a ferromagnetic core as taught by Wang in order to increase higher quality factor, increase compactness and lower waste in manufacturing.
Regarding claim 48. Silva as modified lacks where the one or more semiconductor die comprise first and second semiconductor die connected to the first spiral coil and the second spiral coil, respectively.
Kirby discloses where the one or more semiconductor die comprise first and second semiconductor die connected to the first spiral coil and the second spiral coil, respectively (figure 4, the first coil #402 is seen coupled to the first semiconductor die #410. The second coil #422 is seen coupled to the second semiconductor die #420).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva as modified to connect the semiconductor die to the coils as taught by Kirby in order to increase electrical performance, thermal management and enhance the devices lifetime.
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva (US-20210166860-A1), Kirby (US-20180323133-A1) and Wang (US-20170352473-A1) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Ghannam (US-20180254258-A1).
Regarding claim 11. Silva as modified lacks wherein the substrate comprises a flexible substrate.
Ghannam discloses wherein the substrate comprises a flexible substrate ([0078], it is stated that the substrate #1 could be made of a flexible substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva as modified to include a flexible substrate as taught by Ghannam in order to reduce weight, increase manufacturing efficiency, and reduce manufacturing cost.
Regarding claim 14. Silva as modified lacks wherein the substrate comprises an alumina substrate.
Ghannam discloses wherein the substrate comprises an alumina substrate ([0078], it is stated that the substrate #1 could be made of alumina).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva as modified to include an alumina substrate as taught by Ghannam in order to increase thermal conductivity, electrical insulation, and chemical stability.
Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva (US-20210166860-A1), Kirby (US-20180323133-A1) and Wang (US-20170352473-A1) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Oikawa et al. (US-20080100395-A1 referred as Oikawa).
Regarding claim 13. Silva as modified lacks wherein the substrate comprises a low-temperature cofired ceramic (LTCC) or a high-temperature cofired ceramic (HTCC).
Oikawa discloses wherein the substrate comprises a low-temperature cofired ceramic (LTCC) or a high-temperature cofired ceramic (HTCC) ([0033], the substrate could be made of either LTCC or HTCC as stated in the specifications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva as modified to include LTCC or HTCC as taught by Oikawa in order to offer a greater range of applications for performance, heat reduction, and frequency stability.
Claims 16-17 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva (US-20210166860-A1), Kirby (US-20180323133-A1) and Wang (US-20170352473-A1) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Tuncer (US-20230094556-A1).
Regarding claim 16. Silva as modified lacks wherein the substrate comprises a lead frame.
Tuncer discloses wherein the substrate comprises a lead frame ([0019, the substrate comprises of a molded lead frame as stated in the specifications]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva as modified to include a molded lead frame as taught by Tuncer in order to increase electrical connectivity, customization in the substrate, and thermal management.
Regarding claim 17. Silva as modified lacks wherein the lead frame comprises a molded lead frame.
Tuncer discloses wherein the lead frame comprises a molded lead frame ([0019, the substrate comprises of a molded lead frame as stated in the specifications]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva as modified to include a molded lead frame as taught by Tuncer in order to increase electrical connectivity, customization in the substrate, and thermal management.
Regarding claim 27. Silva as modified lacks wherein the first or second semiconductor die comprises a gate driver.
Tuncer discloses wherein the first or second semiconductor die comprises a gate driver ([0017], the semiconductor die comprises of a gate driver).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva as modified to include gate driver in semiconductor die as taught by Tuncer in order to have greater performance for high voltage and high temperature capabilities.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva (US-20210166860-A1), Kirby (US-20180323133-A1) and Wang (US-20170352473-A1) as applied to claim 18, in further view of Johnson et al. (US-20060022683-A1 referred as Johnson).
Regarding claim 19. Silva as modified lacks wherein the dielectric material comprises a gel.
Johnson discloses wherein the dielectric material comprises a gel ([0045], the dielectric material comprises of gel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva as modified to include a dialectical material as gel as taught by Johnson in order to increase manufacturing speed, stress relief and improve temperature management in the device.
Claims 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva (US-20210166860-A1), Kirby (US-20180323133-A1) and Wang (US-20170352473-A1) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Morita (US-5926003-A).
Regarding claims 20-26. Silva as modified lacks wherein a shortest distance between first and second voltage regions of primary and secondary sides of the transformer, respectively, is at least 1mm, 1.2mm, 1.5mm, 3mm, 5.5mm, 7.2mm, 8mm.
Morita discloses wherein a shortest distance between first and second voltage regions of primary and secondary sides of the transformer, respectively, is at least 1mm, 1.2mm, 1.5mm, 3mm, 5.5mm, 7.2mm, 8mm ([col 1, lines 16-38], the primary and the secondary side of the transformer are separated by more than 8mm as stated in the specifications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Silva as modified to maintain millimeter distance in between coils as taught by Morita in order to increase induction efficiency, reduce heat dissipation and to enhance the mechanical strength of the device.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is noted that Applicant argues the new amendments are not seen in the prior art. As is seen in the new rejection above, these amended features are disclosed by the prior art to Silva combination with Kirby and Wang. All the arguments relating to limitations previously presented and rejected in the last arguments will be addressed below.
Regarding claim 1 on pages 11-12 of the arguments, Applicant has argued that Silva fails to anticipate the “integrated circuit (IC) package” configuration. As seen in Silvas reference with figures 1-2, the abstract and paragraphs [0032-0033], the device #100 is all laid out on a PCB #102 which contains the circuitry within. With all the components in place, it reads on an integrated circuit package as claimed.
Applicant has also argued in pages 14-16 about the use of the mold material in Silvas reference. The composition of the mold material is used for insulation and to provide partial covering to elements. As seen in figure 2 of Silvas reference, the mold material #114 meets the material and the partial covering of some elements but not all, therefore Kirbys reference was brought in. Applicant is invited to specifically claim what the mold material is, if the present invention has a different material than the disclosed combination.
Applicant has also argued on page 17 about Kirbys reference not containing a substrate on figure 43. As described in [0025], the dies #410/420 are illustrated and described as being disposed on the substrate #405/415.
Applicant has added the limitation “wherein the first and second surfaces of the substrate are on opposite sides of the substrate”. The primary reference, Silva, does in fact disclose this feature as seen in the new rejection above.
Applicant has added the limitation “encapsulating the first and second die”. The second reference, Kirby, does in fact disclose this feature as seen in the new rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB RAUL MARIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818