Continued Examination
The present application is being examined as a continuation application of 17146564 (now US Pat. # 11737273). Now pending in this application are claims 1-20.
Specification
The specification submitted 6/23/2023 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 6/23/2023 have been accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted recently have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung (US # 20190333931).
Regarding Claim 11, Jung (US # 20190333931) teaches a three-dimensional (3D) semiconductor memory device comprising:
a horizontal structure (SC) on an upper surface (top, as shown in Fig. 3) of a horizontal semiconductor layer (100);
a stack structure (ST) comprising a plurality of electrodes (EGE, CGE, SGE) stacked on the horizontal structure in a vertical direction (D3); and
a separation structure (SS and CPLG structure more generally) intersecting the stack structure and the horizontal structure (it extends through features ST and SC),
wherein a lower portion of the separation structure is in a recess region (RS, see lowest portion of GIR, in Fig. 21C, portion of GIR below the level of the lowest ILD) of the horizontal semiconductor layer,
wherein an upper portion (portion of GIR above the level of SC) of the separation structure penetrates the stack structure in the vertical direction (shown), and
wherein, a bottom surface of the recess region is inclined with respect to a top surface of the horizontal semiconductor layer (see RS inclination in Fig. 21C).
Regarding Claim 12, Jung teaches the 3D semiconductor memory device of claim 11, wherein the lower portion of the separation structure protrudes more in a horizontal direction than the upper portion (shown wider in in Fig. 21C).
Regarding Claim 13, Jung teaches the 3D semiconductor memory device of claim 11, further comprising:
a vertical pattern (VS) extending through the plurality of electrodes and connected to the horizontal structure,
wherein, in a horizontal direction, a minimum distance between the lower portion of the separation structure and the vertical pattern is less than a distance between the upper portion of the separation structure and the vertical pattern at a level where a bottom surface of a lowermost electrode of the plurality of electrodes is positioned (lower portion is wider, thus it has a lesser horizontal distance).
Regarding Claim 14, Jung teaches the 3D semiconductor memory device of claim 11, wherein a lowermost electrode (EGE) of the plurality of electrodes comprises inner sidewalls that face each other and are spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction with the separation structure interposed therebetween, and
wherein a maximum width of the recess region in the horizontal direction is greater than a distance between the inner sidewalls of the lowermost electrode at a level where a bottom surface of the lowermost electrode is positioned (that is shown in Fig. 21C).
Regarding Claim 15, Jung teaches the 3D semiconductor memory device of claim 11, wherein the lower portion of the separation structure is overlapped in the vertical direction by a lowermost electrode of the plurality of electrodes (shown in Fig. 21C, or see also Fig. 4E).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung # 2 (US # 20190244970).
Regarding Claim 16, Jung # 2 (US # 20190244970) teaches a three-dimensional (3D) semiconductor memory device (see Fig. 6 and corresponding text) comprising:
a horizontal structure (SCP1/SCP2) on an upper surface (top) of a horizontal semiconductor layer (10);
a stack structure (ST) comprising a plurality of electrodes (EGE, GGE, SGE) stacked on the horizontal structure in a vertical direction (normal to substrate surface); and
a separation structure (SS) intersecting the stack structure and the horizontal structure (it extends through features ST and SC),
wherein a lower portion (portion lower than layer ILDa) of the separation structure is in a recess region (opening GIR is shown in Fig. 25C with bottom surface RS) of the horizontal semiconductor layer (shown in layer 10),
wherein an upper portion (portion higher than layer ILDa) of the separation structure penetrates the stack structure in the vertical direction (shown), and
wherein the horizontal semiconductor layer has a protrusion (see annotated drawing with protrusion point 1) that protrudes toward the horizontal structure in the recess region (this protrusion has a central line in it that points into the SCP1 layer).
Regarding Claim 17, Jung # 2 teaches the 3D semiconductor memory device of claim 16, wherein the lower portion of the separation structure protrudes more in a horizontal direction than the upper portion (shown wider in in Fig. 25C).
Regarding Claim 18, Jung # 2 teaches the 3D semiconductor memory device of claim 16, further comprising:
a vertical pattern (VS) extending through the plurality of electrodes and connected to the horizontal structure (shown),
wherein, in a horizontal direction, a minimum distance between the lower portion of the separation structure and the vertical pattern is less than a distance between the upper portion of the separation structure and the vertical pattern at a level where a bottom surface of a lowermost electrode of the plurality of electrodes is positioned (lower portion is wider, thus it has a lesser horizontal distance).
Regarding Claim 19, Jung # 2 teaches the 3D semiconductor memory device of claim 16, wherein a lowermost electrode (LSL2) of the plurality of electrodes comprises inner sidewalls that face each other and are spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction with the separation structure interposed therebetween, and
wherein a maximum width of the recess region in the horizontal direction is greater than a distance between the inner sidewalls of the lowermost electrode at a level where a bottom surface of the lowermost electrode is positioned (that is shown in Fig. 25C).
Regarding Claim 20, Jung # 2 teaches the 3D semiconductor memory device of claim 16, wherein the lower portion of the separation structure is overlapped in the vertical direction by a lowermost electrode of the plurality of electrodes (that is shown in Fig. 25C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 1, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including wherein, when viewed in cross section, the recess region has a polygonal shape and an asymmetrical shape with respect to a vertical line extending in the vertical direction.
Pending claims 2-10 are dependent on the claim above and are allowable at least based on that dependency.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899