DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/338,566 filed on 6/21/2025. The amendment presented on 1/12/2026, which cancels claims 6 and 19 and amends claims 1-5, 7-18, and 20, is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-5, 7-18, and 20 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
The amendment presented on 1/12/2026 providing change to the claims is noted. All prior objections to the claims are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 20240007973 A1, as provided by the IDS submitted on October 09, 2024), hereinafter Luo, in view of Kwak et al. (US 20230216565 A1), hereinafter Kwak.
Regarding Claim 1, Luo discloses user equipment (¶0133 FIG. 3 is a schematic structural diagram of a terminal) comprising:
at least one processor; and (10133 FIG. 3 a processor 310);
at least one memory including computer program code, (¶0133 FIG. 3 a memory 320);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: (¶0134 FIG. 3 The processor 310 is responsible for managing the bus architecture and general processing, and the memory 320 may store data used by the processor 310 when performing operations);
reporting at least one candidate channel state information beam index to a network to avoid and/or mitigate a maximum permissible exposure event; (Luo Fig. 8, ¶0086: In case that a terminal with multiple transmission panels detects the occurrence of an MPE event based on a predefined threshold, the terminal determines a panel or beam based P-MPR value and notifies the network side device (report) of the panel or beam based power reduction value, maximum output power PCMAX for the power reduction, power headroom (PH) and optimal reference signal (CRI/SSBRI) for uplink transmission over the uplink transmission resources configured by the network side device as shown in FIG. 8 (see ¶10088) to assist the network side device in selecting the panel/beam used by the terminal for subsequent uplink transmission (PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS) and indicate to the terminal. The optimal reference signal required for uplink transmission may be a candidate beam without the MPE event, indicates the reporting of optimal (candidate) beam to the network to avoid MPE. FIG. 8, ¶0088 terminal transmits the MAC CE with value of the CRI/SSBRI field is 1, indicating that the beam 1 on panel-ID1 is used as a candidate beam. ¶0056, 0066 discloses network may configure reference signal resource for the terminal to measure and report the identification information (channel state information reference signal resource indicator(CRI)/synchronization signal block resource indicator SSBRI) of the optimal reference signal for uplink transmission);
wherein the user equipment associates at least one candidate antenna of the user equipment to the at least one candidate channel state information beam index (Luo Fig. 7, ¶0082: For example, assuming that the terminal has 2 panels (antennas), including panel-ID1 and panel-ID2. Panel-ID1 is associated with CSI-RS1 and CSI-RS2, and Panel-ID2 is associated with CSI-RS3 and CSI-RS4. The association relationship may be pre-established by beam sweeping. ¶0083 the terminal determines that the beam used for receiving the fourth CSI-RS on panel-ID2 is the optimal beam for uplink transmission. The terminal reports the CRI-RS4 to the network side device. FIG. 8, ¶0088 terminal transmits the MAC CE with value of the CRI/SSBRI field is 1, indicating that the beam 1 on panel-ID1 is used as a candidate beam without power reduction for subsequent uplink transmission);
wherein the maximum permissible exposure event that is avoided and/or mitigated by reporting the at least one candidate channel state information beam index to the network is associated with a serving antenna different to the at least one candidate antenna of the user equipment associated to the at least one candidate channel state index beam index and (Luo ¶088 In the n-th slot, the terminal detects that an MPE value for transmit beam on panel-ID0 exceeds a threshold, triggering MPE report with CRI/SSBRI field is 1, indicating that the beam 1 on panel-ID1 is used as a candidate beam without power reduction for subsequent uplink transmission, teaching different antenna panel with the candidate beam); and
wherein the at least one candidate antenna of the user equipment does not have a maximum permissible exposure event or has a less severe maximum permissible exposure event than the maximum permissible exposure event at the serving antenna. (Luo ¶088 candidate panel-ID1 is used as a candidate beam without power reduction for subsequent uplink transmission).
Though Luo discloses selecting optimal reference signal and antenna panel from multiple antenna panels and beams (¶0003, 0005), Luo does not explicitly disclose beam index associated with the antenna for beam mapping:
reporting at least one candidate channel state information beam index to a network to avoid and/or mitigate a maximum permissible exposure event; and
wherein the user equipment associates at least one candidate antenna of the user equipment to the at least one candidate channel state information beam index.
Kwak, however discloses:
reporting at least one candidate channel state information beam index to a network to avoid and/or mitigate a maximum permissible exposure event; (Kwak ¶0102 A WTRU may receive beam indication configuration indicating association between reference signals with corresponding antenna ports configured as a TCI state. An association between a CSI-RS or SS block and a DM-RS may be indicated (e.g., to a WTRU), for example, by an index to a set of TCI states, indicating explicit antenna <-> TCI/beam framework); and
wherein the user equipment associates at least one candidate antenna of the user equipment to the at least one candidate channel state information beam index. (Kwak ¶0102 A WTRU may receive beam indication configuration indicating association between reference signals with corresponding antenna ports configured as a TCI state. An association between a CSI-RS or SS block and a DM-RS may be indicated (e.g., to a WTRU), for example, by an index to a set of TCI states, indicating explicit antenna <->
TCI/beam framework).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Luo with supporting antenna to beam index association in multi-panel based transmission, as taught by Kwak. Doing so allows a beam management framework that support optimized multi WTRU panel transmission in consideration of complexity, power consumption, signaling overhead and MPE-related function(s)(Kwak ¶0096).
Regarding Claim 2, Luo and Kwak disclose claim 1. Luo further discloses:
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to report at least one candidate channel state information beam index to the network in a Power Headroom Report. (Luo ¶0086 terminal triggers a reporting for power headroom report (PHR), and reports a panel-specific maximum power reduction value and a maximum transmit power value to a base station through a media access control-control element (MAC-CE). FIG. 8, ¶0088 terminal transmits the MAC CE with value of the CRI/SSBRI field is 1, indicating that the beam 1 on panel-ID1 is used as a candidate beam without power reduction for subsequent uplink transmission).
Regarding Claim 3, Luo and Kwak disclose claim 1. Luo further discloses:
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to report, to the network, allowed reduction of maximum power level for the at least one candidate channel state information beam index. (Luo Fig. 8, ¶0086 the terminal determines a beam based power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR value and notifies the network side device of the panel or beam based power reduction value, maximum output power PCMAX for the power reduction, power headroom (PH) and optimal reference signal (CRI/SSBRI) for uplink transmission, i.e. a candidate beam without the MPE event).
Regarding Claim 7, Luo and Kwak disclose claim 1. Luo further discloses:
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further
configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: use at least one
serving antenna to communicate via a beam associated with at least one serving
channel state information beam index, (Luo ¶0038 In case that an MPE event occurs, the terminal may transmit P-MPR values for multiple panels, and then the network side
device may directly select other panels or beams for subsequent uplink transmission
based on this P-MPR value. ¶0088 In the n-th slot, the terminal detects an MPE event
for transmit beam on panel-ID0, indicates a serving beam and a serving antenna);
wherein the at least one serving antenna is different to the at least one candidate
antenna and (Luo Fig. 8, ¶0088 teaches indicating candidate beam with CRI/SSBRI field set to 1, e.g. beam 1 on panel-ID1, different from the serving antenna);
wherein the at least one serving channel state information beam index, associated with the serving antenna, is different to the at least one candidate channel state information beam index associated with the at least one candidate antenna; and (Luo Fig. 8 ¶0088 candidate beam with CRI/SSBRI field set to 1, e.g. beam 1 on panel-ID1, different from the beam on serving antenna panel-ID0);
associate a candidate antenna and a candidate channel state information beam index in response to the combination of candidate antenna and associated candidate channel state information beam index being usable and (Luo Fig. 8 ¶0088 (terminal reports) indicating that the beam 1 on panel-ID1 (candidate beam and antenna) is used as a candidate beam without power reduction for subsequent uplink transmission); and
having a lower power backoff requirement than the combination of the serving
antenna and the associated serving channel state information beam index. (Luo Fig. 8 ¶0088 discloses the beam 1 on panel-ID1 (candidate beam and antenna) without power
reduction for subsequent uplink transmission, indicates lower backoff compared to the
beam on serving antenna panel-IDO).
Regarding Claim 9, Luo and Kwak disclose claim 1. Luo and Kwak further discloses:
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further
configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to switch to using
a non-serving antenna of the user equipment associated with a candidate channel
state index beam index that is, has been, or will be reported. (Luo ¶0082 The terminal
detects that an MPE event occurs on panel-ID1, ¶0083 After receiving the report with
CSI-RS1, CSI-RS2, CSI-RS3 and CSI-RS4 for beam sweeping from the terminal, the
network side device indicates the terminal to transmit the PUSCH using the optimal
beam for receiving the fourth CSI-RS on panel-ID2, indicates different beam/panel.
Kwak ¶0181 Fig. 6/7 discloses different TCI state groups may be associated with
different antenna panels in a multi-panel WTRU for fast WTRU antenna panel switching
triggered by a MAC-CE (switching indicates target beams (currently non-serving)
association with target antenna panels (currently non-serving)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Luo with supporting antenna to beam index association in multi-panel based transmission, as taught by Kwak. Doing so allows a beam management framework that support optimized multi WTRU panel transmission in consideration of complexity, power consumption, signaling overhead and MPE-related function(s)(Kwak ¶0096).
Regarding Claims 14-16, Claims 14-16 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 1-3. Therefore, claims 14-16 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 1-3.
Regarding Claim 20, Luo discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions that when run by one or more processors of user equipment causes (¶0007 a terminal, including: a processor; a memory storing a computer program; where the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal) to perform the methods that do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 is also rejected for
similar reasons set forth in claim 1.
Claims 4-5, 8, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 20240007973 A1, as provided by the IDS submitted on October 09, 2024), hereinafter Luo, in view of Kwak et al. (US 20230216565 A1), hereinafter Kwak and further in view of Deenoo et al. (US 20220322480 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Luo and Kwak disclose claim 1. Luo and Kwak further discloses:
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to report multiple non-serving candidate channel state information beam indexes to the network to avoid and/or mitigate a maximum permissible exposure event. (Luo Fig. 8, ¶0088 teaches indicating candidate beam with CRI/SSBRI field set to 1, e.g. beam 1 on panel-ID1 is used as a candidate beam without power reduction (to avoid MPE) for subsequent uplink transmission. Kwak ¶0084 A WTRU may report maximum power reduction (P-MPR) with multiple WTRU panels on a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Luo with supporting antenna to beam index association in multi-panel based transmission, as taught by Kwak. Doing so allows a beam management framework that support optimized multi WTRU panel transmission in consideration of complexity, power consumption, signaling overhead and MPE-related function(s)(Kwak ¶0096).
Luo and Kwak do not explicitly disclose non-serving in the report:
cause the apparatus to report multiple non-serving candidate channel state information beam indexes to the network to avoid and/or mitigate a maximum permissible exposure event.
Deenoo, however, discloses:
cause the apparatus to report multiple non-serving candidate channel state information beam indexes to the network to avoid and/or mitigate a maximum permissible exposure event (Deenoo ¶0100 The WTRU may also be configured to monitor the quality of one or more non-serving beams to identify a potential candidate beam in case of serving beam failure).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Luo and Kwak with supporting measuring and switching to non-serving candidate beams, as taught by Deenoo. Doing so allows WTRU connection robustness by using the candidate beam if the serving beam is blocked (Deenoo ¶0097).
Regarding Claim 5, Luo, Kwak and Deenoo disclose claim 4. Luo and Kwak further discloses:
wherein the user equipment associates at least one non-serving antenna of the user equipment to the multiple non-serving candidate channel state information beam indexes and/or the user equipment associates multiple non-serving antennas of the user equipment to the multiple non-serving candidate channel state information beam indexes. (Luo Fig. 2 ¶0096-0102 in steps 201/202/203 discloses the terminal sending assistance information to the network including optimal reference signal identification information and corresponding power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value of one or more panels of the terminal for network to select and indicate for subsequent uplink transmission. ¶0089 discloses terminal has 2 panels, denoted as panel-ID1 (antenna1) and panel-ID2 (antenna2). Panel-ID1 is associated with CSI-RS1 and CSI-RS2, Panel-ID2 is associated with CSI-RS3 and CSI-RS4, and this association may be pre-established by beam sweeping. Kwak ¶0181 Fig. 6/7 discloses different TCI state groups may be associated with different antenna panels in a multi-panel WTRU for fast WTRU antenna panel switching triggered by a MAC-CE (switching indicates target beams (currently non-serving) association with target antenna panels (currently non-serving)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Luo and Deenoo with supporting antenna to beam index association in multi-panel based transmission, as taught by Kwak. Doing so allows a beam management framework that support optimized multi WTRU panel transmission in consideration of complexity, power consumption, signaling overhead and MPE-related function(s)(Kwak ¶0096).
Regarding Claim 8, Luo, Kwak and Deenoo disclose claim 4. Luo and Deenoo further discloses:
wherein the one or more non-serving candidate channel state information beam indexes are associated with at least one candidate antenna panel that does not serve, at least in downlink, a serving channel state information beam index. (Luo ¶0038 In case that an MPE event occurs, the terminal may transmit P-MPR values for multiple panels, and then the network side device may directly select other panels or beams for subsequent uplink transmission based on this P-MPR value. Fig. 8, ¶0088 teaches indicating candidate beam with CRI/SSBRI field set to 1, e.g. beam 1 on panel-ID1, different from the serving antenna. Deenoo ¶0100 discloses the monitoring for non-serving beams for the potential candidate beams. The combination discloses one or more non-serving candidate beams associated with one or more candidate antenna panel).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Luo and Kwak with supporting measuring and switching to non-serving candidate beams, as taught by Deenoo. Doing so allows WTRU connection robustness by using the candidate beam if the serving beam is blocked (Deenoo ¶0097).
Regarding Claims 17-18, Claims 17-18 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 4-5. Therefore, claims 17-18 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 4-5.
Claims 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 20240007973 A1, as provided by the IDS submitted on October 09, 2024), hereinafter Luo, in view of Kwak et al. (US 20230216565 A1), hereinafter Kwak, in view of Li et al. (US 20250047345 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Luo and Kwak disclose claim 1. Luo and Kwak further discloses:
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further
configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: control association of the at least one non-serving antenna and at least one candidate channel
state information beam index based on the first mapping and the second mapping. (Luo Fig. 7, ¶0082: For example, assuming that the terminal has 2 panels (antennas), including panel-ID1 and panel-ID2. Panel-ID1 is associated with CSI-RS1 and CSI-RS2, and Panel-ID2 is associated with CSI-RS3 and CSI-RS4. Kwak ¶0181 Fig. 6/7 discloses different TCI state groups may be associated with different antenna panels in a multi-panel WTRU for fast WTRU antenna panel switching triggered by a MAC-CE (switching indicates target beams (currently non-serving) association with target antenna panels (currently non-serving))).
Though Luo and Kwak discloses antenna to beam index association for MPE triggered reporting and switching to optimal beam/antenna for subsequent uplink transmission (Luo Fig. 8 ¶0088, Kwak ¶0102), Luo and Kwak do not explicitly disclose the wider and narrow beam mappings:
create a first mapping of antennas to downlink path delay intervals using a wider beam downlink reference signal;
create a second mapping of downlink path delay intervals to downlink spatial filters using different narrower beam reference signals identified using channel state information beam indexes; and
control association of the at least one non-serving antenna and at least one candidate channel state information beam index based on the first mapping and the second mapping.
Li, however, discloses:
create a first mapping of antennas to downlink path delay intervals using a wider
beam downlink reference signal; (Li Fig. 9 ¶0072 At activity 904, the UE 104 receive a
CSI report setting associated with at least one resource setting that indicates a first
group of CSI-RS/SSB resources (wide beam ¶0071, Fig. 8) and a second group of CSI-
RS/SSB resources (narrow beam ¶0071, Fig. 8). ¶0076 FIG. 10 illustrates three wide
beam 12/13/14 associated with narrow beams (0-3, 4-7, 8-11 respectively). Fig. 9
¶0074, 0075 At activity 910, the UE 104 measure properties (9082 delay spread)
associated with the wide beam SSBs (first mapping) and the narrow beam CSI-RSs and
send report at activity 912. ¶0047, 0048 discloses beams are associated with the
antenna elements);
create a second mapping of downlink path delay intervals to downlink spatial filters using different narrower beam reference signals identified using channel state information beam indexes; and (Li Fig. 9 ¶0072 At activity 904, the UE 104 receive a CSI report setting associated with at least one resource setting that indicates a first group of CSI-RS/SSB resources (wide beam ¶0071, Fig. 8) and a second group of CSI-RS/SSB resources (narrow beam ¶0071, Fig. 8). ¶0076 FIG. 10 illustrates three wide beam 12/13/14 associated with narrow beams (0-3, 4-7, 8-11 respectively). Fig. 9 ¶0074, 0075 At activity 910, the UE 104 measure properties (¶0082 delay spread) associated with the wide beam SSBs and the narrow beam CSI-RSs (second mapping) and send report at activity 912. ¶0062 UE may report the beam with the best channel properties among the narrow beams. UE may refine spatial reception parameters (e.g., a spatial filter)(relates to the second mapping) for receiving signals from the network via the beam. ¶0047, 0048 discloses beams are associated with the antenna elements); and
control association of the at least one non-serving antenna and at least one candidate channel state information beam index based on the first mapping and the second mapping. (Li ¶0062 UE may report the beam with the best channel properties among the narrow beams (i.e. second mapping, narrow beams are associated with the wide beams for the first mapping). Fig. 5A/B, 6 ¶0066 the BS 102 may transmit three wide beams 602 and twelve narrow beams 604, where each of the wide beams 602 is
associated with four of the narrow beams. The UE 104 may measure certain properties
associated with the wide beams 602, and the UE 104 may estimate properties
associated with one or more of the narrow beams 604 based on the measurements of
the wide beams 602, indicates the association with best properties depends on the first
and second mappings).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Luo and Kwak with supporting mapping for wide beam and narrow beam to measure and report beam properties, as taught by Li. Doing so allows a reduction in UE-side beam measurements, for example, due to the UE measuring wide beams to determine properties associated with narrow beams. The reduced beam measurements at the UE may improve energy consumption at the UE. (Li ¶0038).
Regarding Claim 11, Luo, Kwak and Li disclose claim 10. Luo and Li further disclose:
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further
configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: control the
selection of an antenna based on the first mapping and the second mapping. (Li Fig. 9
¶0074, 0075 At activity 910, the UE 104 measure properties (¶0082 delay spread)
associated with the wide beam SSBs and the narrow beam CSI-RSs (first and second
mapping) and send report at activity 912. Luo ¶0040 discloses based on the multiple
panel/beam P-MPR values (from the beam sweeping ¶0083), the P-MPR reporting may accurately reflect the performance difference of multiple panels of the terminal, and the
network side device may know the P-MPR value corresponding to each panel, and then
the network side device may select the panel for transmission based on the P-MPR
value and use a panel or beam having the highest beam intensity as the panel or beam
used for subsequent uplink transmission, which reduces uplink coverage loss or
reduction caused by the MPE event).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Luo and Kwak with supporting mapping for wide beam and narrow beam to measure and report beam properties, as taught by Li. Doing so allows a reduction in UE-side beam measurements, for example, due to the UE measuring wide beams to determine properties associated with narrow beams. The reduced beam measurements at the UE may improve energy consumption at the UE (Li ¶0038).
Regarding Claim 13, Luo, Kwak and Li disclose claim 10. Luo and Li further disclose:
wherein the wider beam downlink reference signal is a Synchronization Signal Block signal or a Channel State Information Reference Signal and (Li 10086 second group of CSI-RS or SSB resources may be wide beam resources with a short periodicity, for example, as described herein with respect to FIGS. 7 and 8);
the user equipment is configured to inform the network in dependence upon: better quality being available on the selected antenna compared to a current
in-use antenna when using a different angle of departure to the current in-use
angle of departure; and/or better quality is available on the selected antenna
compared to the current in-use antenna when using a same angle of departure
to the current in-use angle of departure. (Luo ¶0086 discloses in case that a
terminal with multiple transmission panels detects the occurrence of an MPE
event based on a predefined threshold, the terminal determines a panel or beam
based P-MPR value and notifies the network with the optimal candidate
reference signal (CRI/SSBRI) for subsequent uplink transmission without the MPE
event, indicates reporting better quality beam/RS than currently in use. Li ¶0047
discloses the beam may refer to an antenna port associated with the antenna
pattern including angle of departure (AoD). Li Fig. 14, ¶0084 discloses the
network may configure the UE with narrow beam CSI-RS/SSB resources 1404a-
C within a wide beam CSI-RS/SSB resource 1402 with different spatial
parameter/angle of departure (AoD). Fig. 13B, ¶0101 discloses UE may receive
an explicit indication that a sub-group of N CSI-RS/SSB resources in the narrow
beam group may have a certain spatial parameter (e.g., AoD) relative to a CSI-
RS/SSB resource in the wide beam group, indicates one of the better beam may
have different or same AoD as configured than the currently in-use).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Luo and Kwak with supporting mapping for wide beam and narrow beam to measure and report beam properties, as taught by Li. Doing so allows a reduction in UE-side beam measurements, for example, due to the UE measuring wide beams to determine properties associated with narrow beams. The reduced beam measurements at the UE may improve energy consumption at the UE. (Li ¶0038).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 20240007973 A1, as provided by the IDS submitted on October 09, 2024), hereinafter Luo, in view of Kwak et al. (US 20230216565 A1), hereinafter Kwak, in view of Li et al. (US 20250047345 A1) and further in view of Namgoong et al. (US 20170288759 A1), hereinafter Namgoong.
Regarding Claim 12, Luo, Kwak and Li disclose claim 10. Luo and Li further disclose:
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to create the first mapping by: performing a power delay profile estimation for each antenna using the wider beam
downlink reference signal; and (Li ¶0080 The associations depicted in FIGS. 13A
and 13B may be explicitly or implicitly indicated to a UE. the wide beam to narrow beam
association may be implicitly indicated via a quasi-colocation (QCL) relationship between the wide beam to narrow beam association (e.g., a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state). ¶0081 the QCL types indicated to a UE can be based on a parameter QCL-Type and may take one or a combination of the following types: QCL-TypeA: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread}, QCL-TypeB: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread}, QCL-TypeC: {average delay, Doppler shift}, and QCL-TypeD: {Spatial Rx parameter}. ¶0084, 0085, 0087 Fig. 14/15 illustrates wide beam and narrow beam configurations that may be indicated with angular or spatial parameters for transmission and reception of signals by the UE with one or more antennas and report estimates to network entity. Therefore, the citations indicate power delay (QCL-Type A/B/C delay spread) associates with the wider beam);
for each antenna, grouping peak delays in the power delay profile for the antenna as downlink path delay intervals for that antenna to provide the first mapping of
antennas to downlink path delay intervals, (Li ¶0076 FIG. 10 illustrates three wide
beam 12/13/14 associated with narrow beams (0-3, 4-7, 8-11 respectively). Fig. 9
¶0074, 0075 At activity 910, the UE 104 measure properties (¶0082 delay spread)
associated with the wide beam SSBs (first mapping) and the narrow beam CSI-RSs
(second mapping) and send report at activity 912, indicates the group for reporting
multiple entities); and
and/or wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are
configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to create the second
mapping by: performing a power delay profile estimation for different downlink spatial
filters using an antenna to receive a sweep of narrower beam reference signals that
have at least the different downlink spatial filters; and for each of the different downlink
spatial filters, grouping peaks delays in the power delay profile for a downlink angle of
departure with downlink path delay intervals for that downlink angle of departure to
provide the second mapping of downlink path delay intervals to downlink spatial filters.
(The limitations mapping after and/or is satisfied with the limitations mapping before
the "or").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Luo and Kwak with supporting mapping for wide beam and narrow beam to measure and report beam properties, as taught by Li. Doing so allows a reduction in UE-side beam measurements, for example, due to the UE measuring wide beams to determine properties associated with narrow beams. The reduced beam measurements at the UE may improve energy consumption at the UE. (Li ¶0038).
Though, Li discloses the mapping for the wider beam and narrower beam (Li Fig. 10, 14/15, ¶0074-0076), Luo, Kwak and Li do not explicitly disclose identifying peak delays in power delay profile for grouping:
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to create the first mapping by:
performing a power delay profile estimation for each antenna using the wider beam
downlink reference signal; and
for each antenna, grouping peak delays in the power delay profile for the antenna as downlink path delay intervals for that antenna to provide the first mapping of antennas to downlink path delay intervals, and/or.
Namgoong, however, discloses:
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to create the first mapping by:
performing a power delay profile estimation for each antenna using the wider beam
downlink reference signal; and (Namgoong ¶0090 FIG. 11 discloses the UE 752 may
measure the DL propagation channel power delay profile (PDP) based on the received
CRS); and
for each antenna, grouping peak delays in the power delay profile for the antenna as downlink path delay intervals for that antenna to provide the first mapping of antennas to downlink path delay intervals, (Namgoong ¶0090 FIG. 11 discloses the UE 752 may measure the DL propagation channel based on the received CRS, with base station 702 transmitting, via the n-th base station antenna, to the m-th UE antenna. ¶0096 FIG. 12 illustrates UE 752 has three receive antennas to measure the peak delays and power for the grouping).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Luo, Kwak and Li with supporting estimating power delay profile, as taught by Namgoong. Doing so allows improved spectral efficiency, lowered costs, and improved services, and multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) antenna technology (Namgoong ¶0004).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Summary of Applicant’s Arguments
In the remarks the applicant argues as follows:
Regarding amended claims 1, 14, and 20, Luo discloses detecting an MPE event and immediately replacing the uplink transmission path by switching from one panel or beam to another, which constitutes post-event replacement rather than mitigation of an MPE event associated with a serving antenna via reporting. Although Luo discloses switching uplink transmission from one panel to another following detection of an MPE event, Luo does not disclose or suggest an MPE event associated with a serving antenna that is mitigated by reporting a candidate CSI beam index associated with a different antenna having no MPE event or a less severe MPE event than the serving antenna, as expressly recited by the amended independent claims.
Response to Arguments:
In response to applicant's argument, Luo teaches as follows:
In case that an MPE event occurs, the terminal may transmit a P-MPR value corresponding to one panel or P-MPR values corresponding to respective panels of the multiple panels to the network side device… In case that the assistance information includes a P-MPR value corresponding to a panel, the P-MPR value may be the P-MPR value corresponding to the panel where the MPE event occurred, and then the network side device may directly select other panels or beams for subsequent uplink transmission based on this P-MPR value. Based on that each panel corresponds to a P-MPR value, the P-MPR reporting may accurately reflect the performance difference of multiple panels of the terminal, and the network side device may know the P-MPR value corresponding to each panel, and then the network side device may select the panel for transmission based on the P-MPR value and use a panel or beam having the highest beam intensity as the panel or beam used for subsequent uplink transmission, which reduces uplink coverage loss or reduction caused by the MPE event (see, ¶0038-0040).
Therefore, the selected other panel other than the panel caused MPE event reduces uplink coverage loss or reduction caused by the MPE event, which is equivalent to applicant’s avoiding or mitigating the MPE event.
The selected panel inherently works better than the previous panel caused the MPE event in terms of the MPE event.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEONG S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417
October 6, 2026