DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2, 4-6, 9-11, 16, 17, 24, 26, 29, 30 and 33-63 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 8, 12, 15, 28, 31, 32 and 64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (9,929,284 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al discloses a Schottky diode (Figure 3B), comprising: a first contact (Figure 3B, reference 180); a second contact (Figure 3B, reference 110); and a semiconductor layer structure (Figure 3B, references 112, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160 and 170) between the first contact (Figure 3B, reference 180) and the second contact (Figure 3B, reference 110), the semiconductor layer structure (Figure 3B, references 112, 120, 230, 140, 150, 160 and 170) comprising: a current spreading layer having a first conductivity type (Figure 3B, reference 160); a drift region (Figure 3B, reference 230) between the second contact (Figure 3B, reference 110) and the current spreading layer (Figure 3B, reference 160), the drift region having the first conductivity type (Figure 3B, reference 230; N-type); and a first blocking junction having a second conductivity type (Figure 3B, reference 140, left; P-type) that is opposite the first conductivity type, the first blocking junction (Figure 3B, reference 140, left) extending downwardly from an upper surface of the semiconductor layer structure (Figure 3B, reference 170), wherein the current spreading layer has a first conductivity type dopant concentration that is at least 1.5 times greater than a first conductivity type dopant concentration of the drift region (column 8, lines 60-67 thru column 9, lines 1-13), and wherein the current spreading layer (Figure 3B, reference 160) vertically overlaps at least a portion of a lower half of the first blocking junction (Figure 3B, reference 140, left).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang et al discloses further comprising a second blocking junction that is doped with dopants having the second conductivity type (Figure 3B, reference 140, right), the second blocking junction (Figure 3B, reference 140, right) extending downwardly from the upper surface of the semiconductor layer structure (Figure 3B, reference 170), where the first and second blocking junctions extend to a depth of between 1.0 and 2.0 microns into the semiconductor layer structure (Figure 3B, reference 140 left and right).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al discloses wherein the first blocking junction is a channel implanted blocking junction (Figure 3B, reference 140, left).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al discloses wherein the current spreading layer (Figure 3B, reference 160) extends farther downwardly into the semiconductor layer structure (Figure 3B, references 112, 120, 230, 140, 150, 160 and 170) than does the first blocking junction (Figure 3B, reference 140, left).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al discloses wherein a bottom of the current spreading layer (Figure 3B, reference 160) extends at least as deep into the semiconductor layer structure (Figure 3B, references 112, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160 and 170) as a bottom of the first blocking junction (Figure 3B, reference 140, left), and a doping concentration of the current spreading layer at a depth into the semiconductor layer structure that is the same depth as the bottom of the first blocking junction is at least 1x1017/cm3 (column 8, lines 52-67 thru column 9, lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang et al discloses wherein the current spreading layer is a buried current spreading layer (Figure 3B, reference 160) and the drift region is a lower drift region (Figure 3B, reference 130, lower), the semiconductor layer structure (Figure 3B, references 112, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160 and 170) further comprising an upper drift region (Figure 3B, reference 130, upper) that is between the current spreading layer (Figure 3B, reference 160) and the first contact (Figure 3B, reference 180).
Regarding claim 28, Zhang et al discloses a Schottky diode (Figure 3B), comprising: a semiconductor layer structure(Figure 3B, references 112, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160 and 170) comprising: a lower drift region having a first conductivity type (Figure 3B, reference 230, lower); an upper drift region having the first conductivity type (Figure 2B, reference 130, upper); a current spreading layer having the first conductivity type (Figure 3B, reference 160) between the lower drift region and the upper drift region (Figure 3B, reference 130 upper and lower), where a first conductivity type dopant concentration of the current spreading layer (Figure 3B, reference 160) is higher than a first conductivity type dopant concentration of the lower drift region and is higher than a first conductivity type dopant concentration of the upper drift region (Figure 3B, reference 130 upper and lower; column 8, lines 52-67 thru column 9, lines 1-13); a first blocking junction having a second conductivity type (Figure 3B, reference 140, left) that is opposite the first conductivity type; and a second blocking junction having the second conductivity type (Figure 3B, reference 140, right), wherein the first and second blocking junctions (Figure 3B, reference 140 left and right) define a conductive region therebetween (Figure 3B, reference 152).
Regarding claim 31, Zhang et al discloses wherein the first contact (Figure 3B, reference 180) is adjacent top surfaces of the first and second blocking junctions (Figure 3B, reference 140 left and right) and bottom surfaces of the first and second blocking junctions are between 1.0 and 2.0 microns (Figure 3B, reference 140 left and right) from an upper surface of the semiconductor layer structure (Figure 3B, references 112, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160 and 170).
Regarding claim 32, Zhang et al discloses wherein a bottom surface of the current spreading layer (Figure 3B, reference 160) is farther from the first contact (Figure 3B, reference 180) than are bottom surfaces of the first and second blocking junctions (Figure 3B, reference 140, left and right).
Regarding claim 64, Zhang et al discloses wherein a maximum width of an upper half of the first blocking junction exceeds a maximum width of a lower half of the first blocking junction (Figure 3B, reference 140, left).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose nor fairly suggest a Schottky diode, comprising: wherein at least a first portion of the current spreading layer has a graded doping concentration of first conductivity type dopants, where in the first portion the doping concentration of first conductivity type dopants increases with increasing depth into the semiconductor layer structure (claim 13), further incorporated into independent claim 1 and in the context of its recited apparatus, along with its depending claims.
Claims 18-23, 25, 27 and 65 is allowed over the prior art.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not disclose nor fairly suggest a Schottky diode, comprising: a first blocking junction adjacent the first contact, the first blocking junction having a second conductivity type that is opposite the first conductivity type, wherein a first portion of the current spreading layer has a graded dopant concentration that increases with increasing distance from the first contact as described in independent claim 18 and in the context of its recited apparatus, along with its depending claims.
Conclusion
/MONICA D HARRISON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815
mdh
February 11, 2026