DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits for U.S. App. 18/339,911. Receipt of the RCE, amendments, and arguments filed on 12/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 20, 21, 23, 24, 27-29, 31-33, 35, 36, 41, 43-45, and 47 are pending.
Claims 1-19, 22, 25, 26, 30, 34, 37-40, 42, 46, and 48-53 are cancelled.
Claims 20, 21, 23, 24, 27-29, 31-33, 35, 36, 41, 43-45, and 47 are examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20, 24, 28, 32, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wendt (U.S. Patent 4,227,355).
Regarding claim 20, Wendt discloses a suspended ceiling comprising:
a system for vertical suspension of an acoustic baffle, the system comprising:
a frame element (#41) comprising a foldable tab (the vertical, outer tab #42 as depicted in figure 1 is the tab which is considered foldable due to the sheet metal material of such a tab (support for use of sheet metal for such a tab is found by the use of sheet metal fasteners #48 to secure thereto)) comprising a second aperture (the aperture through which fastener #48 extends through);
a clip (the right clip #11 of figure 1) configured for connection to the frame element (see figure 1), wherein the clip comprises a body plate (#13), one or more fastening elements (#48/24) for securing the clip to the frame element (see figure 1), and a first aperture (#25/23), wherein the body plate comprises a cut-out (the cutout formed by punchout element #14) configured to accommodate the foldable tab of the frame element (see figures 1 and 5, where the cut-out is configured to accommodate and receive the tab of the frame element); and
an acoustic baffle (#45), the acoustic baffle having two major face (the vertical outer faces of figure 1) and having minor faces (the side, top, and bottom faces of figure 1) extending between the major faces (see figure 1),
wherein the acoustic baffle is supported by a frame comprising the frame element (the frame comprising of elements #41 and #43, which surround and support the baffle #45),
wherein the frame element is a side profile of the frame and is attached to one of the minor faces of the acoustic baffle (see figure 1, where the frame element #41 is attached to the top, minor face of the baffle #45), and
wherein the major faces of the acoustic baffle extend substantially vertically (see figures 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 24, Wendt discloses the clip comprises one or more substantially planar legs (#19) joined to the body plate by an upwardly-angled joint (#20) such that the one or more substantially planar legs are parallel to the body plate (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 28, Wendt discloses the body plate of the clip comprises an upper part (#13) substantially parallel to a lower part (#16), the upper part and lower part connected by a fold (#15; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 32, Wendt discloses the frame comprises two frame elements, and wherein each of the two frame elements is a side profile of the frame and the two frame elements are attached to opposing minor faces of the acoustic baffle (See figures 1 and 4, where the two frame elements can be considered the left and right side profiles #41, that can be attached to one another using the same clip #11. Alternatively, the frame elements can be considered elements #41 and #43 of the same baffle #45 with comprises of the same structure with a foldable tab and aperture, where the claims do not positively define that the cutout portion of the clip need to positively engage the tab of the second frame element.).
Regarding claim 44, Wendt discloses wherein the clip comprises one or more legs (#19) joined to the body plate by an upwardly angled joint (#20) such that the one or more legs are parallel to the body plate (see figure 3), wherein the body plate of the clip comprises an upper part (#13) substantially parallel to a lower part (#16), the upper and the lower part connected by a fold (#15; see figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 27, 31, 35, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendt in view of Bergman (U.S. Publication 2012/0291397).
Regarding claim 23, Wendt discloses a system for vertical suspension of an acoustic baffle, the system comprising:
a frame element (#41);
a clip (#11) configured for connection to the frame element (see figure 1), wherein the clip comprises a body plate (#13) and a first aperture (the aperture through which fastener #48/24 extends);
a beam hanger (#51) configured for connection to the clip (see figure 5), wherein the beam hanger comprises a substantially rectangular first plate (see figures 4 and 5); and
an acoustic baffle (#45), the acoustic baffle having two major faces (the vertical outer faces of figure 1) and having minor faces (the side, top, and bottom faces of figure 1) extending between the major faces (see figure 1),
wherein the acoustic baffle is supported by a frame comprising the frame element (the frame comprising of elements #41 and #43, which surround and support the baffle #45),
wherein the frame element is a side profile of the frame and is attached to one of the minor faces of the acoustic baffle (see figure 1, where the frame element #41 is attached to the top, minor face of the baffle #45), and
wherein the major faces of the acoustic baffle extend substantially vertically (see figures 1 and 4).
However, Wendt does not disclose the beam hanger comprises of a second plate and a third plate such that the second plate and the third plate are substantially parallel and face each other and the first plate is connected at opposing edges to such second and third plates. Wendt does disclose that such hangers #51 can desirably be subpurlins or other substructures depending from an upper ceiling. See col. 8, ll. 51-57. It is highly well known in the art, as evidenced by Bergman, that such beam hangers can comprise of I-beam hangers formed from a central, first plate #38 between parallel second #40/42 and third (the plate at the bottom of slot #32 of figure 6) plates such that a clip #10 can still be fastened to the first plate thereof. See figure 6. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have constructed the beam hanger of Wendt to comprise of a first plate with parallel second and third plates at opposite edges thereof, as taught in Bergman, in order to allow the assembly to attach to different ceiling supports as needed by the end user and provide a stronger beam hanger.
Regarding claim 27, Wendt in view of Bergman render obvious the clip comprises one or more substantially planar legs (Wendt; #19) joined to the body plate by an upwardly-angled joint (Wendt; #20) such that the one or more substantially planar legs are parallel to the body plate (see figure 3 of Wendt).
Regarding claim 31, Wendt in view of Bergman render obvious the body plate of the clip comprises an upper part (Wendt; #13) substantially parallel to a lower part (Wendt; #16), the upper part and the lower part connected by a fold (Wendt; #15).
Regarding claim 35, Wendt in view of Bergman render obvious the frame comprises two frame elements, and wherein each of the two frame elements is a side profile of the frame and the two frame elements are attached to opposing minor faces of the acoustic baffle (See figures 1 and 4 of Wendt, where the two frame elements can be considered the left and right side profiles #41, that can be attached to one another using the same clip #11. Alternatively, the frame elements can be considered elements #41 and #43 of the same baffle #45 with comprises of the same structure with a foldable tab and aperture, where the claims do not positively define that the cutout portion of the clip need to positively engage the tab of the second frame element.).
Regarding claim 47, Wendt in view of Bergman render obvious wherein the clip comprises one or more fastening elements (Wendt; #48/24) for securing the clip to the frame element (see figure 1 of Wendt), wherein the clip comprises one or more legs (Wendt; #19) joined to the body plate by an upwardly angled joint (Wendt; #20) such that the one or more legs are parallel to the body plate (see figure 3 of Wendt), wherein the body plate of the clip comprises an upper part (Wendt; #13) substantially parallel to a lower part (Wendt; #16), the upper and the lower part connected by a fold (Wendt; #15).
Claim(s) 23, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendt ‘644 (U.S. Patent 4,031,664) in view of Langeveld (U.S. Publication 2018/0127984).
Regarding claim 23, Wendt ‘644 discloses a system for vertical suspension of an acoustic baffle, the system comprising:
a frame element (#33);
a clip (#22) configured for connection to the frame element (see figure 1), wherein the clip comprises a body plate (#22) and a first aperture (#28);
a beam hanger (#37) configured for connection to the clip (see figure 5); and
an acoustic baffle (#29), the acoustic baffle having two major faces (the vertical outer faces of figure 1) and having minor faces (the side, top, and bottom faces of figure 1) extending between the major faces (see figure 1),
wherein the acoustic baffle is supported by a frame comprising the frame element (the frame comprising of elements #33, which surround and support the baffle #29),
wherein the frame element is a side profile of the frame and is attached to one of the minor faces of the acoustic baffle (see figure 1, where the frame element #33 is attached to the side, minor face of the baffle #45), and
wherein the major faces of the acoustic baffle extend substantially vertically (see figures 1 and 45).
However, Wendt ‘644 does not disclose the beam hanger comprises of first, second, and third plates such that the second plate and the third plate are substantially parallel and face each other and the first plate is connected at opposing edges to such second and third plates. It is highly well known in the art, as evidenced by Langeveld, that such beam hangers #11 can comprise of a first plate #15, with second #18 and third #18 plates extending upwardly from opposing ends of the first plate, where the second and third plates comprising of hinged tabs #14 in order to attach the beam hanger to a C-shaped channel #30 that supports the ceiling assembly. See figure 12b. Langeveld discloses the beam hanger #11 first plate #15 can comprise of an aperture for receiving a fastener #42 to attach the beam hanger to a U-shaped clip #41 extending therebelow that is configured to attach to a vertical baffle #38. See figure 15. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have constructed the beam hanger of Wendt ‘644 to comprise of a first plate with parallel second and third plates extending upwardly at opposite edges thereof, as taught in Langeveld, in order to allow the assembly to attach to an upper U-shaped support channel in a quicker manner.
Regarding claim 35, Wendt ‘644 in view of Langeveld render obvious the frame comprises two frame elements, and wherein each of the two frame elements is a side profile of the frame and the two frame elements are attached to opposing minor faces of the acoustic baffle (See figures 1 and 5 of Wendt ‘644, where the two frame elements can be considered the left and right side profiles #33, that can be attached to one another using the same clip #22.).
Regarding claim 36, Wendt ‘644 in view of Langeveld render obvious each of the second plate and the third plate each comprise a hinged tab (Langeveld; #14) configured for connection to a C-profile beam (see figure 15 of Langeveld, where such features would be provided within Wendt ‘644 as explained above).
Double Patenting
Claims 20, 21, 23, 24, 27-29, 31-33, 35, 36, 41, 43-45, and 47 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 3, 5, 9, 11, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,725,385 in view of Wendt.
Claim 20 of the present application is defined in claim 2 of U.S. Patent ‘385, where the wings of the clip of claim 2 of U.S. Patent ‘385 are considered to form the cutout as defined in present claim 20, except for use of an acoustical baffle as defined with a frame and the frame element of the frame is attached to a minor face of the baffle; however, Wendt teaches the obviousness of providing a frame element #41/43 attaching to the minor faces of an acoustical baffle so as to attach the baffle vertically to such a ceiling system and it would have been obvious to use such a baffle within U.S. Patent ‘385 for acoustical damping purposes;
Claim 21 of the present application is defined in claim 2 of U.S. Patent ‘385, except for use of an acoustical baffle as defined; however, Wendt teaches the obviousness of providing a frame element #41/43 attaching to the minor faces of an acoustical baffle so as to attach the baffle vertically to such a ceiling system and it would have been obvious to use such a baffle within U.S. Patent ‘385 for acoustical damping purposes;
Claim 23 of the present application is defined in claim 13 of U.S. Patent ‘385, except for use of an acoustical baffle as defined; however, Wendt teaches the obviousness of providing a frame element #41/43 attaching to the minor faces of an acoustical baffle so as to attach the baffle vertically to such a ceiling system and it would have been obvious to use such a baffle within U.S. Patent ‘385 for acoustical damping purposes;
Claim 24 of the present application is defined in claim 3 of U.S. Patent ‘385 in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 27 of the present application is entirely defined in claim 13 of U.S. Patent ‘385, in view of claim 3 which teaches the substantially planar legs feature and in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 28 of the present application is defined in claim 9 of U.S. Patent ‘385 in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 29 of the present application is defined in claim 9 of U.S. Patent ‘385 in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 31 of the present application is defined in claim 13 of U.S. Patent ‘385, in view of claim 9 for the upper and lower part limitations and in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 32 of the present application is defined in claim 11 of U.S. Patent ‘385 in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 33 of the present application is defined in claim 11 of U.S. Patent ‘385 in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 35 of the present application is defined in claim 13 of U.S. Patent ‘385 in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 36 of the present application is entirely defined in claim 13 of U.S. Patent ‘385 in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 41 of the present application is defined in claim 2 of U.S. Patent ‘385 in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 43 of the present application is defined in claim 13 of U.S. Patent ‘385 in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 44 of the present application is defined in claim 9 of U.S. Patent ‘385 in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 45 of the present application is defined in claim 9 of U.S. Patent ‘385 in view of Wendt as explained above;
Claim 47 of the present application is defined in claim 13 of U.S. Patent ‘385 in view of Wendt as explained above;
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 29, 33, and 45 would be allowable if the double patenting issues above were resolved.
Claims 41 and 43 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as to fix any double patenting issues as explained above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 20, 21, 23, 24, 27-29, 31-33, 35, 36, 41, 43-45, and 47 have been considered but are moot because Applicant’s amendments to the claims required the use of different rejections and interpretations of the prior along with the use of a different secondary reference that was not previously cited.
Conclusion
/THEODORE V ADAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635