DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 03 April 2026 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to recite the thickness of the filler ranging from 60% to less than 100% or from 187% to 400% of a thickness of the sealing member. Applicant’s original disclosure recites the thickness of the filler having a broad range of 60% to 400% of the thickness of the sealing member. There is no indication that values of greater than 100% and less than 187% are excluded from the broad range of 60% to 400%. Also, the original disclosure does not indicate that the range of 60% to less than 100% or the range of 187% to 400% are useful. The ranges now recited in the claim are not supported by applicant’s original disclosure, and are thus deemed new matter (See MPEP § 2163(I)(B); In re Lukach, 442 F.2d 967, 169 USPQ 795—subgenus range was not supported by generic disclosure and specific example within the subgenus range).
Due to their dependencies upon independent claim 1, claims 2-11 are also rejected for failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi (US 8,344,614).
Regarding independent claim 1, Choi teaches a display device comprising a substrate (Fig. 1, Element 101) that includes a display area (Fig. 1; central portion comprising organic emission unit 103) and a non-display area (Fig. 1; peripheral area outside of organic emission unit 103); a display element layer (Fig. 1, Element 103) disposed on the display area of the substrate; an opposing substrate (Fig. 1, Element 102) that faces the substrate and the display element layer; a sealing member (Fig. 1, Element 104) disposed on the non-display area and that couples the substrate and the opposing substrate; and a filler (Fig. 1, Element 105) disposed between the substrate and the opposing substrate, wherein a thickness of the filler ranges from 60% to less than 100% or from 187% to 400% of a thickness of the sealing member (Fig. 1; col. 5, ln. 41-47).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches the thickness of the filler increasing from the non-display area toward the display area (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches the thickness of the filler increasing from the non-display area toward a center of the display area (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Choi teaches the substrate and the opposing substrate each including glass (col. 3, ln. 26-38).
Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches the filler in direct contact with the substrate, the display element layer, and the opposing substrate (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches the filler in contact with the sealing member and filling a space between the substrate and the opposing substrate (Fig. 3F).
Regarding claim 11, Choi teaches the filler having a viscosity of 1,000 to 100,000 cP (col. 1, ln. 67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 8,344,614) in view of Chida (US 9,917,282).
Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the thickness of the filler decreasing and then increasing from the sealing member toward a center of the display area.
Chida teaches a display device comprising a filler (Fig. 3F, Element 17) with a thickness decreasing and then increasing (Fig. 4D) from a sealing member (Fig. 3F) toward a center of a display area. Chida discloses the filler structure being provided for improving reliability of the light-emitting device (col. 8, ln. 62-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display device of Choi with the filler structure taught by Chida for improving reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 7, Choi teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the filler including at least one of an acrylate resin that contains silicon, an epoxy resin that contains silicon, a viny-based resin that contains silicon, or a phenyl-based resin that contains silicon.
Chida teaches the filler including at least one of an acrylate resin that contains silicon, an epoxy resin that contains silicon, a viny-based resin that contains silicon, or a phenyl-based resin that contains silicon (col. 9, ln. 8-18). Same motivation applies as for claim 4 earlier.
Regarding claim 9, Choi teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the filler spaced apart from the sealing member and covers the display element layer.
Chida teaches the filler spaced apart from the sealing member and covers the display element layer (Fig. 3F). Same motivation applies as for claim 4 earlier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-20 and 29 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding independent claims 12 and 29, applicant has incorporated the indicated allowable subject matter of claim 8 into the claims. Thus, independent claims 12 and 29 are allowable.
Due to their dependencies upon independent claim 12, claims 13-20 are also allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, in regards to independent claim 1, filed 03 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument, in regards to independent claim 1, that Choi does not teach the thickness of the filler ranging from 60% to less than 100% or from 187% to 400% of the thickness of the sealing member, the Examiner notes the claim requires the filler to have a thickness that ranges from 60% to less than 100% or from 187% to 400% of the thickness of the sealing member. As also noted by applicant, Choi explicitly teaches the thickness of the filler ranging from 100% to 187% of the thickness of the sealing member. Thus, Choi at least teaches the thickness of the sealing member satisfying the range “from 187% to 400%” of the thickness of the sealing member.
In response to applicant’s argument, in regards to claim 9, that Chida does not teach the filler spaced apart from the sealing member since the temporary sealing layer (18b) is removed during manufacture of the device, the Examiner notes that Chida discloses that the temporary sealing layer may be removed, suggesting that it can remain. Thus, the combination of Choi and Chida teaches the claimed invention as discussed earlier.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 3 June 2026