DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In [0045], lines 11-16 described where MCCH is received. “At step 651, UE 601 receives BCCH ... The BCCH carries MBS specific SIB20, the MBS specific SIB will indicate where and how the UE receives the MCCH in non-serving cell or SCell. At step 652, UE 601 receives MCCH from gNB 602 from the serving Pcell”. From step 652, UE receives MCCH from the serving Pcell. Therefore, in step 651, “SIB will indicate where and how the UE receives the MCCH in non-serving cell or Scell” should be “SIB will indicate where and how the UE receives the MCCH in the serving Pcell”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the last line, “and” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 12-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava et al. (US 2023/0209315) in view of Xu et al. (US 2025/0280468).
Regarding Claim 1, Shrivastava teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a unicast service from a serving primary cell (PCell) in a wireless network ([0172] as depicted in FIG. 4 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS broadcast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of broadcast service on the second network (200B); [0175] as depicted in FIG. 5 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS multicast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes the RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of multicast service on the second network (200B); [0177] as depicted in FIG. 6 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS multicast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes the RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of multicast service on second network (200B); [0239] FIG. 7 illustrates the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS broadcast service reception on the same network/operator; [0240] At 1, the RRC connection is established between the UE (100) and the Pcell (200C) in the first network (200A). At 2, the Pcell (200C) sends the RRC reconfiguration message (including the configuration) to the UE (100). At 3, the unicast reception is started between the UE (100) and the Pcell (200C)), wherein the UE is configured with multiple component carriers (CC), and wherein the unicast service is configured with one or more CCs of the UE ([0058] the first network may configure the UE with a full-fledged configuration (e.g., a carrier aggregation configuration with maximum number of component carriers or serving cells or a dual connectivity); [0207] The first network (200A) then calculates the available or operating UE baseband resource and/or processing capability (e.g., number of component carriers for CA or dual connectivity that can be supported and/or throughput that can be supported) for the UE (100) for unicast reception and accordingly configures the UE (100) with appropriate configurations; [0208] the UE (100) calculates the available or operating UE baseband resource and/or processing capability (e.g., number of component carriers for CA or dual connectivity that can be supported and/or throughput that can be supported) for the UE (100) for unicast reception and sends the same in a signaling message (e.g., UE capability information and/or assistance information) to the first network (200A));
reporting assistance information for receiving multicast and broadcast service (MBS) to the serving Pcell ([0204] the UE (100) also indicates the UE (100) baseband resource capability related assistance information, when the UE (100) starts or stops receiving MBS broadcast service from at least one non-serving cell. The signaling message, the UE capability information and/or assistance information can also be one of MBS interest indication message or the UE assistance information message; [0208] the UE (100) calculates the available or operating UE baseband resource and/or processing capability (e.g., number of component carriers for CA or dual connectivity that can be supported and/or throughput that can be supported) for the UE (100) for unicast reception and sends the same in a signaling message (e.g., UE capability information and/or assistance information) to the first network (200A));
receiving an MBS from a non-serving cell or a secondary cell (SCell) simultaneously with reception of the unicast service from the serving Pcell ([0240] At 3, the unicast reception is started between the UE (100) and the Pcell (200C). At 4, on the Scell/Non-serving cell (200D) of the second network (200B) UE (100) starts the broadcast service reception; [0172] as depicted in FIG. 4 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS broadcast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of broadcast service on the second network (200B); [0175] as depicted in FIG. 5 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS multicast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes the RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of multicast service on the second network (200B); [0177] as depicted in FIG. 6 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS multicast service reception)).
However, Shrivastava does not teach receiving an adjustment configuration for the unicast service from the serving PCell, wherein the adjustment configuration deactivates one or more CCs for the unicast service.
In an analogous art, Xu teaches receiving an adjustment configuration for the unicast service from the serving PCell, wherein the adjustment configuration deactivates one or more CCs for the unicast service ([0196] the UE can possibly not be able to receive the unicast on a SCell in addition to the PCell. In other words, the UE can be able to support receiving MBS on a PCell and CC but not on a CC and a Scell; [0197] the UE can provide unicast information to the serving gNB further including an indication that it prefers to deactivate or deconfigure the Scell; [0198] in 1616, in the SCell can be deactivated once again to avoid (as in 1618) the uncast and broadcast collision).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Xu’s method with Shrivastava’s method so that UE can enable collision avoidance/mitigation for MBS using MBS broadcast associated UE assistance information design (Xu [0193]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Shrivastava and Xu, specifically Shrivastava teaches the assistance information for MBS includes one or more elements for the MBS reception comprising supported band combination, common frequency resource (CFR) configuration, a number of component carrier, multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layer, modulation order and subcarrier spacing ([0092] the signaling message for the UE capability information and/or assistance information comprises of one or more instances of at least one of the following: [0093] 1) Frequencies or absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCNs), [0094] 2) Frequency band, [0095] 3) Bandwidth, [0096] 4) Bandwidth part (BWP) configuration, [0097] 5) Sub-carrier Spacing (SCS), [0098] 6) TMGI or MBS session ID, [0099] 7) common frequency resource (CFR), ... [0102] 10) MIMO layers utilized, ...).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Shrivastava and Xu, specifically Shrivastava teaches reporting a UE capability to the serving PCell indicating whether the UE can receive MBS from a non-serving cell or a Scell ([0163] Linked with triggers/events for second network (200B)/operator (e.g., related MII or UAI) or MBS service changes. It implies the existing triggers for the MBS interest indication used on the second network are considered as triggers for sending capability and assistance information on the first network; FIG. 7; [0210] the UE (100) provides the UE capability information to the network for the support or no support of simultaneous reception of unicast and broadcast (or multicast) on same or different networks/operators. Further, UE (100) can also provide information on the UE capability to support or not support reception on secondary serving cell and/or UE capability to support or not support reception on non-serving cell; [0240] At 4, on the Scell/Non-serving cell (200D) of the second network (200B) UE (100) starts the broadcast service reception. At 5, the UE (100) triggers of sending of MBS interest indication. At 6, the UE (100) sends the MBS interest indication including the interest information to the Pcell (200C)).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Shrivastava and Xu, specifically Shrivastava teaches the reporting assistance information is triggered by an MBS available indication from the serving Pcell ([0076] the triggers for sending of the signaling message to the first network (200A) may include: [0077] 1. Start of a service or service set Y on the second network; [0161] the signaling message for the UE capability information and/or assistance information is triggered on the first network (200A) upon meeting at least one of the conditions as listed; [0163] Linked with triggers/events for second network (200B)/operator (e.g., related MII or UAI) or MBS service changes. It implies the existing triggers for the MBS interest indication used on the second network are considered as triggers for sending capability and assistance information on the first network).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Shrivastava and Xu, specifically Shrivastava teaches the reporting assistance information is initiated by the UE with interest in the MBS ([0091] the signaling message for the UE capability information and/or assistance information is an RRC signaling message comprising at least one of MBS interest indication (MII) message and UE assistance information (UAI) message).
Regarding Claim 12, Shrivastava teaches a method comprising:
transmitting, by a serving primary cell (PCell) of a base station, a unicast service to a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network ([0172] as depicted in FIG. 4 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS broadcast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of broadcast service on the second network (200B); [0175] as depicted in FIG. 5 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS multicast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes the RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of multicast service on the second network (200B); [0177] as depicted in FIG. 6 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS multicast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes the RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of multicast service on second network (200B); [0239] FIG. 7 illustrates the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS broadcast service reception on the same network/operator; [0240] At 1, the RRC connection is established between the UE (100) and the Pcell (200C) in the first network (200A). At 2, the Pcell (200C) sends the RRC reconfiguration message (including the configuration) to the UE (100). At 3, the unicast reception is started between the UE (100) and the Pcell (200C)), wherein the UE is configured with multiple component carriers (CC), and wherein the unicast service is configured with one or more CCs of the UE ([0058] the first network may configure the UE with a full-fledged configuration (e.g., a carrier aggregation configuration with maximum number of component carriers or serving cells or a dual connectivity); [0207] The first network (200A) then calculates the available or operating UE baseband resource and/or processing capability (e.g., number of component carriers for CA or dual connectivity that can be supported and/or throughput that can be supported) for the UE (100) for unicast reception and accordingly configures the UE (100) with appropriate configurations; [0208] the UE (100) calculates the available or operating UE baseband resource and/or processing capability (e.g., number of component carriers for CA or dual connectivity that can be supported and/or throughput that can be supported) for the UE (100) for unicast reception and sends the same in a signaling message (e.g., UE capability information and/or assistance information) to the first network (200A));
receiving assistance information for multicast and broadcast service (MBS) from the UE for an MBS in a non-serving cell or a secondary cell (SCell) ([0204] the UE (100) also indicates the UE (100) baseband resource capability related assistance information, when the UE (100) starts or stops receiving MBS broadcast service from at least one non-serving cell. The signaling message, the UE capability information and/or assistance information can also be one of MBS interest indication message or the UE assistance information message; [0208] the UE (100) calculates the available or operating UE baseband resource and/or processing capability (e.g., number of component carriers for CA or dual connectivity that can be supported and/or throughput that can be supported) for the UE (100) for unicast reception and sends the same in a signaling message (e.g., UE capability information and/or assistance information) to the first network (200A));
sending a reconfiguration message to the UE for the unicast service based on the assistance information such that the UE receives the unicast service in the serving PCell and the MBS in the non-serving cell or the SCell simultaneously ([0240] At 3, the unicast reception is started between the UE (100) and the Pcell (200C). At 4, on the Scell/Non-serving cell (200D) of the second network (200B) UE (100) starts the broadcast service reception; [0172] as depicted in FIG. 4 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS broadcast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of broadcast service on the second network (200B); [0175] as depicted in FIG. 5 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS multicast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes the RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of multicast service on the second network (200B); [0177] as depicted in FIG. 6 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS multicast service reception); [0207] The first network (200A) then calculates the available or operating UE baseband resource and/or processing capability (e.g., number of component carriers for CA or dual connectivity that can be supported and/or throughput that can be supported) for the UE (100) for unicast reception and accordingly configures the UE (100) with appropriate configurations).
However, Shrivastava does not teach sending an adjustment configuration for the unicast service to deactivate one or more CCs for the unicast service.
In an analogous art, Xu teaches sending an adjustment configuration for the unicast service to deactivate one or more CCs for the unicast service ([0196] the UE can possibly not be able to receive the unicast on a SCell in addition to the PCell. In other words, the UE can be able to support receiving MBS on a PCell and CC but not on a CC and a Scell; [0197] the UE can provide unicast information to the serving gNB further including an indication that it prefers to deactivate or deconfigure the Scell; [0198] in 1616, in the SCell can be deactivated once again to avoid (as in 1618) the uncast and broadcast collision).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Xu’s method with Shrivastava’s method so that UE can enable collision avoidance/mitigation for MBS using MBS broadcast associated UE assistance information design (Xu [0193]).
Regarding Claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Shrivastava and Xu, specifically Shrivastava teaches sending an MBS available indication to the UE ([0076] the triggers for sending of the signaling message to the first network (200A) may include: [0077] 1. Start of a service or service set Y on the second network; [0240] At 4, on the Scell/Non-serving cell (200D) of the second network (200B) UE (100) starts the broadcast service reception).
Regarding Claim 18, Shrivastava teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver that transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signal in a wireless network; a unicast module that receives a unicast service from a serving primary cell (PCell) in the wireless network ([0172] as depicted in FIG. 4 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS broadcast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of broadcast service on the second network (200B); [0175] as depicted in FIG. 5 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS multicast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes the RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of multicast service on the second network (200B); [0177] as depicted in FIG. 6 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS multicast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes the RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of multicast service on second network (200B); [0239] FIG. 7 illustrates the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS broadcast service reception on the same network/operator; [0240] At 1, the RRC connection is established between the UE (100) and the Pcell (200C) in the first network (200A). At 2, the Pcell (200C) sends the RRC reconfiguration message (including the configuration) to the UE (100). At 3, the unicast reception is started between the UE (100) and the Pcell (200C)), wherein the UE is configured with multiple component carriers (CC), and wherein the unicast service is configured with one or more CCs of the UE ([0058] the first network may configure the UE with a full-fledged configuration (e.g., a carrier aggregation configuration with maximum number of component carriers or serving cells or a dual connectivity); [0207] The first network (200A) then calculates the available or operating UE baseband resource and/or processing capability (e.g., number of component carriers for CA or dual connectivity that can be supported and/or throughput that can be supported) for the UE (100) for unicast reception and accordingly configures the UE (100) with appropriate configurations; [0208] the UE (100) calculates the available or operating UE baseband resource and/or processing capability (e.g., number of component carriers for CA or dual connectivity that can be supported and/or throughput that can be supported) for the UE (100) for unicast reception and sends the same in a signaling message (e.g., UE capability information and/or assistance information) to the first network (200A));
a reporting module that reports assistance information for receiving multicast and broadcast service (MBS) to the serving PCell ([0204] the UE (100) also indicates the UE (100) baseband resource capability related assistance information, when the UE (100) starts or stops receiving MBS broadcast service from at least one non-serving cell. The signaling message, the UE capability information and/or assistance information can also be one of MBS interest indication message or the UE assistance information message; [0208] the UE (100) calculates the available or operating UE baseband resource and/or processing capability (e.g., number of component carriers for CA or dual connectivity that can be supported and/or throughput that can be supported) for the UE (100) for unicast reception and sends the same in a signaling message (e.g., UE capability information and/or assistance information) to the first network (200A)); and
an MBS module that receives an MBS from a non-serving cell or a secondary cell (SCell) simultaneously with reception of the unicast service from the serving PCell ([0240] At 3, the unicast reception is started between the UE (100) and the Pcell (200C). At 4, on the Scell/Non-serving cell (200D) of the second network (200B) UE (100) starts the broadcast service reception; [0172] as depicted in FIG. 4 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS broadcast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of broadcast service on the second network (200B); [0175] as depicted in FIG. 5 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS multicast service reception), ... The UE (100) establishes the RRC connection on the first network (200A) and starts receiving the unicast services. While the UE (100) is engaged with the unicast reception on the first network (200A), the UE (100) may initiate for reception of multicast service on the second network (200B); [0177] as depicted in FIG. 6 (which depicts the process of simultaneous unicast and MBS multicast service reception)).
However, Shrivastava does not teach receives adjustment configuration for the unicast serving from the serving PCell, and wherein the adjustment configuration deactivates one or more CCs for the unicast service.
In an analogous art, Xu teaches receives adjustment configuration for the unicast serving from the serving PCell, and wherein the adjustment configuration deactivates one or more CCs for the unicast service ([0196] the UE can possibly not be able to receive the unicast on a SCell in addition to the PCell. In other words, the UE can be able to support receiving MBS on a PCell and CC but not on a CC and a Scell; [0197] the UE can provide unicast information to the serving gNB further including an indication that it prefers to deactivate or deconfigure the Scell; [0198] in 1616, in the SCell can be deactivated once again to avoid (as in 1618) the uncast and broadcast collision).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Xu’s method with Shrivastava’s method so that UE can enable collision avoidance/mitigation for MBS using MBS broadcast associated UE assistance information design (Xu [0193]).
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 2.
Claims 8-11, 16-17 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava et al. in view of Xu et al. and Fujishiro (US 2024/0237143).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Shrivastava and Xu does not teach the UE receives MBS control channel (MCCH) and MBS traffic channel (MTCH) in the non-serving cell or the Scell.
In an analogous art, Fujishiro teaches the UE receives MBS control channel (MCCH) and MBS traffic channel (MTCH) in the non-serving cell or the Scell ([0165] In step S301, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A notifies, via the MBS-SIB (or MCCH), the UE 100 that the MBS configuration information regarding the MBS session provided by the SCG 201B/SCG 202B is transmitted from the SCG 201B/SCell 202B. Here, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A may notify, via the MBS-SIB (or the MCCH), the UE 100 of the MCCH configuration information of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B; [0168] [0168] In step S304, the UE 100 receives the MTCH (MBS data) on the SCG 201B/SCell 202B based on the MTCH configuration information acquired in step S303).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Fujishiro’s method with Shrivastava’s method so that it enables a user equipment to perform efficient MBS reception from the SCG in DC or the SCell in CA (Fujishiro [0038]).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Shrivastava and Xu does not teach the UE receives broadcast control channel (BCCH) with a system information or a dedicated signaling in the non-serving cell or the SCell, wherein the system information is scrambled with a system information RNTI (SI-RNTI), and the dedicated signaling is scrambled with a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI).
In an analogous art, Fujishiro teaches the UE receives broadcast control channel (BCCH) with a system information or a dedicated signaling in the non-serving cell or the SCell, wherein the system information is scrambled with a system information RNTI (SI-RNTI), and the dedicated signaling is scrambled with a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) ([0083] The UE 100 may receive the BCCH and the MCCH using a dedicated RNTI predefined in the technical specifications, for example. The RNTI for BCCH reception may be the SI-RNTI and the RNTI for MCCH reception may be the MCCH-RNTI; [0157] the SCG 201B/SCell 202B may notify, via the MBS-SIB, the UE 100 that the MCCH (MTCH configuration information) of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B is transmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Fujishiro’s method with Shrivastava’s method so that it enables a user equipment to perform efficient MBS reception from the SCG in DC or the SCell in CA (Fujishiro [0038]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Shrivastava and Xu does not teach the UE receives BCCH with a system information or a dedicated signaling in the serving PCell, wherein the system information is scrambled with a system information RNTI (SI-RNTI), and the dedicated signaling is scrambled with a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI).
In an analogous art, Fujishiro teaches the UE receives BCCH with a system information or a dedicated signaling in the serving PCell, wherein the system information is scrambled with a system information RNTI (SI-RNTI), and the dedicated signaling is scrambled with a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) ([0083] The UE 100 may receive the BCCH and the MCCH using a dedicated RNTI predefined in the technical specifications, for example. The RNTI for BCCH reception may be the SI-RNTI and the RNTI for MCCH reception may be the MCCH-RNTI; [0144] In step S102, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A notifies the UE 100 of the start of the MBS session of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B via the RRC Reconfiguration message, the paging message, the SIB, or the MCCH; [0165] the MCG 201A/PCell 202A notifies, via the MBS-SIB (or MCCH), the UE 100 that the MBS configuration information regarding the MBS session provided by the SCG 201B/SCG 202B is transmitted from the SCG 201B/SCell 202B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Fujishiro’s method with Shrivastava’s method so that it enables a user equipment to perform efficient MBS reception from the SCG in DC or the SCell in CA (Fujishiro [0038]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Shrivastava and Xu does not teach the UE receives MTCH in the non-serving cell or the SCell, and receives MCCH in the serving PCell, and receives BCCH in the serving PCell.
In an analogous art, Fujishiro teaches the UE receives MTCH in the non-serving cell or the SCell, and receives MCCH in the serving PCell, and receives BCCH in the serving Pcell ([0160] In step S203, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A may notify, via the MBS-SIB, the UE 100 that the MCCH of MCG 201A/PCell 202A includes the MBS configuration information (MTCH configuration information) of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B; [0161] In step S204, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A transmits the MBS configuration information (MTCH configuration information) of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B on the MCCH; [0162] The UE 100 acquires the MCCH on the MCG 201A/PCell 202A and receives the MTCH (MBS data) of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B based on the MBS configuration information (MTCH configuration information) acquired on the MCCH (step S205)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Fujishiro’s method with Shrivastava’s method so that it enables a user equipment to perform efficient MBS reception from the SCG in DC or the SCell in CA (Fujishiro [0038]).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Shrivastava and Xu does not teach transmitting broadcast control channel (BCCH) with a system information or a dedicated signaling to the UE for the MBS, wherein the system information is scrambled with a system information RNTI (SI-RNTI), and the dedicated signaling is scrambled with a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI).
In an analogous art, Fujishiro teaches transmitting broadcast control channel (BCCH) with a system information or a dedicated signaling to the UE for the MBS, wherein the system information is scrambled with a system information RNTI (SI-RNTI), and the dedicated signaling is scrambled with a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) ([0083] The UE 100 may receive the BCCH and the MCCH using a dedicated RNTI predefined in the technical specifications, for example. The RNTI for BCCH reception may be the SI-RNTI and the RNTI for MCCH reception may be the MCCH-RNTI; [0144] In step S102, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A notifies the UE 100 of the start of the MBS session of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B via the RRC Reconfiguration message, the paging message, the SIB, or the MCCH; [0165] the MCG 201A/PCell 202A notifies, via the MBS-SIB (or MCCH), the UE 100 that the MBS configuration information regarding the MBS session provided by the SCG 201B/SCG 202B is transmitted from the SCG 201B/SCell 202B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Fujishiro’s method with Shrivastava’s method so that it enables a user equipment to perform efficient MBS reception from the SCG in DC or the SCell in CA (Fujishiro [0038]).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Shrivastava and Xu does not teach the serving PCell of the base station further transmitting MBS control channel (MCCH) to the UE for the MBS.
In an analogous art, Fujishiro teaches the serving PCell of the base station further transmitting MBS control channel (MCCH) to the UE for the MBS ([0160] In step S203, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A may notify, via the MBS-SIB, the UE 100 that the MCCH of MCG 201A/PCell 202A includes the MBS configuration information (MTCH configuration information) of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B; [0161] In step S204, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A transmits the MBS configuration information (MTCH configuration information) of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B on the MCCH; [0162] The UE 100 acquires the MCCH on the MCG 201A/PCell 202A and receives the MTCH (MBS data) of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B based on the MBS configuration information (MTCH configuration information) acquired on the MCCH (step S205)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Fujishiro’s method with Shrivastava’s method so that it enables a user equipment to perform efficient MBS reception from the SCG in DC or the SCell in CA (Fujishiro [0038]).
Regarding Claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2023/0239660) teaches bearer structure for supporting multicast in next generation mobile communication system.
Zhou et al. (US 2023/0049868) teaches bandwidth part for multicast and broadcast services.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413