DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant' s amendment filed 04/16/2026. Claim 18 cancelled, Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection due to the applicants amendment.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20200013766 A1) in view of Jung et al. (US 20230217764 A1) (Jung, hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses (1-17 and corresponding text) a display device (Figure 2) comprising: a display area (DA) and a non-display area(NDA); and a pixel (PXL) disposed on a substrate (SUB) in the display area (DA), (Figure 4-6 and π97-π98) wherein the pixel (PXL) includes: a first sub-pixel (SPX1)disposed in a first sub-pixel area SPA1), the first sub-pixel emitting light of a first color; a second sub-pixel (SPX2) disposed in a second sub-pixel area(SPA2), the second sub-pixel (SPX2) emitting light of a second color; and a third sub-pixel (SPX3)disposed in a third sub-pixel area(SPA3), the third sub-pixel emitting light of a third color, and each of two sub-pixels among the first sub-pixel(SPX1), the second sub-pixel (SPX2), and the third sub-pixel (SPX3) includes a light emitting element emitting light of the third color (B), and the other sub-pixel among the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel includes a light emitting element emitting light of a color different from the third color (red and green respectively) (π185). Kim fails to explicitly disclose wherein only one among the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel includes a color conversion layer and a color filter.
Jung discloses (Figure 1, red pixel) the light emitting display device according to an embodiment of the present disclosure further includes a red filter( 109R) provided between the substrate (100) and the first anode (110a), a green filter (109G) provided between the substrate (100) and the second anode (110b), and a blue filter (109B) provided between the substrate (100) and the third anode (110c). Moreover, the light emitting display device according to an embodiment of the present disclosure further includes a color conversion layer (115) provided between the substrate (100) and the first anode (110a) (π28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dates to modify the display device of Kim as disclosed by Jung wherein only one among the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel includes a color conversion layer and a color filter the motivation being to reduce material cost and manufacturing processes.
Regarding claim 2, Kim disclose wherein each of the first sub-pixel (SPX1) and the third sub-pixel (SPX3) includes a first light emitting element emitting light of the third color (third color being blue), and the second sub-pixel includes a second light emitting element emitting light of the second color (the second color being green).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the first sub-pixel includes a first color conversion layer(CCL1) including at least one first color conversion particle(π161) and each of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel includes a light scattering layer (LSL) including at least one light scattering particle(π202-π203).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses (Figures 1-9) (Figure 7) wherein the first sub-pixel (SPX1) includes: a pixel circuit layer (PCL) disposed on the substrate (SUB), the pixel circuit layer including a transistor (π131); a display element layer (DPL) disposed on the pixel circuit layer (PCL), the display element layer (DPL) including the first light emitting element (LD1) disposed in a first emission area; a first color conversion layer(CCL1) disposed on the display element layer (DPL)to overlap the first emission area (no number) in a plan view, the first color conversion layer(CCL1) including at least one first color conversion particle (π161); and a color filter layer(CF1) disposed on the first color conversion layer (CCL1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses (Figures 1-10) (Figure 10) wherein the display element layer (DPL) further includes a bank (PW) provided in a first non-emission area(no label), the bank(PW) including an opening corresponding to the first emission area (no label).
Regarding claim 6, Kim fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first sub-pixel further includes a dummy bank disposed on the bank, corresponding to the first non-emission area.
Kim rather discloses on Partition Wall which extends upwards to the capping layer to adequately prevent light leakage in the device .
One of ordinary skill in the art could readily derive before the effective filing date to modify the display device of Kim as taught by Kim wherein the first sub-pixel further includes a dummy bank disposed on the bank, corresponding to the first non-emission area the motivation being to prevent light mixing at unwanted boundaries.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses (Figures 1-9) (Figure 7), wherein the first sub-pixel (SPX1) further includes a capping layer(CPL1) disposed between the first color conversion layer (CCL1) and the color filter (CF1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses (Figure 10) wherein the capping layer (CPL) is disposed directly on the first color conversion layer(CCL1) and the dummy bank (Partition Wall, PW) (see rejection claim 6).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses (Figures 10-16) (Figure 10) wherein the second sub-pixel (SPX2) includes: a pixel circuit layer (PCL) disposed on the substrate (sub), the pixel circuit layer(PCL) including a transistor (T); a display element layer (DPL)disposed on the pixel circuit layer (PCL), the display element layer(DPL) including the second light emitting element (LD2) disposed in a second emission area; and a first light scattering layer(CCL2 and π203) disposed on the display element layer(DPL) to overlap the second emission area in a plan view, the first light scattering layer(CCL2 and π203) including at least one first light scattering particle (π203).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses (Figures 10-16)( Figure 10) wherein the display element layer(DPL)) further includes a bank (PW, partition wall) provided in a second non-emission area, the bank (PW) including opening corresponding to the second emission area.
Regarding claim 11, Kim fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second sub-pixel further includes a dummy bank disposed on the bank, corresponding to the second non-emission area.
Kim rather discloses on Partition Wall which extends upwards to the capping layer to adequately prevent light leakage in the device .
One of ordinary skill in the art could readily derive before the effective filing date to modify the display device of Kim as taught by Kim wherein the first sub-pixel further includes a dummy bank disposed on the bank, corresponding to the first non-emission area the motivation being to prevent light mixing at unwanted boundaries thus increasing light efficiency.
Regarding claim 12 Kim discloses (Figures 10-16) wherein the second sub-pixel further includes a capping(CPL2) layer disposed on partition wall (PW)(see rejection six and 11) and the first light scattering layer (CCL2 and π203).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses (Figures 10-16) (Figure 10) wherein the third sub-pixel (SPX3) includes: a pixel circuit layer(PCL) disposed on the substrate(SUB), the pixel circuit layer (PCL)including a transistor (T); a display element layer(DPL) disposed on the pixel circuit layer (PCL), the display element layer(DPL) including the first light emitting element (LD1 =LD3) disposed in a third emission area; and a second light scattering layer(LSL) disposed on the display element layer(DPL) to overlap the third emission area in a plan view, the second light scattering layer (LSL) including at least one second light scattering particle (π202).
Regarding claim 14, Kim (Figures 10-16) (Figure 10) discloses wherein each of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel includes a first light emitting element emitting light of the third color(B), and the first sub-pixel includes a third light emitting element emitting light of the first color(B)(π184) .
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses (Figures 10-16), wherein the second sub-pixel (SPX2) includes a second color conversion layer(CCL2) including at least one second color conversion particle (π193), and each of the first sub-pixel(SPX1) and the third sub-pixel (SPX3) includes a light scattering layer including at least one light scattering particle (π203).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses wherein light of the first color is red light, light of the second color is green light, and light of the third color is blue light (π67-π68)
Regarding claims 17 and 19-20, these claims the rejections of claims 1-16 apply mutatis mutandis to overcome these limitations of these claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the 892 provided with this office action and below:
US 20230395759 A1- reads upon amendment- a display panel that has a desired display quality.
US 20190096324 A1-General State of the Art - organic EL) device includes characteristics such as a reduced thickness and a high contrast ratio.
TRACIE Y. GREEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875